Why Sport Content Is King | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 11 October 2015

Why Sport Content Is King

Sport content on pay-TV is a must-have for any provider. Sport in general has a lot of following. Football, especially live broadcast of it from the prestigious European leagues and international competitions, is a big draw. This explains why the rights to sport content keeps attracting higher fees anytime there are negotiations for them.

Early last year, Sky, the British broadcaster, which paid over 4billion pounds to acquire a lion's share of the rights to England's Barclays Premier League, had to increase its subscription to cover costs, which ballooned by 70 %. Live sports, it is widely agreed, is the lifeblood of pay-TV.

Sport accounts for half of the programming costs of television and television accounts for more than half the revenue of many professional sports. Professional sport, without TV, is unlikely to exist in the form we know it. And without sport, the pay-TV package will be considered worthless by most subscribers. The huge cost of sport content affects even pay-TV viewers who are not sports fans because of the way the industry is structured.

Sport content owners continue to demand more money because the demand for their product is high and unlike other video entertainment, is not readily available on internet services. Sport content providers contend that sports constitute the most critical piece of programming holding the entire pay-TV structure together, specifically because live sports is extremely valuable in attracting and retaining subscribers.

This situation, of course, regularly leads to subscriber dissension/rebellion and finger-pointing, always in the direction of pay-TV companies which are simply vendors. In the US, the rise in the cost of live sports on TV, radio and digital devices is put at 19% yearly. The rise in programming costs suggests that the hike in subscription rates is not attributable to meanness on the part of pay-TV companies, but to sports economics, which has been described by an author as "television economics" because of its centrality to the pay-TV structure.

The huge cost of sport content also explains why providers will be committing financial suicide by offering their expensively acquired content on lower or skinnier bouquets. Even with the rising costs, pay-TV is still cheaper than many other forms of entertainment on a per hour basis, notably movies. Watching a two-hour movie at a cinema will cost between N1,500 and N2,000.

It costs a lot less on pay-tv.

14 comments:

For lovers of sports

What's ur point exactly? Are u saying they shld b charging us 50k per month?

Yea

Seen.

Too long

Constative.com said...

DSTV - Was it you? We sincerely understand your predicaments and we so appreciate your efforts in trying to sensitize Nigerians. If other companies in Nigeria are doing the same thing, they wouldn't be much understanding problems.

They say "Problem shared is half solved" so I think the solution is allow competitors to come in and help you share the problems since it's becoming a little unbearable.

What if after paying that premium to acquire content and people aren't subscribing because of your high charges? Are you going to return the content for a refund? No? So make it cheap so that many will subscribe and share the cost instead of getting the whole bulk from few subscribers - that's where your solution is, not on this cheap public sensitization.

10 million Nigerians paying N2,000 monthly for premium is more profitable to you than 1 million paying N12,000 for the same.

Mcheeeeeeeeew, another excuse why we should be paying so much for subscription. Linda take note!

I dot know why DSTV would choose this medium (blog) to explain the basis for their ripping us off. You should include your names in the Post. its a good thing you keep driving the price way up, you are gradually forcing everyone to make do with highlights and maybe focus on our local football leagues. In SA, what bouquet do you show your sports channel on again? Oh , they are not interested in foreign football leagues over there. I wonder why we don't have a Nigerian owned content providers providing this service.This is the stuff anti trust suites are made off. Keep Spending your money trying to explain , and keep paying call centre personnels to be bugging our phones begging us to renew our subscriptions to the sink hole bouquets, TruCaller is taking good care of them FYI.

God bless you

Another excuse to rip us off! Okay seen.

Benjamin Okpe said...

I totally agree with this, sports contents are on high demand. That's why the price of dstv is on the high and also same reason why athletics and footballers earn crazy money. Peeps wanna beef LIB die abeg they should look at what Ninja footballers earn jare.

Benjamin Okpe
http://tmhayssportsupdates.com ( for all your latest sports updates, gossips and transfer rumours)
Linda, pls approve, your boy is loyal. I cant see you to beg for money, this is the only way you can help my blog for sports updates.