D'banj's explosive new interview. Opens up on feud with Don Jazzy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 April 2012

D'banj's explosive new interview. Opens up on feud with Don Jazzy

Written by Ayeni Adekunle of Thenetng.com . Quite an eye opener. You must read this...enjoy...
There’s an important person in that building, right?’ the cab driver asked. ‘Important musician?’ I nodded, too tired to let any curious driver drag me into a conversation. He got the message and left me alone the entire drive from Canary Wharf to the London Marriot Hotel, in Grosvenor Square.
Then, as I got down to get my suitcase from the trunk, he gave me a knowing look, smiled, and said ‘are you the musician?’ ‘Of course not’, I said to him, smiling this time. ‘The musician is in Canary Wharf, his name is D’banj’. Silence. Confused look. ‘D’banj?
Yes, D’banj. He’s big in Africa. You know ‘Oliver Twist?’ Silence again, then as his final ‘no’ came, I said ‘Google him.
Continue reading...

It was 4am on Saturday, April 21. I arrived in London eight hours earlier, and had spent almost all of that time chatting with D’banj, in his first interview with a Nigerian newspaper in a long time, and his first interview on the Mo’Hits brouhaha.
London is D’banj’s town. He’s performed there over and over, his single ‘Oliver Twist’ is on the A-list at Choice FM, and enjoys heavy rotation on other stations. A day before I came, he spent hours doing interviews at the Universal offices in Kensington. Some might hail D’banj as the man championing the gospel of ‘Afrobeats’ across the world. But, just like the cab driver, London does not yet know D’banj.
As we walk into the Choice FM building in the afternoon on Saturday, there are no heads turning or fans gazing. In fact, his lawyer, Elias, who wore a pair of loud snakeskin boots, attracted more attention than D’banj.
Who leaves a zone where they’re comfortable and celebrated; where they’re established and successful, for a place where no one seems to give the slightest care?
D’banj, that’s who.
The 31 year-old entertainer has spent nearly two years building structures he hopes will help take his music to new markets in Europe, and especially America. This move, he believes, cost him his friendship and business relationship with his long time partner Don Jazzy.
I’m a risk taker’, he says. ‘Life is all about risks. But you must never endanger yourself. I don’t endanger myself, which is why, even though I’m here, I’m still in Nigeria all the time, performing’.
With incredible energy, and the kind of passion that endeared everyone to him when he first moved back to Nigeria in 2005, D’banj says his deal with Kanye West is a case of ‘preparation meets opportunity’.
I pulled up with my entourage at the Emirates first class lounge in Dubai. We were returning from Scott Tommey’s birthday.  I came down with Bankuli, my P.A. Chuchu, and my business manager Chidi. My entourage was large and I was looking fly. One of the hostesses ran to me with a Kanye West placard. I said I’m not Kanye o – then I told my guys ‘Kanye is around so no dulling.’ Chuchu and Bankuli spotted Kanye walking in to check in. They went to him and he said we could come over’.
As they came, I had my iPad with me, and my headphones. First thing Kanye said was ‘I like your T-shirt’. I wore a Zara T-shirt and a D&G ring. He liked my appearance and said he’d give me 5 minutes. I told him ‘I played with you in Nigeria during NB PLC Star Megajam. I’ve done a song with Snoop and we’re going to shoot the video now. I’d like to play you my songs.’ I played Oliver, Scapegoat, and Fall in love. He was dancing. He removed the headphones and said ‘I don’t mean to sound rude, but if anyone has to bring you out in the states, it has to be me, not Snoop. He asked when I was going to be in the US, and  I told him I was going there that day. Then he asked who my producer was, and I said Don Jazzy. He said ‘come with him.’
Three months later, D’banj, Don Jazzy and their crew were in New York, where, according to D’banj, it took almost forever before they could establish contact with Kanye. ‘It was only an email address he gave us at the airport. So when we got to NY, we sent several emails but got no response. Not a single one.’
Then we met someone that knew someone that knew another someone and we got another email address. We sent several messages again, no response. Then Bankuli sent a final one saying, ‘we have been in New York for some time and sent several emails. We have waited long enough and are now on our way to do the Snoop Dogg video
And then the reply came. ‘Sorry to have overlooked your earlier emails. Mr. Kanye would like to meet with you tomorrow.
We didn’t believe it. Don Jazzy, who had been reluctant all along, still did not believe it. Even when we got there (Wyclef’s studio) the next day, he stood outside. When Kanye came I went to call him ‘Oya come now, come play am the music now’. It was difficult to believe it was real and it was happening. Then when Kanye came in, with the GOOD music acts, I was like, ‘wow’.
From there everything happened fast. Next they were meeting Jay Z, making a presentation to LA Reid (At Electric studios), and discussing contracts. But while the label offered him a traditional recording contract, D’banj opted for a joint venture agreement structured to guarantee three things: retaining full control of his materials in Africa, signing Don Jazzy on board (on behalf on Mohits USA), and, he says, bringing the Universal/Def Jam imprint to Africa.
I’ve always thought of how I can be a useful vessel to the industry. A friend and colleague always says to me:  ‘D’banj, you’re the Jesus Christ of the industry.’ So having ran Mohits for nine years, I already had plans of how we could blow Mohits up.  I had plans of expanding, and most especially, bringing hope to that 11 year-old kid somewhere in Africa who may never have had the opportunity to get signed to major labels’.
So it was not really just about me.  There’s a big market in Africa.  I said to them, ‘I’ve sold millions of records in Africa, we’ve done millions of hits with CRBT, and I’ve run the most successful label on the continent. You take care of the US, but let me take you to Africa.‘  And I’m happy to tell you that we’re doing that. D’banj’s album will be the first under Universal/Def Jam Africa, and we’re already putting all the structures in place’.
‘I’m a businessman.’ I learnt from my mom, who’s a very successful businesswoman. So having run and funded Mohits for nine years, I knew we had to move to the next level. And everything we wanted was happening. Finally we could take African music to the world.’
Just like the lyrics of the song, D’banj was an Oliver Twist. Here’s a guy who had conquered a continent; was sitting on the top three list, and making more money than anyone else in his category. D’banj was a big player in Nigeria, where there are over 150 million people; a big player in Africa, with over 850 million people. But he wanted to play big globally, with 7 billion people to grab from.

And that’s where the problem started. ‘Don Jazzy was no longer comfortable. You know, we were like fishes out of water, in this new system, starting all over again, like when we returned home in 2004.   I got him a place in the US, set up a studio there, just so he’d be comfortable and be able to work without going to hang around the studios. In one year Jazzy did not make a song. I said, maybe you want to go back to Lagos, you’ll get inspiration there? I was all about the work, I wanted us to make this happen, so we can bridge that gap and create a path for Africa. But Jazzy wanted us to go back home. And I understand. He’s my friend, my brother’.

But I never expected him to do what he did.’ He said to me in July last year ‘Let’s scatter Mohits. He told me there are two captains – two captains cannot be in a ship. I was like ‘that’s not possible, this is a marriage’. He said ‘then this marriage is no longer working’. I said then let’s go for counseling; I asked, so what happens to our children?

Don Jazzy wanted Mohits, D’banj says. And that happened on April 16, 2012 – after months of a bitter feud, characterized by accusations and counter accusations, widespread speculation, leaked emails and failed reconciliation attempts.
You can see he has signed already’, he said, showing the agreement with Don Jazzy’s signature. ‘I have full rights to my catalogue and full ownership of my Koko Holdings, while he has full ownership of Mo’Hits, including the artistes and liabilities.
Already judged guilty in the court of public opinion, and publicly disowned by his own boys Wande Coal and Dr SID, D’banj says he’s sad, but not bitter. Does he feel kind of lonely, alone in the cold?  ‘Asking me if I’m lonely because Wande or Jazzy has left me is like asking my first sister if she’s lonely now – she has two kids now, lives in Canada. Don Jazzy is still my brother – we just had to move on. We’ll still work together in future, same with my boys. In fact, just this week, he sent me the remix to Oliver Twist that we’re releasing in the UK on May 14. All the interviews I’ve had here, I kept hyping him. It’s already in my system – you know me, I’m a one-way soldier.  Jazzy is a very quiet person. Loyalty is key. My loyalty still lies in the friendship I had with him. He was cheated by JJC, and I was present. I swore never to cheat him. But I’d like to think our visions became different.

It was clear when we met that Jazzy wanted to be the biggest producer, I wanted to be the biggest African entertainer, not the biggest singer. I had my mind on money. In order to say I’m the biggest, I had to be the richest. So for a very long time, he was on the back end. He respected my act, I respected his music judgment. Every meeting that brought us money I went for. I’d say I need to confirm from Don Jazzy because that was the agreement, even though I knew it was my decision. First Glo deal was $500,000. That Landcruiser jeep was because of my demands. It was because of the skill and exposure that I used to bargain. I’m a businessman’

People say I’m less talented, I was known as a jester in the JJC squad. I’d make everyone happy and play the mouth organ, but I knew what I wanted. I decided to give Don Jazzy power in 2007 when we realized that after four years, they did not recognize us as a record label. We had signed artistes and done all this work. So we restructured, and restrategized. So I told him to chill, so he can be more respected and be the don. I’m older than him by one year, yet I respected him like a don. I remember when he came out at Ali Baba show, I knelt down for him, so people would say he’s the baba. All the talking in my ears and all, it was an arrangement. All the Soundcity advert and all, he did not tell me anything. It was all an arrangement.’

