Governor Fashola and His ''Apology'' - by Femi Fani Kayode | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 September 2013

Governor Fashola and His ''Apology'' - by Femi Fani Kayode

The deportation of Igbos to Anambra state by the Lagos State Government a few months back was what sparked off all the Igbo/Yoruba bashing that happened online recently, most popular was the piece written by controversial former minister Femi Fani Kayode, which led to him being 'sued' by one prominent Igbo lady..:-). So anyway, yesterday governor Fashola apologized to the igbos for the incident...and FFK doesn't think he should have apologize. Read what he wrote below...
There can be little doubt that the relocation of the 19 igbo destitute from Lagos state a few months ago was a lawful exercise and that it was done in the interest of Lagos state. Consequently I do not believe that Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola ought to have tendered any form of apology whatsoever to the igbo for what he did. The only redeeming factor is the fact that the apology was obviously designed simply to calm frayed nerves and I commend Fashola for that gesture if nothing else. I say this because my understanding is that he apologised NOT for the deportation itself but for ''the misunderstanding that arose from it''. There is a world of difference between the two. I also commend him for admonishing the igbo to develop their own region and to decide whether they are ''igbo before they are Nigerians or Nigerians before they are igbo''. 

This is a fundamental question that I believe that we must all determine in our hearts and minds whether we are of igbo, yoruba, hausa/fulani or ijaw stock or anything else. For the purposes of clarification the debate that has been raging in the land for the last two months, though sparked off by Fashola's relocations, was more about the curious claim that Lagos state was ''no man's land'' which the igbo jointly own with the yoruba and which they had developed, and are indeed still developing, with their money and nothing else. It was that assertion, and not the plight of a handful of igbo destitues, that many of us from west of the River Niger took issue with. Fashola and others have said publicly that it is ''absurd'' and ''insulting'' for anyone to call Lagos state ''no-man's land'' and that is good enough for me. As long as he did not apologise for saying that I have no problem with whatever he may or may not have said about the deportations even though, had I been governor, I would have handled it differently. The truth is that the yoruba way is to apologize not only when you are wrong but also when you are right if you believe that the other party has been badly hurt by your actions. It is a generous and kind disposition which is borne out of the yoruba concept of the ''omoluwabi spirit''- a good heart and a clean spirit that desires, above all else, peace, joy and harmony. Yet to those from outside yorubaland that do not share that disposition, that do not understand that spirit and that cannot even begin to comprehend it, an apology is nothing less than an admission of guilt and wrong- doing and a trophy of triumph to those whom it is offered. It is for this reason that I believe that it was wrong for Fashola to apologise and that it is important for us to consider the long term implications of what he has done. The truth is that in life perception counts for everything. And rightly or wrongly the perception that most people have, particularly amongst the igbo, is that Fashola has indeed apologised for the deportations. This perception is supported by misleading newspaper headlines which were drafted and written by journalists who did not bother to read the text or properly decipher the statement. Whether anyone likes it or not this latest development is viewed as a great triumph for the hardline igbo nationalists and the Governor Peter Obi's of this world who honestly believe that the igbo have some kind of special rights or special status in Lagos and indeed in yorubaland. They say and do things in Lagos and other parts of the west that they dare not do in the north and that they will never allow our people to do in the east. This is because they fear the northerners who have often put them in their place when they cross the line but they have nothing but contempt for us. Fashola has now given those within the igbo community that have this mindset far more legitimacy, strength and confidence. In any case now that dishing out apologies is the order of the day and he has set the precedent, the question has to be asked- will Peter Obi take a cue from that, be a gentleman and apologise for deporting the people of Akwa Ibom from his Anambra state as well? Is Obi that reasonable or charitable? Do those that think like him believe trhat what is good for the goose is good for the gander? I doubt it very much. Again will Fashola apologise to the numerous northerners that he deported from Lagos as well and will he apologise to his yoruba kith and kin from Oyo and Osun for deporting them too? I really do wonder how far this new-found large-heartedness and seasonal expression of regrets will go? Will it be spread everywhere or is it exclusively reserved for the igbo? More importantly, in the spirit of this new rapprochement, will Fashola secretly conceede portions of Lagos state and yorubaland to them as well? Will he take my dear egbon and former cabinet colleague, Senator Adeseye Ogunlewe's counsel, and wholeheartedly accept the interesting notion that the igbo have ''married all our daughters'' in idungaran and isale-eko and that we should therefore give all our land and territory to them? Will he give up the patrimony of his people all in the name of trying to appease the igbo and get their votes for the APC in the upcoming governorship election in Anambra state? If that is the plan I doubt that it will work because they are a pretty unforgiving lot. The more you give the more they will ask for and at the end of the day you will end up losing far more than you gain. Governor Chris Ngige, who is an amiable gentleman and one of the most decent, accomodating, liberal, detribalised and civilised people that I know from the east, will gain nothing from this and sadly the person that will gain from it will be the hardline, igbocentric Peter Obi and his APGA candidate in november's gubernatorial election in Anambra state. People like Fashola need to undersatand that sometimes in trying to play the generous statesman and the kind-hearted omoluwabi we end up being taken for granted and making fools of ourselves. You only apologise to those who will appreciate it, who do not necessarily see it as an admission of guilt and who will not misconstrue it as weakness. This is because the display of weakness by any leader, no matter how well-liked, only attracts impudence and aggression from those who have a hidden agenda. A word is enough for the wise.

