"When I die, do not spend money for my burial" - Patstor Ighodalo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 September 2011

"When I die, do not spend money for my burial" - Patstor Ighodalo

“When I die, the money you want to spend for my burial, use it to benefit the people who have no benefit in life. The dead is dead, and dead for good. Let him face Jesus. Keep my funeral simple, make it easy. Use the money you want to lavish on me to pay school fees for children who need it. In fact, I will even buy my own coffin. Don’t buy Coca Cola for anybody, don’t. I am serious about it. Let’s do things in an efficient way. What you want to spend for me, don’t wait until I die, give me the money now and let me enjoy now. Don’t go and borrow money to do my burial. I don’t need it. I will be dead then, use the money on those still alive. I can’t understand why Nigerians will borrow money to celebrate burial; why they will sew clothes and drink champagne to celebrate burial. I can’t just get it out of my system. Why do Nigerians close the street to celebrate a dead man. A dead man is dead. Bury him and move on,” - Pastor Ituah Ighodalo of Trinity Church, to his congregation.

41 comments:

me thinks his comment makes too much sense.....

Chy said...

I love this

Chy said...

I just love this.

tgoldzone said...

Gosh linda this is a cry from aman who has and needs more wat does him mean by give me the money now. If he doesnt need. Hope u guys watched STV on saturday u sud v seen Ibidun wen she took the presenter on tour in her home christ thats was real money. The house wz heaven so i dont blame pastor if u dont want a lavish burial as u ve already enjoyed. So instead of giving d needy wen u die give to them and this charadeGosh linda this is a cry from aman who has and needs more wat does him mean by give me the money now. If he doesnt need. Hope u guys watched STV on saturday u sud v seen Ibidun wen she took the presenter on tour in her home christ thats was real money. The house wz heaven so i dont blame pastor if u dont want a lavish burial as u ve already enjoyed. So instead of giving d needy wen u die give to them and this charade

Mebomebo said...

Very noble.

But sir, I just wanted to ask why you and your pretty first or even the foine second wife have no children yet?

just ameboing o.

Nawa oo...loving it...

Ezeocha 1 said...

that was wednesday mid week service...Pst Olajide Ituah for you...i love him

Modupsy said...

Word!

Na wa o. It's to celebrate someone's life and give them a good send off. Yes, the person is dead but they played an important role in your life. What's wrong with having a party in their honor?

Vaughn Samuel said...

Pastor Ituah, As much as I like you as a person and a preacher, I dont agree with you on this. Haba! Must we take poverty to a whole new level? It is poverty consciousness to talk about using money for burial to pay school fees. for how long. Abegi talk another thing joo! We as a people(Nigerians) have our peculiar culture and attributes. Lets not lose it because we like Oyibo pass. Infact Funeral expenses in the United states where I reside exceeds that in Nigeria. A standard funeral here costs between $13,000 and $18,000. A man is honored in Life and also in death. thats our tradition. Lets not lose that.

Well said in my humble opninion sha. All we need to do is look around and see that the money could go far as to change a life totally. I concur

good word pastor.

ebongie said...

I Love Pastor Itua, always known him to be a simple man and one that trulys fears and respect God. I completely agree with his views on the dead. I may not buy my own coffin but am hoping that my burial will be very simple, i pray my kids and relations would not spend too much on it but would rather use the money on me now or support a good course on my behalf. The way our Muslim brothers treat their dead is something we as christian should learn from. Spending so much money on the dead just to make a public show isn't profitable especially when we would not do likewise when that person was alive.

Nigerian in Ghana said...

Nigerians dont worry so much about funerals, come and see how Ghanaians celebrate funerals and go about the whole thing, its absolutely sickening, if someone is ill or in need, they would never come to the person's aid, even to visit you in hospital na wahala, but once someone dies,you need to see how they all appear to plan and celebrate funeral, wats sad is that they do the same for both old and young people, infact i even hear that people look thru newspapers to see obituary announcements, to know which funeral they would attend, whether they know the person or not. As for borrowing money for it, just forget, its the order of the day there. People are even in the business of lending people money for the purpose of funerals to make some gain

ITK said...

i agree - so much is spent to bury the dead - we spent so much burying my Dad, that it pains me we didn't spend a fraction celebrating his birthdays - people seem to care much for how they go out in style and the ground that they are buried on than enjoying life itself.