With his UK publicist Vanessa Amadi taking notes nearby, his manager Bankulli interjecting every now and then, and several legal documents surrounding us, D’banj spoke passionately of his former partner in the same way a man might go on about a cherished and respected, but estranged, lover. He’s on his sixth cigarette, and thinks the room is stuffy, even though no one complains. So he opens the sliding glass for ventilation. ‘Jazzy did his part’, he says, sitting down again and looking me in the face. ‘He made the music for nine years. But nothing stops him from making for twenty more years. We could have changed the formula. Why didn’t he want to change the formula? It was time to expand the business, Mohits was Motown reloaded. We always knew we would expand, he always said I had more swagger than anyone else he knows, And I know he’s one of the best producers in the world; we wanted to make Mohits the biggest in Africa. Other labels were springing up. So if we could conquer America, London when no one had done it before. Most of our people stop in Germany, or Paris. But this is America, this is the big league; it makes us the strongest, the biggest. We had already made the money. And who best to introduce me to the rest of the world? Kanye did not want to change anything about my music, my style of dressing, or my brand. It is God’s favour. But Jazzy was and is very scared. Something had worked for eight years, so he wanted to maintain the status quo. People are afraid to try new things.’
But’, he tells me, still maintaining eye contact while lighting another cigarette, ‘I’m not afraid. I’m a vessel that God is trying to use to help the industry. I’m a bridge. Once in a few years, one artiste comes from the UK to run the world, none has come from Africa. Fela was the closest. It’s been my own dream; I made my name from Nigeria, unlike Seal, Wale, and Tinie Tempah.  And I want to bring Universal, Def Jam and all to Nigeria. So if I can build that bridge, then we’re good, because it will give hope to the boys in Asaba, in Oshogbo that this thing is possible.’

The day after our Canary Wharf interview, we meet up at Highbury Islington, where he’s shooting a documentary and the promo for the Oliver Twist competition for the UK. D’banj’s new crew: Semtex (a white A&R rep from the label), Bankuli and Vanessa, are on the ground, working with the production team. ‘This is why we’re here o. This is the work’, he says as he invites me into the dressing room.

And when people say why am I not talking, this is why. I’m focused on making this happen. It’s more important for me to make sure I don’t disappoint all those who have invested in me; all those who believe in me and are supporting the movement, than to be fighting over who’s right or wrong. Even now that I’m talking to you, I don’t even know if I should be doing this interview.

It’s very unexpected that D’banj – the super aggresive D’banj – is speaking in this manner. He has fought many battles, cut off many former friend-associates, ignored the Nigerian media, and reportedly humiliated several Mo’hits members, including Ikechukwu and Dr SID. Temperamental, often impatient, and vocal, those who know him will tell you the D’banj they know, is not the one that’s speaking.
So I ask:
The perception is that you’ve become arrogant, unreachable, proud. You’re not the D’banj we used to know; not the D’banj I used to know – and most people in the media will say this is true
Obviously people will say stuff – but this is me. I can’t keep up with everyone, no matter how much I try.  But I understand where I’m coming from. I cant forget my roots – all the interviews I had yesterday, I was ‘bigging up’ DJ Abass, he gave me my first show in London. You saw me giving Jazzy props in my interview earlier. That’s me. If I was arrogant I wouldn’t have been the one even chasing Jazzy around since he told me last July that he wanted to scatter Mohits. Last time I saw him was on February 19 at Irving Plaza. He didn’t support the show, and he only came on stage when SID and Wande were performing. I wanted peace.
And even my mom, who had supported us from beginning, who gave us the house we stayed in (in Michael Otedola estate, Lagos), the Previa bus we used and paid for Tongolo video, spoke to his parents last December; ‘this is what your son said o’. I remember my mom saying to me, ‘if you guys have been together all these years, and no wahala, then if you need to part, I hope there’ll be no wahala.’ She was very particular about that. I had enough proof to have come out and speak; this thing has been on for a long time, and we’re in April now. But I don’t want to cause any wahala. I don’t want to spoil anything. I don’t want trouble. Right now, I just want to be able to move on and do my business.’

That’s surprising, because when the leaked emails emerged, revealing private email conversations between the estranged partners, all fingers pointed at D’banj. Don Jazzy, a likeable celeb and social media addict, didn’t have anything to prove. D’banj was the one who looked bad, and, understandably, would want to make a move that could earn him public sympathy.
‘The signing (away of my shares in Mohits) was already being discussed before April 16. If I kept quiet from January till now, what would it benefit me to leak anything? Remember all the stuff about my password and all? We know where that was from, I really wouldn’t want to think it was from him, my brother, but it could be from anywhere, but I don’t want to call anyone’s name’

But were the emails forged?
Everything in those emails were facts. And I don’t even think the mails favoured me in any way. It’s not the exact mails that were sent and signed, but there were elements of truth in the mails that were published.’

Why did you tell Ebony you own Mohits?
My mom advised me not to speak. And the interviewer took it out of context. I co-owned Mohits.  We registered the business in 2004, and we owned it 50:50. So I spoke about that, but the interviewer took it wrong and the fans put pressure on them and they corrected it.

How about Sahara Reporters?
I never wanted to have any interview. It was on the eve of my US show. I was told I should do the interview, because they’re very troublesome. I had to do the interview for the sake of my show the next day. I was guaranteed that there’d be no politics questions. I had not been in the country. And I had been under pressure.  Sadly, when that happened and I was being attacked in the media, none of my guys came out to support me.

Looking at all this, what are your regrets?
The truth is that if nothing went wrong, you’d have still heard all this good news and Mohits would take the glory, I didn’t come out in eight years to say anything. Everyone made their contributions. There were no issues, as long as it worked. My mistake was thinking that we were one. People don’t question their brothers and sisters.

How do you feel about Wande Coal and Dr. SID taking sides with Jazzy?
I won’t be too quick to judge Wande Coal. I hear it was Jazzy that tweeted those Wande tweets. I don’t know how true that is, but I know he had our social media accounts. As at a month ago, I couldn’t access any of my accounts. My password was changed on Twitter and Facebook. Then Universal intervened. I’m about to be verified on Twitter now. I’m not really a social media person, so it was Don Jazzy and some of our other guys that were running it. Wande himself knows the truth. He cannot talk to me like that. The whole Mohits knew who ran the label businesswise. They knew who to come to when they needed to get money out, after we recorded the album. Who knows the factory where Dansa was made? But you will know the marketing manager. The car he’s driving, I bought him a brand new Prado from Phyllis and Moss after he crashed the car he won from Hiphop World awards. I bought six Range Rovers last year. I bought D’Prince an LR 3 last year, he crashed it, then I bought him a Range, and it’s true that I bought two Bentleys. Because of Jazzy. But after July last year, after the issue with Jazzy, I bought myself the Aston Martin.

You bought that? I thought that was a gift?
I bought it.

How were you able to fund all that?
In the last nine years, there are a few people and corporate bodies that God has helped me build relationships with, either individuals or banks, or even corporates that are involved in the growth of the industry. I’ve enjoyed their support, and even now that we’re going global, we’re pooling the funds together from all these places.

Could you possibly be Nigeria’s richest pop star? A billionaire?
Vanity upon vanity. Money is material. In terms of what we’re doing, you’ll call me a Trillionaire, because this vision is too big for only me. With the help of the industry, the government, people like you Ayeni, we will not only be billionaires, but trillionaires, and not just me, but every little kid that has same talent like Beyonce, or Nicki Minaj. And with the standard of the UMG worldwide, we can pass people out from our own Universal Music Group Africa, Universal Def Jam Africa, and everyone should jump on this ship with us. It’s not the Titanic.

There’s been a lot of confusion – what label exactly are you signed on?
My album comes out under my label/GOOD Music/Island Def Jam. I’m funding the D’banj album, in America, through GOOD Music/Island Def Jam. GOOD Music is Kanye West who is co-executive producing with me. The deal comprises of Island Def Jam, in US. But in UK, it is under Mercury. My first single will be released in Europe on May 14. My work will be released in Africa through Universal/Def Jam. We don’t have these structures in Africa, and they’ve seen how much money they’ve lost. They’ve seen what I’ve done with Mohits. I made my pitch to them; I’ve made them realize how much they were losing in the African region. Over 150m Nigerians, over 800m Africans. 2% of that is 8.5m. They were not making anything except from S.A, which has been the US of Africa. So we will be launching this label in Ghana, in partnership with Vodafone, launching in Nigeria in partnership with MTN. Def Jam Africa will be up soon; Kenya, SA, and North Africa will follow.

Why are you risking all this? What if you burn your fingers and lose everything you’ve worked for?
Lose out?  Well, I am happy I even have something to risk. To whom much is given, much is expected. Look at Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Jay Z, Kanye West, these people take it to the max, take it to where they believe that they can push it to. In the first instance, coming back to Nigeria with Jazzy was because I was a risk taker. And I wouldn’t say I’m throwing everything away. I would say I’m putting everything back in, in order to rip into the future. I get a broadcast from Tonye Cole everyday. He says when you tell people this your vision, know that it’s not for you alone – it’s for everyone. It’s like what Fela did. If what I’m doing doesn’t work, but sows that seed that will germinate in three, five years, it means my name will be written in gold.

Some people have tried this before you, unsuccessfully. Do you have doubts and fears  sometimes?
My last album was in July 2008 – no album in four years and I know what I still command in those four years. The momentum for me to be able to do this is because I see how much it took me, I saw the benefit, it’s God, and the favour of the relationships we’ve built. Plus, I don’t take no for an answer, I don’t take negativity. It will work in Jesus’ name. If not, I wouldn’t have landed in the UK and hear Oliver Twist on the radio. Nor would I be in the mainstream media with them saying I’m pioneering afrobeats. I said to them ‘Oh hell no, that’s Fela’s music. Fela is the legend.’ So I pray to God – I beg my fans, it‘ll be good to do half a million downloads. It’s possible, it’s a different market. Platinum in UK is 300,000. I believe with the support of my people in Redding, Coventry, Dusting, Hackney, Thamesmead, Abbeywood, we can do it.’

And so, as I say my goodbyes and flag down the cab that’ll take me to Heathrow Airport, I can’t help thinking out loud: should one man sacrifice the wishes of the collective on the altar of ambition and material wealth? But then, what should be expected of the man whose dreams and ambition grow beyond those of other – possibly myopic-  members of the collective: should an individual sacrifice his personal desires; derail his destiny, so to speak, in the interest of the collective?

In all of this, faithfulness and loyalty have been brutally murdered. And the jury is still out on who pulled the trigger.

228 comments:

1 – 200 of 228   Newer›   Newest»
Loudmouthed said...

Na wa

Miss pepe said...

