Nwobike is facing a five-count charge of attempting to pervert the course of justice and offering gratification to a public official, a charge he denied.
The Nation reports that the prosecuting witness, Orji Chukwuma, who is an Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) witness, told the court that Adomene laundered the money on behalf of an ex -Director-General of NIMASA, Patrick Akpobolokemi.
According to the prosecuting witness Chukwuma, in 2015, the commission received intelligence on “a monumental fraud perpetrated in NIMASA.”
“In the course of the investigation, it was revealed that one John Simon Adomene, a staff of Niger Delta University was used by the DG of NIMASA, Dr. Patrick Akpobolokemi, to perpetrate this fraud. Subsequently, efforts were made to trace accounts linked to John Adomene and companies linked with him,” he said.
He listed the companies to include Wabod, Global Resources Limited, Gokiad Marine Services and Boloberi Properties and Estate Limited. “We traced billions of naira in accounts and properties to these companies which were merely fronts for Dr. Akpobolokemi,” Chukwuma alleged
19 comments:
These monies I keep hearing is enough to offset the whole of Nigeria's debt. Alotta billions went missing. Choi
End time people.
Story
Another paid witness.
They should be paying people to be testifying against some body when will terrorist and his AREA boys call efcc stop this rubbish.
D kind of money that have been chopped in dis country eh...diaris oluwa oo
Signed
#LibBadBoy
If he's guilty send him to 70 years in jail
Na woah! #Criminals
What a fantastic corruption?
Na wa o. See money. Looting everywhere
Choi!
Na wa ooo
Shameless bastards looters.
Is this thing a human being?
Dummies and haters will still say u can't swim even if the see u walking on water.
The Niger Delta Avengers think that by bowing yp pipelines the fraudsters can be granted amnesty. Lies. I am from the Niger Delta. There is nothing to show for all the top appointments by Jonathan other than fraud. We support the FG.
Ijaws are the most corrupt ethnic group in Nigeria. Go to Yenagoa and weep.
This is appalling..this na de peak of theft
Linda get your facts right. Joseph Nwobike SAN is NOT the person on trial. He is counsel representing former NIMASA DG. You will soon get into trouble again reporting nonsense.
just passing