EFCC seize former Bayelsa Governor Timipre Sylva's properties | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 January 2013

EFCC seize former Bayelsa Governor Timipre Sylva's properties

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, released a statement yesterday saying they have seized 48 properties belonging to the former Governor of Bayelsa state, Mr. Timipre Sylva who is being prosecuted at a Federal High Court in Abuja for alleged misappropriation of N6.46 billion state funds when he was governor of the state. 

EFCC said: 
“Assets belonging to the former governor against which a forfeiture order was obtained by the EFCC include a mansion at 3 River Niger Street, plot 3192 Cadastral zone AO, Maitama District Abuja; nine units (comprising six one bedroom and 3 two bedroom apartments) at 8 Sefadu Street Wuse zone 2, plot 262 Cadastral zone AO2, Wuse Abuja; 2 units duplexes at 5 Oguta Street, plot 906 Cadastral zone Wuse 11 Abuja.
See more after the cut...

"Others are a duplex at Plot 1271 Nike Street Cadastral zone AO5, Maitama District Abuja; a duplex at Phase 1 Unit No. 1 (Villa 1) Palm Springs Gold Estate, Cachez Turkey Projects Limited, Mpape, Abuja; 10 units of one room apartments at 8 Mistrata Street plot 232 Cadastral zone Wuse 11 Abuja; 5 units duplexes at Plot No 1070 Dakibiyu District Cadastral zone B10, Abuja; 16 units service apartments at Plot 1181 Thaba Tseka Crescent, Off IBB Way, Wuse 11, Abuja and 3 units of three bedroom flats at No. 1 Mubi Close, Plot 766. Cadastral Zone A01, Garki, Abuja.The commission, which also attached photographs of some of the properties, said the interim forfeiture order to attach Sylva’s properties was granted by Justice A. R Mohammed on December 28, 2012.

But Sylva in a counter statement yesterday said none of the houses seized by EFCC are his. Below is his statement

Our attention has been drawn to a statement purportedly issued by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), announcing the seizure of a number of property alleged to be owed by Chief Timipre Sylva, former Bayelsa State Governor.

1.  The claims by the EFCC are completely misleading. Not surprisingly, this style is in line with EFCC’s known bully-boy tactics and media hysteria.

2. The houses in question do not belong to Sylva.

3.   Sylva’s property are intact, and fully covered by the order validly issued by Justice M.M. Kolo of the Abuja High Court on 27 December 2012. Sylva had applied to the court for "an interim order of court for the service of the originating process on the respondent to serve as a stay of all actions in respect of the properties - plot no 262, Cadastral Zone A02, Wuse 1, District, Abuja, plot 3192, located within Cadastral zone A06 Maitama District, Abuja, plot 232, Cadastral Zone A07, (No. 8 Mistrata Street; Wuse II, Abuja) - by the respondents, their agents, privies, representative or any other person deriving his/her authority from them; either by sealing off, confiscating, ejecting any person from the properties, trespassing into the properties or doing any other thing how ever so described relating to the said properties pending the hearing and determination of the motion on notice."  This application was granted and hearing in the matter is fixed for 04 January 2013.

4. Justice A.R. Mohammed never granted any temporary asset forfeiture order to the EFCC on 21 December 2012. Rather he directed EFCC to put Sylva on notice and the substantive matter is fixed for 10 January 2013.

5. EFCC as a creation of the law cannot be seen to be acting lawlessly, and with impunity.

DOIFIE OLA
Media Adviser to Chief Timipre Sylva.”

60 comments:

charmin girl said...

God oh!!!our money oh!EFCC plz throw 1m 4 me oh lol

charmin girl said...

God ll xpose dem soon oh

DOLLAR SPLASH MAKING MONEY said...

Dts a good 1. Hope de won't collect money n release it again. I trust naija my country.

Jonathan is a vindictive person. He is the brain behind the harassment of Sylvia. Linda, if you like, don't post this comment just as you didn't post my comment on Bisi Komolafe. If you know you lack balls of steel, then you have no business blogging. Mschewwwww

Nice one EFCC. I concur to this action!

Hmnn, Ŋ☺ comment

Can some1 enlight me of efcc job cos have never seen them fight to the end with all this nuisance they claimed to prosecute.
It always gone into thin air, and am sure the same thing will happen to this case.

