Tragedy averted as two First Nation Airways plane collide at Lagos Airport (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 July 2015

Tragedy averted as two First Nation Airways plane collide at Lagos Airport (photos)

According to a report by the News Agency of Nigeria, tragedy was averted today July 17th at the Murtala Muhammed Airport Terminal 2 (MMA2) in Lagos following a ground collision of 2 aircraft belonging to FirstNation Airways.
Friday’s incident which happened at about mid-day involved two Airbus 330 conveying not fewer than 250 passengers. The two aircraft had their bodies partially damaged as a result of the collision. A source at the airport said one of the aircrafts was taxiing from the runway to MMA2, to disengage passengers while the other aircraft was preparing to take off to Port-Harcourt Airport from the same terminal.

The Port-Harcourt bound aircraft was parked at Gate 4 while the arriving aircraft was bound for the Gate 3 of the terminal. The source alleged that the pilot may have been misdirected by the marshals who misdirected the arriving aircraft to the same Gate as the parked aircraft which led to the two wings brushing each other. Following the incident, the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), immediately, grounded both aircraft while passengers were asked to disembark by the airline. It was further gathered that the refunds of tickets were made to passengers on the Port-Harcourt bound aircraft by the airline.
The NCAA also confirmed the incident in a statement issued by its General Manager, Public Affairs, Mr Fan Ndubuoke. Ndubuoke said no passenger was hurt and that the incident had been referred to the Accident Investigation Bureau (AIB) for further investigation. He also reiterated NCAA’s commitment to safety and security of passengers. 
Source: NAN

63 comments:

Thank God

Haba! Dem no see road?

Haaaa! Thank God oh

obietrezy said...

Just that small thing sef..... Abegi, I even think say na better accident. Jor oh

Thank u lord

Thank you Jesus for your intervention
. .....@Bia Bia

Thank God.

That is a terrible one.kai!

Dia carelessness...

Meenah_wakil on instagram

Eid Mubarak

Averted?? Glory to the. It is well with us. Job 1:28. Psalm 118:19

Thank God!

Hmmmmmm. Dis is wht Yoruba call "Alakoba". Thank God its was on ground dis happened, and u can imagine wht would hav happened if dis was in d air it happened. God save us.

AGAIN????!!!!!

Nna this is really bad like crazy....

Thank God no life was lost.

Thank God no life was lost.....

Tnk God no life was lost

Nawa o

Oh thank GOD...

Black Belle said...

So now they wana be having accidents like cars

Gosh! Hope my babe wasn't there

Thank you Jesus !

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Thank God

Mihearty said...

Thank God

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

That was close

Gabby said...

Woww, thank God for his protection oh.. But please next time they should be more careful..

HOW TO MAKE YOUR OWN KINKY TWISTS

Thanks be to God Almighty. How we for take talk d story??? Linda take note!

Trendyify said...

God is awesome

it is welll

FancyNancy said...

Thank God oo. It would have been bad

Dollar Tree said...

Thank God nobody was hurt

#RADIO BIAFRA,102.1

Thank God

I was surprised when I saw it in the news, Wetin dey worry the two pilot sef ? Linda I need answer

Ngozin said...

Thnx God !

Ngozin said...

Thnx God !

Okay oooo.... thanks to God

Thank God o

Thank God o

Tinubu pls warn ur pilots to b extra careful. OZ

Did you just type this? May God help u!

Please stop imagining vain things!

Did you read it at all?? Don't blame the pilots blame the marshals. They misdirected them, not thier fault

U must b an idiot

joy Egbunu said...

Wat kinda 'beta accident' did u expect? Change ur ways man!

@royal priesthood. You always use this word "seen" and it irritates the hell out of me. If you don't really have anything to contribute on this forum, just open, view and walk away. Your continuous nuisance is epic.

umoh Linda said...

Dat had to be God..

umoh Linda said...

Dat had to be God..

The kind of gist I hear in ds naija sha

My wife was on that plaNE, traveling to see me in Ph. They ruined our holiday.
.but thank God that was all

And pls, refunds have not been made. They were only asked to fill out forms

Idiot, its when lives are lost that you will appreciate what God has done. Mumu

Idiot, so you want to hear that people lost their lives before you will be grateful to God? Mumu

Mehn...

Carelessness on the part of the pilots.Thank God nothing happened

It was not the fault of the captain, the fault was from marshals who was directing the captain on where to park.... The two aircraft were not to park beside each other because of there size. The damage was not much cos the have fixed the damaged part with a brand new part and now they are flying again which is a good news cos they have the best aircraft at first nation safety is first..... That's y they are call first nation....... The marshals guy is a FAAN staff and he should be dealt with.

Olamamasblog said...

Glad there was no casualties

Man u are such a bastard to have said dat. The plain shuld ve cut off ur fucking head, maybe by den, e for b better accident.. ewu anuofia

Please I prefer his "seen" to his comments abeg. I pray seen is all he'll be writing here.

Royal is a "talker". It can never stop at "seen",thats just an intro. Scroll down, I'm sure you will see no fewer than 2 more comments, usually ending with "thumbs up to them".

Dem wan repeat 1996 saga that took my dad away. Fortunately this time it is not in d air.