6 students tragically killed after a balcony collapsed at a birthday party | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 June 2015

6 students tragically killed after a balcony collapsed at a birthday party

Five Irish students and one American were killed when an apartment balcony collapsed during a 21st birthday party in the early hours of Tuesday and they have all been named.
Olivia Burke, 21, Eoghan Culligan, 21, Niccolai Schuster, 21, Lorcan Miller, 21, and 21-year-old Eimear Walsh were identified as the victims from Ireland, while Ashley Donohoe, 22, is an Irish-American from Rohnert Park in California’s Sonoma County.

The foreign students, the majority of whom were from south Dublin, were visiting Berkeley, California, on the popular J1 working visa program, the Irish Department of Foreign Affairs said.
Ashley Donohoe is an Irish-American from Rohnert Park, which is 50 miles north of San Francisco. She and Olivia Burke are cousins.
Seven other people were seriously injured. Berkeley police spokeswoman Jennifer Coats said the survivors’ injuries were “very serious and potentially life-threatening”.
The victims, who had travelled to the United States on J-1 summer visas, fell from the fourth floor of an apartment building when the balcony gave way at 12.40am on Tuesday.
Four died at the scene and two others were pronounced dead at a local hospital, police said.
Pictures from the scene showed the balcony detached itself from the wall and collapsed into a balcony on the third floor of the pale stucco building on Kittredge Street, near the University of California Berkeley.
The City of Berkeley has released, along with the update on the incident, the 57-page building and safety inspection history for 2020 Kittredge Street.
The collapsed balcony and the three other similar balconies in the building, have been red-tagged, prohibiting access to those areas.
The City said it had ordered the property owner to immediately remove the collapsed balcony and to perform a structural assessment of the remaining balconies within 48 hours.
Blackrock, the investment giant that advises the property fund that owns the building, and Greystar, the Texas-based company that manages it, said that an independent structural engineer would carry out an investigation to determine the cause of the accident.
Irish students who had been sleeping in the building at the time described hearing a bang. “I walked out and I saw rubble on the street and a bunch of Irish students crying,” said Mark Neville, a J-1 student.
The Irish Consul in San Francisco was quoted by NBC saying that up to 14 people were on the balcony at the time.
Those involved were aged 20-22 years old. The injured had been taken to Eden, Highland and John Muir Hospitals.
The Irish Immigration Pastoral Center tweeted on Tuesday: 'All San Francisco based J1 students - PLEASE CALL HOME ASAP - let your families know that you are ok.'

NBC

44 comments:

Amy Amy said...

May dere souls rest in peace Amen.

Linda I heard yesterday very sad

Rip guyz u be missed Wat tradegy

Oh dear!!! May their souls rest in peace.....

So sad. May their gentle souls RIP.

OMG.......May their souls rest in peace....Amen

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

So sad. May der souls rip

Nawah R.i.p to dem

Too bad

Chai! God o

What a tragedy.These are youth whose future has just been cut short .

Tragic! Rip to them..

kemikane said...

Hmmm it is well. God have mercy oo

TONIA GREEN said...

Early morning bad news. Rest in peace to the dead.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Rip to them all

Faith Eze's Blog said...

Shhhuuu,are they descendants of JOB in d bible
#jstpassinsha#

Gosh this is terrible.

Sad!
Rip

RIP, you won't flex in ur next life

mira cookie said...

OMG! Really tragic, and d word "Died" would hav b better used instead of "Killed". God pls save us frm tragic accidents, and untimely deaths.

RiP to those dat loss their lives, and speedy recovery to those injured.

Hmmm sad one. I guess shit happens# stretching

So sad, rip 2 dem n quick recovery 2 d injured

Rip

My goodness, this is hear breaking, may their soul rest in peace.

My goodness, this is heart breaking, may their soul rest in peace.

May the souls of the dead RIP.....

so serious

Damilola said...

This is one of my biggest fears. Falling from a balcony or from a tall building. Feel for the families involved

May they RIP

May their souls rest in peace.

RIP students

May their gentle souls rest in perfect peace. Amen

Onyema Okorie said...

May their gentle souls rest in perfect peace. Amen

so sad

So sad!..... Rest in peace to them.

So sad, may their souls rest in peace. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

Party went wrong may their rest in peace

henrietta lucky said...

Please,how do I comment onlindas blog?

Ashley donhoe caused it all!...d party was actually and specially meant for the 21st party categories, what was he doing amidst the 21s...now see what he has caused them(awon mo gbo mowa mo gbo mo branch o)

Would have loved to see pic of the balcony. May they RIP

.The doc

So sad, may their souls rest in peace