302 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 302 of 302

That statement wivout lgbos lagos won't be developed is what every yorubas man hates! You people are looking for trouble. Lagos is no mans land! Very soon u will no wassup!

Only the lazybrains and the arrogant igbos will see no sense in this write-up. However, FFK, that's such a nice piece, BRF take a clue!

If we r so corrupt and bad y bother settle or build our land for us. Just because u were part of the development doesn't mean u r from that land. Get u self educated b4 chatting shit

Thankyou for saying the truh my brother. I am from delta but I fear for this country. I have lived all my life in lagos and I fear one day something will happen. The igbos feel so important! All this rantings, they didn't do half to the north who keep killing their people like cockroaches. But every where on internet, they keep abusing yorubas and I keep wondering what did the yorubas do? Is it inferiority complexx? What if the yorubas become hostile to you people today?Iit will also affect we deltans because they believe we are all igbos. You people need to chill cus at the end of the day if naija should break up, its u igbos that will suffer the most. Nfact your eyes will see ur full mouth! You think all ur investments outside igbo land is safe, you go become foreigner and will be treated as such! all this idle talk, if wahala start, u people will run back to the east. Just becareful!

U r a fool! U just made a stupid comment that's y the igbo think all yorubas r stupid. Just say u didn't read the article. He Never said the yorubas are better than the igbos

I agree with u

Abuja is the capital now oya go and claim it. If u r so brave go nd tell the hausas that Abuja is a "no mans land"

Am frm south-south, am not a yoruba at all but dis apology is simply politically motivated to help Ngige to win d upcoming elections, I strongly support FFK on dis one

Don't mind them

All Fani deserves is pity.

Five mins wasted!

Fani deserves to be investigated by a psychiatrist. A word is enough for the fool. We should ignore him from now on. he is only seeking relevance after he has imperilled his political career.

This nincompoop just can't let an opportunity for 15 minutes of firm slip by. Who cares if you have a problem with what Fashola did or said? You can never be anything close to the kind of leader Fashola is even in your next miserable life. You were the weakest d*** riding puppet and minister since the word minister played out.

All you are & will ever be is an unforgiving, senseless and just downright arrogant bigot who hides behind the cloak of tribal patriotism to spool your glaring hatred on another tribe. And this bozo is supposed to be learned? A man who publicly and shamelessly listed the names of Igbo women he's slept with and seriously discussed that as airtight proof that he's not a bigot. He belongs in a mental hospital away from sane people because he's tantamount to a venereal disease.

Someone close to this Asswipe should tell him to shut up already. No one wants to buy the shit he is selling. If I met him in real life I will slap him to the next parish.

Iim so glaad that Nigerians are waking up to the politricks of these idiots! Ffk is so in love with his people but did not do much as minister of aviation,all he did was embezzle tax payers money and spend it on his. Numerous mistresses...why did you not channel all the resources towards the dev of the yoruba man? Even that cess pit you call a mouth must be embarrassed to be on your face at this very point..you cannot divide thiis country no matter how hard you try and to you Linda you are a real fool for making this man relevant! I'm so mad at you!!!

Hese days even a fool at 20 is finished how much more a fool over 40 like this ididot!

Mida said...

To me the Igbos are being sentimental cos FFK said nothing wrong. If Fashola apologised to the Igbos then its only fair he apologises to the North as well.

Mida said...

I don't see anything wrong with what FFK said and yea Fashola was wrong to have apologised to only d Igbos, what about the northerners? Igbos are just being sentimental shikenan.

4 sumtym nw bn blasting my fellow igbo ppl on y wuld they leav thr lands 2 devlop anoda then a friend made a very impt point,igbos r merchants by nature nd nurture nd merchants move along money,hence lagos former capital nd abuja present capital!we huzzl!we myt not own d lands but we d pptys!

I FXXXING AGREE !!!!...If not with anything, his last 2 statements :)

Peter Obi, u deserve the lashes frm ffk. Tho i dnt support entirely all ffk said. But if the eastern governors utilise the wealth in the east for development of d states. A dumbass like ffk wont v d guts to blab. Peter Obi stop embezzling anambra"s allocation, building empty structures in d name of dialysis centres wont amt to anything

This kayode dude sounds rly ignorant for an educated man, smh! As for fashola, he's still my man afterall in life, one's allowed one or two errs BUT he's lost the igbo votes!!!

1 word,FOOL!

JUNKIE @ ffk

I know soooo maaaannnnyyyyy Igbo people that wished they were of other tribes. I

Such a typical yoruba man, the bane of nigeria's progress. So u r telling Nigerians to think where they come frm b4 thinking nigeria, and u want nigeria to work, foolish man.