Oh lord come n speak word of peace to our land n deliver us from this evil leaders.

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

48 Properties in 8 yrs. GEJ's war on corruption is makin sense#Team GEJ#
Dancing Gamgam Style
Comment Signed, Sealed and Delivered by DATSHAPIBOBOY

I hope this is not another 'media trial' by the EFCC. Lets see conviction. Archiebiola says so

goodie said...

Hmmm.. Dz man's greed wz his undoing. If it were possibl, he would v bought Nigeria 4 his 10th generation..

only in nigeria where a former pauper like him will become a billionaire overnight i don't blame him sha loads of people praised and eulogised him when he was in power....and are now abusing him we need to change our love for ill gotten wealth in this country

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅̊ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ sugar said...

S̲̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡ confusing! Na una sabi! Mscheeeew!!!!!!!!!

Pls... We knw what GEJ is doing.. Running after his enemies,opposition and those who didn't support him for the presidency jst like OBJ did during his time ... Why haven't EFCC chased other corrupt govt officials especially Otedola, subsidy scamers, Dieziani Madueke & others....

U go fear name, Timipire ... Some parents sha .don diddy!

DUN DUN...... IT HAS BEGUN....

We are being by bunch of thieves

this people are ROGUES kai 48 properties? chei

Princess R said...

I smell a rat.....Lip sealed. Lol

St.Nomski said...

All these properties alone in Abuja? This is a crime against humanity. There is just one major road in bayelsa, no jobs, no infrastructures, poverty at its peak amongst the populace yet sylva could be bold enough to steal this much? God will soon answer these greedy politicians. Am out!

theLASTMAN said...

It doesnt happen unless you step on the wrong toes.
The interesting question is how will the property be re-appropriated

Ok now!!!

Nneka said...

How wicked can Nigerian leaders get. How do they feel eating tax payers hard earned money, Mine INCLUSIVE.. huhhh na wa for this our Wonderful country

All these properties for otu nmanu chineke kere eekwa daa? Too bad he has been made a scape goat. Sorry Timipre, I know a lot of ur colleagues own more.God is watching all of u, and that one dt sleeps on 400million naira gold plated bed. Wicked people..,. TC

teemah beent said...

Na so so seize seize efcc de seize,I no know why nigerians neva ask dem say wetin dem de do with d property wey dem de seize.

Why him no go deny am? 48 properties for one person? No U.S. Governor dare own such without accounting to the populace how he came about them. Na only 9ja accountability has no place. They shd deal with him and the likes of him anyhow they see fit, nothing concern me; abi when him dey thief, dey steal, dey loot, dey buy, him tell me?

they are all thieves...but gej and the rest.

Queen Bee said...

Whoa!see the lovely properties in the choicest part of abj,d man know better thing' ......dats if they are his'
At this he is still a smaller thief Dan others.
naija leaders,may God have mercy on us!

Chrisbrizzy said...

Show me the kingdom where the palace guards questions the authority of the king even if he is naked and vain...These guards are like puppets in the hands of the king and only speaks two words at a time, Yes Sir and No Sir.
This is just a melodrama ochestrated by the outward display of power and some 'Timi I was once your boy but now I am the boss and you MUST fall down and bow to my authority' and we know that ego may not allow Timi to flush the toilet of this boy that went to school on naked foot.
Ye that has proposed to buy Nokia torch for farmers, build eatery hall worth billions, budgeted billions for food, purchase and maintenance of power generating sets aint thou supposed to remove the plank in thy eyes first?

GEN-GEN. DIS 1 NA ACTION FILM O. MAKE I STIR MY LIPTON.

Stupid man!!! Ur Busy buying properties in another state while ur state has only 2 roads. No basic amenities in many communities, highest number of illiteracy and teen pregnancy. If only justice can be served in nigeria I which 2 see ppl like timi, odili and d likes rot in jail.

wat a show na today laffificontinua

freeangel said...

Money dey nigeria sha. but pple way dey govt no dey let us see am another weste of nigeria money may God help us in dis country

freeangel said...

Money dey nigeria sha. but pple way dey govt no dey let us see am another weste of nigeria money may God help us in dis country

pOsh said...

