Ooni of Ife VS Oba of Lagos: Nigerians take side | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

Ooni of Ife VS Oba of Lagos: Nigerians take side

The viral video showing the Oba Of Lagos refusing to greet the Ooni Of Ife is crating a supremacy conversation online. Many Nigerians believe the Oba of Lagos insulted the Ooni of Ife with the gesture, while many feel there's no big deal in it. Read some comments below..

44 comments:

The last comment got me cracking... Well, oba of Lagos is so rude and power drunk.. I blame politicians for over feeding him with money.. Who is oba to ooni?

Ooni of ife too like waka waka. He doesn't stay one place. Dts d problem here.. always gallivanting round towns

Oni of Ife forgive him for the fact that you are the king of the kings

Tayo - Get A Bigger Penis Here said...

Obas have always been fighting since time immemorial... nobody really cares.

This oba of lagoon needs to be taught in lesson or evil killed since he doesn't wish pple well. So what den is he teaching the youth nonsense. The first tweet thou lol period

Daniel said...

That boy called akiolu,the eleko of eko really misfired! Ordinary baale insulting the entire Yoruba race.Don't forget that he did same to the vice president. God will soon humble him.

It's out of envy or jealousy that d Eleko of Eko (Oba of Lagos or whatever) displayed that pettiness. He knows d SEAT of Ooni of Ife is highly powerful,natural,superior & traditional than his own 'artificially created seat'. In Yoruba land, d Alaafin of Oyo is d most senior,respected & powerful..Next is Ooni of Ife whose seat is even d most "traditional" in d land. They are both descendants of Oduduwa..!So who is Oba of Lagos NOT to have respected a young & modest Ooni of Ife who is also a "natural" Billionaire than he(Lagos Oba) who became billionaire through political means? Respect to my Oba, Ooni of Ife..4life!

ANGEL said...

Who says there is no Big deal? so no big deal when a local government chairman disrespects a sitting President , Abomination ! Oba of lagos or ELEKO OF EKO or whatever is the right title for him should be thrown to "Igbo oro" according to tradition

Prince Jegede Idowu said...

Arrogant BAALE

They've quarrelled before on land in Lagos...500M...
But ooni is respectful. Eleko is even fighting Ajib olorun soro of Ajira not......

I hear he is a retired policeman. So what did expect from him? Second base jarri . The Oni is too civilised to be petty.

Dupsy B said...

He does not know history cos if he does, he would know that the Ooni is higher. People will be misbehaving anyhow. Ooni of life! The dynamic monarch.

That's what we get we make an egoistic fellow the eleko of ekong aka oba of lagos. The ooni of Ife is heads and shoulders ahead of him.his prominence is due to lagos been an industrious and populous city.he thinks cos d ooni is a young person,he can then be rude to him? He is just an ignorant and petty old guy dat lacks respect,he will be put to place very soon.

OONI of Ife 3 said...

they are all APC abeg, they know how to settle....why take paracetamol for someone else's headache.
This Is What Actually Happened, Read It Here

Ooni, jump and pass the 2nd class chief (thug) eleko of eko

hrm paul said...

Guys we are making a mistake here pls go back to history there is nothing like oba of lagos only Eleko of Eko in other to have a sense of tradition. Oni of Ife is far superior to that man dat talks any how as if he is a drunk

Nothing is more disturbing as to seeing the display of ignorance where wisdom should be the order of the day. The Oba of Isale Eko had successfully disgraced his people and himself by his act of indiscretion and folly. It's a big shame!
It doesn't seem to me that Ooni was humiliated rather, the king of Lagos ironically embarrassed himself before the whole world. The rate at which the video of his act is trending is alarming! More like the Yoruba adage; ija ilara o tan..... looks more like an act borne out of strife and envy. Now we can see maturity has nothing to do with age.

Bree said...

The Old man is not civilised Asap..Ooni is the best.

That oba is a tyrant his end I close!

Get a bigger penis here said...

This is the same guy that said Igbos should jump inside Lagoon, now he is disrespecting the Ooni?

Otunba Ojora is supposed to be the current Oba of Lagos! He was accused of being antisocial therefore some 'madaru' people installed Akiolu from the Olopa force! Ex olopa na thug!

Mumu help mt here too, who's de most senior Governor among de Governors? That's by u De Governor of Governors?