I like this kayode just for one reason. He has made the igbos and Anambaras know that fashiolas apology is just for political reason. He just want to help that his bokoharam party in Anambara who has that criminal called Ngige. Since he has apologised, will Ngige who supported him whem he deported those 72 igbos under bridge by 2:30am apologise to Anambaras too? What of APC's spokes man lai mohammed and his party. They need to tender their own apology. Well, bokoharam party has nothing to do in anambara. APGA we know. Its our heroes party Odimegwu Ojukwu. We can't vote for islamist party.
Willy Obiano all the way. Ngige is a tout. He has relocated to Imo state and conbine with his fellow tout Rochas Okorocha.
Obiano who is APGA candidate is a profesional. A man who worked with first bank PLC for 2 years. He worked with total for 10 years and he worked with Fideity bank for 22 years. He has been a chartered accountant for 23 years. He is the most quolified candidate and in a right party in igbo land and in anambara.
As for fani femi kayode, he is just a bigot seeking for redemtion.
He need help. Can Yorubas help him?

Sahara Gossip said...

Fashola's unreserved apology for deportation of Igbos are insincere, flawed, ill-timed and it is loaded with even more rubbish.

To me, Fashola isn't opologizing for his actions. no! not at all. He is simply apologizing for the "misunderstanding generated by the alleged deportation of some destitutes". The key words there are "Misunderstanding Generated" and "Destitutes".

Fashola is a smart lawyer and is just messing with peoples head. He is only clearly apologizing for the confusion and uproar his actions resulted to and not apologizing for his actions!

This is evident in his claim/question on why people migrate to other places (eg. Lagos) even though they come from the east where the likes of Nnamdi Azikiwe, Alex Ekwueme, Ike Nwachukwu, among others hail from. It is a shame that he should be learned but does not know that if the capital of Nigeria is or had been Obubra in Cross River State, he (Fashola) may just have migrated there to practice his law unintelligently.

when he eventually apologizes we will know. We cannot be cowed by how many cows Ngige and cohorts gave him for his fathers burial.

Futhermoer, it is silly of Raji Fashola to denounce a Lagos State of Assembly Law for his personal reason that the Igbo community has since donated a herd of cows to him for his father’s burial. That's more of shallowness than sincere contrition.

A sensible Governor should not apologize for a law in force without taking a simultaneous or prior step to submit a bill to repeal that Lagos law which authorized Igbo deportation. All this fulsome apology proves is Raji Fashola does not think before he leaps.

Raji Fashola was promoted beyond the level of his natural ability by being imposed as candidate on the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) and later endorsed by mostly robotic voters in Lagos state; 90% of whom knew nothing of Raji Fashola in 2007 but voted for ACN regardless of the party’s candidate. Of course, the Peter Principle warns that an efficient typist would be pure shambles if promoted as a corporation’s Chief Executive beyond his natural competence.

Let the truth be told, i think kayode is right, our leaders failed to develop our land, how can an igbo man claim a land dat is not his? We are busy developing other people's land, while ours lack behind, go to Obinze barracks in Imo State, no Hausa man can rent even one room for himself instead u see 10 to 15 of them living in a bachter, read the so called Fashola appology very well and see what he said indrectly, which means we should develop our own land.

Thank you. Everybody is saying wen fashola deported ppl frm north, south south and west, nobody complained. Now it was Igbo's turn we complained. Well, I fink the question should be, 'is it proper, wat fashola did?' Well, if u aint gonna answer this pertinent question, and chose to ignore it, we the igbos won't. We challenge such acts as this. On the issue of lagos. You claim it as yorubaland, we claim it as nigerian land. Until the country divides and we go our separate ways, we shall continue to see it like that, and if anyone over do, igbo spirit is unconquerable is the advice.

dis fani kayode is jst a fucked up man,na fustration n stupidity go kill am.BASTARD

Y won't u support him, we kno were u stand on the igbos all d time, igbophobia, isn't it? Dnt worry, we aint gonna eat y'll.

Thank you for dat bro. Everybody is saying wen fashola deported ppl frm north, south south and west, nobody complained. Now it was Igbo's turn we complained. Well, I fink the question should be, 'is it proper, wat fashola did?' Well, if u aint gonna answer this pertinent question, and chose to ignore it, we the igbos won't. We challenge such acts as this. On the issue of lagos. You claim it as yorubaland, we claim it as nigerian land. Until the country divides and we go our separate ways, we shall continue to see it like that, and if anyone over do, igbo spirit is unconquerable is the advice. No igbo man has ever taken any yoruba man's by force claiming it's his so I dnt understand the bone of contention.

Abeg ibgo una own don too much sef,can't u ple stay in ur land and develop it?u r everywhere giving Nigerians bad name haba.

tanie frm canada said...

I see insecurities in all lib igbos here, u guys are the ones giving FFK mouth to talk cos u refused to accept u don't need any1 to make u guys relevant. Every1 is an asset to this nation, if he wants u guys out of lagos prove to him u have d ability to build up yur states too rather than make him feel fly washing yu guys. Fuck u FFK until we are seperated, we are all nigerians

they didn't do anything wrong, it was lawful. We don't want any nuisance in our land abeg. Fashola only apologised just to quell this igbo/yoruba issue. For he apologised does not mean he was wrong. Lagos is a yoruba land, for yoruba people, tradition and culture. No hausa or Igbo should come claim Lagos abeg cos Yoruba will never claim ur own states or region be it Abuja or Aba. I wonder how people will cross Ondo, then Oyo and Ogun state and wanna come claim Lagos. Are u people well at all ?

