Dbanj wins Evolution award at MAMAs, dedicates it to Donjazzy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 July 2015

Dbanj wins Evolution award at MAMAs, dedicates it to Donjazzy

D'banj this evening won the Evolution award at the MTV Africa Music Awards. He dedicated the award to his fellow nominees and former music partner, Don Jazzy. D'banj and IDJA pictured above.

105 comments:

Congrats to him

Yeah.. that was very emotional watching it live, congratulations BangaLee

Good for him

Dts good..but they can never remain thesame

Nice one,they are still pals!

Eiyahhhh dedicated to Don Jazzy.... mature guy!

Linda can't wait to see u marry

Chai I pity this dude. Its well shaa

Who still gives dis one award?

Dats quite cool

Chinko Berry said...

Congratulation eja nla. Oshey.

He try! Na now day break! Nonsense!

Looking for a free track for a dead career

Ashanka said...

So as hin dedicate am now he go carry am give am mcheew

Why and how did he win it......I think the organisers are yoruba

Congrats to both, Don J too won.

Runaway dbanj; his career is nose diving without don jazzy. He is trying to reconnect to don but network is failing.

Congrats BangaLee

Nice one Dbanj

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

mimi j said...

So touching I miss them together

And he had to say "even though we are not...mtcheew! Its a good thing he didnt complete it

Congrats to him.

U re vry stupid to called him dis one...a guy will such a good heart

deenity sealord said...

Ezinne u ar retarded go get aa life bitch

Mihearty said...

Showing appreciation to the boss. Don baba I sight u sir,

And he had to say "even though we are not... Mtcheew! Its a good thing he didnt finish the stupid speech

Interesting. I actually do like Dbanj. I hope the two of them can still make music together someday. Anyways, here are some quick tips to help you stay alive in Naija - 4 ESSENTIAL TIPS THAT WILL HELP YOU STAY ALIVE IN NIGERIA

The guy is collecting awards, doing mega shows internationally and making shit loads of money....and u are there pitying him. Lol..(in Patience Jonathan's voice) continue you here?

Congrats my brother, thanks for making us proud. Linda take note!

honor to whom deserves it
Go Don Jazzy

The people that appreciate him..Lol...he's still big everywhere else and his music is gaining grounds everywhere else...na only for Naija una carry Him n Don't jazzy matter for head like gala. Other countries just care about good music, no time to be getting emotional about who broke up with who.

Who dash D'banj Evolution award Don jazzy should have won it mtewww!!!

humble Bangalee... Remains THE best..

It's Don Jazzy Again!(in Dbanj's voice) congrats!

iyke cindy said...

Congrats to him##ejanla***

He shows pure maturity by dedicating it to don jazzy. Congrats to him once again

Woow gud frends

Eyahh datz so mature of Dbanj! I hope Dija hvnt left Marvins record, dis one Don J didn't mention her name! Or mayb it was just an oversight!

Congrats to him.
Wish they will get back together.

Congrats to him but he didnt worth the award abeg....

Alicia said...

Lifeanaagaaga

It's not jst any award or a silly category! FYI, he beat a lot of grt guys (2face, HHP,Fally Ipupa) to get d award! I can't force u to like him buh it's worth celebrating! Am not his greatest fan but I like d fact dat he recognised pple who got him whr he is!

SWILL MARTIN said...

Abeg mke dem settle do soong 2geda jaaaaare e go make sense diieee!

Awww nice 1 bangalee

Hmmm... Just passing **

I like how Dbanj's music has evolved, he is a smart business man. He saw that nothing he does is ever going to be good enough for Nigerians since they are so bent on bashing him and taking sides with Don Jazzy, so he started making his music sound broader and more contemporary, rather than the generic Naija sounds that all the artists just churned out and well, it paid off for him.

He is the only Nigerian artist that plays in massive n well acclaimed international events. He is actually the face of African Music to the rest of the world and everyday he keeps getting bigger.

I live in England, and all my oyibo friends know who dbanj is (they can even sing Extraordinary, top of the world & Oliver twist word for word..lol) but no one has heard of Mavin, Davido, Wizkid and the rest..I had to play them all these Apple's music..