Hmmmmm....really dunno wat to say,buh from this I think dbanj isn't guilty after all...and I know more things will come up weeks to come

This was a well conducted interview, honestly thumbs up to the reporter. D̶̲̥̅̊'banj God bless you hustle, Don Jazzy...shame on you! i don't even need to hear any sides again, i could feel the honesty in this interview.

BLOGLORD said...

They have split abi? matter end!

I always knew dbanj was being crucified too early.

abeg dis tory too long. Eye dey pain me

lmao! na real bruhaha
i cudnt bothered to fry fish ryt now

Bukola said...

Me hav already read it on anoda blog jst came back to read d comments on LIB..oya whr u na dey naow..ok una still dey read..abeg I dey wait jare..*crossing leg..

Dbanj u're a big fool abeg! I guess you had to make such a desperate attempt to cover up all your bullsh*t. I'm sorry for you, Sellout! kmt.

Too Much information,aint falling for dis damage control,his tryin to hard to make us like him,aint fallin for dis shit,

Missy said...

Now how will this Help to reduce the price of fish in the market???
Goodluck to them both! Shikena.

Point is there is always another side to a story. Everyone started ranting and calling Dbanj names without hearing his side. From the facts of this interview its obvious what really went down. I still prop the fact that dbanj isn't holding any grudge against micheal. Be that as it may, I wish both of them well. And Dear Dapo pls come and sign me up oh. Been waiting for any opportunity to showcase myself.

Ehhh don't make ur final judgement YET! Heheh just wait for it !

47vids said...

wow, big revelation..47vids.com

Hahahaha Pity parrty huh,poor baby we aint fallin for dis,u wud hav kept quiet n allowed ur work speak for you,if u feel ur on the right path,why r u botherd abt wat we all think,LONG THROAT

47vids said...

this revelation is very big o

Hmmmm quite interesting...!!

U r Jesus ba?? Kip judging let thunder strike

kokoqueen said...

Dbanj has openly showed he is not consistent...Don Jazzy u do ur interview na

Wow just wow!

silly question said...

love his music don't know much about him so where did he return to nigeria from in 2005?????

Post my comment yeye linda

Linda wat do u mean eye opener,plss don't be so gullible,so u actually beliv dis shit,so wat do u want us to do?we shud be like EyAaaa Dbanj we are sorry,we now like u more than Don Jazzy or wat.abeg dis interview na wash,too sleek to be true,obviously they arranged it.Damage control in my opinion.

Linda, you don dey carry last o...na you suppose give us this exclusive. Na so i go read am for anoda site.

MEANWHILE: Its don jazzy AGAIN !

Abeg make una pass me the pop corn....cos dem don begin to sling PURE SHIT at one another o. So no be im get Mohits after all...

Dbanj LEARN THIS....silence is golden.....the more you open your mouth the moe it cheapens you people go believe wetin dem wan believe out of jealousy and bad belle....your moving unto to bigger and better things....PEACE !

oby said...

Dbanj i love you anyday anytime....it makes no difference what people think....taking ur music beyond borders is a risk many performers will not attempt in a million years to come...love u!love u!!love u!!!*im just an oliver oliver oliver twist*in dbanjs voice...

I trust NAIJARIANS,them be ZOMBIE,one way traffic,them eyes don open now na to dey attack Don Jazzy na hin remain but in all THERE'S ALWAYS ONE TRUTH and that's the TRUTH,God bless you both either guilty or not,you guys have really made your marks at such tender ages and may God help you out in this period because you guys have made NIGERIA proud!
#Long Live MoHits,Long Live Nigeria!!!

Cent said...

So finally it looks like no one is actually guilty,or they are both guilty in their own diffrent ways, Jazzy didnt want to go worldwide cos of the risk involved so he asked to seperate,Banjo wanted to go worldwide but wanted Jazzy to go with him so it was difficult For him to let go of Jazzy and in the midst of all these fears and ambitions accusations and counter accusations were made, Jazzy went too far by tweeting from Wande's handle,Banjo went too far by asking Jazzy to give him back the car he bought for him in the end where one man fears to venture another is taking the risk to make it big, i can only wish them luck in their respective careers. #Endof

Obi Awunor said...

Na wire....

Suck on this!!!

IVORY CHI said...

COMMMMMMMAAAA!!!

Story! *yawns*

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Uneasy lies d head dat wears d crown.

Obi Awunor said...

Serious Interview...Articulately reported. Thumbs up to whoever conducted it. My Judgements' same as D'Banjs' Mom....If you have lived together in peace, do make an effort to live apart in peace as well. Good luck and Best wishes to D'Banj, Don Jazy, and MOHITS.. You all put a smile on our faces and wriggled our hips remotely while it lasted.

OmoKe said...

NA LIE! D'banj, NA LIE!

Dbanj shut up n face wat ur doin,why r u tryin hard to convince us ur da gud guy,abeg go sidon we r nt buyin dis story

bhookey said...

Hmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!

Took almost 15 minutes to read this. I must say I've developed a new found respect for D'banj and i'm patiently awaiting Don jazzy's response! But still, I wonder If it's all worth it. Why lose such long standing friendships for more fame and material things! Hmm very controversial shit!

Eyaaa!dey still luv each other so much, let's not take sides but try and reconcile dem. Una doo o.

D'bang...Thumbz up 2 u! We can all c d sincerity in all wt he said.More grease 2 ur elbow.....God bless u!!! U will b successful in dz new journey of lyf u ve embarkd on.........*winkz*

This boy talks too arrogantly sha, anyways, i wish him well

Hmm!!! Ok.

ok.

Such a silly interview....even if you did buy cars for the whole mo hits crew, did u really need to say that in the interview....plus that story abt don jazzy being scared...bullshit as far as am concerned....if u really don't want to cause any wahala like u claim then say no comment and not keep shooting urself in the foot with all these interviews and then later saying u didn't want to ve d interview. u can ve an interview and not say any bullshit....i think u need a new publicist.

there is obvious more to the story than all these he is my brother. if your own blood brother tells u he doesn't want something good because he is scared am sure you wld push and encourage him and nt kick him out of the deal.

dont knw wat to tink....really tired of dem whole bull..bt d'banj..did u really buy all dem cars u say u bought..cmon its beginning to look lyk a lie ohh

Why do u think don jazzy is scared?.stop 2 think.mmm....if d next step involves illumina**.tnk God its by choice nd nt by force.

My own belief is both party has a story to tell, and they have their fault. They should grow up and sort out their differences.

Reminiscent of Jay z and Damon Dash. hope it ends well 4 both of dem.

Wat is Mohits without D̶̲̥̅̊'banj....Nohits! :-(

Miss Eno said...

*yawns* How does this affect the fuel subsidy proble report? Abeg these people should leave matter...mbok.

I love the beats of ur entertainment, thts wat sells...wish u luck baa.. Thts wat jazzy should have done..let d'banj explore abeg, it's risk worth taking, if there's black out along the way, he will have felt contented rather than lie down think, maybe it would have worked.

Summary pls????

cynthia ray said...

well we finally heard his side of the story,don jazzy kips acting quiet,beos we all know dbanj is a crazy one,we all assumed he was wrong but as they say..........the quiet ones have the deepest mind,don jazzy was too stupid to tweet from wandel coal's handle.....i mean he needed sympathy......i just lost my respect for him.....

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

Wetin u de wait? Ppl don comment taya for dbanj n jazzy matter naow! D talk too tay!

OnileEre! said...

Dont even know what to say. Isu ata yanyan,yam pepper scatter scatter. The reason why Dbanj was 'massacred' by the public at the initial stage is totally unrelated to their feud. It had to do more with his perceived arrogance,the saharareporter interview and the fact that he's less visible on the social media unlike DonJazzy. This interview is still an episode in the whole series so i still cant figure out who is guilty or not. DonJazzy too needs to come out and stop tryin to play big boy with that his swollen mouth or else trust fickle human beings,they will soon turn his silence into an admission of guilt.
I must commend Adekunle Ayeni for this interview,nice to know he's still as real as his HipHopWorld days.

Sir Farouk said...

It is good to hear his side, people generally took Don Jazzy's side because he is more popular in the social media. Personally I wish both Don Jazzy and D'banj the best. I hope d'banj succeeds and brings our music to the world, I hope Don Jazzy continues to succeed as well. They can both be winners it does not have to be either or. Also this is the most humble I have ever heard D'banj

ONOME says.................
You are joking right?i left school few years ago,I am so not going to read this epistle.Please I want a summary.Clean cut summary.Thanks!And if you think it's intellectual laziness oh well :)))

I just find it hard to believe Dbanj but in anycase i still believe the 2 of em tgeda wud be beta dan dese newspapers slip up. All d best

BTW its is not Dustin. It is Dalston. It is not Redding, it is Reading.

KOFOSHY said...

NEXTTTTTTTTTT!!!

Innocent said...

This one na long story, my eye dey pain me o, let me get my glasses and visine.

Okay, there is no one to blame when taking business ventures and risks. It's part of life, if you want growth. There's nothing wrong with D banj's vision to go worldwide and there's nothing wrong with Don Jazzy's fear of the unknown. Africans are too scared, you think these heroes, billionaires, multi millionaires, successful people will achieve that much if they didn't go outside their box and take risk.

I hope they can both come to resolve, remain friends not enemies maybe not as close as they used to be. I wish, D banj the best and Don Jazzy the best.

I knew there was more to the story. Big up D'banj. Jealousy and fear is such a poison. Point is:

Don Jazzy wanted to be a big fish in a small pond. while D'banj was willing to be a small fish in a big pond.

Damage control toh badt. Just wait for d part 2 of this Nigerian "feem". It's coming. Won't be surprised if it's Sahara dt interviews Jazzy next. We go dey look. Honestly though, this shit has become boring. Next please.

kween said...

Well, I'm not taking sides. The truth will surely come out someday.. I wish D'banj, Don Jazzy and the entire Mohits crew the best in all their endeavors..

no offense not that am any one's team here, but the way i feel, i dont want dbanj to come back and claim he never did this interview. I hope they all make up, but goodluck to all parties.

C'bone said...

