The misunderstood world of Linda Ikeji - by Onyeka Nwelue | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 June 2015

The misunderstood world of Linda Ikeji - by Onyeka Nwelue

Award-winning writer Onyeka Nwelue was the one who invited me to Paris for a film festival and I spent some time with him over there. I didn't even know he was using the time to analyze me so he could write this. ..lol. But it's a nice write up and and I wanted to share it here. Read below...
Linda Ikeji is the most powerful blogger in Africa. And the richest! While this may not be earth-shattering breaking news, as most of us already know or at least probably have an idea about, it is still heart-warming to know that a regular Nigerian girl (yes, she is quite regular) can drag herself from virtually nothing to reach the apex of the blogosphere. It is a truly inspiring tale of rags to riches.
It is also not news that a lot of people dislike Linda Ikeji. They read her blog, they swear by the Gospel of Linda Ikeji Blog, but they dislike her. 
They dislike her under the usual banner of “there is nothing this person is doing that should make her better than I am.” But she is better than most people because she is different from most people. Linda Ikeji is not some air-headed young lady that leisurely eavesdrops on conversations of the celebrities and the upper class and then shares it with the internet. Linda Ikeji takes blogging more seriously than some medical doctors take medical study. From what I observed when I met her, Linda Ikeji obsesses over her blog like it were piece of art. She dedicates herself so passionately to it that it may seem the blog is a child she nurtures. In a sense, that blog is a child that has grown into a very handsome man.

She told me a story of how Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie had left where she sat and came to her, as a fan, to greet her. “I love what you are doing. I love your blog. My name is Chimamanda Adichie,” she had said to Linda. Linda told me she screamed. She had also nurtured ambitions of meeting Adichie. Now they met, and she didn’t have to jump through any hoops for it to happen.
“Linda Ikeji is a snub.” “Linda Ikeji is this.” “Linda Ikeji is that.” We all have our opinions and perspectives of her. “Linda Ikeji loves money.” Some of us think that, too.

I met Linda Ikeji for the first time at the then Club 10. I was introduced to her by a friend, Ifeanyi Dike. She didn’t snub me. Years later, she could not remember that we met.

Second time, we had agreed to meet at Eko Hotel. We chatted for over 2 hours and went home. She offered to buy me food. I was there when her two smashing sisters – Laura and Sandra – came. I left with a different understanding. It is not her fault that you don’t like her. Some of us can’t deal!

Nigerian writers don’t like Linda Ikeji. Why? Are they disgruntled? What is their problem? Can I safely say I was part of the group that secretly despised her for no reason? We were angry, because we didn’t understand how she could be doing almost same work as us and then, had effrontery to buy a Range Rover. Some would have said ‘men’ give Miss Ikeji money. I had heard different things about how she makes money.

In Paris, I came closer. I saw. I shook my head. I wept for the world that will never ever meet Linda and continue to judge her from afar. Life is not fair.

One particular evening, in her hotel room, at Hilton, one of the most expensive hotels in Paris , Linda almost grabbed my hair in uncontrolled anxiety, because a post she had made on her blog had disappeared. I didn’t quite understand what the fuss was about, but I picked something: this lady is obsessed with her work and she knows what she is doing. She never plays with her source of income.

Linda loves her readers! She claims she doesn’t care – Linda cares too much! She cares too much for everything! Looking back now, in that room, I could say, Linda may not have a very social life, but she has a beautiful life – she has the greatest sisters. They support her. They help her. They share in her joy. And sadness too.

Do I have her permission to share this story? I am not sure. But she shares a lot of things she is not supposed to, and that is part of her appeal. I’m borrowing a leaf from her playbook.

As she told me, on a certain evening, after returning from one of her numerous shopping sprees, she said: “On my 30th birthday, I had N800 left in my account. I spoke to God.”

Linda’s story is like a fairy tale, I tell you. It is like, but it is not. She has had her fair share of turmoil, troubles and hustles. She has faced crushing rejection. She went round Lagos looking for sponsors. Some of those she sought for sponsorships in their offices can’t have access to her anymore. Somehow, she disagrees with my assertions that this is vendetta. She is driven by the will to pay back many people, to succeed.

