LAWMA officials lock people in their homes for not paying their bills? (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 August 2015

LAWMA officials lock people in their homes for not paying their bills? (photos)

Hilarious! According to twitter user @bossmanTBS, Lawma Officials did this today. Their claim was that the residents don't pay LAWMA bills and hence they locked the residential building without prior notice. The twitter user however claims not to have received their service at the home and asks 'How do you pay for service you don't get?' More photos of the sealed gate after the cut..

66 comments:

Lol. Dirty packing is now serious business

I love that question, how do you pay for service you don't get?

No tym abeg i hope ambode is taking action immediately.....

Wot is LAWMAN and who they fcuk do they thing they are........those occupants dey dull sha, why not scatter their brain

Wot is LAWMA and who they fcuk do they thing they are........those occupants dey dull sha, why not scatter their brain

lol.. Thats not right

Slim Down Your Tummy, Discover shocking nigerian meals that help you trim fat. click here to find out

Hehehehe! See question o! Is he not in naija, where one pays for services not rendered. Linda take note!

What kind of nonsense is that nau

Egbamike!

Linda. You ave to buy some LAWMA officials refrigerator because they gat no chill.

Lol.... what dha hell is this???

OMG!

Lol. Nigeria where human rights are abused and trampled on by government workers.

Hiss! Dis is complete and total rubbish frm them bcos dis is not acceptable or approve by any law of d land in Nigeria. So they r out of bound!

Lol.
Yoruba people.
Anything goes.

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

Welcome to the zoo

Loool this is what my neighbor would say " what is Buharis turning this country into?" Choi

Lol. Initial gra gra mtcheew #onelovefromsnow#

That's how they behave! No service but they want money

That action is criminal, these people had better start doing the right things, not paying lawma bills it not a criminal offence. Forcefully locking people in there homes Is.

They must be mad to have locked people inside their homes for not paying their bills....

Lolz, dis na serious mata o

Very funny

How have they been disposing their refuse then?On the streets or the gutter?

Some Nigerians are quite dishonest.

Town Council things

They're not serious.
Don't believe dis sh*t....

mzhyde said...

Arraņt nonsense!!!

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Lol.So who will go n pay the bills when they cant go out?

Terrible people...

They should break the padlock jare, why will you pay for services not rendered ahh!!!

Only serial Debtors get their main get locked, the leg gate is left open. Before the Closure they send them a 14days notice. And the notice is a big sign on the Gate. If your get is locked, that means you owe over 100k.

Na wa o.I wonder.it's only in Nigeria that we pay for what we don't enjoy.

Can u imagine??????????

Oloshi have money to buy MB to twitt , he no get money to pay hin bill. Shameless onigbese

SMURF said...

How can u lock someone's home cos of lawma, the worse they can do is for them to stop carrying their waste and when it litters around Lagos State Government would sanction them and make money.... too much power is worrying this people

LAWMA??? What work are they doing that will warrant this? Chop chop in this Lagos too much. We need a revolution.

What the heck is LAWMA?!

Lol...who dash them any rights to lock people's gates?

Ayodele Jay said...

Wonders shall never end.

seyi crown said...

Are they ok?

Lawma don get power oooooo... dee

Amy said...

I don't know if they have the right to lock up people in their own homes, I strongly doubt that. But to say they don't receive services? Haba. That should be a strong lie. Cos it means the person has been living in a dump for how long? Please they should pay their bills of which is not usually that much. We too de like oshofree services. 'A healthy nation is a wealthy nation'.

Really hilarious

Linda can't wait to see u marry

Ole, them dey pack ur dirty for years, you no ask how do I pay, them lock your gate now u dey try form how do you pay wen you do not get bill, you r a ole

I doubt Lawma did this. Probably some over sabi people in the area. How much do they have for padlocks to lock down every house that's owing?

Lmfao Wonders

Daniel Eteng said...

This is unlawful, at least a prior notice of 1 month should have been giving before taking further step to recover whatever they are owing them.

joyous babe said...

Nawa o lol, things dey happen for dis lagos o.even d landlord can notjst lock u up for nit paying rent not to talk of lawman it is well

Nawah

Mihearty said...

Oga madam this is nija. Nigeria is the only place you pay for services which you do not use.

Well deserved..Its high time our indiscipline on environmental matters be checked... **Olu'Omoba**

Well deserved.Its high time our indiscipline on environmental issues be checked...~Olu'Omoba~

dessymal said...

Lolz...turned their homes to toll gates....pay b4 u enter

Nothing hilarious about this Linda. Its an abuse of a fundamental human right. Right to freedom. Take note.

U are a fool. So idiotic

Is God that will judge dis Lawma officials. In my former compund in Ago palace specifically Debo Bashroun str we use kaluku who we pay 2500 every month cos Lawma do not dispose our dirts there. But we were suprised when they asked us to pay a bill of over 30000 naira or risk our compound being sealed. We complained but paid cos is govt.It was painfully knowing that you paid for a service that was never offered to u.

Ask your mom

Money maker. Always making idiotic comments everytime! No single brain cell left because of his hatred for Yoruba people who don't even know he exists!

Things people do in Nigeria, so organizations now posses d right to lock people's home without legal backing what-so-ever.

Tochi Paul said...

This seems funny but isn't funny at all. Personally I can't pay for any service I never received. If actually they never received any LAWMA services, what then are they paying for?

Because Yoruba get mouth, nobody knows the extent of corruption and injustice going on daily in this state.

There is a Lagos state law that makes it illegal for you to patronize any other person than LAWMA for refuse collection. Also, they can lock up such defaulting premises but after issuing a 1week ultimatum.

Know your laws.

This is serious

LAWMA on behalf of Lagos State Government by virtue of section 18 of the Lagos Waste Management Authority Law number 27, Vol 40, laws of Lagos State 2007. Any person who fails or neglect to pay the tarrif, fees or charges prescribed by the Lagos Waste Management Authority commits an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine or imprisonment.

With my experience about Law and Environment, we are luck to have this service in place.
I believed the people concern must have received notice from Lawma (Intent to Procecute) and Final Warning before Court can then grant permission to lock the place up or an arrest.
Also its the duty of the residents to report to Authority immediately if the service not provided so that LAWMA could assign another operator.
LAW works in both ways and communication is very important.

Then who will pay for the months of service not rendered before the arrival if the new operator. It accumulates, right? I think they should learn some form of control to help their services work better.
A poor service can be frustrating.