NAHCO Employee returns N7.35 million he found inside an airplane | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 25 April 2012

NAHCO Employee returns N7.35 million he found inside an airplane

A cabin cleaning team leader of the Nigerian Aviation Handling Company (NAHCO), Mr Salami Lateef Ibrahim, found £25,000 and €5,000, inside a bag while cleaning a Turkish airline aircraft at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, (MMIA) in Lagos. The total amount he found in Naira is N7.35 million. And you all know what Salami did? He returned the money to the management of Turkish Airlines. Incredible, right? So worthy of emulation.

And for his honesty, Turkish Airlines rewarded him with an all-expenses paid return trip to Istanbul, Turkey. Fantastic stuff!

109 comments:

Me return it lailai that will be my own national cake. Ill invest the money and give back to the poor so I won't feel too bad,God won't come down himself to bless u he works in miraculous ways. Lol

Mama Ejima said...

May God bless him abundantly...I believe we still have credible Nigerians like me. As for the air line...much more should be done for him...at least give him a better job.

Benuegirl said...

Shocked that a Nigerian would do this. I wish this man was there when I lost my wallet containing my last N250 at Uni 11years ago.

pegomay said...

For Wetin now? Trip to Istanbul my ass! Mschewwww I would have so gone with the money...so Gone!

oloshi buruku. He is not thinking properly. tomorrow you will now see him at the airport saying 'anything for boys?'' Nigerian need to wake the fuck up and stop being slaves in their own society.

Justthatgirl said...

Awwww....inspite of all, some Nigerians are still worthy of emulation! So happy for him....God will bless him more thru this

Emmy P said...

What a honest man! If I found such? Of 'cos I won't return it, because if I do, I won't call myself honest....I'll be a foolish.

BigMouth said...

Yehhhh 7.3m why no be me see the money, I would have returned it (that's the bag alone without the money inside)...Lol!

Its really unbelievable that we still have good people like this in this country!

God bless him, but my broda d guy for still take small thing inside!

M so sorry but forgive me.He's a big fool.So that's all he got for his honesty?when our top officials are busy stealing the govt funds?ok oh.I will never return such.Insult me if you like bt check urselves before u do so.

Nice one but m sorry if I see that type of changing money,I will not return it so to get trips.m so sorry but I won't oh.Not in naija wen all the leaders are armed robbers.How m I so sure the money is nt stolen?yoruba will say ole gbee ole gba.lol

ify said...

Wow! This man is a dying breed meehhnn... So few people like that remaining in the world. Honesty is the best policy indeed.

karr said...

It's a lie! Can't believe we still have honest people in naija, d guy ova try n that's very nice reward from turkish airline anyway. But seriously dat guy is really a good man.

Nigerian Jobs said...

Atleast we still have honest Nigerians.

Thank God, he returned it to the Turks themseves and not Nigerian NAHCO, who would have treated the money as a family affair as its the case in all things Nigerian. Its a joyous feeling to know we still have people like this in our Dark Nation.

Mr salami or wat name did dey call him sef ....he woud forever remain a clearner for life.​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=))

I swear d guy peeps 4 village bin swear for am.. Wat? Utta crap..

I'm so proud of him!God in his infinity mercy will bless him back more than his imagination. I believe nigeria still have honest people despite our many chalenges of poverty. May God heal our nation.

cynosure faces said...

HUH!...Only dt!....if he had taken d money he wld av been able to flight on a PRIVATE JET to the Caribbeans with his family.....so dt reward is not rewarding enuf!

QF
If it were some pple dey'll say dey don hit jackpot,lets learn frm ds o. Ds r d knd of pple we shud av in high places. Thumbs up Mr Lateef honesty pays jst kip it up

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Gud. Honesty is the best policy...

Really impressive!!!

Hmn so we still have some good samaritans in this world, okay, as for me I aint returning shit just being honest, crucify me all U want but that's straight from the heart

Seb's Wife said...