I kept asking myself questions about Linda as we went to the mall to shop. I followed her everywhere. I wanted to understand her very well. Would there be a room to ask her questions? Linda is this, Linda is that! Sorry, Linda is not all these things we have cooked up in our heads because the Linda Ikeji I spent enough time with in Paris is: hardworking, gentle, reserved, careful with words, pays attention to details and doesn’t eat much. She likes chocolate!

I had seen her jump from beneath her duvet and run straight to her blog in the middle of the night. Just to blog! She is disciplined and hardworking!

Linda is the richest African woman I have met under 40. I have seen! But they are for my eyes, only. I could not stop myself from writing that line!

Now, let me get back to the writers. Linda Ikeji did not just appear from nowhere. Like the rest of us, she had been struggling in the dark city of Lagos, until her wheel of samsara turned. Her tough days prepared her for this glory.

When I started chatting with her via WhatsApp, her profile status said and still says: “I’d Rather Be Self Made.” This will sound funny, but she doesn’t allow people do anything for her. I mustered the courage and asked her to attend the Nollywood Week Paris; saying we would pay for her flight and before I could even add another thing, she asked for the date and said she would love to come, but she would not want us to pay for her. Her honesty and modesty could make you fall in love with her. She said: “Hey. Would love to come. Never been to Paris. Me and my sisters. I’ll take care of the expenses. Flight, hotel, etc.” I paused. This doesn’t happen. She continued, “I don’t travel alone. I hate it. I will take care of myself. I kinda like luxury living when I travel. So, 5 star!”

She booked her First Class flight ticket. She booked herself into Hilton. Linda and her sisters, Laura and Sandra came to Paris!

She shared intimate stories with me and encouraged me to find that one thing that makes me happy, that will also give me money. It is impossible to hang out with Linda and leave without feeling something has been added to your life.

While Sandra and Laura were shying away from eating Nigerian food, Linda wanted it. The last one, I goofed, I got back late with the food and she was not happy, but she ate little and said: “Onyeka, are you not going to eat?” I was going to say no, but then I remembered she had eaten from the plate with those magical fingers, so I said, “I want to eat.”

I took the food and I ate from the same plate where Linda ate from and now, I’m hoping some mystery has been added to my life, too!

Thank you, Linda, for not being what they told me and what I had thought. Thank you, for your realness.

Onyeka Nwelue is Assistant Professor of Literature at the University of Manipur, Imphal and Visiting Lecturer of African Studies at the University of Hong Kong. His latest book is “Hip-Hop is Only for Children.”

675 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   601 – 675 of 675

Hmmm. Nice one about Linlin.
I join the chorus. ......#love alert.

#from Paris with love.

I love you Linda, even though I do not know you in person, I know you are a great woman with a very humble beginning. God has lifted you high and no Hater can bring you down. A Lot od people hate you for so many reasons, some are segmental others hate you because of your tribe, religion, age etc. Many of them want to get to were you are but will never because of Jealousy. God will continue to uplift you

Very nice Linda. You are amazing!!!!

Very Inspiring piece............ Keep the flag flying Linda

Linda is a girl with very good heart. She doesn't nag or try to oppress others with her achievements.God will continue to bless you endlessly

As for me, i am not one of those who hate or disparage Linda Ikeji. I admire, love and adore her. To me she is not all those things people are alleged to be saying she is. She is an asset to our tribe and will soon be honored by Igbo Nation.

Onyeka nice piece but it seemed there was more to it than the article...waiting for season 2. Onyeka Nwelue is Assistant Professor of Literature at the University of Manipur, Imphal and Visiting Lecturer of African Studies at the University of Hong Kong. His latest book is “Hip-Hop is Only for Children.”and a young man,Linda a blogger and one of the richest under 40 lady in Africa....(lost in my world trying to do 1 plus 1 to see if i can get 1).

Not surprised dude, buh Linda, why is this dada forming over familiarity na? a million of we wanna come close o!!
buh really impressed by this testimony

I love you Linda. May God bless any man that will have you as wife!!

For those of you wanting to know the man in Linda's life, she had just stylishly disclosed. My favourite part of the write-up "I had seen her jump from beneath her duvet and run straight to her blog in the middle of the night. Just to blog!" says a lot about their intimacy. This guy seems to have an impressive background and looks cool. Nice choice, Linda.

Linda loves her readers! She claims she doesn’t care – Linda cares too much! She cares too much for everything!

That's my favourite part!. Love u too Linda..xoxo

Spent some time lindz??? OK o. Lips sealed.

