Ekweremadu to Deliver U.S. Constitution Day Lecture | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 7 August 2016

Ekweremadu to Deliver U.S. Constitution Day Lecture

The Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Ike Ekweremadu, will deliver the 2016 edition of the United States of America (USA) Constitution Day Lecture entitled the “Influence of the U.S Constitution on African Democracies”.
This was announced by the U.S Law Library of Congress, the organisers of the annual event, at the weekend.

By this, Ekweremadu, who is both the Deputy President of Nigerian Senate and Chairman of the Senate Committee on the Review of the 1999 Constitution for a record third term, will be the first non-U.S citizen to deliver the august lecture commemorating the ratification of the world’s oldest written constitution on September 17, 1787.

The statement reads in part: “In commemoration of Constitution Day, the Law Library of Congress will host a discussion about the influence of the U.S. Constitution on African democracies. The event will feature His Excellency, Sen. Ike Ekweremadu, the Deputy President of the Senate of Nigeria, and immediate past Speaker of the Parliament of the Economic Community of West African States.
“He will explore how elements of the U.S. Constitution have influenced the rise of democracy in Africa and how these rising democracies have expanded upon rights inspired by the U.S. Constitution.
“The discussion will take place at noon on Wednesday, Sept. 7, in room LJ-119 of the Library’s Thomas Jefferson Building, 10 First Street S.E., Washington, D.C. The event is free and open to the public; tickets are not required.
“Sen. Ekweremadu is a ranking Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, having been consecutively elected into its Senate in 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015. He is also known for his guidance in overseeing the first (three sets) and only amendment(s) to the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria.
“He has held several elective and appointive positions before coming to the Senate.
“Sen. Ekweremadu has published and spoken extensively on constitution-making in emerging democracies. He is the author of the book ‘Who Will Love My Country: Ideas for Building the Nigeria of Our Dreams’ (2016) and lead author of the book ‘Constitutional Review in an Emerging Democracy: The Nigerian Experience’ (2014).
“He holds both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in law from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He also holds a Ph.D. in law from the University of Abuja, in addition to leadership certificates from Harvard University and Oxford University”.
The organisers also noted that the “Constitution Day was established by (U.S) Congress in 2004 to recognize the ratification of the U.S. Constitution on Sept. 17, 1787”.

The statement added:
“The Library of Congress is the world’s largest library, offering access to the creative record of the United States—and extensive materials from around the world—both on site and online. It is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
“The Law Library of Congress was founded in 1832 with the mission to make its resources available to members of Congress, the Supreme Court, other branches of the U.S. government and the global legal community, and to sustain and preserve a universal collection of law for future generations.
“With more than 2.9 million volumes, the Law Library contains the world’s largest collection of law books and other resources from all countries”.

32 comments:

Ikeoha ndigbo deliver dey go nothin do u sir

Ekweremadu fever is spreading...greatness..

OK

ric said...

Such recognition for a man Nigerians call corrupt by the USA.
Shame on Nigerians.

Waow the man is learned o. Naija knows how to rubbish knowledge.

Huh ok cool.

Wow... Congratulations Sir! No who is the corrupt one here, Naija una 😜

What am i to make with this news nw....

Okkk

I never knew this man was this great, tinubu has never delivered any lecture in the US before , now I love IKE such a great man Nigerians should adore him.

That's a great honor to him

Good for him. Linda take note!

this is epitome of political know how

Long live this man

Funni said...

Igbo people are always great.i wanna marry an igbo

How many of those senators have this kind of educational qualifications. ..the hausaas na ssce them get

Those with eyes...should see. Those with ears...hear. Ekweremadu is acknowledged in Nigeria and in far away USA. Isn't it a joy and pride for this to happen to this country? Please Nigerians, let us start pushing forward our best hands in all endeavors. Mediocrity is casting us and our children and relations so much frustration. God help heal the wounds of ineptitude in our land l pray. Amen

Good for our democracy

Have you read this?

David Ibiyeomie's Quotes

Otuonye Chidera said...

That is a man that have what it take to be a leader in senate

Have you read this?

David Ibiyeomie's Quotes

Ok o

Nigeria can make a man sell his birthright to another country. Odiegwu.

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

@bolddy said...

APC tap from this three wise ones now that you
can ike ekweremadu, ngozi Okonjo iweala and soludo. Can you compare them with liar Mohammed or Amechi , buhari and tinubu that still need to go to school in their grave.

Omo see accolades.. this guy is heavy o...

The West have taken us the way we are, no where to push us with our selfish ways of some of these our leaders. They are really left with no choice..don't be surprise when you read Saraki is called to give lectures on Corruption in the same United States. I refuse to be blindfolded.

benito said...

Nigerians and glorifying mediocrity and cheap publicity. What does this have to prove or how does this influence or help the failing state of the Nigerian nation. I have never heard Paul Ryan speaker of the US house do some ish like this. Because he ain't got time and there are more pressing issues than look for some cheap publicity. Nigerians are so ignorant and gullible. In the land of the blind a one eyed man is king. In the case of Nigeria, the blind keeps leading the blind. When there are more pressing matters like the falling value of the Naira, poor infrastructure, insecurity, massive corruption, workers being owed, need i go on. And this is what a so called senate deputy president is doing to address the problems. Nigerians need to keep celebrating foolishness, stupidity and mediocrity.

Liar oshi...he hasn't been called corrupt..except u mean all our politicians generally...he has never been charged for corruption..his case is even witchhunt and not even financial misconduct issue....watch how u try to bring other people down...your blessing may just be around d corner..dont fk up...be Happy for d able senator

nice

oya dream fm start dancing

That's what i'm talking about. We have highly educated people in this country that can man it well but choose someone who couldn't produce his first school leaving certificate as 'A Whole NIGERIA'S President'. God will deliver Nigerians from this sort of stupidity out of greed by following selfish, money hungry, evil godfathaerism. #buharimuststepdown #buharinotfittobeNigeria'spresident

Ride on senator Ike ekweremadu.......... Aka ikeoha.... I know you will represent well...... More blessings and greatness Sir

Are you kidding me, this guys could barely recite Nigeria's National Anthem, not to talk about a constitution that has nothing to do with providing 180 million Nigerians,basic amenities of life,mis-diagnosed priority.