The thing is we do not know what must have gone wrong in the first place jare. That the young man was probably picked by Tinubu or the Ifa oracle or whoever as the Oba of all obas in Yoruba land did not go down well with some of the Yoruba elders i want to believe and bring this to the fore maybe but regardless of that the Eleko of Lagos should not even greet me a not famous person as a matter of courtesy that way, how much more a fellow Oba and highly distinguished Oba of Ife. But the Ooni should just be calm now, we all will soon understand better

The Ooni of Ife is a perfect King and also an advanced and civilized ruler and king.

Lagos is the source of economic life to the rest of Yoruba, so calling the kingdom inferior to Ife is like robbing Peter to pay Paul.

Oba of Lagoon is @ it again.

Oni of Ife is young, civil, powerful and modest. I advise he keeps advocating for unity even though the older baale of lagos isnt matured to keep peace in the land he founds himself (not rules). Sooner or later, he will face wrath of God.

Don't underestimate the effect of origin beer.COULD BE AT WORK AGAIN.
SECOND MISSIONARY JOURNEY.

I guess he want to be crowned as the ooni of ife. What do u all expect from a retired policeman... dee

Why is the Oba of Lagos so Arrogant? he seems not to understand tradition
Even amongts lagos Obas he cant be said to be the richest, could it be as a result of his
closeness to some politicians pchew shameless man!

I think the Lagos boy is raaazzz. No diplomacy at all. I think he just remembered his days when he stops cars to collect bribe then he saw Ooni walk in and he put his arrogant cap on😂😂😂

Much respect to Ooni. Such a gentleman. I thought policemen were Officers and gentlemen but unfortunately this Lagos boy is raaaz. Need to be trained on diplomacy.

Very weak argument

If I insult Oba Akiolu it would definitely be against the core values of the Yoruba upbringing that I cherish so much but to look the other way concerning Oba Akiolu's gesture to the Oonirisa would even be a greater slap on the face of that upbringing that I cherish so much. Oba Akiolu has just messed himself up as far as me am concerned. It goes to show that sensibility and decorum is not acquired age wise. His whole demeanor as seen in the video can only be likened to the antics of a petulant child. His brushing off of the Oonirisa publicly will only bring more negative exposure to his already stained tenure as the Eleko of Isale-Eko. Future leaders pls learn from Oba Akiolu's faux pas, know your place and always be civil.

Do you even know what you are saying? We are talking tradition you are talking economy. You must be an Ibo man.

Wa a s'oriire aburo mi. So on point.

Baale of isaleko fumbled,even in lagos he is not a unifying force amongst the other high ranking oba,he is claiming superiority to Oba Ajiiran,beefing kabiesi whose crown is directly from ile ife and above all,oba Ajiiran is the landlord to the multi national companies like chevron and others,this dey pepper Akiolu o,financially, oba Ajiiran is not his mate,traditionally,abeg,he is not his mate,He is a back door OBA.God resist the proud and give grace to the humbled, Onirisa please iku baba yeye,ignore the ignoramus like kabiesi Ajiiran and be a positive impart to the youth of the nation.We can continue on that ex police officer