@ anon 8:46 am, Peter Obi has really done well. Don't do campaign of calumny here. Go home to Anambra state and see things for urself. I was doubting before, until I visited home. God bless Peter Obi and APGA
Okikiola

EEyaaa, FFK don frustrate O! I beg make una give am post for Abuja O! The SHIT HEAD is very BROKE! He is taking out his frustration on the Igbos O!

U guys r so backward
What has she said to warrant all these insults?
Imagine curses, abuseNd all
Tomorrow u'll tell me u guys r not worse than boko haramist
Tribalism can never get Nigerians anywhere and u guys r too aggressive, pls take a chill pill

HYBunny

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda right now i have a cold lucozade boost in my hand its 9am its pouring cats and dogs and i am enjoying myself reading the responses off fellow LIB commentators in response to fani kayodes statement.
Linda i have nothing to say your followers have spoken my mind.
To every individual that commented on this issue and denounced fani kayode i say God bless you .
Igbos and yorubas came together on this blog and called out fani kayode in one voice and in unity.
I hope we have now seen the kind and type of animal fani kayode is.
Fani kayod is worse than boko haram
Those militants and extremist that hijacked keyan mall and killed 62 people are better than fani kayode the extremist belive gaht they are fighting for a relgious cause but wat is fani akyode fighting for. i tell u all he is fighting to drive asunder btw the igbos and the yorubas oh wat wickedness and mischief that this man embodies
fani kayodes wish was to start a tribal war btw the igbos and the yorubas,fashola being a detribalized Nigerian saw the implications and tendered an apology to calm frayed nerves but alas the bigot the tribalistc confunionist in the person of fani is against it.
Nigerians need to know that it was the likes of fani that polarized the easterners and the northerners hence the civil war.
fani kayode is capable of setting the igbos and the yorubas against each other fani kayode is a bigot a hypocritical bastard a man that has no moral standing a man whose home is Meshed in immorality and various sex scandal a man whose political career is dead and buried.
Men are out there working hard to live lasting legacies behind building political empire building institutions and dynasties fani kakyode is here building falsehood and lies men like Dangote, Adenuga, tony Elumelu, Jim ovia ifenyi ubah are talking about improving the lives of their fellow human being fani is here talking about the various women he has bedded talking about I HIT IT FIRST oh shame shame to fani kayode, SHAME TO HIS FAMILY shame to his name,does he not have uncles brothers children to tell him TO shut up HIS WIDE MOUTH fani kayode the imbecile has dragged his family name to disrepute and to the mud.shame shame shame

Imagine ur utterance, that's why it wl be difficult for an Igbo man to become president in Nigeria, ur tolerance level is zero, u can come bark and bark that's what u guys r known for,noicenoicenoice wt no action
Mscheeew

Alaba nd idumota boys on d prowl
Shame on u all
Develop ur state or villages and move back now, na by force?

Let them be barking like dogs
Xmas u'll see them pack their bags like Igbo must go and go to their villages for Xmas, ts Fashola I blame, e for put toll plaza make dem dey check them from January and lets see who wl rot first
Loud noise makers
Anuofias

Wells apology s not because he deported them but for them misunderstanding his intentions, but trust our illiterates yearning dust all over, if he has d opportunity again, he wl do it over and over again, heard some were even deported again recently, let them go and build their own no mans land n d east simple

End time!!!! B4 it was RACISM, now its TRIBALISM. Brothers fighting over vain things. Things we all met here on earth. Vanity!!!!!!

Let them be building our lands for us, it may not be this generation or next but one day u ppl wl chased out of Lagos and u wl not even remember to take a bucket from those ur mansions, u r bragging about, go and check d seller of ur lands u r bragging about, na Igbo man sell am? Na Igbo man be Oniru, Elegushi, omo onile ni Ajah? Shame on u guys shameeeeeeeeeeeeeee

And who is this fool anon 11:11? Am sure u didn't even follow d thread, Yoruba u be my foot

Well said no one can disputes that fact but this is a wake up call to us. Let go n delevop our states too n flush out dis foolist corrupt leaders frm the system. When naija divide our eyes will clear oh. I have a owse in london doesn't makes me a briton. Shikena

Abuja ke, can they try it? Hausas wl make mince meat out of their chubby fat cheeks
Shameless ppl
They go to India, they want to take over, go to South Africa they wl be claiming ts our land, that's why they treat them like animals, one day una monkey go go market no go return, go and see n Lagos now, to get a job as mami guard is difficult for d Hausas, very soon to even rent a room wl be difficult forum guys, ts already happening now, u want a shop or house in Lagos, the 1st question s are u Igbo? I don't want Igbo in my house or shops, cause u ppl wl use ritual money pay for five years after that no more money, meanwhile in go don carry una gran pap! Grandmama, Aunty, brother come from village full d house

Lets see who drop dead first btw u and him
Foolish tribalistanimal

They r fools
Let them be barking like raving dogs
Their time s coming when they wl be chased out of Lagos, we wl not even slaughter u people
Alomaweyin, Otapiapia na him we go use for u, go ask about kiriji wars, u wl not even remember to pick ur trousers, ungrateful human beings

U people are missing the important point here. And the point is that we should challenge our governors to develop our state too. All this energy should go into fighting thumb to do what is right. Lagos will never be no man's land.