Big up Dbanj!

tundeoluomo said...

Nice 1 dbanj

CONGRATS BANGALEEEEE!

TEEM AYA said...

BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION IN ACTION

Awww! That's all I can say, so sweet.

Teeblaze said...

Eze u r a fool

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Mega shows where? Which country? My guys career is dead. Must we be in denial over every single thing? Urgh!

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Where is this everywhere else that d'banj is 'still big' ? What are these songs that they are playing? Someone who has been struggling to bring out a hit record since Oliver twist.
Please let's jst be honest

Congrats to him. But to say d truth d'banj's music has not evolved to anywhere in years now, he has remained stagnant. Na business he dey do now, not making any music. So MTV should not take us for fools, he no deserve dis particular award. The likes of Asa & 2Face have remained more consistent, I think one of dem deserves dis.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

What international event has he. Played at? People need to let Oliver twist go. How many years ago was this? And oyibo people love weezy.

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Congratulations to him. Today I saw D'banj display highest form of maturity by calling @ Donjazzy.So happy for him.Cool guy.

STUNTCHILD VOICEOVERS said...

Mr Wizkid is an international act ooooo!!!!!! he might be like a kid brov to me but hes a mustard seed on a fertile soil....... and let me tell you!!!! hes coming for you!!!!! And as for Dbanj!!!!! since day one of his first ever interview on NTA 2 CHANNEL 5 When he talked about his up and coming mobolowown back then... i said this to my kid brov that this guy is an evolution...... so we know them!!!!! and Don jazzy!!! the Star maker..... what else can i say...... image speaks for its self....... Congrats to all the winners..... Mine to is coming soon....... The best Voice Artiste of the year back to back... lolzzzzzz

Congrat to white lion.....

Celine Oma said...

Don Jazzy ought to have won that award. Buh nw dat Dbanj's got it, congrats to him. And I think the part whre he dedicated it to IDJA is jst trying to get pple to say 'awww' nothin much. No real connection or maturity in it.

Big congrats!

don andre said...

Oga tittus finally u don agree say u fuck up ni,@ anonymous dat stays in uk,u r a big liar , in shot u dey lie for lagos state , nobody knw davido,wizkid,mavin indeed , maybe na west UK u dry stay.

don andre said...

Madam u r a big liar . like we dnt hv pple staying in England too,davido's song is everywhere in England including the sound.

Y is don jazzy's head looking like that..

don andre said...

Dnt mind them , mega shows indeed , Kanye deceived him , and nw he is broke , if u dnt knw oga tittus was for him,dbanji is owing big time.

don andre said...

Tell her.

I hope this is not gonna be his last award.. Dbanj get to work ASAP.. Congrats!!!

That's my hubby

His career is not dead. Dont say what u dont know. The guy is talented with or without Don Jazzy. Is Don Jazzy God? Stmchew

Is it Don Jazzy that helped him with his hit song "Tell me who discoverd you". I live in SA and that song is a hit song in South Africa. Mind you, he did that song after "Oliver Twist". Because Don Jazzy helped him at some point in his life so he should continue thanking him for the rest of his life. Smtchew

People help people and move on. You dont have to thank the person for the rest of your life. Is it not Ali Baba that helped AY? Is AY not big now? Is Ali Baba witch hunting him because of that? Thank God Ali Baba is not Ibo. Stmchew

DBANJ'S SONG, "TELL ME WHO DISCOVERED YOU" IS A HIT SONG IN SOUTH AFRICA. I LIVE IN SOUTH AFRICA AND THAT SONG IS JUST TOO MUCH. BECAUSE SOMEBODY HELPED YOUR CAREER AT SOME POINT IN YOUR LIFE DOESNT MEAN YOU HAVE TO THANK THE PERSON FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. MOVE ON. IS DON JAZZY GOD?? STMCHEW

Can you please let it go mr asampokoto. Replying one person supporting dbanj is ok.. But replying all,that's desperate! Here have some sugar, all this bitterness is too much for one human being. Leave dbanj and don jazzy alone! Wen and if they settle will they call u? Leave them alone! Shikena!

Dbanj all d way...congrats bro...sm bad belle go still tlk rubbish bt who don win am don tk am go....