We are so proud of you Lateef. I wish this news can be publised around world. Over here we are constantly inundated with news of how corrupt Nigerians are. But i fly my flag proudly, because i know that we do have some good eggs.

Well done!

FRIVOLOUZ said...

Quick take on dis......
His Name says it all..."SALAMI lATTEF"
His a real (saaalaaami) Ode..
However intergrity, Fear of GOD/MAN and i suppose the shock of it played a major part in his decison.
Me, i'll use the same funds to book an all expenses paid first class trip to the same istanbul,..come back and still have change left for something esle..i'll consider it my lucky day.

Gideon Solomon said...

Awesome...That's a True depiction of Loyalty&Integrity.......

There is still hope! Plus, that was the second time he found money in a plane. The thing is keeping that kind of money can't give me rest of mind. He did the right thing.

The questions is how many of us can do that?

P-MONEY said...

MAY GOD PUNISH TURKISH 4 DAT. IS DAT A GUD REWARD?ANYWAY, LATEEF VEHEMENTLY REFUSED TO B RICH. SOME OF US HAVE BEEN LUKIN 4 SUCH OPPORTUNITY.DAT MAY B D WAY GOD WANTED 2 BLESS HIM.REMEMBER, SOME PPLE HATE 2 B RICH

Wow!!!we still ve pple like dt in naija???that is so guuuuud!he will go places

Honesty still remains †̥ђع best policy! He travels τ̲̅ȍ Turkey with A̶̲̥̅ guilt-free conscience and witout spending A̶̲̥̅ dime. Kudos, Salami.

Linda, u r so full of sarcasm!

Inah said...

Ah ah! They wuda promoted him aswell or given him some money too. Well, I like his honesty

yes I said it said...

This is stupid and crazy. Why return it? Please I hate these kind of stories.

Janded said...

Thank God there are still honest Nigerians out there.

Deejay said...

Muslims are trustworthy people!Islam preaches hardwork and dignity in labour. Great one indeed.

na big mugu. na trip to that Ottoman enclave go change him life?,

D guy try sha! God will def reward him. If it was me, fuck honesty, would have taken at least £5000. Have so many bills I need to settle now. But thank God for guys like this. He had probs tOo but chose to do d right thing. God bless him

CHI

And for those that keep asking Linda for her email to send stuffs to her, just take d time to scroll to the end of d page, where you'd see a pic of her and beside it(don't know how it is on a pc cos I read d blog on my phone) you'd see "view my complete profile". U click on it and tada! D email address appears. Thank u, thank u!!

CHI

We still have honest people in this country. That's good

waxy said...

There are hopes for Nigeria. Some people might knocked u down for ur honesty, pls ignore them. You are one in Millions, you will surely reap what u sow.

It's H said...

Now that's an honest Nigerian right there, we defly need more of such guyz around, the free trip to turkey good Ooh but i hope say them go secure the man visa and give am spending money, LOL him need abeg jhoor

Is that all they did for him? Smh, wat happened to 50-50?

lorlar said...

kpchew.. all expense whaaaat

The compensation should be monetized

Fantabulous!! Gud 4 him

bluemagic said...

Linda,mak I tel u truth,thou honesty is good oh,bt even if I wld return d mney,definitely nt all of it...ehhhhh,for dis hard time wey dey naija now...biko kwa

Allegra said...

Good to know that there are still some honest people left in that country. Good for him.

kola said...

Even though he tried to made away with the money, he would be caught, so returning the money back to authority is the best. The owner of the money can possibly come back and compensate him personally.

While politicians are stealing us blind. The average Nigerian is doing what Salami did. Well done.

Evan said...

The bible says dat a good name is better than many riches. What goes around comes around, i pray dat God will reward his honesty.

adah said...

I hope they also gave him the money to spend too!!

AK said...

Abeg na istanbul we go chop.Its good to know we still have good people like this man(aside me myself and 1).God will bless him but the airline should do better than that.