ỌỌ̀NI KÒ ṢE RÍFÍN. Apá kìíní lati ọwọ́ Daniel Adefare
Oríadé, ọrùn-ìlẹ̀kẹ̀, gbogbo ẹ̀yin ajunilọ mo júbà o.
Àwọn àgbà bọ̀ wọ́n ní "Kíkéré labẹ́rẹ́ kéré, kìí ṣe mímì fádìyẹ" Káláyé tó dáyé, kékeré kọ́ ni Bàbá fi ju ọmọ lọ. Ọọ̀ni kìí ṣe ẹgbẹ́ ọba kọ́ba gẹ́gẹ́ ìtàn ti sọ́ ọ di mímọ̀, àbí bẹ́ẹ̀ kọ́ ?
Eégún ilé kò ṣe rífín, òòṣà ọjà kò ṣe é gbálójú bẹ́ẹ̀ ni ọ̀rọ̀ Ọba Ẹnìtàn Adéyẹyè Ògúnwùsì, Ọọ̀ni tilẹ̀ Ifẹ̀ ri. Ẹni tó bá fi ojú di Ọọ̀ni, dandan ni kí àwówó wó.
Eyín funfun báláí ni iyì ẹnu, ẹ̀jẹ̀ pupa yòò ni iyì òòṣà, àpọ́nlé ló yẹ olórí Ọba yoòbá gbogbo kìí ṣe ìwọ̀sí.
Ohun ti Ọba Rílíwànù Akiolú, Ọba Èèkó ṣe sí Ọọ̀ni kò dara rárá. A kò lè rìn kórí má mì nítòótọ́, orí bíbẹ́ kọ́ ni oògùn orí fífọ́ kẹ̀! Ó wu èdùmàrè ló gbórí ẹwà fún àkùkọ, ọ̀pọ̀ igi ló ń bẹ nígbó ká tó fí ìrókò jọba igi.
Ẹ máa jẹ kí á torí ọ̀làjú tàbí òṣèlú gbàgbé àṣà wa. Àṣà ìbọ̀wọ̀ fágbà ni Yorùbá fi ń gbajúmọ̀ nílẹ̀-kílẹ̀. Àgbà kò ní ṣe pẹ̀lú ọjọ́-orí rárá, ipò làgbà.
Àràbà ni bàbá, ẹni a bá lábà ni bàbá. Ọba Adéyeyè lè jẹ́ ọmọdé sùgbọ́n ipò àti àyè tí ó wà gẹ́gẹ́ bí i ỌỌ̀NI ti sọ ọ́ di àràbà tí gbogbo ọba bá lábà. Bí èèyàn bá ta ará ilé ẹ̀ lọ́pọ̀, kò le rí i rà lọ́wọ̀ń.
Bàbá ni Ọọ̀ní jẹ́ láàárín àwọn lọ́ba-lọ́ba. Níwọ̀n ìgbà tí àwọn Ọba tí kìí ṣe Ọba ní ilẹ̀ káàárọ̀-o-jíire lè máa ṣe àpọ́nlé tí ó tọ́ fún Ọọ̀ni, mo lérò pé ó tọ́, ó sì yẹ kí àwọn Ọba yorùbá ṣe àpọ́nlé ara wọn bẹ́ẹ̀ gẹ́gẹ́ ,pàápàá jùlọ fún olórí aládé gbogbo.
Mo kí Ọba Adéyẹyè Ẹnitan Ògúnwùsì, Ọ̀jájá II, kú àíbínú. N kò sàì gbóríyìn fún gbgbo ẹni tó da sí ọ̀rọ̀ náà ní pàtàkì jùlọ Olóyè Olúṣẹ́gun Ọbásanjọ́ GCFR, ààrẹ àná.
Mo rọ́ Ọba Èèko ki ó máa bínú sí Ọọ̀ni lórí ohun tí ó lè fa ìwà àjòjì yìí. Àmọ̀nràn mi ni pé kí Ọba Akiolú ti Èèkó tọrọ àforíjì lọ́wọ́ọ Ọọ̀ni àti gbogbo ọmọ yorùbá pé òun kò ní dárú asọ bẹ́ẹ̀ sorò mọ.
Lákòtán ọ̀rọ̀ mi, Baba kìí bínú púpọ̀, Kábíèsí, ọba Adéyẹyẹ̀ ẹ fojú fo, bẹ́ẹ̀ ni, ẹ máa gbàgbé ọ̀rọ̀ àwọn Baba ńlá yín pé "Iṣu ẹni níi tọwọ́ ẹnị bepo" kí òwe jẹ́ ti ẹ̀yin àgbà. Kí ẹsin ọba kó joko pẹ́. Ilẹ̀ yorùbá kò ní dàrú o. Àṣẹ.

Tóò bí ó ti mọ ní í jẹ ìrẹ́mọ. Ẹ jẹ kí ẹyin mi di àkùkọ.
Ẹ ṣé púpọ̀.
Ọgbẹ́ni Daniel Adefare

Ellayvated said...

Very dumb argument, so because Lagos is the basis of your argument, if Buhari comes to Lagos, Ambode should snub him like that because the state Buhari comes from has nothing to offer.. Leave tradition to people who understand..

Ooni of Ife should apologies to the entire Yoruba land first before asking for Oba Akiolu apology.
The Ooni’s palace should call Jesus for justice and not their ancestors for the royal father of Yoruba land went on his knees in redeem Christian church of God and bow to the white man’s God, the Ooni of Ife should be schooled properly on the Yoruba history and should know what these white men did to force their religion on upon us and brain watched us.
Being a young and paramount ruler of the yoruba kingdom, he should help teach our history and unite the Yoruba kingdom and let the world know there exist a Yoruba religion which comprising the traditional religious concepts and practices of the Yoruba people and not bowing in one man’s church to a white God. You are choosen by the ancestors to help the Yoruba land not to kill our spirit. If you want to go worship white man’s god its your choice but telling it to the world is like denying your root. Our history is becoming extinct and If he continues like this, I tell you even our language will wipe in the surface of the earth.
He deserve the humiliation from Oba of Lagos and more if he fails to apologies to the Yoruba land and ask for forgiveness for his ancestors.

Doyin Oni