"Linda Ikeji is the most powerful blogger in Africa" wrong English.

Wait a minute, are u both a thing?

Now I'm loving onyeka nwelue already. Hehehe

Wait a minute, uv seen her run beneath her duvet to blog at midnight he hehhehe hehhehe I'm having fun Mehn! I'm loving u both already.

Hmmmmmmmmmm ..... eeemmmmm .. Linda!.. Linda!!.. Linda!!!.. Come here. I have just read an emotional write up on you by a love struck dude. As a CATHOLIC GRAND FATHER, i am worried by his declaration that, "I had seen her jump from beneath her duvet and run straight to her blog in the middle of the night". Beneath the duvet? Meaning that you were lying down. In the middle of the night? My God! What was this dude doing in your room at such an ungodly hour? Did you do it with him? Be truthful because many of we grand parents are worried over you youths of nowadays. Can you imagine young girls doing all they can to be naked in public? And guys displaying their egg plants with gusto. I wonder what the wold is coming to. Thank God i can't get it up any longer.

Jeez! This write-up turned me on I must confess. Happy married life u both.

I love this comment. I thought I was the only one who saw this. Congrats linda

Answer this Linda: "He writes that you are so committed to your work, he has seen you jump out of bed at midnight to check on your blog".

Question: Was he in bed with you? If not how did he see you jump out of bed. At midnight nogal?

I like and respect you a great deal Linda. Truly an inspiration to young ladies out there including me. But sorry I just had to dig!

U smart!

oga onyeka that left UNN to become a lecturer in hong kong. Oga onyi hope you ain't eyeing linda? so na u teach bugzy how to carry dread. I wish you and linda happy............................
Linda if you like use my comment and cook soup...........

olivia said...

my friends thinks am crazy..cos of d way i follow ur blog ..i love u linda...cnt wait to meet u...awwww my lindaaa

Shut d f**k up!!! U poo eater

I thought I as the only one that saw that o.

Krix said...

I read tru and I saw pity in d guys writing,he may not write it here or that Linda edited that part,I think Linda is afraid of marriage cos she don't want to be gossiped if something goes wrong. Linda my advise for u is this, take that bold step, say yes to the one ur inner mind accept. Though he may hv nothing now but u can take him to level u want ur man to be. Care less of what mouth will say. No gossip last more than 2 weeks. Toke's version is fading already. Husband is the only thing u need now and I pray that God will grant u that wish.. Amen

Krix via iPhone 6 gold

That is Linda's man or man to be. All the signs de there. What was he doing in her room at midnight, that he saw her jumping out of bed *coughs*

What was he doing that happens to be for his eyes only *sips very hot coffee*

No mention of sisters in the room... *abeg make I go work.

Linda may be engaged after this Paris trip.... na me talk am

ETHAN said...

My exact thought.

Inspiring piece!!

@ukgreat

DammY said...

Exactly! How would he have known except he was actually in bed with her? *suspicious*

DammY said...

#gbam! Busted

l.i.m said...

@Jane u spoke well. Love you Linda. Keep keeping on. Gods blessings

LINDA I HAVE NEVER LEFT A COMMENT ON YOUR BLOG BUT I CANNOT DO WITHOUT VISITING IT DAILY.
I MUST CONFESS THAT YOU AND THIS GUY LOOK GOOD TOGETHER IN THOSE PICTURES.
I PRAY HE IS THE RIGHT ONE FOR YOU BECAUSE HE SEEMS TO APPRECIATE YOU AND TOOK HIS TIME TO UNDERSTAND YOU.
SEEMS LIKE A PERFECT GENTLE MAN

He saw her jump from under d duvet covers???? Ok so she obviously did the deed with this guy. As a lover or a fling o ya linda tell us

My point exactly ...what was he doing in her room in the middle of the night .?

awww...That is touching Linda...I always look up to you...I might not be a blogger, But I Your Motto keeps me goin.."I'd Rather be self made"..thanks for the inspiration....

On the contrary, i love her blog like mad. Infact i stopped reading my newspapers since i came across hers. Too real to be ignored.Thanks Linda

What make linda different from the rest is that covenant relationship with God...try it and u will see, my life has just begun after solely dedicated myself to d complete will of God...many people especially nigerians love to say they are born again Christians but they don't follow the advise of God in the bible That's y their lives never epics. ..with God a thousand people may be into ur kind of business but you will be the head and not the tail followers.

the queen said...