Jealous of what?
Smh

I beg go and sit down, to and start d war now wt ur family
Just don't bring t to Lagos
Make una dey do d war, kidnapping and all within urself there I beg

Because they are dumb heads, they wl not study their history to that extent now, d nes they remember s the person that spoke English first, d one that wore tie first, the one used Volkswagen first
Pls go back to,ur village, pls Xmas is near, once u leave , vex, don bother to come back
Lagos will not miss u I beg
If there's no Alana market again, shop rite is there, games is there, mega plaza is there, we wl buy our electronics for them, go back home and develop ur own no mans land

im a Nigerian studying abroad .....so scared to come back home so much hate and tribalism.......how do we move forward?

...the interesting notion that the igbo have ''married all our daughters'' in idungaran and isale-eko and that we should therefore give all our land and territory to them?

I am an Igbo man...dating a youruba Lady...should you decide to give us lands...remember me Ohhh...lol

Excuse me?? @Ffk... Y are u lecturing on your particular culture? What's our business with your 'omoluwabi' or whatever?? What's d role of all that in the matter? U too should be lectured on being Nigerian before Yoruba, before u carry on with all your tribalistic rants! #problemwithNigeriaistribalism

Sometimes, one may want to be forced to supporting his tribe position after reading all sort of comments on this issue as all are tribal comment pose.

Since this deportation issue started, more than 90% of the comments are sectional based. Why can't people comment on the merit of each case? I wonder!

When I first saw the headline on the deportation on 5/8/13, I was shocked that how will LASG 'deport' Nigerians within Nigeria. By that, I took a position, which is that what LASG did was wrong but I didn't comment or post anything. I wanted to hear LASG side of the story.

However, about a week later when LASG (among other reasons) said this has always been the practice btw many state governments to 'deport' citizens including ASG under Gov Obi. My point is, why would somebody blame Fashola or whoever supports him (FFK) for the 'deportation' and failed to blame Obi who committed the same offense and all other Governors who did the same thing? The answer is trinbalism/ethnicity. Period! Go back and check all the comments from day one and you'll see that nobody, and I repeat nobody blamed Obi for deporting Akwa Ibom and Ebonyi indigenes but they all blamed Fashola. Go and check. Except for two guys in the Vanguard online (igbo guys) who condemned both govs.

I will beg Nigerians to stop attacking the messanger but look at the merits/facts in the message before taking position. If those that comment had done this. I would have been seeing comments like 'since Fashola has apologized, Obi too should apologize' or comment like 'since Fashola has apologized, OUK too should apologize for saying Lagos is a no man's land which is an insult to the yoruba'. Until then, all these commenters are nothing but tribalist.

This my view is for the inner seekers.

Ope Ogunwemimo.

Am from igbo, I supported FFK is time we igbos start to develop our state, almost all the states in nigeria majority of investment is igbo's own. Ara ana apu di anyi, e nweyi ike ihu ndi ugwu ma obu ndi nke obodo FFK rulu ihe bara ulu na ala anyi. Onye obula bu nwa afo igbo hie aka na anya maka na ihe ne me now o nweyi onye make ihe oga aputa na oga nu ihu. Biko nu bia me aba nu ala anyi. A word is enough for the wise. Linda achorom icho comment acho. Keep on flexing nothing do u.

When Fashola's father died, a lot of Ibos gave him rams. Bcos of this he decided to apologize. Typical Nigerian way of doing things. They settle u and u destroy your own ppl, your own country. This is not leadership. I thought Fashola was beyond this but now I know better. Like all other Nigerians, give him money and anything goes. He is just as corrupt as the rest of other politicians. He did not apologize to Oyo, Osun, Ogun, and the Hausas bcos they did not give him anything. OLe.

Fashola was too quick to apologize which is not a mark of a good, strong leader. Obi did not apologize, Kalu did not apologize. Why Fashola bcos he took bribes.

Fashola does not understand the Ibos. When they wanted him to make one of them a commissioner in Lagos, they made a Yoruba man a commissioner in the east. Then they said now, Lagos should reciprocate. So, he made an Ibo man a commissioner for budget. Why reciprocate? You did not ask them to make a Yoruba man a commissioner. Fashola has to understand that Ibos are full of tricks and gimmicks. When they wanted to flood Lagos with their ppl, they started the kidnapping. Their ppl got scared and ran to Lagos. As if that was not enough, then they started human trafficking. Now, we have too many of them in Lagos. Fashola shine your eyes.

Naija moment said...