Wizkid is main thing now. D'banj living on past glory.and to think dbanj smoked six sticks of cigarette at once. Add me : 33030bd0

C'bone said...

Wizkid is main thing now. D'banj living on past glory. Add me : 33030bd0

Dis is rubbish Dbanj tel all dis ur bullshit 2 d dogs....

na waooo! to me i pray 4 Dbanj if what is tryin to do is to really promote the name of the country and to bring in honor into Nig. Entertainment and to make things Easy 4 the Upcomin Musicians in Nig that God should help him i mean a devine help from above. Dont get it Twist.

S-PAK.

Dee dee said...

Some of us dream bigger than others...that's a fact if life. It can be risky leaving what is familiar in search of bigger platforms, but sometimes you just have to follow your dreams, win or fail, instead of forever wondering what could've been. I admire his ambition, as long as he doesn't compromise himself and his values. I wish him the best of luck and God's guidance.

Ken_Whizzy said...

oooohhh,will these two just kiss and make up already,ahn ahn ...

doll (retired blogger) said...

I believe both of them. Its very easy to read in btw the lines. God bless your hustle Dbanj. May your dreams come thru. Good luck to don baba j

Jaylah said...

LETS BE SENSIBLE!!!

LET THE RUMOURS AND SPECULATIONS END.

All the people that dislike D'banj because of the split are haters period. Is it a crime to want greater success?
What right does anyone have to tell d'banj what risk to take?

When this drama started everyone hated d'banj because they felt sweet innocent hardworking don jazzy had been dumped for kanye west and d'banj had suddenly become ungrateful.

Then people remembered the stories of d'banjs rumoured arrogance in deciding whose album would be released and when.

Then the hatred doubled and tripled.

IF D'BANJ IS BEING HONEST IN THIS INTERVIEW THEN ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS D'BANJ YOU HAVE BEEN VINDICATED!!!

If d'banj owns or co-owns mo'hits then he has the right to determine whose albums are released. Whichever artist doesnt like it should ask to be released from his contract.

To those who say d'banj was afraid of wande coal's talent, i ask WHO WOULD YOU INVEST IN, YOURSELF OR YOUR COMPETITOR??? If d'banj truly tried to stifle wande's career i no blame am, na wande suppose smart commot from under him label and shine elsewhere.

If d'banj jumped ship and abandoned don jazzy, it is his choice to make. If him rise or fall e touch you? so why insult d'banj just to show sympathy for don jazzy.

People said don jazzy is a prolific producer and he can build any star while d'banj will suffer without don jazzy. If that is true then wish don jazzy all the best and wait to see the outcome. THERE IS NO NEED TO WISH D'BANJ FAILURE!!!

SOME LIB READERS CAN BE SO BLOODY GULLIBLE I SWEAR! SO BECAUSE HE CAME HERE AND GAVE THIS HALF-ARSED REHEARSED INTERVIEW Y'ALL ARE NOW EMBRACING HIM AND CURSING OUT JAZZY?? LMBO! JAZZY NEVER TALK O!

JESUS CHRIST OF AFRICAN MUSIC INDUSTRY? IS THIS NEGRO SERIOUS?! WHY MENTION THAT HE BOUGHT ALL THOSE CARS FOR HIS LABEL MATES WHEN IT IS CLEAR THE MONEY DIDNT COME FROM HIS OWN POCKET BUT THE LABEL'S POCKET?! WHAT A USELESS BRAGGART!

DID SOME OF U MISS WHERE THE INTERVIEWER WAS SURPRISED DBANJ WAS SOUNDING CALM WHILE TALKING ABOUT JAZZY? SINCE HE IS KNOW TO BE RUDE AND ARROGANT???....DOESNT THAT SHOW U THAT HE IS PUTTING UP AN ACT FOR THE PUBLIC COS HE HAS BEEN UNDER HEAT LATELY?!

MOST IMPORTANTLY, WHY WOULD HIS LABEL MATES MISS THIS SO CALLED "OPPORTUNITY" OF GETTING WORLDWIDE FAME AND WEALTH...AND SIDE WITH JAZZY INSTEAD? DOESN'T THAT SHOW U THAT DBANJ IS THE PROBLEM? DID Y'ALL EXPECT HIM TO SAY HE WAS THE PROBLEM?! HE HAS A PR TEAM SO THEY COACHED HIM ON WHAT TO SAY...TOO BAD HIS ARROGANT ASS STILL SHOWS THRU.

DONJAZZY STILL NEVER TALK...AND FROM WHAT I GATHER FORM THIS, DONJ AND THE OTHER MOHITS CREW ARE MUCH MORE LOYAL TO THEIR CRAFT AND RELATIONSHIP THAN DBANJ WHO HAS CLEARLY STATED ON THIS INTERVIEW OVER AND OVER AGAIN THAT HE IS PURELY OUT FOR THE MONEY!
OSHISKO!

Haaaaaa!!!! Jazzy's side is coming! wait for it...e dey land like hot amala!

Negro is just putting up a huge front so he can win the people's hearts again with all this sanctimonious, no grudge holding Bullshit! Dapo we know u wella.

This is so PR...How can one call this long article an interview? Dbanj having a busy schedule would never have time to answer such long questions even an interviwer is given a specific time by the celeb to be interviewed.Vanessa is a good PR so am not surprised. The questions were asked and so answered directly not even a stammer...Are u kidding me.He threw donjazzy under the bus and acted as a victim.I dont care,it's soo PR.One more thing where is the video evidence? Such interview would like to be watched and not read,i am telling u media houses would prefer a video interview to a written one so this is so PR.We all watched donjazzy's interview why cant his be a video..This was written by his PR and released into the media.Pls we are no f**ls until we see a video evidence atleast donjazzy had a video.

Jesus Christ of gini?! This guy is full of shit! Even when he is pretending to be humble, his ass still can't get it right. He obviously believes that so called statement a "friend" told him, which is why he repeated it. If someone came and told him he was a useless baboon would he have repeated it? hisss!

Ur damage control attempt no dey work!

All na wash!!!!!

LMAO at all these gullible losts eating up this BS!

Sanito said...

i could feel his raw pain... i belive he misses his mohits crew but as they say a man gotta do what a man gotta do. Dbanj i wish u the best. i pray i hear ur music on the american radio soon. Don J, i Know change is hard but forgive him for leaving ur crew and move the hell on. *drops mic

Any idiot that will come here now say display is a lie should just parkwell.
1. I have not always been a dbanj fan cos of the way donjazzy gets around him too much and dbanj gives him all day attention.

2. Maybe only bigfool no know say day sound city stunt was just dbanj trying to make jazzy look collosal, hence all d awards jazzy has been receiving. He obviously wasn't satin nothing on those interviews

3. All of u that keep talking illuminati, I smh 4u. D devils plot is for u to continue to remain where u r. Limited in ur thots. Imagine these boiz have been doing big things signing deals of 500k and right now bigbrother go soon start and wego see Africans chopping shit 4 3months cos of 300k.

I pity all of u. Dbanjs dreams are too big...and believe me he needed someone with him....he needed jazzy cos after all dy suffer name then enter go sweet pass. I saw his interview on bet yesterday and he was giving props to jazzy and all jazzy can do is come on twitter n start chatting shit.

Dbanj...u have made my dreams soooo small, I'm restructuring. I wish u success and in Jesus name u shall make it.I know ur spiritual father and I don't doubt his prayers for u. Shame shall be to do devil.

How many of u can leave ur comfort zones....please learn a lesson or 2 and don't waste ur life being a blog reader...idiots(including u on! Blog owner)

ashi oku

cheedyboi said...

Ok this is D'banjs' own side of interview. I'll be waiting for Don Jazzys' †✆ give ♍Ɣ judgement. :D

I always knew Dbanj was innocent.Abeg u guys shud stop hating on him.

This is so PR cos dbaj knew he was loosing his fan base...How can one call this long article an interview? Dbanj having a busy schedule would never have time to answer such long questions even an interviwer is given a specific time by the celeb to be interviewed.Vanessa is a good PR so am not surprised. The questions were asked and so answered directly not even a stammer...Are u kidding me.He threw donjazzy under the bus and acted as a victim.I dont care,it's soo PR.One more thing where is the video evidence? Such interview would like to be watched and not read,i am telling u media houses would prefer a video interview to a written one so this is so PR.We all watched donjazzy's interview why cant his be a video..This was written by his PR and released into the media.Pls we are no f**ls until we see a video evidence atleast donjazzy had a video.Linda post this one o.

Dave1 said...

ha kilode? Dz story fit make nollywood movie o*yawning* Dbanj has said,sori sang it al...#hez just an Olive,oliver...OLIVER TWIST!

Nmachi said...

Why are u gonna call him a "fool"? Why? Because he wants to expand? Because he wants to get out of the box?
Listen when oppourunity for greater greatness comes you grab it and do someting with it.
Just think wouldnt u be so proud if u hear Dbanj on the american radio station?
Alot of celebs are ass holes so his bad attitude is not suppossed to be that alarming. T be in power u gotta be tough and yes sometimes rude! Ya cant please evry damn person.
Dbanj Changes are u may never see tis and yes ur article doesnt change the price of fish in the market but we wish u well abeg.
Don J i love u hun but let it go. Una hash out ur differences and support each other. Just because yoy playing safe doesnt mean he shud.
Dbanj Is not just dreaming but makeing his dream come true. learn from that "badbelle" people. haa!

meji said...

but ayeni the great is a publicist now,this is obviously done to favour dbanj...some poorly executed p.r mechanism .

Don Jazzy na wa for u o! ahh u chose ur path and dbanj chose his. no need for all the middles schoolgang up on him na.
Madam abi Mr reported good job on reporting but we really didnt need ur opi onu sha. one could see u are biased(Don J paid u abi)
Anyway sha its good luck to u both oo! I cant wait to be driving the streets of Atl and hear Dbanj on the radio. the pride i will feel that day ehnn!

Dbanj. amen for u ooo!

i see how he is throwing donjazzy under the bus while acting like the bigger person in this whole matter. Whether he wants to venture out or not is not the problem. I am sure it didn't go down as amicably as he is trying to make it seem (on his side). I just find it strange that all his label mates left him at the expense of such a huge opportunity. In addition to that, must he keep bringing up the fact that he bought his label mates fancy cars? don't record labels usually do that for new artists? why is he making it seem like he spent his own money and like he made these people.

smh. just too darn arrogant.

