A Germanwing pilot did something powerful to comfort anxious passengers on his flight | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 April 2015

A Germanwing pilot did something powerful to comfort anxious passengers on his flight

You know how you enter a plane and you don't really see who's flying it, just the air-hosts/hostesses? Well, a pilot of a Germanwings plane did something yesterday on a flight from Berlin to Paris that many have hailed as commendable, following the crash of a plane by another Germanwings pilot, Andreas Lubitz. Since the incident, Germanwings passengers have been left fearful and anxious.

According to one of the passengers on the plane, Roche Kelly, who told the story on Facebook, he said the unnamed pilot wanted passengers to put a human face to the man who was flying them and so he came out to speak to the entire plane before they flew, so everyone could look him in the eyes.

Kelly described the emotional moment the pilot took it upon himself to speak to passengers in three different languages about the upcoming flight, promising to get them to their destination safely. Find what Kelly wrote after the cut...

"So, I was on a Germanwings flight this morning (Berlin-Paris). It hadn't even occurred to me to think about that before I got on the plane, but there was a tense vibe — the crew were on edge, some passengers were definitely more nervous than normal...
Once I was actually onboard, and looked at the crew door, it was all too easy to imagine how horrific the time before that crash would have been.
I was thinking about what kind of a response a company should make to something like this. Do you ask everyone to carry on as normal? With utmost professionalism and a stiff upper lip?
Then, our pilot came out and made almost his normal pre-flight speech, except he did standing in the front row.

He spoke (at length, in 3 languages) about how it was a difficult and strange time for him and for all the cabin crew, how they still all love doing their job, and how they're thankful that they still have passengers coming onto their planes.
Mostly though, he said he just wanted to come out and stand in front of everyone, and let all the passengers on his flight have a moment of eye contact with him, and for us to meet him and for him to meet us.
I can't know, of course, if making that speech was a personal decision, or if it was something that was agreed on, but anyone listening could tell it was a difficult thing to do- to stand in front of 150 more-nervous-than-they-really-needed-to-be people and say "everything's going to be fine, because I am going to look after it," and I can't help but have enormous respect for him.
"So, well done that man."

43 comments:

I no sabi o, I hope to know someday tho

To be honest, I have always wondered why we never got this from pilots. I always expected this on both local and international flights, but nothing and it is such a norm to only meet or see the hostesses.

9jahub.com said...

nor be small

9jahub.com

So nice of him.

Dudes bank account just get upgraded no doubt.....

It must be a very emotional moment for both the passengers and the pilot. Is a lot fir thr pilot to come before the passengers. I wish all the pilots all over the world safe trips

Flora said...

Dat was comforting.. If I was on dat flight, I wld rili tear up.. Nice

That's very commendable of the pilot... All pilot shud follow suit... Infact every one on board shud demand to see the face of the pilot and ask him to go wee and poo b4 flying o... If his face his ugly as lubitz make una no gree o lol

Aww how nice of him.Reading it sef send chills down my spine

mandi said...

Would have avoided that plane soon, remembered my first flight with Dana after their lagos crash, I avoided Dana like one avoids STD until an emergency called me over to Abuja and no flight at that time then except for Dana, with misgivings, I bought my ticket and was very nervous pleading the blood of Jesus when in turbulence. For a frequent passenger who takes flying for granted except for occasional ear ache I get, that Dana crash threw me off balance.

I am really scared to fly. Agofure motors here I come. Lindaobserve

HRH Jefixx�� said...

Una kuku gather liver bcos if na me na goodbye forever to any airline wey don get history of crash

Absolutely commendable act. He really did well. Linda take note!

Funny how d media n d western world easily say " deliberate act" of a pilot to crash n kill 150 pple. If it was another race it will be termed as " terrorism" God save us

That's great

Awww! Really commendable of him to put the passengers mind at ease

So cool

QUEERNAIJA said...

So touching a brave of him. It's like getting a glass of chilled water in the desert.

mary nwa mama said...

eeeh yaa, that was so touching. i don't blame the passengers, the last crash is still too fresh, and you can't tell what's going on in everyone's mind.

Calmed the nerves.

That was really thoughtful of him

Madam Hoha said...

Weldone sir! we are all fully aware there are still decent people who love and respect thier job. To make out time to put at ease the fears of the people, speaks well of you.

Nice of him to calm his passengers nerves!!!

So thoughtful of him.

He is courageous

Aww. So sweet of him. I can imagine how extremely nervous d passengers could have been.

Dz's deep

prettiyz said...

Nice, he wanted them to know that he was also scared but believed he could get them to safety and that's faith

Good good

Wonderful!

Linda, am scared now to fly even domestic, as it stands now.

God bless him

Nice one.

Impressive

I respect his caurage too

Awww!
Comforting.

uwa said...

I got goosebumps reading this . I know God is the pilot and the physical pilot just following behind God's power , but if you board a flight you'll understand how comforting ,hope and powerful those words he said was .
The first thing I always ask about pilots whenever i'm boarding is the age and family even though I might not get the real fact but it helps relax my jumping nerves a lot . So what he did to me is OMG SWEET !
I'm already in love with him !

Guc said...

Thank you God for amazing people!!