People should stop giving political tone to issues! First as a Nigerian I don't believe in anything as deportation, with all the Niger,Togo and Benin republic people around here whom have even end up claiming Nigeria...the government do not even have the right data or indexes for its Citizens, the lagos deportation issue is just been politicise anyway apology is the right thing to do if that will calm some angry nerves http://www.naijamomemt.com

Linda;you are source of inspiration to Us just keep up the good work

I don't know why some adults will just choose to be known as controversial human beings. SMH
highteknology.blogspot.com

I don't know why some adults will just choose to be known as controversial human beings. SMH
highteknology.blogspot.com

do you guys even know the meaning of d word deportation...i kind of support ffk,d yoruba in d east do not enjoy as much freedom as d igbo here

Igbo people, go and develop your states, so that when you go home for Christmas, you wont go back to other peoples state. Biko!!!

Orji Kalu in collaboration with his kleptomaniac mother, looted destroyed Abia State for 8 years. During his tenure, Aba was one big rubbish dump. Yet this fraudster has the guts to challenge Fashola, the BEST GOVERNOR!!! Shame on him!!!

FFK has only said the fact that Lagos is a Yoruba man's land and not a No man's land. U igbos should all get that in ur skulls. Igbos might b part of the development but Lagos is owned and belongs to d Yorubas. Nuff said

alot of libers are fools in fact linda is a fool too.

people need to understand certain facts

firstly u cant call a land no mans land. it does not make sense. simple

whether the igbos developed lagos or not is not the issue.
is lagos in the east,north,west or south. that is the question
if it is in the north then it is an hausa mans land. if it is in the east then it is an igbo mans land. if it si in the west then it is a yoruba mans land and if it is in the south then it is the southerners mans land. simple. its called logic.

now unto fashola and fani kayodes statements.
i love how fashola chose his words. and for once i love fani kayodes write up.

fashola apologised for the misinterpretation and fani kayode explained fasholas words better.

the fact is this we as nigeria have too much issues so we do not need to add tribalistic issues to it.

i disagree with fani for saying fashola should nto as apologised cause as a yoruba man he should know that yorubas value peace and relationship more than money, power or whatever. a yoruba man does not care if u see him as a fool so far he has tried his best to create peace. i understand fani thinking people would see this as weekness but the thing is this. let them see it as they want to. he has done the best he can do. it is now left to the igbos to accept the apology and realise that they do not need to cry wolf at every single issue. it is never that serious.

also people need to watch the words they say on this blog. stop speaking hate to people of other tribes. it is important to know that if nigeria's tribal issues should end in a war the fani kayodes and the raymond obieri and even the oga that called lagos a no mans land would leave nigeria with their family and leave u ooor internet fools to kill each other..

Sometimes, one may want to be forced to supporting his tribe position after reading all sort of comments on this issue as all are tribal comment pose.

Since this deportation issue started, more than 90% of the comments are sectional based. Why can't people comment on the merit of each case? I wonder!

When I first saw the headline on the deportation on 5/8/13, I was shocked that how will LASG 'deport' Nigerians within Nigeria. By that, I took a position, which is that what LASG did was wrong but I didn't comment or post anything. I wanted to hear LASG side of the story.

However, about a week later when LASG (among other reasons) said this has always been the practice btw many state governments to 'deport' citizens including ASG under Gov Obi. My point is, why would somebody blame Fashola or whoever supports him (FFK) for the 'deportation' and failed to blame Obi who committed the same offense and all other Governors who did the same thing? The answer is trinbalism/ethnicity. Period! Go back and check all the comments from day one and you'll see that nobody, and I repeat nobody blamed Obi for deporting Akwa Ibom and Ebonyi indigenes but they all blamed Fashola. Go and check. Except for two guys in the Vanguard online (igbo guys) who condemned both govs.

I will beg Nigerians to stop attacking the messanger but look at the merits/facts in the message before taking position. If those that comment had done this. I would have been seeing comments like 'since Fashola has apologized, Obi too should apologize' or comment like 'since Fashola has apologized, OUK too should apologize for saying Lagos is a no man's land which is an insult to the yoruba'. Until then, all these commenters are nothing but tribalist.

This my view is for the inner seekers.

Ope Ogunwemimo.

Fashola is a weak man. Obi did not apologize to anyone; Kalu did not apologize to anyone. Akpabio did not apologize to anyone. Why is Fashola apologizing?

this tribalism yoruba man, did they called u F FK GO TO HELL.

If all the comments here are a representative of what is on the ground in Nigeria, then Nigeria is really sitting on a KEG OF GUN POWDER. All we need is a lighted matchstick to have the greatest Rwanda ever witnessed.
I hope people, both locally and internationally are really preparing for this event. It will be so catastrophic.
At the end, we will know who owns Lagos- the local indigenes or a group of scavenging cockroaches whose trade mark is claiming what is never theirs.
Bro, Me, I am safe becos I dey Yankee. But I can contribute by sending money and some powerful anti-roaches to blast all the roaches and their destitutes back to their muddy enclave in the east.
Olu.

On a more serious note, thumbs up to Fani power Jr.
You speak for all of us young omo Oduduwa.
Gov Fash really goofed on this one.
What is the tendering of apology going to to achieve ? Nothing, but boldness from the invading cockroaches.
Everyday they disrespect Prof Wole Soyinka who supported them and their ill fated Biafra.
Theophilus Danjuma who led the massacre of Anguiyi Ironsi is still alive. They are so scared to go after him but instead they continue to come after us the Yorubas. They write nonsense about Pa Awolowo and all other Yoruba leaders. Everyday they disrespect us on the Internet. They dare not write any nonsense about the folks from the North and yet those folks keeps on kicking their buts now and then . Lord have mercy.
What more can we as Yorubas, take from these people.
What has FFK written that is not the truth? Can anyone tell me.