Re we sure dbanj is nt changing thgs,hw can don jazzy refuse to go global,dnt even think dis is d main issue of der seperation.its like dbanj is over doing ,if he granted dis interview then he is foolish,wit dis self he is wrong,one step at a time.what if kanye changes his mind he had an idea fine,but he wld ve given mohit sum time to think abt it since D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ re like brodas,he shld ve stil convienced dem n keeping asking dem,but he alrdy made up his mind which was wrong.cant he tell kanye to give him time to discuss wit don jazzy ,if he is good kanye wld still wait.be betrayed a frIendship dey cant do witout him.he took d walk thinking D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ wld join him.he is only doing all these in favor of him nt wandE,dr sid,dprince or kswitch.he has made it fine wat abt d odas,knowing fully well dey wnt be seeing him n he is to help dem grow to der stand first befor walking out.

SAHARA REPORTERS: PLEASE INTERVIEW DONJAZZY!

Dbanj is trying to hard to prove a point! Abegiiiiii! Wish him all the best tho

D'banj is always high and does not know when to shut up. His should caution his mouth. Must he open up?

Seriously, they are both childish. D'banj should have told Don Jazzy to issue a press statement that he wants to split.

Now, D'banj will become another Sade Adu in the UK without Don Jazzy. Don Jazzy has a lot to lose after Oliver Twist but can D'banj make more hits? That is what matters. That is when we shall really know who was more talented among the two. Time will tell!

Kudoz said...

This is becoming too petty, Don J pls keep ur cool let D banji keep ranting rubish.

Any idiot that will come here now say dis is a lie should just parkwell.
1. I have not always been a dbanj fan cos of the way donjazzy gets around him too much and dbanj gives him all day attention.

2. Maybe only bigfools no know say d sound city stunt was just dbanj trying to make jazzy look collosal, hence all d awards jazzy has been receiving. He obviously wasn't sayin nothing on those interviews

3. All of u that keep talking illuminati, I smh 4u. D devils plot is for u to continue to remain where u r. Limited in ur thots. Imagine these boiz have been doing big things signing deals of 500k and right now bigbrother go soon start and we go see Africans chopping shit 4 3months cos of 300k.

I pity all of u. Dbanjs dreams are too big...and believe me he needed someone with him....he needed jazzy cos after all dy suffered 2geda to create their name na now e for sweet pass. I saw his interview on bet yesterday and he was giving props to jazzy and all jazzy can do is come on twitter n start chatting shit.

Dbanj...u have made my dreams soooo small, I'm restructuring. I wish u success and in Jesus name u shall make it.I know ur spiritual father and I don't doubt his prayers for u. Shame shall be to do devil.

How many of u can leave ur comfort zones....please learn a lesson or 2 and don't waste ur life being a blog reader...idiots(including u on! Blog owner)

Don jazzy, we love u but go back straight and mend the broken bridge and ur relationship with Dbanj. Aye o ni ba Irawo e je. The world will not spoil ur destiny. Remember Damon dash and Jay Z episode. It is not how brilliant you are but it is whom God has favoured. U are the head, you will not go back and be the tail. Don Baba, your crown shall not be taken from you. If you are scared of the American thing it is understandable and normal. please go back and en ur wys with your wife and see how God will lift you up high. please Don Baba, no more tweeting, interview and anymore leak on this issue agin. Plssssssss o, I am begging and the whole Naija and Africa people are pleading with you. Don jazzy u are bigger than Naija, you will shine bigger than u are now in jesus's name.

Ronny said...

Don't know who to believe buh ¶ fink Dbanj aint giving us d full gist joor,are u fucking kidding M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ that this two split because one wants to take a risk and the other doesn't?well,that's their own palava!

Ehis said...

Some1 shld just tell D'banj that this is just the cheapest way to curry sympathy and promote the uk release date of his album*shio*Okugbe*beta find good PR team not journalist masquerading as PR people ,they are not helping your issue at all,public perception of you keep nose diving while journalist are making money !BTW,how did Don Jazzy betrayed D'Banj in all this story nah ?

Hmnnn...so so interesting....teamdbanj all d way

Is it that jazzy wasn't ready to take the risk by joining illuminati???

hmmmmn oga o oro po ninu iwe kobo

well i wont blame him for his decisions .. i mean its better to regret the things u did than you didnt, i understant what he is trying to do but as someone said up he gave too much information. totally unnecessary.

banke said...

I think everybody has faults but when you give credibility and post to someone who u are older than the way dbanj did to don jazzy, its the height of it all. We would have known dbanj and infact we knew dbanj and don jaZzy would have just been like other silent producers. I however hail them both! I watched dbanj made don jazzy into a real Don! He is a good person!

Hey dbanj had to talk about buying cars cos jazzy made it seem like dprince isn't in mohit but them buy moto 4 am why him no return am or say no I no dey mohit o?...+ I needed to know he bought jazzy a car to calm his frailing nerves....d one wey pain me pass na all d illuminati yarn....poor minds. Jayz is illuminati, Kanye illuminati....dbanj illuminti(black on black murder) dts y u only c a few blacks do higher u go

God shame d devil..I soooo wish him well.

Why didn't any of his label mate follow him? E easy to delay gratification? Dey r all waiting and begging ur sorry asses to keep buying deir cds produced by idja...I wish them well. But I know some of them no get single talent..Dr sid...I laff...jazzy had to add vocal on evry song on ur last cd...and u expect discount kind person to go where? Unfamiliar ground? U joke.....

I wish both of them well.

OKO bloglord said...

"MOST IMPORTANTLY, WHY WOULD
HIS LABEL MATES MISS THIS SO
CALLED "OPPORTUNITY" OF
GETTING WORLDWIDE FAME AND
WEALTH...AND SIDE WITH JAZZY
INSTEAD?"

Ode ni eh!

Arrogance, can kill. Please stop all this talk about talent and who is going to be bigger than the other. Remember there is nothing money can't buy. Richard Branson gets pool of idea and business proposals everyday, so will people with new production talents rushing to work with D'banj. Don Jazzy, please don't listen to these fools, talking shit. Pride goes bf a fall. A word is enough for a wise. God bless.

Modupsy said...

'NUFF SAID.

ts so unfortunate this had to happen but then everything Dbanj said in this inteview is the truth and it is what we all know. Dbanj is full of life, free spirited and highly sociable. Don Jazzy is the exact opposite. U don’t need a soothsayer to tell u the personality that will be more likeable and consequently make more money between the two.

But then, efforts from Dbanj helped build the Don jazzy brand. My question is this. Why was it so difficult for brand Don Jazzy to make money as vibrant as it appears? The question is simple…the personality of Michael Collins is dull and not vibrant and therefore cannot attract or strike te right kind of business even though the brand is strong.

The day Don Jazzy twitted concerning the Fuel subsidy riot, absolving himself of wrong doing I smelt betrayal, envy and jealousy. Treachery is a terrible thing. Don Jazzy is not loyal to his man and behaved very childish with his tweet. To make it worse, he jumped on twitter again when the news of their feud just broke…saying it is true and that whatever, he has made materially and financially will be donated to charity. I see this as theatrics, a spoil spot, someone who is out to destroy destiny and dream out of jealousy and envy.

Now that he has Mohits I really look forward to what he will do with it. Lets see what happens without Dbanj. I pity Wande Coal more out of the lot. He’s got talent but that’s not enough. Music business is beyond the good voice and a good producer. It is way more than that. There are so many producers in Nigeria who will do better than Don Jazzy today. There is no big deal.

Dbanj...ur head is there...may anyone dt wish u wrath never benefit from disclosure opportunities ur trying to create for dinner larger society...

So twas even dbanj dt created dis whole hookup wit Kanye and he never mentioned it b4 now. He buy moto for jazzy never talked about it...but wen jazzy buy moto for am e no let us rest#thinking..na jazzy even buy direct motor sef or na part of days wash still#. Thank God ur brain has come back to ur head. Ur mother is praying.

Wow guys dbanj and d jazzy end of an era! but if dbanj bought 6 range last year, its ok, since he is entitled to 75% of mohitts revenue. remenber he owns 50% of mo hitts and he as co owner/artist could control up to 50 of artistic reveue, so if mohitt makes 100m on a dbanj centred deal 1st he takes 50m, then they divide the rest do the maths.. femi fftcom@gmail.com

Mtn Free Browsing said...

There are always two side to coin... Yes two.
Never judge until you hear two side.
mtn latest free browsing

Mobile Youtube Video said...

What? How true is this? Between, won't the media leave them alone? Is it force that two must play?

Waec Agric said...

So why is he all alone? His mate or boys should have side with it him atleast.

and again kanye is a confirmed asshole. i wouldnt have anything to do with kanye if i were him

would have preferred someone else but kanye? naaaah

did u all read the part where they mailed and mailed and mailed him

he should tread softly biko

i wish him well... if he succeeds it will be a big thing for upcoming nigerian artistes
i wish him well, again

Jamb Result Blog said...

I wish you will achieve your dreams...

Arrogant interview. He knows Nigerians are gullible. PR damage control. Please let this matter rest and y'all should move on.

Its so unfortunate this had to happen but then everything Dbanj said in this inteview is the truth and it is what we all know. Dbanj is full of life, free spirited and highly sociable. Don Jazzy is the exact opposite. U don’t need a soothsayer to tell u the personality that will be more likeable and consequently make more money between the two.

But then, efforts from Dbanj helped build the Don jazzy brand. My question is this. Why was it so difficult for brand Don Jazzy to make money as vibrant as it appears? The question is simple…the personality of Michael Collins is dull and not vibrant and therefore cannot attract or strike te right kind of business even though the brand is strong.

