#ChildNotBride - Why are parents marrying off their young daughters to grown men? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 11 October 2015

#ChildNotBride - Why are parents marrying off their young daughters to grown men?

A frontline campaigner of the Bringbackourgirls group, Aisha Yesufu, tweeted the photos. The little girl pictured is married to a security man somewhere in Kaduna. Can the Senate do something to protect the interests of the Nigerian Child? Or we must abide by religious & cultural beliefs while our young girls suffer?

64 comments:

We hope something gets done.

Black Belle said...

Poverty and illiteracy.. besides why will a man want to marry this baby? Some men thou

Poverty is the major reason they do this, they have lesser mouth to feed, bride price money, and help from their daughters husband... Poverty is a curse

Truly this has to stop. Children are being denied of their rights. It's so so sad.

I wonder. The abuse should stop. Lindz, you sure had a lovely Sunday abandoning us in the process.

If some of the senators and governors(in d north) are doing it.. who are we to question them..? So wrong!

You guys should please check out my blog

theblessedlady.wordpress.com

Truthurts said...

OMG dis is wickedness

Truthurts said...

OMG dis is wickedness

this is a pity oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, any way na to make ends meet

CALLERTUNEZ AND ONLINE PROMO

http://sunshinegist.com/callertunez/

Dear artists, mc, comedians, managers even pastors, Get your songs or jingles on mtn, etisalat & airtel callertunez @ 6k... That is 3 networks for just 6 thousand naira only ... Promo ends as soon as possible.

Get ur songs or videos uploaded on the internet that is SUNSHINEGIST.COM for just one thousand naira payable through glo recharge card

For more info call 08113483513 or 08063785612

Whatsap us on 08113483513

pin:566A4CEB

It's emanate tht dos cultures have no regards for female education. They society is being plague buy diverse cultures whose believe is female education is a waste of money der by seeing dem as marriage materials not the elite tht can pump in positive change. Try a female ad u train a society. Bamm Linda I don tlk finsh.

Hmmmm, it is well o! Linda take note!

Well, maybe hardship, maybe selfishness...

Nigeria needs to break....let all the backward Northerners including that aboki Sharia mastermind Sanusi go their own way and we southerners that have common sense go ours.

Agu_Nwa Nsukka

pam3 said...

That's how I encountered a similar young girl at the gynecology ward last week. She apparently had an emergency Csection after a fetal distress during a Vbirth but lost the child anyway.
It was so disgusting to see the 'so-called' husband who came to check on her and her 'so-called' Mother fussing about. It was appalling!
I did have an elective Csection and knew exactly what I was getting myself into, but what did this young girl do to deserve to go thru this life changing experience.
We need to stop ruining young children's lives!!! Let kids be kids!!!

Pathetic.
These hausa people are animals.

Godwin said...

Its too bad

Anyway, are you still using your money to buy data
data
?

My dear browsing is free.
Join the free browsing trend @ WizyTechs.Com

How can this girl be married.. I hail ooo..that man is a paedophile.. This one na abuse..she ain't even up to 15

We need to start using our discretion God has implanted in us, it is unwise to allow such young girl who cannot not even really know her left from her right! Jezzz mák hausa or Islam men stop all this ooo. Let the women rise up oo and we would support them

That grown ass son of a beast that married a girl of dat age must be stupid....what's wrong with hausa ppl and child marriage.

Oh dear! Crying while reading this...May God have mercy on us!

I weeps for Nigeria sometimes

All these abokis and their way of life is jarring

Too bad especially for Northerners!

Biko, all these parents involved in such babaric act should stop it already. I can't bare the thought of it let alone seing it happen in real life. God would so flog many people on judgement day sha.

Let her say that to d northerners as teenage marriage is not encourage in other parts of d country

Nawa ooo she to small

Senate??? that's a wrong place to seek protection for under aged child marriages, as a one time senator was known to have married an under aged child. As much as it pains me, I don't think it would stop.

