My 24-hour SSS ordeal was a witch hunt- Sambo Dasuki | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 July 2015

My 24-hour SSS ordeal was a witch hunt- Sambo Dasuki

The former National Security Adviser, Mr. Sambo Dasuki, yesterday raised an alarm over what he saw as a plot by the State Security Service (SSS) to implicate him in alleged security breaches.
He said Nigerians should know that the invasion of his house by the SSS was a sheer witch-hunt. He said it was sad that the operatives of the security agency broke into his ailing father’s house in Sokoto and broke his safe.

Dasuki, who spoke exclusively with the Nation correspondent on the phone yesterday, said he did not deserve such treatment because as the National Security Adviser he did not maltreat any Nigerian.
He said he was subjected to a 12-hour ordeal from 6pm on Thursday till 6am on Friday.
He said:
“The SSS operatives came in two trucks with a search warrant from a Magistrate Court. The warrant gave them the power to search for ‘illegal weapons and any incriminating item.’ You can imagine what that is supposed to mean.
“I left office on Tuesday and they got the warrant on Wednesday and executed it by 6pm on Thursday.
“From 6pm on Thursday, throughout the night till about 6am this morning (Friday), they were searching my house looking for incriminating items.
“They restricted my movement. I cannot go out and no one can visit me. All those who attempted to see me were stopped from doing so.
“In fact, my son was blocked from entering my residence. My two cooks, who used to come from their homes to prepare my meals, were also disallowed from leaving my house.
“The only person allowed was the man who feeds my dogs. And he only related with the dogs.
“By Friday morning, they packed away all the nine cars in my residence. I could not go out to perform the Eid-el-Fitr prayer because of the restriction.
Even when I sought permission to go to Eid Praying Ground, they promised to provide a vehicle but they never did.”
He added:
“This is just a witch-hunt; they are desperately looking for something to implicate me.
“They went to my father’s house including breaking into the ceiling to look for incriminating documents. They broke a safe in my father’s house.
“Also, my sister kept a 20-year old box in my father’s house, they also forced it open. What has my father got to do with this?
“And the old man is in hospital in London. He was shocked to hear that they broke into his house. The good thing is that they did not find anything.
“They brought the photocopy of a 2007 draft by my brother, Ahmed, and asked me to comment on it. Was I in office in 2007 as NSA? You can see the extent to which they are ready to go to implicate me,” he said.
The State Security operatives yesterday also confiscated his international passport and $40,000 cash found in his house.
They retrieved 3 rifles which were being used by members of the protective team while in office.
The disengagement of the Protective team was yet to be completed yesterday but the SSS asked him to explain how he came about the rifles.
However, at about 6 pm yesterday, SSS operatives were withdrawn from his residence.

Dasuki’s movement remains however restricted to within the country as his traveling documents are now with the SSS.
According to findings, the SSS team obtained statement from him from about 1 hour.

A source said:
“They seized the ex-NSA passport and raised issues on how he came about the $40,000 in his house. They went to the extent of asking him to give the details of how he came about the cash.
“On the rifles, they repeatedly questioned him on what he was doing with them. He took time to explain that they belong to members of the Protective Team guarding him. They became excited as if they had found an evidence against him.
“I think by the time the case gets to a court, Nigerians will know the truth or otherwise of their findings.
In regards to the allegations against him, about the purchase of arms, funds for counter-insurgency and the seized $15million in South Africa , Dasuki said:
“I read some of these allegations in The Nation but nobody has asked me some of these things they are saying. I was not even in charge of some of these things. How do I account for all?
“And if you want me to respond to these issues, you have to give me access to relevant documents. You do not need to restrict my movement. You can see that they are just out to set me up. Even if they find a knife in my house, they will say it is incriminating.”
“There are some who should account 10 times for some of these allegations they are raising but they are walking about freely, ” he added.
Dasuki, who sounded confident on the phone, said as a retired senior military officer and ex-NSA, he ought to be better treated.
“Everybody should know what is happening. They sent some low-level officers, looking for something to implicate me.
“It is just a witch-hunt. If you want me to make clarifications on any issue, in the spirit of democracy and the rule of Law, have the courtesy to invite me and as a gentleman, I will honour the invitation. Sending two trucks to lay siege on my house and restrict my movement is just abysmal.
“For a man who left office on Tuesday, where will I run to? I have nothing to fear.”
The former NSA said he was unfairly treated by the SSS because when he was in charge of the nation’s security, he was “cautious, careful and fair" in his approach.
He added:
“I was fair to all as NSA. Even when I had security cause to act on some issues, inflammatory comments and actions against the government of the day by those in the opposition, I exercised restraint. I did not restrict anyone’s movement, I never asked security agents to occupy anybody’s house.
“But that is the new change we have, this is our own definition of democracy. All I know is that everything has a beginning and an end in a democracy. I gave my best for this transition, which led to the victory of the opposition over the ruling party.