The day Don Jazzy twitted concerning the Fuel subsidy riot, absolving himself of wrong doing I smelt betrayal, envy and jealousy. Treachery is a terrible thing. Don Jazzy is not loyal to his man and behaved very childish with his tweet. To make it worse, he jumped on twitter again when the news of their feud just broke…saying it is true and that whatever, he has made materially and financially will be donated to charity. I see this as theatrics, a spoil spot, someone who is out to destroy destiny and dream out of jealousy and envy.

Now that he has Mohits I really look forward to what he will do with it. Lets see what happens without Dbanj. I pity Wande Coal more out of the lot. He’s got talent but that’s not enough. Music business is beyond the good voice and a good producer. It is way more than that. There are so many producers in Nigeria who will do better than Don Jazzy today. There is no big deal.

On a final note, he should tell us the Charity where he donated all he made with Dbanj financially and materially in 9years.

Young Gucci said...

The only thing i can say to this; "Try so many things because you dont know where your bad lock might come from." To me i think "Don" is like being scared......

Some Lib readers are gullible,tomoro if don jazzys story comes out u ll say team don jazzy,
I dnt belive is dbanj,he is desperate n wud do anytin,
PR stunts in my opinion,he career is coming to an end n his scared of loosin his fans.
Thank God for wiz kid n davido,
Can we move on pls

Kanye is an asshole and u know all his song....u idot...

"did u read d part of d article"...u idiot...no o Linda summarized ours...

Just like u...jazzy was also tayad of d mails...but wen them sign am e no come tell us o...wen he was on watch d throne. He didn't talk how he almost closed that dream.in d school of faith dats called tenacity

"Kanye is an asshole"....i just told him and he is crying...u swine

Fools and myopic minded peole. Please top picking words from the interview and then start magnifying it. The main thing is how this brillant people would come ack together and do what they do best. Enough about this talk on the cars or who buys this or that. Let's work and bring thiese two genius back together.

Deeflamez said...

HAVING READ THIS, ALL I CAN SAY IS: "WHATEVER YOU DESIRE OR DETERMINE TO ACHIEVE IN LIFE, WOO ALL CHANCES & DON'T TAKE 'NO' FOR AN ANSWER".

And please if i may add, you need not hate on both parties; D'banj obviously wanna expand, while Don Jazzy prefers to be a Local Champion, cos obviously,as a Producer in America, he won't be all over the screen like we do here in Naija & he'll feel intimidated with the market over there as tehir productions are basically hip-hop. D'Banj is the main money-bag of Mo'hits, no doubt. Even with all the wealth he has accrued, he still hustles like an 'upcoming' artiste, seeking contracts everywhere while Jazzy cools his ass forming 'Don'. D'Banj yearns for more, if not he won't walk up to Kanye West at the Airport in Dubai. You say he's proud, yet he humbled himself to make it happen. So if Don Jazzy feels starting afresh in a new zone is not risk-worthy, then fine. We all know Jazzy tweeted the 'Wande Coal-tweet' cos WC was air-bound as at the time of the post, only for the tweet to be deleted later. The rest of Mo'hits are cowards, they know they have nothing to offer the Int'l market, D'banj was the pillar of Mo'hits & he brought in & encouraged most of the artistes within. Most contracts,businesses & investments were D'Banj's idea,including d Koko Mansion & Koko Concerts. He's tried various business, some failed, most succeeded (eg Koko Mobile). He dusts himself & keeps trying & you're all here hating. He doesn't know how to sing yet his albums are always a HIT!!! If you go down memory-lane,all we rocked in clubs back then were 50cent,Amerie,Sean Paul & other foreign Dance halls stars. D'banj was one of the MAJOR acts that suspended foreign songs in our clubs & stormed them with Tongolo,Rundown & the rest, before Ruggedman also brought out 'Baraje' then other Naija acts were encouraged to produce Dance hall tracks uptill today, yes he made that MARK. So please give him a break. PR stunt or not,the ELEMENT-of-TRUTH here is certainly over 70%. And as he clearly stated: He's an ENTERTAINER & an Oliver Twist in his quest for MORE. So if you're hating cos he's moving up, then you need to get yourself CHECKED...*drops mic* @willadebo

The sage said...

I'd rather say thumbs up to d person who conducted d interview and wrote this piece. His ingeniously crafted write up succeeded in persuading many to see dbanj and unwilling husband who had to let the nagging wife go, so as to fullfill his obligation as a husband and father.
His subtleties read like that from a book, from the short convo with the cab man, to dbanj feeling hot as the interview progressed; trying to point out the innocence of the the whole interview. Bravo!

Lolll. True talk abeg. Shikena

Did ebony correct that article or not....i heard him on bet yday o not him say jazzy name him partner...devil is a liar...naeto c's voice

A lot of idiots leaving comments... Just judging without thinking... At least wait and see what Don Jazzy says...Stupid nimps

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Here we go again..all the chest beating..Important musician..Marriot Hotel..Zara Shirt..$500,000 endorsement..Dude has some serious complex!!..Gosh let others blow ur trumpet.literally speaking..

A lot of idiots leaving comments... Just jumping to conclusion and assuming Dbanj is wrong or Don Jazzy is.. At least wait till the other side says something...Stupid nimps

A lot of idiots leaving comments... Just jumping to conclusion and assuming Dbanj is wrong or Don Jazzy is.. At least wait till the other side says something...Stupid nimps.

cash said...

You people act like fools, big time fools..what crime as dbanj commitd bfore you guys start ridiculin the poor guy. D banj is not ur so called corrupt politicians that stole ur millions of money. They had a relationship that was profitable to them both. You can't deny the fact that without dbanj no don jazzy and without don jazzy no dbanj so in all ways they av credited their account by working together. Because of dbanj don jazzy is the richest artist in nigeria..shey u don hear am for nigeria say producer dey top rich list for industry..we gat ojb, I.d cabassa, sarz, and many more in this producing game non has quarter of jazzy s money. Even abroad dr dre is not as rich as eminem nor 50 cent..and don't forget that dre was rolling on millions b4 he signed this dudes..you guys should stop acting like kids abeg..it was a bizness venture that profited them both. Everybody made millions. Them spliting up doest take their money they crop away. Abeg business na business. Don't put morals into this things..y are guys aint saying *hit about kennis music who was on a ratio of 70 to 30, takin 70 and given d artist 30..even the holy book( the bible) as and ending charpter..na bizness dbanj no kill anybody abeg..

I think dbanj nd jazzy shuld grow up wat has happened has happened life goes on..all dis I said he said in dbanjs voice*longthing.

A lot of idiots leaving comments... Just jumping to conclusion and assuming Dbanj is wrong or Don Jazzy is.. At least wait till the other side says something...Stupid nimps.

The biggest for I have ever seen is Dbaji, grow up and get a life pls.

"deeflamez pls *pick up ur mic back* cos many of u heere will just talk anyhow.I ask u why wont donjazzy want to go global,who doesnt want to expand.Donjazzy is an igbo guy and would prefer he rakes in money than showing face.The real truth has not being exposed so b4 u condemn donjazzy u wait for the other party.Where is the berayal in this article now except donjazzy was wanting to come back home.Dbanj knows his fan base are soo low now and he's abt to release his album, he acting like the victim.

Pat Nonso Nnoli said...

well,to me the two parties have tried for having stayed together for such a long time coz individual differences is not a thing of joke as we all know.is a pity,anyway,that all these stories are coming up now from our celebrities though am not surprise in the list but i know that FATE will strike a perfect balance in due time.....

I don't understand why dbanj keeps claiming to have funded mohits for 8 yrs if it was a 50:50 agreement. The beats that don j churned consistently, did that have NO IMPACT on the success of dbanj? I can count quite a number of dbanj tunes that I only enjoyed cos of the chorus(mostly by don jazzy).

Mohits MO has always been dbanj release a mad album, the the smaller boys release theirs. Therefore I can understand why he hasn't had an album in a while.

He says don jazzy asked that they "scatter" mohits. Why does his mum go on to ask if "there won't be wahala" if they split. If don jazzy initiated the split why should dbanj's mum worry about wahala?

I completely agree with dbanj seeking world domination, but why has he been relegated to the uK? He's well known in those parts already. If you wanna conquer USA wat r u doin in jand, giving interviews. And he still relies on his "brother's" in UK for support. Note to dbanj: only nigerians worldwide will support you.

Now to numbers. He says there is potential for 2% amounting to 8.5m, he doesn't say what currency but I imagine $ is that anything to kanye or good muusic? What exactly is dbanj bringing to the table? Bring kanye's music to africa when kanye will sell anywhere in the world?how many shows can kanye do in africa and who will fund it? Did it occur to dbanj that kanye should be the one pitching to him? Kanye just wants a share of what mohits is making already. Kanye will not deliver mainstream US audience to dbanj. Its still the same naija crowd he will get in d US. Will dbanj be called on to perform @ the grammy's?(When kanye is already persona non grata almost). That's why he's latching on to jayZ, cos he knows his rep is poor

Dear dbanj, I like the tone of your interview, but you need to sit down and really think. You don't need pto be around people who will over hype you and make you think you can conquer the world(no one has), you need people who will tell you the TRUTH. Ambition is good but don't build castles in the air. Don jazzy did an awesome job making oliver twist video viral, the videos from fans was a huge hit, you completely removed all that from the ridiculous thing you released with big sean. You lost us there.

Dear don jazzy, come off your high horse and be more relatable. Sign new acts to mohits, there are 1,000,001 new acts on our streets looking for that opportunity to break into the market. We love you and will support our own always

A time to live and a time to die,
a time to start & a time end
A time to meet and a time to part,
Change is the only constant thing in life.
Believe me, if u want a different/better result u need to take leave ur comfort zone & take risk.
Business & sentiments are two incompatibles,
D banj i sincerely wish u luck and i salute your courage.
Don jazzy i also wish u luck in your safe waters.....

Dbanj is Sooooooo full of shit,d dude is an arrogant,pompous,unappreciative human being,and Pride has blinded him from seeing road,and we all no wat happens to people like him!Its inevitable!Make e jump inside gutter,I aint gullible Enough!E buy motor!!!Na I'm money!!!!Nonsense

this dbanj is a LIAR and most Nigerians are mumus....this interview reeks of a tailored PR question and planned answer session as a form of DAMAGE CONTROL. His album is coming out in may....he want you gullible monkeys to buy it, and he'll start insulting Nigeria and Nigerians again...shine your eyes pple....not falling for this BS..dbanj is arrogant naturally...so why d seeming humility on this one?

