Teen tweets a homeless man's CV...what happened next is amazing | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 July 2015

Teen tweets a homeless man's CV...what happened next is amazing

An 18 year old guy named Aaron O'Dwyer from Liverpool, England, was leaving a job interview when he saw a young homeless man sitting on the streets. He approached the young man, offered him 5 pounds and then noticed he had a handwritten resume. Aaron took one of the notes, tweeted it and within a few minutes it got over 3,000 retweets. And not only has the guy been taken off the streets, he now has plenty job offers.

Explaining to ABC News, Aaron said
"I couldn’t just walk past him,. It was the right thing to do. I think it was because he was a similar age as myself. So I walked up to him and asked if he wanted some money and I gave him some change. You could tell he wasn't on drugs or anything. He was a normal lad. I noticed in his hand he had about 15 to 20 handwritten resumes and he insisted I took one. It was quite a sad read and, obviously, a cry for help. It took me 16 seconds to take the resume and post it on Twitter. That’s all it took to get him off the streets. It's quite rewarding for myself. I feel good about it." 
The man has been identified as Jordan Lockett, 20.

The resume, written on loose-leaf paper read, in part:
Need work Need help Seriously lost I'm so sick of wasting away now I'm always being told to go to homeless centres [sic] but there [sic] ] not helping I write my C.Vs like this because I don't have anything to put on it "
The CV also said that he left school at 13 or 14, for his motorbike mechanic training.
O'Dwyer said.
"He was left with no skills and no grades, so he couldn’t go on to a university. That’s the reason why he said he's on the streets."

55 comments:

Roman! said...

Touching.

Wow! Talk about being sensible. Pray he lands one great job soon.

Wow. ...

This is just dope i swear....

Destiny helper indid,,,may God bless u,,,***odikwa risky nd tyt***

seyi crown said...

Little things help....thanks for helping the homeless

Awww! So thoughtful of him.
This way our world is made a better place.

AMIJEZ said...

Eyaa,very nice of that lad. Helping one another should be our ultimate goal in life.

Meenora said...

Grateful! Can it happen here in Nigeria?

The homeless guy scores points for effort and believing. Awesome stuff!

I Love My Rhapsody said...

Stories that touch!!

Aww kind nd thoughtful of him.

Thanks man...God bless you for touching his life

God is a good God

God bless u Aaron.

Wow..God can use anybody to help the helpless.....

Alero said...

This is so touching.... Thank God help has come his way...

GOD bless him

JUST ME said...

Grace has found him
And that's my prayer also..
Father lord, let ur grace locate me today in Jesus name
Amen

A touching one there.

Cinnamon Apple said...

Darling can I send you my CV? God fit bless me thru you o

So Touching.

Wooow....can dis happen in 9ja??

So Touching.
Folks are always already to help bt its the dubious ones that are making us skeptical.
Juliet Iwuno. Take Note.
Lousy Bitch.

Awww so sad, sweet and amazing all in one.

Awww Alhamdulillah may God bllless dat llil boy

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Awwwwww

Nice Aaron. Considering naming my son after him.

Dis is really inspiring...

She try

Dis is so touching....tnx Aaron.

prince versace said...

You are god sent to that man Aaron

Endydecency said...

Ok let him come and do it in Nigeria without 10 years of experience.

God bless that lad for this...

This is miraculous. For those hoping for something big to happen in their lives, tap unto the faith of this young lad and watch out for a turn around.

My God in heaven still answers prayers. praise be to his holy name. Praise! Praise!! Praise!!! Jehova Nissi. The I am that I am. Father of the fatherless, you have done it again. I will dance on this one in praise and worship. Linda please publish more Of these stories about humanity. it is uplifting to the spirit

That's a very good one. God bless the young man for the bold step.

The last 3 lines got me.

Mihearty said...

He makes what seems impossible to be possible. When it's time for God to remember you, He uses anyone anywhere and it will look like magic. Thank God for him. May God bless the helper too

One thing about the West, they help the les privileged.

Here in Nigeria, our Rich folks hardly care about the poor or jobless but flaunting their wealth on lib.

It's time that all this changed. I wanna hear of celebs helping people finish their education and getting the jobless employed not buying this car or that car and flying in private jets.

Let's change the way we live and let's change the way we treat each other - Tupac

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Thank God he is off the streets.

Please check my blog, new post published.
Thanks

Awwwwww so touching and inspirational

Awwwww so touching and inspirational

The date on this letter says 20 08 94...that's 11 years ago..this is ancient news nah..

21 years ago???

God is a merciful God

There are community centers in the UK that help people write a cv in MSword and they also help young adults like him get a job, not an excuse.

Maureen Isaiah said...

Aunty Linda help me post ma cv na?

Be an instrument of blessing to someone's life jst like Aaron.

Hope so too.

yabsy said...

Putting a smile on someone's face a day goes a long way. It doesn't have to be about money. Reaching out and doing a kind deed. Also no matter our situation never give up. Keep on hoping and trusting in the Lord and He will answer your prayers one day. This story has really touched and motivated me this morning and I have made up my mind to do one kind deed each day.

This won't happen in Nigeria.

Awwwwww!