Why nt pity ur miserable life, successful 1 can't b pitied cos he has made 1 for himself...

Don't knw why sm pple r bitter in anoda man's succsess...I beg he don win am so tk heart...Dbanj will be remembered for his international success he has attained for himself...so far dbanj has reach dat pinnacle sm act are aspiring to be...

Innocentia Annie said...

Congrats to Dbanj
Donjazzy if u lost, Na Godwin too

@Eze, U r so daft. I bet u've never won a pencil even while u were in nursery school let alone an award in ur life. Stop hating on people's tribe

That's great.So touchy.

Don't mind him leg him go and pay his huge debts he's owing here and there, pride comes before a fall

Pls who is this asampokoto attacking every1. Truth is dbanj is still d most recognized african musician. Its only pple like u dt think his career is dead. To d rest of d world it isnt...

Doctoressà.. said...

Abeg help me ask which shows oh...Ppl just like to be in denial sha...All this his stunting is for don jazzy to reconsider him ..but that aint happening...Marvins are just good d way dey r..

Doctoressà.. said...

Preach it ...I cant even remembr any song or heard any of the so called songs dese pple r talkin abt oh...D banj is just living on past glory...Dats all...Ppl try and be honest for once...

Doctoressà.. said...

This is d best comment so far...haha...i don faint laffing...Abeg which network him dey use?ok maybe na koko network..dats y its failing..

Doctoressà.. said...

This is d best comment so far...haha...i don faint laffing...Abeg which network him dey use?ok maybe na koko network..dats y its failing..

See you, wor wor pikin.

Doctoressà.. said...

Dat song oliver twist u r preaching abt ,dnt forget he did d song wen he was still with don jazzy bfr dey separated and he went nd did d mumu video wit kanye abi who again sef..If white ppl dnt knw other artist u mentioned hw come dey rush dir concert ticket wenever dey go for shows there...Its either u r one of those in denial dt dbanj has sank since he left mohits or ur so called white frnds are very backward in music...You no even fear sef u dey call dbanj face of African music,dts like an insult to legends like tubaba and Africa as a whole..Which song abeg mk am face of Africa?....Infact eh u need to reboot bcos ur network is failing...JUST NEGODU D INSULT..

Doctoressà.. said...

Dat song oliver twist u r preaching abt ,dnt forget he did d song wen he was still with don jazzy bfr dey separated and he went nd did d mumu video wit kanye abi who again sef..If white ppl dnt knw other artist u mentioned hw come dey rush dir concert ticket wenever dey go for shows there...Its either u r one of those in denial dt dbanj sank since he left mohits or ur so called white frnds are very backward in music...You no even fear sef u dey call dbanj face of African music,dts like an insult to legends like tubaba and Africa as a whole..Which song abeg mk am face of Africa?....Infact eh u need to reboot bcos ur network is failing...JUST NEGODU D INSULT..

d'banj no deserve dat evo award, ojoro at d highest level. Don Doro Jazzy I c U bro, Big Upz.

Well he mentioned extraordinary and top of the world, songs produced without don jazzy. Give this guy credit abeg.

Why he no dedicate am to Kanye West.......When Don Jazzy dey try talk sense into him head....he no wan listen....

Too late to cry thou.....Them Dija, Korede and others don take your place...

I really wonder how much he gave Mtv for this award thou.....???

Congrats 2 him @ least he paid his respect.

Who told you his career is dead? You are ignorant fool!!

Shout the fuck up! Retarded fool like you what did you know? You dey play music at all you even get TV for your house? You don listen to Top of the World! @11:28

Congrats dbanj love you more!! Fuck the haters!!

NaijaYouthsBlog said...

Good one...

Prodigal Son...the noise and yabbing don jazzy would have gotten if d tables were turned. Oliver twist is over 4yrs now, and dat was when he was wit don jazzy.

Nice....

Eya why so bitter? @ Doctoressa and @chukwu wateva. Later u wonder y u aren't progressing. Y so full of hate? Dark souls

ANONN said...

Shut up Anonumous! They are basically stating the obvious and you say they are hating. Are you not silly?

Congrats Eja nla!!