CLF said...

As if. With the kind of correct friends and family he has, of course his burial will be grande! Even his church will ensure it's grande. He won't have a say then....

don't wait till you die before you do all that.

Thank you ojare.

My thoughts exactly. The dead are dead. GONE.

Spend that money on the person when they are alive.

Spend money on the living, not the dead!

Frank talk !!!

Oge (NR) said...

You need to delete the extra T before the s dear. :)

Kunlexxy said...

THIS IS SUPER FANTASTIC!

This is one of the top 10 most sensible quotes Linda has ever posted on her blog!

Phantastic quote from Pastor Ighodalo!

Scrrreeeaamm itt out loud!!

Nigerians and our senseless "died-wretched-buried-in-N2.4m-naira-casket" mentality. Spraying money at burials!

And they call it celebration of life well spent, when some people never see N50 naira chop, and some people no get N1000 to pay hospital bill.

STUPID! STUPID! STUPID!

Pastor Ituah, you are a wise man. Most Nigerian's do things upside down. We don't celebrate those we love when they are alive but bring out our best when they are gone. Why bury a man with a Rolex watch he never wore when he was alive? Come on people, get your priorities straight! Bury the dead, celebrate the living. Pastor Ituah, you are a great man.

Please I want to visit his church based on this quote, where is it in Lagos

bros die first and then we can listen and see the actions taken by the people you have surrounded yourself with...but till then all this is very cheap talk....its incredible the kind of statements we make.....

john said...

wen i die lin!! dats wen am 95 oooo....make dem use diamond crusted coffin for me oooo...partor ituah..no b soo ooo...

Bee said...

This makes sense. that it is our culture does not mean it cannot be changed.

Naija people like show that is it. Like him, when I die, no one should drink champagne on my head.

the congregation no go listen tho...i have stopped blaming MOG...i am now blaming the followers/congregation

i hope his wife does not accept contracts to do event planning for after burial parties?
that will be hypocrisy.

When my dad was alive..my stupid uncles cldnt raise abt a million he needed 4 his operation..bt immediately,he died..we ad an exotic burial..2 cows where killed on his behalf..wine and odaz followed..cant jst list dem all..bt all dey spent was far more dan d money he needed 4 his operation...i cried all day nd cant 4give dem 4 ds act..**sobs**

Died wretched! true tho.

And that is why I will always respect the Islamic burial...very simple. There is truly beauty in simplicity. What people should be doing, instead of celebrating the dead, is invoking blessing, and forgiveness on the departed and on themselves too.

You all must think that's where it all ends - in the grave.

this is what islam preaches

like i care. do you boo

WORD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes he is right, my Dad told us the same, thank God we obey the instruction. The money i gathered by myself for the burial then was used in 2004 to buy a plot of land two weeks after the burial and today am a landlord.If i spend that money on burial, i might miss the opportunity.People will eat and go nothing more.What are we partying when we loose someone that is dear to us so much. May heaven open our ear to hear and eyes to see.

WHY DID HIS FIRST MARRIAGE END? HE MARRIED A VERY SWEET SIMPLE PRETTY GIRL. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT HAPPENED?

crushman said...

Gov. Abiola Isiaka Ajimobi of oyo state granted #30m. to the family of late X-gov. Kolapo ishola for his burial. how would a pastor not lament at this unnessesary lavishing of money. while many are dying of hunger. God have mercy on our soul...

Pastor, u make so much sense. I dont understand why Christian will want to celebrate becos someone dies, when it is suppose to be a time of sober reflection. Even Muslims also does partying these days after the burial. Thi is serious!
I hv also thought about this and will tow the same line as u. Make it simple and let me rest.
ME

Kemiismyrealname said...

But your wife collects millions for other peoples burial ceremonies. This our Baba God is patient o!!!

kemiismyrealname,i was asking the same question a few posts earlier.
It is so easy dropping this sweet quotes.

Kemiismyrealname said...

My dear anonymous, thank you o. The way I look at it.......God sees, abi? If you talk now assorted members of supporters club will want to crucify you.