Can this two people move on and let us hear word! Wizzy where are you, come and take dis two olodo pple's shine **in jenifa's voice** Why Banky W no kill himself when Wizzy got signed on to konvict music????

So Dbanj smokes like a chimney? no wonder he is always high.

iamfascinating said...

no one's biz.A split doesn't have to be a feud.I wish them both well.

Have you heard of retinol and how it transforms and reduces the appearance of lines and wrinkles?, its an awesome age-defying product! www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

Dee said...

What a load of bull! Can't see myself reading all that. First class....looking fly...nicca Plzzzzzzz!!

I was wondering why they would call him arrogant..When we could bow down before someone that he is older than..

Lets hope its for the best.

trueson said...

Dbanj u are the best..keep ur good work going to me u are the best entertainer so far so good but no shit don jay na still ur broda has u said,make una just settle am wella make everyone find him level. u are blessed and talented.

Total Bs...if dey say they are frnds den dey shld settle their issue like adults without involving d world.I know everything in life involves risks plus its totally cool to b adventurous, but there are more matured ways to go abt it.In my opinion, dis is more like 2girls fighting over a man. Dis interview doesn't vindicate Dbanj @ all

To be honest both of them re being childish!No1. There is no point saying I did this I did that.dts just daft.No2.These guys re grown men they shud sit nd thrash thhings out if they wnt to split not this way mehn!dbnj can be in uk nd don J in naija nd still b happy nd work togeda. No3.dbnj is only trying to win his fan base bck in naija cos he knws dt they dnt like him again! All ds epistle is for him to be able to come perform in naija nd still v hz fans! He has to choose,if he wnts to b internatinal he shud be he shudnt come nd start tryn to be doing home nd away!No4. If he loves buying cars like dt he shud ve bought car for his brother kswitch nah! Father xmas! Dbnj too dey brag fucking talks too much running hz mouth like public tap!No5.When he was buyn d ds nd dt he did it at hz own free will no one forced him am sure so why is he making noise! No6 so what dbanj is saying now is dt he is d good person he hasn't done anything wrong! Dts a fuckn lie!No7 when they re ready they will say d main ish causing ds nonsense!wat secondary school student should be doing that's what over 30s re doing sayn gimme ds back gimme dt back! Infact they are all stupid sef! They had better grow up nd be wise nd stop all ds shit! Is dbanj sayn he can't move forward in africa! U are a freaking naija guy deal wit it. Stop forcing ur way up nd down. Oju kokoro isn't bad am sure God has been blessing u as u dey ds niger bt greed nah cnt make u realise that! Oshisko rada rada! Stay in yankee nau nd die there let dem bury u there! And as for jazzy! Abeg work harder nd this time focus on everybody! If u had been doing that am sure others wud ve blown too.btw if dbanj doesn't hail donj who wud he hail! Who brought him out of d london where he was suffering nd cudnt eat? No b donj so tell me why he wudnt hail him.it was shackn him then nau but now hz rich nd feels he cnt respect or be hailing anybody so hz nau sayn rubbish dt he did it so people can respect donj. Hz a fool! Timberland dem introduce am? No be common sense say na him dey behind d beat of d songs b4 people dey respect am! Ishh shiooo!!!Abegi! Thanks nd pls enuff of ds dbanj nd donjazzy. Gettin irritating abeg.

LESSONS TO LEARN
1. Nigerians can be so gullible that sometimes it hurts to think that this same people with access to the internet are the elite of the society. There is nothing hard with reading between lines.
2. Usually someone is innocent until proclaimed guilty, but in our country, NO. You are guilty until proclaimed innocent.
3. People with achievements, don't go around shouting it. Ist class flights, cars bought, shirts worn etc. It's either a complex issue or meant to cover up lies
4. Individuals who are in the habit of talking too much, give out secrets and lie even without knowing it. Silence is golden really.
5. Entering new markets is not done by noise and hyping. Adequate time and work is needed in research. Moreover, a young unknown artist can break into the foreign market, depending on specifics.
6. It's not the person that institutes a case that wins all the time. In Naija language, "no be who call police dey win"
7. LIB readers should understand that there is more to this case than they are both saying. And this case cannot be judged by HALF-TRUTHS. Each is using different strategies, sometimes aiming to make the other look bad or good. Remaining #DBanj or #DonJazzy's team doesn't change that.

Between, there is something called "Junior colleagues" or "fellow artists", "BOYS" doesn't do it for me. Sounds insulting and derogatory.

segzybaba said...

eyan to ba gbo ejo taye ti o gbo ti kehinde, agba oshika nii...dbanj i feel ur plight but i know jazzy too will have something to say...aint ur judge..i leave u guys to Gods hand

The only people that will know what truly happened are not saying anything... guess we just have to wait some more...

i have learnt neva to criticize people without knowing the facts. Dbanj....i luv u jare. well done.

Sweet Baby Haysus!! Who the hell is this Vanessa Amadi person that is his publicist?! She is messing this man up BIG TIME! What the heck kind of publicist is she? She clearly DOES NOT have D'Banj's interest at heart. The public DOES NOT need to hear/know all this. Yes you are pained and offended and all but somethings need to remain "unconfirmed" STOP rehashing ishh! STOP airing your dirty laundry! Leave it alone. If it must be addressed, do it through others! What matters now is what D'Banj does going FORWARD. Revamp your image and make the public forget all your past sins. Create a non-profit or something... GEEEZZ!!! To be an A-List celebrity, you are only as good as your publicity team ooo. D'Banj, fire this woman and get some good representation!!!

Baba God bless your hustle, I admire your dreams and I want you to succeed but I promise you, you ain't going nowhere with your current publicist on your team. Shikena.

I just pray that dbanj would mk it.my major prob is that ppl thinks that without dbanj mohits is nothin.to me i dnt knw who is telin d truth.Thankgod dy are no longer 2geda again.let us wait and see wot d rest mohit crew and don jazzy can do.i knw dat don is a gud producer Ni. Dbanj no gt story to tel jst mk me dy read nonsense.who wan knw weda im buy car 4 anybdy abi im ask 4 our opinion b4 im buy am.NONSENSE.l8tr we go hear say na im buy don jazzy phn,wande coal shoe even sid toothpick.he tinks he has money so he cn jst tel naija wat he buys 4 his member.BUT my ? Wat if dbanj and don wuz til 2geda we wil hv nt heard dis story o.he is jst sayn mo hit is nthin without him he shld nt 4get dat kenis musik thought 2face is nthin without dm but luk out d outcome sha.dbanj no go do beta tin na kanye im dy folow i pity am mk im no go chk kanye profile.me i knw sey dbanj dn join or go soon join so na im wn cary am enta afrika[holyghost fire]by dis tym nxt yr we'll chk don jazy nd dbanj wat dy hv actualy bcum in d ent.

dbanj was abroad for years but all he got was menial jobs..his talent went with him,but he never made it big,until he returned to nigeria with don jazzy,and he did he hit it big??now he has gone back abroad abi??fellow nigerians,this oyinbo land is highly over rated o,no be everybody go hit am big for abroad,some people are destined to make it in nigeria,and if they ever leave naija dem go roast!!!dbanj got it wrong,then got it right,but now seems bent on getting it wrong again...why cant he learn from dangote?he is expanding his business from nigeria,hit forbes list from nigeria and does not even own a single building abroad....well,time,the custodian of all things,will tell if indeed he has made a mistake..jus no follow dem do drugs for dat yankee,cos d way u dey go na only time before u start to shak cocaine,whitney jus die o,learn from dat one....i hope ya mama dey pray for you sha....

Pls enough of the long story we were. not when dey started so why shld we knw wen dey ended. Either which way I wish both d risk taker and d non risk taker luck..cos dere is more 2 dere story dan all dis. In d interview and d mails..make dem go marry if music don tire dem..plenty things are still hidden even if Don jazzy talk him go spice am. So did D'banj..abegi!!!!!! Make dem go settle dere marriage dere own way.dis did nt reduce d price of fuel so make d both of them go look bush!!!!!

He shud hv written a book instead of wasting his breathe. This will b a good book to publish. Hey dbanj anoda way u cud mk money. Turn this to a book n hv it publish.

Thank u ooooo,abeg tell banjo o.The fear of joining illuminati was probably what made Don press on the breaks.But that boy d'banj who doesn't want to stop and think for a moment.I pray he doesn't get burnt in the end sha....God is watching u kanye west

Chipmunk said...

Obviously the Mohits breakup was a little more complicated than "Good guy" vs "Bad guy" scenario that has been playing out for weeks on social media. Sweet jist, now part 3 coming with a Jazzy rejoinder, lol

DBanj still manages to sound arrogant as f*ck though, despite the valiant attempts the article made to show him as humble.

Regardless,as long as he keeps making hits and good music, I'll be happy,bottom line,wetin concern me with Record label name. Dbanj and DonJazzy God continue to bless una hustle seperately...make dem hits!!!

too long to read.
I still side with Don Jazzy.
Not interested in D'Banj. Everyman has a choice,i have chosen whose side i support.

just like Dbanj said...his dreams are bigger than him.. what is your own dream and hw can u make it a reality?. am a fan of both,dbanj and Don jazzy but peeps i think its time we all move on. jobless and visionless people will still keep gossiping abt this, if u no get wat to do wit ur time, go swim in 3MB, their is time for everything according to the holy book, this is the time to look into the future....mohits (broken or not) is stil making money, how much dey ur own account busybodies. *smh*

A man with a game changing vision would usually be considered as mad and a sell out... D'banj, like Jay Z and Fela and many others in various sphere of life have gone this route, however we say some make it other don't... however what they define as success is usually in the process rather than the result.

Alexander the great died in a land far away from the one he conquered, Tupac might be alive today if he had shut his mouth... even Jesus must have been considered crazy by the people he grew up with, or did u ever read in the bible of Jesus's child hood best friend (s)or u think he did not have one or a few.