Did he tell them that what he needs in his life is to travel to Istanbul? They had better promote him and give him a raise in addition to that all expense paid trip. Not everyone is that honest, sometimes u may even convince yourself that God has blessed you by allowing u to find that money. Valerie

I don't know what was worse, the fact that he returned the money or the fact that he was rewarded with just an ordinary trip to wherever! I believe in honesty and all that, but finding something is not stealing it!

funmi said...

people like this are hard to find o

Thought he would have asked a radio station to play "my helper o, my helper.." And abscond with the money. Lol.
Anyways, that is a good way of behaving and is worthy of emulation indeed.

Who says there is ₪☺ hope 4 м̲̣̣̥Ɣ beloved country?? Who says corruption has infested evry nigerian??? Well this has definitely proved them wrong
I hope the haters of northern nigerians n d Nigerian people in general will seee this noble act and revert. Highly commendable indeeed.
I believe in Nigeria!!!

Just a trip....greedy thieves...if the owner doesn't claim the bag the company is going to keep it abi

Dave1 said...

Returnd 7.35mill?! Am impressed. Wuld i do same?maybe. If d money belongd to a politcian in naija? Never! Al xpense paid trip...hmmm. Nyc consolation.

That is very good, thank goodness we still have honest nigerias, God bless him

For dis Nija wey we dey???Tufiakwa!!!!!

Nawa o! What a reward! Mscheeeeew

iamfascinating said...

wow. God bless him for not tarnishing our image and his conscience.

Do you know most ant-perspirants contain aluminum, a chemical that has been linked to breast cancer? check out www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com for the safest effective anti-perspirant out there!

kai! MUMU

olivia said...

Ur just a comfirmed criminal....ℓ☺ℓ..see how u twisted stealling and finding

Bellaz said...

Rubbish! All expense paid trip to go and do what? So thats all they gave the honest man? Next time someone else finds that kind of money. They bet he or she wont return it cos no on wants to go to effing Istanbul! Give the guy some financial reward dammit! Thats y sometimes some people dont want to do good.!!!

so when you do the right thing nigerians call you "mumu" then turn around and blame politicians who by the way steal your money to avoid becoming "mumu"..with people like anon 5.05pm etc etc this country is doomed

The only people that carry that much cash are politicians! I will not return it.Part of MY national cake.

BLOGMOTHER said...

Haba!!!! 250naira 11yrs ago? And you still can't get over it?
benue girl indeed

Τ̣̣ђё airline should have extended τ̣̣ђё goodwill τ̲̅ǿ his immediate family too so that it would be like a family vacation(at least, let his immediate family also benefit from his good deed). And abeg oh,(una know say I no sabi these things) does return ticket not mean that he still has τ̲̅ǿ pay Ƒσя τ̣̣ђё going ticket?(Abeg correct ♍e politely if I'm wrong)or ΐƨ it A̶̲̥̅n all expense paid round trip. If I'm correct then that's not fair oh. I think he also deserves a promotion.sha if he ΐƨ sensible, he will make d best of τ̣̣ђё trip, instead of buying souvenirs Ƒσя friends and family, he can buy items that he can sell Ƒσя a profit and make small money(turkey should have good fabrics). May God Almighty bless him Ƒσя this deed. Amen.

www.justaqad.blogspot.com
truly Nigerian

lolo uno said...

i had a shittty day but the comments here made me laff real hard...thank u my fellow commentators lwkmd

it only makes sense he returns it. he is a poor man. the wahala he wld face if he trys to run with it is more than the benefits

God bless Salami!
But who is the MUGU that forgot that much money?

Alot of credible nigeriansare still around.A cart pusher at MMIA found huge cash twice and returned it but unfortunately,he was sacked for returning the cash.Can u imagine d kain country we are,the guy now tout @ d airport

Kriss said...

^^
This clearly shows this country is a million light years away from change.

And you keep on blaming your politicians. SMH.

holy pass said...