This is child abuse haba she is too young now, some religious laws need to be abolish!!!

Jennifer James..... said...

Our country has really sunk down to the lowest of levels when it dis-regards the mal treatment and destruction of its future leaders and her innocence.... Who will bail the cat??? When the leaders themselves do same...... It pains me to see such crime being committed without lawful punishment...... It really pains me...... #ChildnotBride# #AkidNotaBride#.....

North is not part of Nigeria biko! forget them!

obietrezy said...

Question for the gods....... Jor oh

OMG! Dis is so unacceptable and dis act should b condemned@all levels so dat@18 females children r free 2b married off.

Are the senators not quilty as well?

I'm happy that a greater percentage of women in our generation are now more enlightened compared to the times of our mothers. I bet we would do everything possible to make sure our daughters gets quality education. Its just a question of time. We would continue to strive and fight this till we overcome it. Time will tell.

U say what!

Very stupid Islamic culture. Nothing is good about those people truth

Its only a pedophile that will marry a child of this age. How can someone in their right senses do this?

Our islamic pedophiles will hear nothing of it. It's their kids and tribes women that are suffering it.

ELIZABETH O said...

THE MAN WHO MARRIED THIS BABY SHOULD BE SHOT AT SIGHT. GOD DO NOT GIVE HIM PEACE OF MIND UNTIL HE RETURN THE BABY TO HER MOTHER'S BREAST. LORD TORMENT HIM AWAKE, TORMENT HIM ASLEEP, TORMENT HIM WHEN HE IS STANDING, TORMENT HIM WHILE SEATED, TORMENT HIM IN HIS HOUSE, TORMENT HIM ON THE ROAD. LET HIM HAVE NO PEACE UNTIL HE RETURNS HER HOME.

Anna CK said...

Sanusi group

Tee said...

At that point when I thought we are beginning to have a rethink with respect to this child marriage. Smh, sadly I don't see this being abolished anytime soon. We've been talking, discussing, walked, formed NGOs and it's really upsetting that a quick resolution is not just there. "A way of making rape legal" cos that girl sure doesn't want this but the reality is she doesn't have a say. They would probably stone her to death. Just saying.

Dabota lawson said...

And people actually gathered around to celebrate the union.....how do you have sex with a minor....are these men crazy?????

badyluv said...

Who's fault

sparkle said...

I Think is only muslims abi Hausas do dis shit. It really has 2 stop. #rescureouryounggirls

This people get mind ooo choi!!!!!

May God protect d little girl

This is scattering my head right now. I can't deal with this? This is simply wickedness. What does this little child knows? Mentally, physically and emotionally, she's not prepared for what she is going into. Can men who marry girls like this really sit with them as husband and wife interact or a man seeking advice from his wife? What contributions can she give him on certain issues in family life? I guessed the only thing such men married girls like this "shagging", "shagging" is better, raping them is the right word. Chai...................

In Islamic law (shari'a) marriage is a legal bond and social contract between a man and a woman. However marriage is an act of sunnah therefore marriage is strongly recommended; the age of marriage being whenever the individuals feel ready, financially and emotionally.

This really need to stop! How can some parents be so heartless to give a young child like this off in marriage?

sanusi's type pedophiles! even upon his education with all his numerous wives e no gree am with him body like chewing stick. if a man that exposed can do it what do you expect from a security man who probably is an illiterate? God i thank you i was born a christain. using religion to mask their pure lust and twisted sexual fantasies. sickos

Okoro upgrade

Basttard Go ask ur mother who is your real father......mk she tell u d truth na dat aboki gate man impregnate ur mother .........stupid lowlife miserable basttard son/daughter of baby factory

What is the name of that Stephanie Okere movie that treated this issue? DRY!! That movie needs to be in every home in the North for them to understand the nightmare these kids go through!

child abuse.child trafficking.It is becoming more rampant.

Is because of money. That's what poverty cost