When you conform to what other men think you should be like, u loose the God xteristics in u.

D'banj ride on.

Nice D̶̲̥̅̊ 'bang but am waiting for Don Jazzy's own side before i comment,wish the two of u best in life

Queen Esta said...

Sweetheart!I'm sure u also want 2 be a fool cos if this is what it means 2 be a fool den I'm sure it's ur dream 2 be one.idiat

Queen Esta said...

It's nt like they need ur opinion asshole...we don't even knw ur name,talk more of knowing u exist.idiat!

Queen Esta said...

Sweetheart,he doesn't even knw u exist!

Queen Esta said...

Honey,nobody wants ur opinion so go hug the transformer if u don't believe him.fool!

All I can say is that..... D'banj is a boss!!!!!

@mianovia said...

Thumbs up to D'banj for finally speaking. I've got a lot of respect for him & Jazzy. Business is business! That's life! Why is that so difficult for people to understand? Rather than live a lie, it's better they split! I wish them both success in their endeavours!

Queen Esta said...

U make sense die jawe...no mind dem bad belle pple.enemy of progress.

D'banj's publicist at work again. The same way they lied about his twitter being hacked is the same way they told him what to say in this 'sugar coated' interview. Yeye dey smell

Lmfao..........e offend u bfor?

U re so ryt.........I concur witchu o jee

Broda odeeh.......lyk say ur mumu sef dint know all along twuz just an act and idja wasn't whispering jack in dbanj's ear.......mscheew,u carry mouth up begin analyse lyk say u b dea manager who knows d very shit darris going on in dea world.....abeg go siddon jur!With or witout eachoda ,dnt see none of 'em begging u for garri

We will never know the truth, cos both parties will wanna appear gud before their fans and public.

Whatever is the issue shaa, i feel DBANJ is trying too much, u dont need to tell us about the cars. Besides, as far as am concerned, THIS IS A PR STUNT BY DBANJ FOR GULLIBLE NIGERIANS.
I hope he made the right decisions shaa!!

Lets all just be patient and hear what Don Jazzy comes up with!

Pls who doesn't want to be known globally. Could it be that Don J?azzy pulled out cos of illuminati?? People pls THINK!!!

And why was it Dbanj that did all the buying of the cars. Did he not say he co-owed Mohits.....What happened to don Jazzy's money??

Theres obviously more to this story and the end is far from NEAR.

Lastly, I note the way Dbanj now calls him Jazzy. Biko where did the DON go??? Isnt that itself egocentric???

oginni motunrayo said...

U av still not posted my comments abi

Pond Leak said...

That is really awesome and very interesting post i like your post its amazing thanks for sharing that stuff with us.

vroomangel said...

I know Dbanj will make it, i just pity the local champion Jazzzzzzzzzzy

Ebony Mag made a mistake hun, Dbanji i hear you.

the white enchantress said...

hmmmmm...... just like d'banj said....alot of us have developed more soft spots for don jazzy due to various reasons so obviously no body will believe antything for now but one thing is certain........TIME WILL TELL.......i still love and miss you d'banj.

Proudly Igbo said...

It's too long, we cannot read, we cannot write & we cannot type. Some people need to go back to that culture. Big yawn, this is getting very dirty.

QF
Pple split up nd still maitain a civil relatnshp y is their's diff nt their fan but i think Dbanj hs an ego issue did u av to mention al dt in d interview gosh!!! which producer wudnt wnt to xpand he probably went abt it d wrong way.I actually 15mins of my tym readin ds...wateva Dbanj its ur lyf jst dnt mess it up ok

Chisco said...

So dear Dbanj, for future reference this is how you conduct an interview, you sit down with your publicity crew and analyze the entire situation, possible questions from the interviewer and the result you hope to achieve after the interview is over. Thereafter you respond carefully to your interviewer's questions.

We wish you well.

lolo uno said...

if don jazzy was too scared to expand why would he produce a track for jay and ye on the watch the throne track??how come dbanj is yet to collaborate with Ye till date...does that not show u whose talent they really wanted at the start..abeg im team don jazzy all the way...dbanj should stop smoking weed and pumping his ego..if he has not learned from people who compare themselves to Jesus Christ he should google them..the beatles, john lennon etc

This is a well orchestrated PR stunt from D'Banj's camp. D'Banj is not this articulate.....bloody load of bollocks

cynosure faces said...

how can he be compared to Jesus Christ wat a Blasphemey!!..its so sad dt its too late for dbanj now, hes d demon sent to bring illuminati to Africa and i knw dts wat don jazzy saw and didnt wnt to be involved in...........for crying out loud its kanye, jay Z and their clan of illuminatis.....smh may God help us.....

BattaBox said...

the fight is being taken to the street : Team Don Jazzy or Team D'Banj... which side are you on?

video : http://youtu.be/Hq0Vb9qWh3U

okay ohhh dbanj or whatever your name is edon do abeg make you move on and no more interviews please. don baba abeg move on tooo and start with another artist

*Yawn* can some1 summarize it 4 me pls? cheers

Nigerians hv moved on,these 2 shud get off thr high horses!

Tym 2 unfollow don jazzy on twitter .. D banj love u loads

i wish them luck but dbanj u too talk oh (oyana} dey yarn go

Onyema Patrick said...

While I understand D Banj's passion and ambition, from a business point point of view, his moves do not look like they are well thought out. Does he even Understand the American or European entertainment Market?
From the revelation of this interview, it seemed he had allowed his ambition to be the most famous african act overshadow the collective vision of the Mo'hit crew and label. It is obvious he does not recognize the importance of the other members of the mo'hit crew, let's say the truth here, this whole adventure is about him, it is about self-promotion. He went to the extent of getting Don Jazzy a studio in the US yet Don J is supposed to be making beats for Mo'hit crew(a majority of whom are naija based) and other Nigerian acts. Unless of course, he wanted Don Jazzy to be his sidekick and exclusively produce for him alone, I see no reason why Don Jazzy should be be in America producing beats that are going to be used by artistes in Nigeria. What he, D' banj does not realize is that he was stiffling every other person's ambition and career in the crew just to promote his own.
From the way he has contracted different labels to release and market his music, he will surely get enmeshed soon with board execs bureaucratic bottleneck.
He talks about setting up Universal records subsidiaries in different parts of Africa like it is a walk in the park. What exactly is he doing sef? If I were his partners too, I will want out cos it looks like Mr Banjo has caught American abi na London Fever, this whole experiment is based on passion and enthusiasm with very little recourse to strategy and plan. We are yet to know what he will sound like outside of the Mo'hit beats. He is trying too hard to prove a point even when he does not have to. 2face would have been in a better position to do all these cos he does not have to worry about his crew when he wants to make this kind of paradigm change. It is good to take risk but make sure they are not the type that will crumble the whole structure and plan in the event they fail.
And it was even wrong for him to allege that Don Jazzy may have been the one that tweeted against him using Wande's account, that is a prepostrous and downright dirt suggestion. If you are not sure, don't even guess. The reporter himself should stop with silly innuendos, suggesting to D'banj that Wande Coal and Dr Sid have already taken sides with Don Jazzy is a stupid journalistic embelishment that makes his report look petty. I just pray that who is right or wrong succeeds sha.

Na waaa o! Some of una comment long pass d post. It is well.... Guys grow up, kiss & make up & stop acting lyk high school guys fighting over a cheerleader. I pray u both succeed in ur individual pursuits.

KraZie Cee said...

The truth is that only 3 persons knows the "REAL FACTUAL TRUTH" in this whole thing and those are; GOD ALMIGHTY, D'Banj and Don Jazzy.
Let's no be swayed by media reports and interviews cos those could be deceptive measures to win our hearts towards a particular direction.
I still believe that one day the truth will surface so for now i love them all...D'Banj would always be a great artist as well as Don jazzy a great producer. I admire them both and would never love or hate anyone more than the other.
I just pray for them to make good of this whole issue since it has turned out this way.
I advice they should stop all media clashes and antagonism and see themselves as brothers even if they cant continue together.
They both should be people to look up to and should embrace their differences settle it within their hearts and face the future like real men without fear or envy but with a passion to see the other grow.
I think i have to stop and wipe my tears now cos the duo were so good together but allowed the devil to come btw them....My last words is...pls dnt conclude to judge till the truth is out (even as i still doubt the seeming truth to come might actually be true).

I remain KraZie Cee and love D'Banj and Don baba J equally...no beef on anyone no matter what.

i must firstly comment Mr. Ayeni for a good write up, well editted i am sure and your word play, i cld read between the lines.... u r a true journalist... cos right now, Nigerians r confused who to believe lol and with ds article, r swaying towards Dbanj... however will it be too much to ask for you to interview Don Jazzy or Wande? preferably Don Jazzy sha.... to give a well rounded closure on this issue.... will the Don grant u that interview? i hope so....

and as for Dbanj, whether he is right or wrong, d dude is a hustler and in hustle u step on pple's toes, u sometimes stab pple's backs (not necessarily kill dem)...lol iv always tot Don J was too cool tho so i can agree with Dbanj that he did most of the business hustle... i do agree....

Newayz, im looking at d bigger picture! im sorry dt they broke up cos i mean its sad but hey! some1 has to carry our music out! if dy chose Dbanj to do dt, well all well and good!... Let us rally round him, not cos of his person or d fite or if he is a sell out or not, bt cos ds is a chance for Nigeria to hit it big... Kanye?! Please! no sentiments wen his singles come out! pure objectivity.....

p.s... Dbanj has grown! his responses show that he is being schooled well with d expereinced publicists and hes got to a new idea of public image and shit like dt....Thumbs up!!!!

:)

Nigerian Careers said...

Somebody help us,illuminati in Africa?Pls dont say that again.

Time will tell. Even MJ had to break lose from his father to achieve his mega status. I pray D'Banj you tread carefully and Godspeed into the harsh world of showbiz in foreign land.

My peeps Pls dont jugde easily.if trully D'Banj is humble as he clams he wont have to tell the whole world he brougth car for everybody

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

ok we,ve heard dbanj e remain don jazzy

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 228   Newer› Newest»