The Nation

62 comments:

Oga no worry they think 4yrs is 40 yrs this too shall pass!

Politics tho

Hmmmm....

THAT @AYEDEE GUY IS SICK...I THINK HE IS JUST AN APOLOGIST TO AGIP...I SAW HOW HE WENT ABOUT ON TWITTER SERVING AS THE POLICE,AND JUDGE IN THE CASE....HE INVESTIGATED,TRIED AND CONVICTED DASUKI ON TWITTER.,

Read it later

Stupid idiot.whitch hunt my foot

Good for you Mr. Angel. You are now paying for your past sins, and this is just the beginning.

This is democracy for goodness sake.....d president should know he is no longer a dictator

Please can this guy just keep shut. When they do this to ordinary citizen who can't speak out about their right it is ok, but when their house get invaded by the same element there use to terrorise others they start make noise.

Everyday we cry that naira has fallen, why won't it fall when all dis useless big men will keep ridiculous sums of dollars at home, foolish man

Who cares what happened to you, what about the thousands that have died because of your doing in the hands of Boko Haram.
You want us to sympathise with you when you almost set the democratic clock backward by causing the elections to be postponed for 6 weeks allowing Jonathan to rigged the elections. Even though he lost, the elections polarised the south east and south south from the rest of the country just because of the posponement . What about the disgraced of our armed forces at the battle front with Boko Haram , allowing them to fight with inferior weapons while you and your cohort stole the money meant for them. And later have the audacity to sentence them to death for cowardice. You have not seen nothing yet .. oh you wicked souls

BUHARI IS AN OLD WICKED MAN WHAT HAPPENED TO ABACHA WILL HAPPEN TO HIM

naijaboard said...

story for the gods....vomit the yam!!!

How many people he treated worse before sef. Shut ur mouth u coward.

NMaa said...

Buhari is this d change?.

I don't want to believe dat sir!

But how about the $40,000 why are you not saying anything about that???

Nigerians knows it's sheer witch hunting and Nigerians are beside u!!

It's cold it's cold

Linda you see? He gave in his best so as to give victory to APC while serving under GEJ... u see? this guys cannot be trusted

Be calmed man,if u are sure u do not have any skeleton in the box.all i know is that God is ready to bring to open every secrets things that is using human blood as drinking water in Nigeria.

Its a pity sha. its well with my country Nigeria.Change will seems to have a diff agenda we all dont know yet.

It's Well.

Very smart answer..Buhari is the biggest mistake Nigeria has ever made.

Endydecency said...

Time will tell if its a witch-hunt or normal probing. So no one should get sentimental or emotional. But they should be diplomatic and sensible in their actions, not. Being so cloud.

Na wah ooooooo, big man big wahala. make I go take my Saturday morning akamu and akara... dee

tony said...

You are a thief and a heartless being. Every politician now hide under the context of witch hunting to make themselves and the society feel like they never stole. Fuck democracy its a scam and the new phrase to avoid been probed. The manner in which these thieves are been treated is the best they don't even deserve any court ruling before they go to jail. Bastards

I don't think dis is political, it's all abt d money giving 2 him n sm pple in purchase of ammunitions 2 fight d insurgency wh dey didn't buy. Dey shd tell us y dey didn't buy it n whr d money is n stop playing us lyk ludo

Mihearty said...

Hope ur hand is clean.

This dude just turn celeb bcos of this matter i swear....

i'm not surprised, this is the only thing APCriminals are good at, intimidation.

Dasuki! Dasuki!! Nine cars for U alone? Haba! Mallam.

This is not right what SSS has done. We cannot afford as a country to go back to the days of witch hunting and arbitrary arrests of people. They could have invited him for questioning. I think this is a very bad precedent that the Buhari administration is setting and with all the issues about Boko Haram, Niger Delta, Buafra I think it is foolish to want to set the northern elite against each other because that will spell doom for the Buhari administration. There are ways to go about investigating a matter and especially someone of Dasuki's caliber. And this is definitely not it.

