Fashion do's and don'ts part 2 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 July 2007

Fashion do's and don'ts part 2

Clothes that don't fit your frame

Wearing clothes that don't fit your frame is the easiest way to make your body seem out of proportion. If you are on the big side, do not wear clothes that emphasises on the excess fat on your body. Instead...

Go for clothes that perfectly fits your frame and emphasises your curves

Dark Make-up

Personally I think dark make-up make you look more scary than beautiful. There's something it takes away from your beauty. But there are those who like dark make-up. If you must do it dark, then avoid the look above and instead go for...

This look. Nude/dark make-up. Instead of using dark coloured cosmetics, use brown.

Tiara as a hair accessory

Tiara's are meant for only queens,beauty queens, and brides. If you ain't a queen, bride or a beauty queen...please don't have a tiara on your head on outings, you'll look STUPID! Instead...

Go for nice hair accessories. And if you're a drama queen, then hair flowers are lovely.

Too much cleavage

I know they say if you've got it, flaunt it...but don't flaunt it to the extent where it starts looking x-rated. Showing too much cleavage calls for too much attention...and dressing this way will make people look at you like a desperate, indecent person...especially in this part of the world. So instead...

Show off what you've got in moderation. You'll show class, style and a sense of decency

Over-all denim

This is a classic fashion don't. Denim is always best mixed with other fabrics or colours. Wearing an over all denim tells people with great fashion sense that you lack style. Instead...

Wear denim with another fabric and mix with another colour

Very big earring

Bogus earrings look nice but calls for too much attention, and it takes away attention from your face...so instead of people staring at your lovely face, they are staring at your earrings. Infact some could say its the earring that make you look beautiful. So instead...

Go for chic, moderate sized earrings, that don't touch your shoulders.

Too much animal print

Never wear all round animal prints...you really could end up looking like one of them animals lol. So instead...

Animal prints are lovely only when mixed with another fabric.

If you're over 21 and not on stage singing or dancing, don't be caught dressed this way. It's too embarrassing!

So this is my fashion do's and don't part 2. Let's see how many of you agree or don't agree with me. Waiting for your comments.

15 comments:

i think as mostly black people read this blog then when you do a fashion faux pais blog you need to show examples of black people. dont you think so?

hey....

ok,i agree with ALMOST all...but TOTALLY disagree with the bous earing..i love very big earings and i dont think it takes the attention from ur face...i think it even signpost to ur face!...i thot u were going to condemn pple that wear big earings + necklace...then thats absurd!...but no fashion police will stop you for wearing BIG earings!...please o...

love ur blog still!!

Appreciate your fashion advice but i'lld have to disagree about beyonce's 'big' earrings. I believe they are the perfect accessory to compliment her nude/bare shoulders and the plain black dress she's wearing. If she had like a necklace on with those earrings, then that will be too much.

olubukola said...

I agree with almost all except the bogus ear-rings and the all denim.

For the bogus ear-rings, it depends on 1. the shape of your face and then what you are putting on.If you are wearing a high turtle neck top or gown, there's nothing wrong in wearing bogus earings if you aren't wearing a necklace. One can also wear bogus earings if u are wearing a strapless top .It all depends on taste.

For the all denim, i think the lady wearing all denim in the pic looks unique in her all denim gown, i love that gown she's wearing.sometimes u might want to look different and wearing all denim isn't a bad idea as long as the all denim is a lovely combination.

I agree that big ear rings calls for too much attention Earrings should not reach up to your shoulders I totally agree on the too much cleavage alot of us women are guilty of it never tells a good story the denim one is even too annoying abeg and the last outfit please thats an insult to womanhood

olubukola said...

I agree with almost all except the bogus ear-rings and the all denim.

For the bogus ear-rings, it depends on the shape of your face and what you are putting on and where u r going to.If you are wearing a high turtle neck top or gown, there's nothing wrong in wearing bogus earings if you aren't wearing a necklace. One can also wear bogus earings if u are wearing a strapless top .And it will definitely look out place wearing a very bogus earing to the office. It all depends on taste anyway.

For the all denim, i think the lady wearing all denim in the pic looks unique in her all denim gown, i love that gown she's wearing.sometimes u might want to look different and wearing all denim isn't a bad idea as long as the all denim is a lovely combination.

I only wear big earrings.ive never heard its a fashion don't.i dont know what you are talking about but you know why i like you linda, you are not scared of speaking your mind.you don't play it safe at all, alot of people in blogsvilles only blog about things that endear them to people, you say it how u feel it and it sometimes gets on people's nerves but thats what makes you unique.ure making a difference with this blog. fab job

i doooooooooooooont agree with the big earrings but ure entitled to your opinion.i agree with everything else especially the all denim.it's quite childish

Dimples said...

Loving the fashion tips...I'd have to say...I am guilty of one or 4 sha....lol

But's all good..one learns from their mistakes..once the pictures have been developed.

Thanx Linda.

A Kel called Wonder ...... said...

I actually love Big earrings. Cos my face is a bit round, so it elongates it. Your blog rocks nne.

You never mentioned anything on ur questions and my answer about heading to Dubai been planning my trip since. What r ur plans sef?

Abeg oooo, who said that the ALL denim was nice?...how? @ Olubukola? there is nothing unique about the all denim affair o....it only spells total RAZZZness!...maybe if the hubby wasnt with britney....maybe she can be forgiven...but the all denim man...OUCH!!

Hey Linda, I just wanted to drop a little note to commend you on the work u r doing, not just on this blog but in your professional life. I'm impressed when i see people get their hustle on and also succeed in nija despite the environment and general situation. I gotta give it to u. May God keep inspiring u and may he also crown 'ur efforts with success in Jesus name. On the fashion tips, I'm a dude but I still kinda agree with all those who said big earings are not a fashion faux pas as long as there is no necklace involved.

I like the fact that you used pamela anderson for both shots of 'too much cleavage' and appropriate show-off. i love big earrings...on other people.lol.Seeing sagging fatty skin outta people's clothes just makes me wanna call the fashion popo.

lol...na wah for that first pic o...is that her front or her back?

Once again ma, big earrings are so in!...i rock 'em die!

Nma

lmao... but girl there is a big difference between the woman in the first picture with the side pooches and the small fit model in the leggins... that skinny girl would look good in anything... if yuo'd shown an after picture of a bigger girl in something a little less form fitting it probably would've put your point accross a lil better... i don't wear makeup but i have seen some sexy smokey eyes and you're right.. avrils look like shit! i hate tiaras... period... i actually used to show a lot of cleavage when i was like 16-18... but then i grew up a lil... i show some every once in a while... but its not the focus of my outfit.. i still feel sexy in my coverups.. i guess mine cme with maturity and self understanding.. bla bla bla.. overall denim is soooo 1990...ewww.. i hardly ever wear earrings.. my friends are trying to get me into it.. but when i do wear earrings they hve to be big cos i always have big hair.. eww@overall animal print.. i hve these sexy ass leopard print heels.. when i have them on i dont even really wear anything else leopard print.. its the standout point of my outfit... or set=off... i don't agree with the 21 and wearing a bellytop.. i'd wear one till i'm like 23 or so...