Dubai hotel staff refuses to serve a Nigerian woman, asks her to leave, Hotel management apologises | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 July 2015

Dubai hotel staff refuses to serve a Nigerian woman, asks her to leave, Hotel management apologises

A Nigerian woman named Hanna Fanni was discriminated against at a hotel in Dubai on July 8th. The hotel staff at five-star hotel Mövenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach refused to serve her and showed her the door when she visited the hotel's popular West Beach Bistro & Sports Lounge with her black American friend. The outraged Nigerian said what they did to them reminded her of 1930s America.
"They suspected us of being prostitutes and targeted us solely because of the colour of our skin. I have lived here for 10 years and have never been treated in such a disrespectful and despicable manner." Hannah said
“My friend had just graduated and we were hoping to enjoy a girls’ night out at the bar but came back traumatised. First the waitress refused to serve us and then a security guard ordered us to leave the hotel. At one stage he was ready to engage with us physically which is classified as assault and sexual harassment in UAE. He kept telling us that the bar didn’t allow unaccompanied women. I found it strange because there were several tables occupied by women. When I pointed to them, he said he was merely following orders.” Hannah told Dubai News Express
Hannah said as things got heated, the bar manager intervened.
“I showed him my business card. When he saw it, his face contorted in panic as it dawned on him that they had racially profiled the wrong people. But instead of making amends, he said the security guard had asked us to leave as some black women had come in earlier and solicited their guests. I was stunned. Just because some black women had approached their guests, the hotel assumed we were also prostitutes.”
Hannah said, realizing their mistake, the hotel tried to make amend but they were so humiliated they had to leave
“On the way out, I stopped at the front desk and sought to speak to the duty manager but he refused to meet us. Instead a female staff came out and tried to hush up the matter saying ‘Obama is the President of US’ as if that had anything to do with us. I want the management of the hotel to realise that this isn’t 1930. This is 2015. You cannot walk up to random black women and tell them you will not serve them because they are black. I am completely flabbergasted that in this day and age the policy of an international chain is to not allow people into their bars because of the colour of their skin,” she said
Hannah, who heads an events management company later wrote to management of the hotel, asking for an apology. And they did apologize to her, calling it an unfortunate incident.
"The incident occurred purely due to the misunderstanding of the employees and we would like to clarify that there is no such management policy existent in the hotel. Mövenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach welcomes and respect each and every guest and this incident in no way reflects our true standards of service. An official apology letter from the hotel management and employees involved has also been sent to the guest.” the management said

96 comments:

Wats her oen

IS DE COLOR OTHER NIGERIANS HAVE PAINTED US...SORRY MA,.....TOMJERRYSWIT

But that's exactly what

click here to visit my blog said...

pele

But that's exactly what most of Nigeria girls do in Dubai... May God guide us to the right part.

Idiot

It's okay since the hotel management apologized

Hmmmmmmmm. Handwork of over zealous employees dat dat dent d image of their employers.

Racist

Nky said...

Sometimes u dnt blame them...na our girls de cos am, de prostitute over there, in fact na career. Sorry though

HRH Jefixx�� said...

You cant blame the hotel so much bcos our naija babes now go there to hustle as prostitutes,its the order of the day for them!

Is unfair....kpele dear sis

...Love@linda

*wats her own?

Just imagine.. Now this is what I call racism..

Since they've apologised, no problem.

INK_HER said...

Eyah ..

Nonsense!

That is what most Nigerian girls do there so….kpele o.

Mihearty said...

Nigeria now in black book abroad. May God help us. Sorry dearie. That's weird I must say

Racial discrimination shouldn't be tolerated. I love how she handled the matter.

INUKWA,Racism everywhere,God help us all

Bloody Racists...

Very unfortunate.

See wetin our Edo fine sisters dey cause.

Sorry my sister I feel Ur pain. I'm blessed to be black. I will not tow the lines of people like caitlyn Bruce Jenner to impress the world and offend God. Black I am. No apologies.