That is their so called change. Its very obvious Buhari is still basking in euphoria of military dictatorship and is out to avenge on his oppositions. God is watching.

Wow! I refuse to really tak side in dis matter but I wil state dis which is if he feels his right was violated d court should b his next line of action.

hrm paul ojeih said...

If this is how buhari wants to bring about the change then he is barking on the wrong tree here.dasuki is a retired top military officer for God's sake send him an invitation or better stil send officers to pick him up which b say una invade his house with o level junior officers dats pure witch hunting he is barely out of office u are already fucking him up tufiakwa finance minister petroleum minister subsidy thieves are still there jonathan is still there pick dem all up

This government has messed up big time. How can they do this a few days to the visit to the United States. The NSA was just relieved of his appointment a few days ago. National security is a vital issue and it is strange that the ex NSA is being questioned for the sums and rifles found in his house. This is more than a witch hunt.It is a reprisal.

Sorry man

APC @ work...yeah, I said it!

come to think of it, the search may be a sheer witch-hunt or not but aw come one man will be having US$40,000 in his house; i think that call for a probe.

Dis man is a sharp intelligent man,,,

This is unfair to sambo dasuki .... They wanted revenge and this is not good to our democracy.

Really! How about when you laid siege at tinubus resident and restricted his movement, how about when you made sure bubus certificate was confisticated, a court granted the warrant so deal with it

Ngozin said...

lol before what was he supposed to say witch hunt ko satan killing ni ,

Dasuki hear itself, u have 9 cars, 3 cooks, 2 for itself and another cook for your dogs, 40,000 dollars at home. You are nothing but a thief!!! Insensitive prick, is this how govt officials should live when Nigeria cannot pay workers for almost a year and we are always looking for funds to treat our accident victims. Unbelievable country!!

Corrupt Fuck lookin 4 sympathy.
Ya'all should not be deceived by this Mofo's acting.
The scum is putrid like a dead Raccoon.
Stinkingly corrupt as they come.

The trend now is that corrupt government officials and politicians will start crying witch hunt to avoid being probed. Imagine Dasuki with nine cars, $40,000 and several cooks at home. Even his dog has personal cook , in a country where workers' salaries are hardly paid. #smh.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

U classified idiot, u didn't read they had a warrant.....

WORD!!!

WORD!!!
Lets call a Spade a Spade 4 God sake.
Some Retards are still defending this scum without even studying to know his antecedents.

Oga u must give us ansa,u guyz expossed our army to go and die in Da hands of BH.dis guyz were cryin for lack of arms but u guyz prefer to eat da money ment for arms,u still get mouth da shout fowl play.wat can u boost off as ur achievement to da fight against BH

This boy you are so dull its unbelievable

Imagine the effrontery of the corrupt man,, 3 cooks, nine cars and $40k cash! A public servant . And pls loose the witch hunting drama, they had a court executed search warrant so what are you on about. What I blame the officers for is not acting immediately they obtained the search warrant, giving him time to destroy evidence. Y'all going to pay for your wrong doings.

Wet in you dey do with 9 Cars for your compound. Corrupt officer. You don't deserve any sympathy

Buhari be careful of ur action before you split nigeria, you should be luckythat jjonathan handover. Why are you intimidating Jonathan's boys? So new Dss want to tell us that they are strong and they can go to the extend of insulting NSA

It shall pass when the thief lands in prison. Billions of defence $$$ passed through his office with almost nothing to show for it. Meanwhile he has bought houses all over the world.

The Jay said...

My guy is a real big thief. Talk of people that milked Nigeria dry, Sambo Dasuki is no 1. Abeg stop that pity story and bring out all the monies you stole for procurment of arms for our armed forces that ended up in your pocket. Alarm go soon blow people, just wait. These people are wicked. Where is your assistant in crime Kunle Aluko? Bastards.

These people are really stupid and only stupid, ignorant people like them will believe that crap.
When they are in government and they treat arrest innocent people, that is no witch hunting.
But when they steal and are brought to give account of their stewardship, then it's witch-hunting.
Bloody idiots!

FRESH said...

Is that all you see in this? How can our country EVER be repaired if we reason like this? If they suspect something & are investigating him for it can't we see it for just what it is?

ORO!!!