I'll find it damn near impossible to convince myself it's not God's answer to my fervent prayers

This man is very foolish anybody u forgets such huge amount I bet u did not work for it .Linda pls verify he must be a politician If is me I won't return it

Aity said...

Hmmmmm.... SALAMI..... God wld reward u perfectly..... As 4 me no returnin lailai its cald blessing frm above God wont come down 2 bless u he uses pple....

Honesty rarely pays nowadays,in UK here,u know how many times I have lost 5 pounds note that fell on the floor?Yet no one comes back to return.On two occasions I have returned money left on the ATM to the bank and I never got rewarded for honesty.Infact if I am the man that truly relies on honesty I would have refused that trip and wait for God'd reward instead, but wait who owns the money?

Fehinty said...

hmmmmm! trip to istanbul? for what na? to shop or just sight seeing hols? haba reward him with 5%. he was honest enough.

parecletos said...

He is a MUSLIM!!!!!!! He learnt that from the Prophets (peace be upon them all) of God.That is what a member of the UMMAH should do and I'm proud to be with them.
I LOVE JESUS!! (peace be upon him)

That's why such opportunites will NEVER come to people like u. The money will finish on rubbish then Karma will come round. Be content

Zabrain said...

Wow! Nigerians learn! Peace of mind is the paramount in any situation! Always do what will give u peace of mind not momentary gratification. That man might die a cleaner but he'll die a Happy, fulfilled cleaner! Thats dignity of Labour jare! Salami, keep it up!
-zabrain

Ode, preaches violence as well

He did the right thing, and the airline tried am sure if it were a Nigerian airline they would just tell him thank you. The thing is what you do today protects ur tomorrow not just for U̶̲̥̅̊ but also ur generation so appreciate God for such a Reputable Nigerian. We are getting better. Aunty Linda if you can Solicit for the man to be promoted.

Money doesn't belong to airline, so even the all expense paid trip is from the airline's pocket. Obviously the airline wld still have to return the money back to the passenger(owner). The guy works for Nahco not airline so interms of salary raise or promotion, nothing airline can do. Maybe employ him and relocate him to turkey. But who wants to stay in a non -enlish speaking country?*rolling eyes*

ode!!!!!! mtchewww!

sakara said...

for d boko haramist talking about d north, sorry to burst ur bubbles, d man is a yoruba muslim, so choke on ur bile

as for me NEVER wl i return such money, may God forgive me, that money belongs to a politican who was scared to take it out of d aircraft

I wl seriously not return it, no businessman that has worked hard for that money wl forget it, impossible.

i'll take it and donate half to orphanage and do whatever i like wt d rest, chikena make police con arrest me, imagine trip to istanbul and owner collected money and vamoosed, who be the owner? i wan know nonsense

Richbenie said...

Trip to Istanbul? wotz dat!!! cash wud av been bera...sure d dude might be regretting now...lol #Justsaying

It is appaling how some people here are saying he is a 'mumu' for returning it.... This further goes to show that corruption and lack of trust has been embedded deep in Naija Fabric... We need to go back to basics and hope that parents can now instill truly in their children values that are right..... Sorry to say but truth hurts, the current generation in Nigeria is a wasted corrupt generation, thanls to our leaders from the start of the Military era

-Anonymous Just Passing By

Nekky said...