On another note, Bonario or whatever his name is, deserves a Freetown ' short sleeve' for suggesting that FFK deserves a slap. How can a sane person write that a fellow Nigerian deserves a slap for voicing his own opinion. If you write shit like that again, I will ask Gen. 'Butt naked' to come after you and give you the necessary 'short sleeve'. A word is enough for the wise.
Olu

Ibos like to deceive themselves. Bcos few of them have houses in Lagos they think they own Lagos. They think that most of the investments in Lagos belongs to them. Let me tell u who owns most of the investments in Lagos. It is the multinational, multibillion dollars corporate giants that own most of the investments in Lagos and as a matter of fact, in NIgeria. Aliko Dangote alone has more investments in Lagos than all the Ibos combined. Bcos u go to Alaba market and all the petty traders there are Ibos and u go to spare parts market, all the traders are also Ibos therefore they think they own most of the investments in Lagos/. Those traders all their investments is not up to #1 b. They start their biz with #200,000 and most of them cannot even feed their families. If u own Lagos what should Dangote claim? The whole of the South west? U Ibos, u are all illiterates. Learn the facts before u start talking.

I am sorry for hypocrites like Fani Kayode and anyone that argues about my land and your land. Only fools do so. Yorubas and other Nigerians travel to other countries to have children so their children can have the passports of those countries as full citizens. Many Yorubas hold British passports just by virtue of been born there and are entitled to all rights and privileges of the British state. Yet some of these hypocrites come here and say that someone who was born in Lagos and whose father has lived all his life there is not from that area. It is absolute hypocrisy and God Almighty is watching. All these seeds of hatred and tribalism are from the devil. Lagos was a federal capital and people were forced to move there by virtue of appointments. That is why it is more developed because billions of dollars went into infrastructure and development just like is been done in Abuja. We must recognize this. Yorubas should look around. If everything was done by Yorubas how come no other Yoruba state looks like Lagos? Please enough of this demo ice tribalism that has infested some of our citizens.

Munachi Ejio4 said...

When people say things like Igbo people should develop their own states,do they think we live in huts in the east?...u guys don't travel...visit my city Enugu for example..Besides Lagos,which other city is developed in the west?..maybe Ibadan...ugh!!

Impressed

Yes, Lagos is a no man land,
All tribe in Nigeria contribute in no small way to the development of Lagos bcos the capital was sited there. My father told me how my forefathers trek by leg to that Lagos in 1945 during colonial era and how they develop that area call idu mango. The Ebiras are first settler in that land today call IDU MANGO presently mixture of Ebiras and other tribe. What then is ffk talking? Ffk should go back to history. Every body in Lagos come to settle and so on.there are first settler and last settler. Probably Fashola and FFK forefather are the last settler.

Yes, Lagos is a no man land,
All tribe in Nigeria contribute in no small way to the development of Lagos bcos the capital was sited there. My father told me how my forefathers trek by leg to that Lagos in 1945 during colonial era and how they develop that area call idu mango. The Ebiras are first settler in that land today call IDU MANGO presently mixture of Ebiras and other tribe. What then is ffk talking? Ffk should go back to history. Every body in Lagos come to settle and so on.there are first settler and last settler. Probably Fashola and FFK forefather are the last settler.

and he is not from here too, what made him a better legosian, and this man have a family? strange, i cant believe this, pls he need a doctor

He has made a point in all of this....when u say Nigeria is 4 everybody do you mean lagos state? Cs lagos state has really tried in accommodating other tribes! Most ppl in lagos state wont dare return to thier states cos there are no job/or means of lively hood...other governors should emulate Fashola and make their states accommodating/condusive as well

okay...this is getting outta hand...i dont really like commenting cos of some stupid things i see...i dont problem with any tribe bur igbos,take it easy with this bliv u have,u dey do biznes for lagos na in dey develop am,abeg go ur state go develop am plsss.what do u mean lagos will turn to IB if u leave,abeg leave first make we no wetin go happen,i dnt like claims like this...as far as am concerned,we r all helping develop d state,no be only igbos,hausa dey do in own,edo dey do their part.we all have our roles to play,bur if u beliv say na igbos,abeg pack go house
.live d rest to us wey remain.

yaro said...

I have always known fat ffk is a mentally deranged, some1 apologized, and you came out to dissect the apology. I was almost loosing respect for Fashola but with this apology he has won my hrt even more than before. A good leader,no a great leader is one who realizes his mistakes and is not afraid to say so and apologise. Fashola by this has demonstrated that he is a great leader. It takes guts to do wat he did and there are very few Nigerian leaders who will do that. So FFK please shut your stinking mouth. Imagine"if was a governor"' who dash monkey banana?