Tonto is this really you or just some impostor?

Hmmm why is Bonario's comment missing on this post? Lol. I sense someone is jealous of Onyeka's relationship with Linda.

Lol wey our bride price onyeka

Abeg, this guy is just patronizing linda and hyping her! Hilton is not the most expensive or one of the most expensive hotels in Paris, I been there over 5times, pls keep it real, I love u linda, just keep been urself, all the hyping is unnecessary! Hardworking, yes u really are. God bless.

AMIJEZ said...

Linda ikeji blog,facebook,whatsapp and google,the only reason why i renew my internet monthly. Linda,i love you,#nohomo.

Hian nawao!!!

Very inspiring

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Ruby said...

Pls remind us....... who are u again????

If linda ikeji doesn't know dis guy is in love with her then I wonder ??
Onyi dizzle

I am very happy with the content of this piece. I followed your story when some mean guys were compromising your account and were also reporting you to Google. I saw that uncommon wisdom and a great inner strength with which you withered the storm. I feel proud and count myself lucky to read from your blog. I got worried when I sensed your support for a party I considered malicious and a product of a gang-up but I respect the wit with which you try to balance things. I love you and wish to see you one day. Your likes have made us outstanding. More power to your elbow! The sky can only be your starting point. Press on!

nice..Linda,,thank GOD for u,,hard work pays.may the good LORD bless my own hustle too.Amen.

LIB said...

tell them ooo, haters gonna hate, potato gonna potate

Chioma Ijomah said...

I admire you Linda..
You are my role model now..
Please write or post something about anger management.. I need it!

I love u Linda

Awwww all abouh ma linda... wen I talk abouh u ma friends r lik calm down...Ave nt met u,dunno u personally buh d love u gt 4 u ma'am is nt from here..God cont to bless u n grant but hey desires...looking forward to meeting u...love u loods😍😍😍😍😍😘

the sexy economist said...

I still wonder why people hate on Linda though...I love her so much, I look up to her, she is an inspiration and she's decent! Her simplicity trills me the most. I love Linda!

How come he saw you "jump from under your duvet" to blog? Did you sleep with him to write this story? Richest black woman in Africa indeed, how did he come to that conclusion? Did he assess the worth of the others? Rubbish

Wow so touching,,,,,,,Lind u are cool

Great piece for a great lady

Nkechi Agbo said...

Bia, Onyema what were you doing in Linda's room in the middle of the night? So you actually saw her jump from under the duvet at that time? What were you doing there Mr. Man ehn???

Nkechi Agbo said...

You are obviously kissing ass. And it's so irritating on every level. It's obvious you are love struck or whatever. But you could have made it less obvious in your piece. Back off from Linda please. She doesn't need your type of men around her. She needs a confident man who can hold his own. Mr Onyeka, please be advised

For real,d guy is lnlove with Linda. I blv d write up is romantic

No! Him for turn him write up upside down before u knw say him write lik one! Phew

Linda u give him d pum pum or nah!? P.S You should come to toronto too nah. dont bliv uv ever been abbi i shud send invite

forget it, i will write better if i spend "this" time with linda ikeji. anyway best of luck. follow your heart.

Nice piece....

ogechi N said...

Li li....tho my comment is coming late, i have always known u have a good soul...God bless u and continue to impact positively on both readers n people u meet

MY VERY OWN LINDA!,,LOVE YA MA'AM

After listening to a punked call on Linda Ikeji + this, my respects and admiration of you is beyond the sky... GOD go bless your hustle, you go reach/pass the 10m dollars price tag..

Haters should go & die. Linda thumb up

We shall all meet at the top

Onyeka is a bloody liar

divafloral said...

Linda we love you mehn!! and you inspire us a great deal,truth be told.mr Onyeka we just love to hate on her its normal,one of d issh that comes with being a celeb,if u are in love come out straight....hehehe

You are so ooooo stupid! A unn drop out is now an assistant professor wetin unn graduate like you be??? So the purpose of this your comment is???.. Smh idiat.

keke driver said...

Hmmmm Linda went ALL THE WAY to Paris to meet A MAN?? HMMMMMMMM.......Lol

«Oldest ‹Older   601 – 675 of 675   Newer› Newest»