It's not ok!

Imagine

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Endydecency said...

Its a pity! No wonder every of our girls want breaching cream to avoid insult and destruction of business.

I hope they close that hotel though....

Amy said...

Hmmm. The hotel should then welcome the whites only. They will suffer it a little especially during this vacation time. With their name out there. Nobody wants to lodge in a place that they will be publicly embarrassed and humiliated. Sorry ma'am.

It happens here in lagos too. Eko hotel,four point,sheraton,protea. U cnt go to der bar alone witout company as alady. Dey will tink ur lookin for customers. Ild rather hang out wit my frnds at rhapsody.

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Its so ridiculous!!
Can you imagine.
Apology not accepted!
Racism

Too bad

It's means you are still a son of ashawo.aboki

Dos pple r mad

osyda said...

You went there to show ur self but eventually it turns back in another way, 5 star indeed or can't u go to another place? There's African bar or food canteen also in dubai so why can't u go and patronize them. Everything is on media now, one day someone's door or windows will not open and they will bring it up here for us to read.

Sad.

Hmmm sorry , but don't really blame dem tho

Larimols said...

The same thing happened to me last year October while I was on holiday with my friends in Goa India. We school in Hyderabad and travelled to Goa for a week..just chilling in one of the bars by the beach the dude in charge wouldn't serve us or attend to us...he eventually told us to leave that he doesn't serve Nigerians and there were Ethiopians among us...it was terrible.I wept!

Don't bring skin color into dis cos there are so many black people visiting Dubai. All the same what she did was wrong. Linda take note!

Too bad of them

I'm sorry my sympathy is limited. UAE is a muslim country and having recently travelled there I can confirm that it is indeed Ramadan there, why are you going to a bar at a time when the country is rife with restrictions? *mschew*

Racism still exists at this age.Too bad.

Mr. Stretch said...

Unfortunate!

lucky said...

Sorry for that

SOMETIME IN LATE DECEMBER OF 2013, A ROOF-TOP BAR ATTENDANT OF MELIA HOTEL DUBAI DEPOSITED A CHUNK OF HIS SALIVA INTO SOME SMALL CHOPS WE ORDERED. MY MISTAKE THEN WAS THAT I DID NOT REPORT IT IMMEDIATELY.

Yeye people

Fibonnachi Omogbai

lucky said...

Sorry for that

Ok. Nigeria ladies, in places like Dubai you package yourself differently so you manage the treatment you get. Discrimination is horrible, but as you are not a renowned activist, watch your back, Dubai is not America. Apply wisdom. Again you are on your own. Sharia courts are active there. Just walk away from confrontation so you don't become a statistic in a strange land.
Be conscious.

Mumu I pray u experience racism first hand. Idiot.

Bastard I hope u have the opportunity to experience racism first hand. Idiot. Na ur type dey date Lebanese for nigeria thinking dem be oyibo.

Berry said...

Hmmmmm I would have made a fortune off them. Nonsense

What is she complaining about self,You where treated as a hoe,you have to deal with it,because other Hoes have made all women look like a hoe,So my dear dont blame them,until our people start to realize that Good name is Better than Richie's,Only then will the light shine and equality be melted out to us!

Too bad of Nigerian girls for such reputation"sori madam Hannah.

appologies accepted you can come back home my dear perharps you have overstayed your welcome 10years in another man's land its ok as a matter of fact they have tried accomodating you till now please return back home so gbo

Racism gini, evn ordinary Asians

webbman90 said...

Please how did she dress to that hotel? Cos am sure you can't see a modestly dressed woman and term her to be a PROSTITUTE...

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Not nice at all

Nigga said...

Funny... But its so bad.

mayb she is doing runs

Nigga said...

On feb 06 2015, a group of friends (5 doctors) including myself went to the Movenpik hotel Accra Ghana and we were turned away because we came unaccompanied. I offered to show the bouncer my ID but he refused. I am not surprised it's happened again

People should equally learn how to dress properly.