The problem with the Ibos is that when they look eastward they see nothing but abject poverty and terrible conditions. To them this is failure and they do not want to feel like a bunch f failures. So, they decided to attach themselves to a very cosmopolitan city. Hence the need to boast that they develop Lagos, they own Lagos, they own most of the investments in Lagos etc. They own nothing . They are nothing. They are petty traders who can hardly feed their families. Get over it. Lagos belongs to the Yorubas. And Lagos is in the Southwest- the land of the Yorubas. Lagos is not in the southeast. Ibos come from d southeast not Southwest.

@Paul Ojeih, who are you trying to impress with your empty epistle? Boy, go back to school!

Igbo people, una gra gra too much. Everything about you people na gra gra. I tire for una!

Wales said...

Fashola has just made d greatest mistake of his life by dat apology.How do u apologise to a set of egoistic,proud,vain and ungrateful bunch of people.Their only ambition is to appropriate oda peoples land as theirs?.A. Group of criminally minded individuals with endless capacity for mischief.Lagos can only become theirs in their dreams.Onyiochi people

anon september 29@ 12.33 you are a big fool Abuja was develop by your mother goat head.

if Lagos is no man land Abuja is your father land.

Biafra people when are you leaving Nigeria and stop crying Lagos is not FOR SALE get the fact.

Mechie onu to those of you that say Lagos is no man land it belong to your father and your mother Anuofias, onyiochi,onyara ole, thief,barawo. Biafra people are you people not going again stop the crying........ Lagos babe

What I read from this write-up is "fear, insecurity, desperation and a deep-seated inferiority complex". It is clear that Ffk is desperate to discredit the Igbos at all cost, even to the extent of ridiculing himself every step of the way. Ffk why are you so afraid of the Igbos?!? If you're so great as you claim then why do you wet your pants whenever the word Igbo is mentioned? Afterall elephants are not supposed to tremble at the sight of ants.

I think the Igbos need resident permit to live in outside the east. Oriental people, you are all Biafrans, citizens of the country that never was!!! Greedy and arrogant people!!!

I keep reading with disgust and amusement the postings of people that really think the rantings of Mr. Fani-kayode makes any season at all. It is very sorry that in these modern and glorious times, all we seem to enjoy to do are things that other countries have experienced and shudder at the thought and never wish to see again.
If something happens in Nigeria (God forbid sha!) and people need to run for their dear lives, am sure every Nigerian, no matter where you are from or based, would have a refugee that he/she is related to. Do not be delusional and think the Igbos and other tribes would leave Lagos and all would be well with it? Do you guys think the Yorubas have developed Lagos into what it is today single-handedly? Only someone that is delusional would think that. Anyway, its people that have no iota of investment anywhere that make such bigotry noise.
Mr. PH Abandoned Properties, I think you should go and check again; all the 'abandoned properties' have been bought back and do not hate industry...
I commend Gov. Fashola and hope we all would be like him (its not easy making such an apology knowing that BIGOTS like Mr. Fani-Kayode would be quick to seek cheap media popularity from it)...
A word is enough for the wise indeed...

peculiiar said...

For ones, lets stop being bias. FFK has a point. lets be constructive in our speech and criticism. Pls this blog should not be used as a platform to insult anyone. There are better ways and words to express displeasure. One says FFK is wrong. But i say u all coming here to express ur displeasures abusively are worst off.As wrong as we say FFK is, he has not used dirty words or abuse anyone out-rightly. Pls lets take a clue frm that. FFK is not our challenge now. lets pour this anger on the monsters threatening to destroy Nigeria and make it unsafe for u and i. innocent citizens are dying everyday.nothing is been done and yet we are here insulting one of us. Igbos and Yorubas enough of this. Enoughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

some people are simply retarded. and in all of this, he had to bring in the part: that the igbo have ”married all our daughters” #lol# what more can i say. the yoruba guys are obviously getting a good deal from the ibo chics. that speaks volumes. even i am ibo dating a yoruba guy and the brother knows wat he's got needless to say. so dear fani or wateva u choose to call urself, go get a life or beta still beg one of the ibo chics 2 giv u some so u can savour the awesomeness and stay off our case. God made the ibo race awesome. get used 2 dat.

Well for all those hauling insults at FFK. I think it is really irresponsible and such people are far worse than him in terms of character. How about objectively taking on the issues he has raised and profer a superior argument. That would have implied you are better informed or more intelligent than him. The irony of the matter is that if the Lagos state government had not taken steps to relocate Nigerians who are or may constitute a nuisance in the state to their place of natural origin, it is a matter of time before they become terrors to all of us in the privacy of our home. Robbing, killing, raping, assasinating some of us or our loved ones. At that time - on survival instincs, it will not matter to them whether their victim is Igbo, Yoruba, Hausa, Efik, Ibibio, Igbira, Fulani, Birom or Ijaw. Maybe if we take out our tribal GOGGLE, we'll see better and be objective. If my memory serves me right a South Eastern Governor recently Sacked all non indegen employees of the state - including South Easterners & South Southerners. The Governor practically took away their sources of livelihood (their life), he did not get this much vituperation as the Lagos state government and FFK is getting from our Eastern brothers. Pls think on that everybody.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 302 of 302   Newer› Newest»