Maitama served as the Federal Commissioner of public complaints in 1976. In early 1979, he was a presidential candidate of the National Party of Nigeria NPN but lost to Shehu Shagari.
He was appointed Nigeria's representative to the United Nations after the coming of civilian rule in September 1979.
While there he was chairman of the United Nations Special Committee Against Apartheid. Upon the re-election of Shehu Shagari in 1983, Maitama Sule was made the Minister for National Guidance, a portfolio designed to assist the president in tackling corruption. May his soul rest in peace, Amen.
19 comments:
"we need leaders, not rulers" Maitama Sule
RIP sir
RIP. Na only to dey bury naija dey for. Issorite
Oky seen....
Amen
Enter your comment...how d mighty has fallen..rip sule
Maitama Sule is the most foreseeable nationalist the nation had at this trying moment. God bless his soul. I love that man. He is not like the greedy and corrupt likes of Hell Rufai and the Gambarian Anglo Abdullahi who are ethnic champions. He is a detribalised nationalist
In other words he is begging for one Nigeria. With the numerous ethnic groups in the Middle belt zone, I don't think this man can authoritatively dictate
click here now if you are interested in penis enlargement
for them. The Muslim in those zone may decide to do otherwise. For a long time the prayer in south is for Middle Belt to wake up and free itself from the north
Rest in peace Maitama Sule... I heard you speak once and it helped me with my depression. Our world doesn't deserve you.
Rip.. Great man
He came ,he saw,he conquered. may his soul rest un perfect peace Amen
Rest in peace sir.
Nigeria has lost a great statesman, an orator. May his soul rest in peace. Amen
He always cut this image of a legendary figure to me. Just like with Gani and some other notable figures, I've always dreaded to hear this sort of news about Maitama Sule but I guess life just happens. A big blow to Nigeria, indeed. May his soul rest in peace.
May his gentle soul rest in peace.
Rip sir!
Rip sir
Rip sir
Ngwan goan tell God how u lived on earth