i dunno wat to say about this. just last week, someone 'mistakenly' sent 12k recharge card pin to my fone and he called n begged me to return it which i did though i was tempted to use one out of it. the guy called and thanked me so much and kept prayin for mi. in fact he started calling me every other day. just on monday,he said he was driving down to lag from PH( dats where he claim he satys).said he will drive to my office straight to come see me before going to wherever he was going. then @ about 2:30pm he sent me a text that i should pls call him dat he's havin problem wiv road safety officers on d xpress.i called and he was crying over the fone that they had an argument and he mistakenly tore one of them's uniform and dat dey hv injured him on his head dat he's bleeding. and that he has used up all his money so i should pls send him recharge card to call his company lawyer.i hesistated but later sent him #400 recharge card.he said d num wasnt going that the officers is insisting he pay for the uniform else he will be taken to the police station.he was crying and that got to mi.long story short is that i ended up sending the guy #7000 recharge card and d following day which was in tuesday,he actually called and said he got into lag very late but he's on his way to VI to sort some things out that i should send my office address so he'll come check on mi later. i sha did and from dat tuesday till today,d number has been switched off. it dawned on me taht i hv been scammed!!!!! i'm trying so hard to forgive myself cos i'm way too smarter than dis.i thought to myself that d 12k recharge was not even real in teh 1st place. my point is that if i had tried loading the recharge cards in the 1st place,i would hv realised dat its not real n wont take the guy seriously. but i was honest yet i lost 7k recharge card for being honest..... well i dont think honesty pays that much again dese days. with wat happened to me,though its only 7k which is nth,i doubt if i'l be honest again. i've learnt my lesson so to hell with honesty.if na me see dat money,i wont return all of it,ho ha!!!!!

I CANT BELIEVE WHAT MOST OF YOU ARE WRITING! WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO INTEGRITY?? HAVING A GOOD NAME? AND YET YOU BLAME OUR POLITICIANS, WHILE IN HONESTY MANY OF YOU WILL STEAL WHEN YOU GET TO POWER. CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME!

lolo uno said...

nekky r u okay??...in dis day and age person still dey bamboozle u...o ma shey oooo...

WWJD? said...

pls remember, he dat thinketh he is wise is a fool in the sight of the Lord. Don't try play smart bos people or govt r bad. Do whatever u do to please God and remember that once ur garment is stained, u ve no place in God's kingdom. WWJD?

HABA, THE AIRLINE SHOULD DO SOMETHING PRODUCTIVE FOR THE MAN. A TRIP TO INSTABUL? REALLY? ABEG NO MAKE THE GUY REGRET HIM ACT OF HONESTY.

If na me c dat kind money and I return am make kwashoko catch. Fuck honesty, when our leaders dey steal 23 trillion naira, ee come be 7.3 million. Well, God bless d guy sha, but nawaoO.

Trip to istanbul my ass! why can't they give him like 30% of the money? Me i no fit return am sha...I think

Gaia said...

@ Benuegirl, ROTFL, that's too funny! About 10 years ago, I would have returned it (fresh out of uni, big dreams, innocent etc). But now, HELL NO!!! There is no way am giving a dime back :)

the sense of entitlement to what doesn't belong to you is what is killing nigeria. this is why i can;t trust any of y'all...it's not his money. Why is he entitled to anything out of it? like why? seriously? and you blame those ripping you off thruough oil subsidy? anyone who thinks they are entitled to something they didn't work for is a thief. take it or leave it.

Chuka Ewelukwa said...

This guy is in love with POVERTY!!!

Bossman said...

Linda y shud u post d reply of dis idiotic anonymous? Make's me think u'r in support of him.

he did a good thing but trip to istanbul isnt a good one. i expect a better reward.

Asanwa baby said...

So na only northerners bear d name? Na wa to u o...everything does not have to be viewed along etnic/religious lines. There are good and bad people everywhere.Broaden your mind

Nekky my dear, sori but u r a fool! How could you fall for such a stupid scam?? U should have realised something was wrong when he asked you to send him recharge card to call his lawyer?? Someone you don't even know! Y did he have to call you for the recharge card?? Didn't u think?? How did he manage to get 7k recharge card 4rm u?? People like u r d reason y yahoo boys r into business

CHI

Nekky said...

@CHI,thanks.........

Yeah God will bless him...but I'm begining to wonder. What d airline will do with the money...jus food for tot. Cos dey don't no d tru owner of it...unless the airline demselfs put it as a test of honesty. Anyways jus wondering. Olivia

Aity said...

@nekky so sorry bout ur 7k dat guy rilly got u......

mumu....Him dey feel say dem go give am better package....Ode,egbon dended