Heartbreaking drawings by child survivors of Boko Haram massacre reveal the atrocities they witnessed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 April 2015

Heartbreaking drawings by child survivors of Boko Haram massacre reveal the atrocities they witnessed

Nigerian children at a UNICEF-run refugee camp near Baga Sola in Chad photographed above using pencils and crayons to draw the killings they witnessed when rifle-wielding Boko Haram members attacked their communities. More of their drawings after the cut

Photo credit: AFP/Getty Images

76 comments:

Chai! *in pesche's voice*

Ivyjess said...

the memories will always be there

Feel like crying rite nw

Aww.. Smart kid tho..

How To Attract Your Own Husband

SANDRA said...

Our children deserve better. We deserve better. God help us

I can imagine the trauma!!
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Sad! Lindaobserve

boladale said...

How will they erase this from their memory?

CUZ DS WAS WAT HE SAW DRE...IMAGINE HW BAD A PARTICULAR ENVIRONMNY CN AFFECT A CHILD..I PRY ALL D ABDUTEEDS RETURN TO DIA NORMAL SELVES....TOMMJERrYSWIT

tsalz c.e.o said...

Not to worry.. Change don come..

When we drew them wayback in sch it was just for fun.. Life!

Mtweeee

Scared for life

Chaiyaaa! I can imagine....

This brought me to tears

Is this some form of therapy?...I wouldn't want to relive such memory in anyway or form

Chai!!! God, what little kids had 2 go through so early in their lives....... All because of some religious monsters.....it really got me in tears, dis is just too much.

Haunted by traumatic memories.

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A SUGAR MUMMY OR DADDY PLEASE CALL THIS LINE 08132333771 PLEASE BE MATURE....

No child should be made to relive such horrible incidents. Linda take note!

Chukwukamma said...

Children are nothing but a product of the society that breed them. I believe the Boko Haram war will soon be won but my concern is when the emotional war will end, the memories of the killing will long be with these children.

Wow! Such talents

Aww!

Oh my! Its so heartbreaking.

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

i pray this children can be normal again.

So sad

awwwwwww
God grant them the fortitude to bear the loss

Flavia said...

Woww!!! D sort of images these kids would have 2 live with

Wow.....

Dear Lord, discomfit bokoharam

Hope they get over such emotional trauma.

Marie-Jurie said...

We pray to hear the end of this disease soon..really sad.

Chukwukamma said...

Children are product of the society. The memory of the killings will certainly last long with these children. They have been taken out of war zone but the war not taken away from their mind.

Kai, dis kids can never 4gt d bad incidents @ll. Thank God 4 der lives n I pray dat God wl bring dem out n make dem 4gt all d trauma dey passed 2ru

Wow

I weep for them,I feel their pain,dear Lord reach out for your children

ohhhhhhh no. I feel for these kids. The tragic memory will always linger in their minds.

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

It must have been terrific for them.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

May God give them the strength to forget the ordeal.

Nelson Nwegbo said...

Children are product of the society. The memory of the killings will certainly last long with these children. They have been taken out of war zone but the war not taken away from their mind.

Touching!!!!

This is really heartbreaking, I feel for these kids. Experiencing these at this tender age

O my God! Imagine the psychological trauma these kids are going through. God please help us

Couldn't make out mh 4rm their drawings tho' bt I knw their mouths won't b able 2 tell d horrors they had witnessed! Poor kids..

Eri said...

I hope and pray that these children receive adequate psychotherapy to help them deal with the traumatic event they witnessed.

Eyah i feel their pains

Bt y? Y brnging back old memories? Nt in support.

Hmmmn!

God is quiet for a reason....may he console us. He will deliver his own from all deir troubles

Traumatic.

Wow dis horror for them and a big nightmare.

so sad

Ngozin said...

Very good therapy and healing process called TAT thematic apperception test thnx to UN .

This is madness. They are relive the trauma.

Oh this is so touching for these kids to have this horrible images painted in their memory.
May God heal of this horrific experience

iyke cindy said...

OMG!!! Wat a terrible orientation dey ve got abt life.Lord pls help dem to grow nd overcome such thots nd memory.

Hmm

Awww.may God see them through.wicked world

God exists

Really sad. And some people still think the things happening in north east is not as bad

Some trauma ish.
Hope the get over these nightmares soon.

Nomso said...

sheds a tear...

Some trauma ish.
Hope the get over these nightmares soon.

How sad!

@moonstone, just a tear! Lwtmboh! Such a sad n traumatic experience!

Just Julia

Eyyaah. And they are bright and intelligent to be able to tell their stories via drawing!

Really heartbreaking....

art is a form of therapy... may they find solace.

Mrs Oby what is funny?

What's funny. This is a very honest question. I really want to know what u find funny here

SWILL MARTIN said...

Chei it is wa ooooo.

too sad, kids are not supposed to experience anything like this

you can imagine the trauma these little ones have gone tru