How I met my husband at 27- Lagos First Lady shares her love story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 6 April 2015

How I met my husband at 27- Lagos First Lady shares her love story

Dame Abimbola Fashola says she met her husband, the Governor of Lagos state, Babatunde Fashola at a party after his father introduced her to him. She shared their love story with City People mag...
"I met my husband at age 27. That was at my best friend's engagement then. I was serving and making sure everyone was okay and well taken care of, attending to people and all that. And then his father saw me and then said "I have a son and I will like you to meet my son. So I said no problem sir. He said good. My son will soon come in. When he came, we introduced ourselves. We met. We exchanged our numbers and that was it. We took it off from there. He was cool, he looked cool-headed. He was friendly. He had no airs about him. He was a simple fellow. He was already working then as a lawyer. He was at Sofunde, Belgore & Co. He clicked with my sisters too. He was always going to parties with them. He was bubbling with them. I didn't use to go to parties with them. Since my sisters accepted him, I had no choice but to accept him" she said

77 comments:

God keep you too forever..

God keep you two forever..

Damilola said...

Good thg u didn't put up a front like most girls would. Meeting him was d best thg that happened to you

Wow!!! Soundz romantic 2 me.

Aww beautiful love story.Cupid's arrow on point

Khemistry said...

Love kwa!

Wow, that's cute and sweet

FOLARIN• said...

That's so nice
I love her, she soo cool and humble
Even with her husband philandering attitude she still keeps calm

Very good of her

Nice love story,papa connection. I can imagine the kind of phone she was using then.

LIVING REAL. said...

Good for u ppl.

You guys exchages numbers?which number house address or landline number?story for the gods

Is it for campaign or what....who asked her and how is it our business.........

Exchange numbers???? them bn get their own GSM then or na NITEL?

Love story is sweeter when you tell the story after being together for a long time.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

hunh? That last statement though... lol

Hw e take concern me

ANYA IKENGA said...

No wonder he has always lived an Arrangee life of a house boy. So even wife na him papa arrange.

Love is good.

Probably landline na..don't you even have anything up your brain?abi you wanted her to have told you they exchanged landline numbers?use Ur head

Linda your earlier post abt Oba of Lagos is false. Make your findings before you post.u lifted that story from nairaland

Beautiful tnk God 4 der lives 2dy.

Exchanged numbers In what year??? Maybe Nitel land line sha...lol

kindly use SEBEE by @Trey_Sossi as your caller ring back tune

Send 026688 to 4100 for MTN

This is very beautiful, fashola's wife is classy

Follow 234polics.com for upto date news on politics.

FOLARIN• said...

Kikikikikikikikiki

I guess it's postal numbers

Awww!! ****cageyberry ****

did she just said dey exchanged numbers?? is it mobile number or house number

Nky said...

True love.

Exchanging of number was not invoke then now.
This story is somehow.

What numbers did they exchange then, just a curious mind here.

Montana

Unless she is talking about exchanging land line numbers, then the relationship must be pretty young.

You had no choice but it paid off in the end. Linda take note!

Of course landline (home phone).
Choi, so a whole lawyer no go get home phone?

Exchange our numbers on landline or what ? you too lie

Tot as much, but guess she meant house number. Or landline.

They were from noble background and had Nitel phone lines back in the days

U guys exchange numbers? do we av GSM then.

There was no phone at that time madam!

Exchange numbers, House Address right? love letter things.

numbers ko house address ni. Fashola papa poor even d poor call him poor. Where him for see numbers? Abeg linda repackage your story jare.

Exchange of numbers ke?27years ago?....pls clarify that o

you just spoke my mind

Sylvonce said...

Henry shut up! U want pple to notice u. Plz clear ur waec papers first, den u can b noticed wen u get accepted into ivy league schools. Ewu Kenya!

Mtchewwww! So if Ur sisters no accept am, u for no marry am nau. #like we care?

Sazzy C said...

Great story. Now u enjoying

C'mon! Which number?!

pls which year was this that they exchange numbers please please Linda help me ask them ooo

Get the update of great achievements in the world with news updates at www.achieversdiary.com

Lols@Nwobu

We don hear.

There was Nitel in those days. Table phones of grin grin sound. The ones your turn the number dial round...maybe tens times before you finish dialing the numbers.

My mind exactly. Spiritual numbers

@ Anon 3:18 pm. I tire oh, it means she could hv remain single till now

FIZZICHILLIO said...

they exchanged bbm pin... hahahaha!! so his father did the runs and your sisters helped you by accepting him hah?

#Fizz

dd said...

You Poeple should read in between the line,according to story she was 27 when the meet

Bad beller people. Mtcheeeeew

I said soooooooooooooooooooooo

What year did u exchange numbers o? :hehehehehehe

mummy3 budapest said...

Some people can ask mumu question on dis blog sha! almost every body had a land line fone (grin grin at home and if you don't have am sure ur neighbours did. Pls use ur Brain don't always be a hater

KELL said...

ARE U GUYS THAT YOUNG?? THERE WERE LANDLINE PHONES IN 1981 HOW MUCH MORE 1988...

SOMEONE SAID SOMETHING ABOUT PHILANDERING HE DOESNT SEEM LIKE IT..IS HE REALLY A PHILANDERER PLEASE EXPANTIATE...

Awww...how sweet!!.exchange numbers in 1992 #fraud😠

I was gonna ask that too... What kinda number did they exchange biko? Nitel lines I guess

Your name suits you but please add 'liar' because you are not only the queen of bitches you are also the queen of liars. BRF is not a philanderer and God Almighty will punish you for this slander.

Bee said...

You must be very naive to say there was no phone at that time. There were land lines and even as a child growing up in the 80s we had home phones, so did people in the late 70s too.

So much ignorance on display here. There was Nitel landline in those days. I'm older than her and we had a phone in my parents house as far back as the 70s. People should ask before passing insults and degrading themselves in the process.

God bless Bimbo Fashola and BRF.

Mumu people,some people had land lines OK,when you will refuse to read how wouldyou know,phone booth sef dey then. Home video and social media mumu children will be asking if there were phone lines then.eg 01520464.

From my earliest memory as a child born in the early 80's in Port Harcourt, we had a nitel land phone at home. I recall my neighbour in the other flat had one as well & we had a couple of people in our neighbourhood come in to receive calls on our phones from time to time. If you work back the years, the event Mrs Fashola spoke about must have occurred in 1992/93. I take it that those of you dropping theve ignorant comments about phone numbers were not privileged to have land phones and neither did anyone have same in your neighbourhood. This just speaks volumes about the level of exposure and background of many people who speak thrash on these blogs.

Na u mumu psss. So na crime for father to introduce a beautiful lady to the son

This Shildren

I very sure is nitel number they exchanged

Oh! plz shut up! If ur nt sure of something den dnt curse using God's name,i cn categorically say fashola does a whole lot of shit buh dat doesn't take away frm d fact dat he did a good job in lagos state.#Geturfacts#

I am 42, I have no memory of my house without a phone. The nitel land lines started with 5 digits with 01 as code for Lagos. In the 80s they added another digit so if you lived in Ikeja 960378 became 4960378. Most of my friends had phones at home. When she said numbers she meant phone numbers and rightly so. Then you couldn't dial international direct. You'd call nitel from your phone, book the call and they would call you back later to connect you. So you had to stick around. I remember we had to wait for dialing tone. It means that sometimes when you pick up the phone it would delay before you could call. I hope that GSM generation understands a little better now.

Exchanged phone numbers 27 years ago?

But there was not proper telephone in the country as at when she claimed she met her husband........

You are a good woman. More blessings.