Carlos Slim - World's richest man | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 March 2010

Carlos Slim - World's richest man

The Forbes magazine list of the world’s richest people in 2010 has been released and Mexican telecom tycoon Carlos Slim Helu has been named the world's richest person, having an estimated fortune of $53.5 billion, higher by $18.5 billion than the previous year, and jumping past Americans Bill Gates and Warren Buffett to become the first person from a developing nation to top the list.

The 2010 list consists of names of 1,011 billionaires and a combined net worth of $3.6 trillion, while in 2009, the total net worth identified was $2.4 trillion. This year names of 218 new billionaires have been added.

Source: Forbes.com

12 comments:

world's richest men...whatever!

ferrari said...

God help me, i need to get my name on the forbes list sometime soon. AMEN

Nawa oh am sure we have guys in 9ja that can pull out that amount in cash so forbs world’s richest is meaningless

I hope you realise we're talking about legitimate buisness men,not political thieves
sassycassie

To the person who said that the forbes list is meaningless since there are guys in nigeria that can pull out such amount. Well, I hate to let you know that forbes list is partly based on individuals whose money can be accounted for and their source of incomes. I am sure there are many nigerians in nigeria that can boast of such amount if not larger, but what is their source of income. Is it accounted for??? I am sure stealing from the masses is not a criteria. Therefore, your theory is somewhat baseless and meaningless.

So the next time you make a comment on a national blog, please make sure you have your facts right and on point. Btw, I am a nigerian living in nigeria.

Cecille Moreau said...

I guess the .5 billion difference from Bill Gates is not really bad.Imagine...these people seems to be harvesting money here and there in the midst of the economic crisis, what a life they have. They can't even spend all their riches in one lifetime!
I want to be on that list someday!

Myne said...

I think I'm becoming communist. Why not take all these billions and develop the third world countries?

Of course, they will be Nigerian that can be on the forbes, but they base it on legitimate and clean business, so it will be hard for Nigerians to make it there because most of them are thieves, and crooks. There are two Nigerians on the list.

Carlos Slim, is criticized by Mexicans, because they feel like his business is not that clean either.

@5:07 PM

Your are really not well informed for one this blog is not national owned i guess you come from the village also all those guys on Forbes not all of them are illegitimate business men/women. Lots of them run illegal businesses over seas just look them up because coming to your so call national accepted blog

Do u Know that that he is of Lebanese Origin, & he is now in Lebanon for Vacation

...and here goes the spoiled fruits of capitalism.

To the 5th person that condemned the 3rd person's comment, neither of them are worth it. They're both forms of stealing only the latter is meant to appear legitimate while the nigerian one is point-blank stealing. Capitalism is the legitimate form of thieving that's why the rich gets richer and the poor gets poorer.

You can't make an omelette without cracking an egg or two. Truth is you can't make that kind of money without 'cracking a few eggs' too.

Just take it that whatever it is, they are rich and honest till proven guilty.

Who'd have thought Tiger would have turned out the way it has now been revealed?