Oya which one we go take naaa

bastard man only 1 person all these properties, when the average Nigerian cannot afford 3 square meals. may God punish you and may you rot in hell

Jumitebabe said...

Ummmmmm....I see T.B Joshua's prophesy beginning to commence, issoria, all these politicians una dey hot dis year, RUBBISH

MEKA said...

EFCC can lie sha,i hav bin stayin in wuse zone 2 since 1989 and i've neva heard of a sefadu street.in wuse zone 2,streets are named after capitals of some african countries eg J'borg,antanarivo,mambolo etc. wuse zone 2 is not a massive place 2 say d street exist witout ppl knowin,and der are no 1 bedroom apartments/6 units of 1 bedroom apartments either govt or private,except 4 individual boys quarters,or ppl sub-letting deir apartments...na wa o.

These are the people Adeboye wants me to believe that my prayers are keeping alive. Let me hear anybody that will react negatively to this because I mentioned Adeboye and I will personally curse him/her. 48 properties just for being a governor for 4 years. Ridiculous

Jumoke SB said...

But we all know u guys don't acquire properties and put your name "gadagba" on d docs!

ETHAN said...

Omg see properties oh.Wow

The part dat gets me pissed is d fact that these people keep saying they are dying in poverty bad roads etc while all their wealth is used to beautify Abuja.........look at d number of property seized all in abuja.Rubish he was elected to beautify abuja while bayelsa is nothing to write home about dat said i cant exonerate his counter part Amechi of rivers state........u will be shocked with all d federal allocation nothing to show

Prince Christian Wokoma said...

Hmmmm! Evrifin is getn mor funny evriday*lips r seald*#PCW#teamMochig

CONFAM!!! His kids will be forming butter......when their father is an THIEF !!!! Silly ass people.

EFCC's

Facts and Fiction.

Why not add the White House, Buckingham Place to the charging documents as well?

Till we get an accurate charging document, sensationalism is all i see here, look at some of our female Ministers and what have acquired via fronts

Really? As always, I don't know what to say.All these properties just for one governor of a state in Nigeria.This man was busy building properties for himself and not doing the job he was elected to do. What time does he have to govern when he was busy building properties in Abuja. God please look in our direction and bless us with good leaders. These peaple are killing our future and smiling to the bank doing it.

Is he worse than Odili, Lucky. I, Alams, Muazu etc who are in his good books? Or even the devil incarnate Anenih? It's people like Sylva and Ibori who are rebels that they are going after.

You must be as foolish as your write up sounds! Imagine! the only thing your brain could produce as a comment is Jonathan's vindictiveness.Did you for one second pause to imagine how many children may have died in poorly equiped hospitals,how many may have perished in road accidents from compromised road construction,how many pupils currently sit on the floor in leaking classrooms all because Ex-governor Sylvia had to steal money to bulid or buy these houses??? Peterside k.

Toots said...

48 properties that's crazy... that's the problem with African politics..sad!!

God bless you. All these addresses don't exist in Abuja. I have been living here for 5 years now.Let them keep lying to themselves.

Nice property.

Jonathan and Efcc are all ole

And you are very daft for you not to realise that anyone who speaks against jonathan has automatically gone into his bad books. If you really know what its happening in this country, you will shake your head or do you think that helicopter crash which killed Azazi was truly an accident? The more you look, the less you see.

Thank you o, God bless you. Obviously you are in the know of what's going on in this country.. Make we just siddon dey look o.

I wish d law in China cld b introduced here in Nigeria, whereby corrupt leaders b executed. If Sylva cn b used as an example, d odas will sit up.

F akins said...

Abeg catch them and leave yahoo bois alone.....48....am getting dere

International/proffessional thief thief" they don't buy the houses in drr names noni..

Omg syvla is lying..da mpape one..da one with the attched pik is his.I saw him at da estate when they were building it..he. Went deir to finalize payments and tell dem his interior..he came in a black jeep witout convo trying to impersonate himself...ole..dey r his properties

Abeg EFCC, what are you waiting for to confiscate Gov. Theodore Orji's mansions? The man has stolen so much from my dear Abia State that we are teetering on the brink of a failed state now.

ALL THE PROPERTIES THAT HAS BEEN SEIZED, WHERE ARE THEY?

http://applytojobs.blogspot.co.uk