Movempick is like that o..... Even in medina, Saudi Arabia. They are very dubious and annoying.

Kpelekpele since they apologised okay. If they for no apologise we for reach. 1luv 9ja.

Name of hotel noted. No business for them frm us here.

dilinger said...

Did your mother do the same or is she doing the same???

dilinger said...

Did your mother do the same or is she doing the same???

you should sue the management...what sort of nonsense is that

dorothy said...

Na wah o. Evn dubia sef dey misbehave

Business Barbie said...

Well Nigerian girls prostitute themselves alot in Dubai. You cannot really blame them though.

i HAVE NEVER BEEN TO DUBAI BUT BECAUSE OF THIS INCIDENT I WILL NEVER VISIT THAT ARTIFICIAL MAN MADE URBAN MENACE THAT HAS NO PAST CULTURAL IDENTITY. INSTEAD I WILL VISIT LAS VEGAS SINCE IT IS THE SAME MAN MADE CONCRETE ENCLAVE BUILT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DESERT.

Shuttup

9jatimes media said...

naaaa your country be dat, de for evn beat u sef, idiot

Chizzyluv said...

SEEN .

If this so called 'incident' occurred in UK or US, They would have been sue to court.

Sorry, since they have apologized, no problem.

And how was she dress like? or is she a lesbian? some times your look matters alots

Hmmmmmm Next Page

Just imagine? Bloody racists. Anyway, this is where our leaders has brought us afterall we were once VIPs before before greed and selfishness ate our nation up.

Too bad

If you all stayed and built up your own continent you wouldn't have to be treated like trash in other people's country. Nopes, but some of you love nothing better than building up other ppl's places, the very place and ppl who wouldn't spit on you if you were on fire. You all feel fancy when you can say you stayed here and there, visited this hotel and restaurant, had destination wedding here and there while the people, even the servers think you are beneath them and not worthy of them serving you anything. Look how many women of all types are in that place trading flesh, but who was singled out for humiliation? Keep running to all these places drinking and eating food ppl have spat in and where you are not wanted. Just an fyi, just because someone served you and allowed you to come to their business does not mean they wanted you there either! Get your own, Live and learn

It's a poverty striken mind that should think this way. So she can't spend her money abi? Smh

Your comments show that you are not exposed! Laws have indeed changed in dubai especially when it comes to unaccompanied 'black' ladies as most of them especially Nigerians, misbehave a lot and dress anyhow in dubai.

Thank you o. Then they claim discrimination. I wish she showed a pic of her dressing that fateful night.

Chioma Ijomah said...

Hahaha.. I can't stop laughing at the Female Staff's comment.."Obama is the President of the United States of America".. Soooo out of point!!

Seo Company Bhubaneswar said...

Very useful tips.....................TGI Hotels Is a Hotel Management Company in India which manages hotels, restaurants, clubs, health & wellness, cultural and convention facilities, venue catering, visual and performing arts and entertainment – all with equal aplomb.

Hotel Management Company in India

Shoofi said...

It is very bad thing..
Shoofi

Hotel Supplier Dubai said...

Very useful tips.

Hotel And Catering Supplies

Indian Escorts in Dubai:+971528563225 said...

welcome to The Dubai Escort Agency. We give a Classy Escort Service You will Have a Unique, Exciting and Unforgettable Time, Filled with Fascinating Experiences. We work Throughout The World. call or whatsp for booking
Indian Escorts in DUbai
Escorts in Dubai
indian Call Girls in Dubai

Escorts in Dubai, Indian and Pakistani Call Girls, Indian Female Escorts in Dubai akes your privacy very seriously with our escorts in Dubai. We deal with the supreme class Indian escorts in Dubai.Call us & Whatsapp me +971561616995 Visit Our Websites
Model Escorts In Dubai
Escorts In Dubai

WE provide beautiful girls and best models
escorts service in lahore