"FG can't meet ASUU's N92b demand' - Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 August 2013

"FG can't meet ASUU's N92b demand' - Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala says

Minister of finance, Ngozi Okonjo Iweala said yesterday during the opening of the two-day meeting of Commissioners of Finance and Accountants-General of States, that the federal government can't meet the N92billion being demanded by ASUU.

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala said
“At present, ASUU wants the Federal Government to pay N92 billion in extra allowances, when the resources are not there, and when we are working to integrate past increases in pensions. We need to make choices in this country as we are getting to the stage where recurrent expenditures take the bulk of our resources and people get paid but can do no work. Since I assumed office, the share of recurrent expenditure in our total budgets had increased astronomically. In fact, recurrent expenditure accounted for about 77.2 per cent of the federal budget and we are now working to re-balance this ratio.
The country is still suffering from the effect of the 2010 increase in salary. Do we want to get to a stage in this country that all the money we earn is used to pay salaries and allowances? If the demands of the university lecturers are met and we continue to pay them salaries and allowances, we will not be able to provide infrastructure in the universities.”
So what does this mean? Students will continue to stay at home?

217 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 217 of 217

This ℓ̊ƨ̷̜̩̌̋ not a one sided matter. Both the federal government and ASUU r so much involve in this S*.they should both look for ways and resolve this. For the fact that their children aren't schooling in Fed university doesn't mean they can toast us like bread.plsssssssssssssssss do something.

Rumin8 said...

Until we start assassinating these politicians in this country, we will know no peace nor progress. If terror is taken to the doorsteps of these blood sucking lunatics and they are forced to flee, we can hold true elections and start afresh with a government that is for the people.

The Romans had a Latin saying that their Senators always swore, "obliti privatorum, publica curate" and it means "forget private affairs, take care of public ones".

Nigerian politicians have sworn by it, but theirs is in reverse, "forget public affairs, take care of private ones". The earlier we hunt them down like the hyenas they are, the better for us all.

Without being a finance minister in nija all her children wud still be in harvard. It's a family tradition they gave themselves without ur no good nigeria. It's nt her fault ur parents and grandparents aint gat such.

this argumentum ignorantiam b/w FG n ASUU, very big pittisism dt i hv becm a victim of ths circmstantial argumentum d ignorantiam, i pray they cme in2 a dialog of mesiericumdia.

Dat stupid wuman receives ha salary in dollar n in naira yeye tin buh FG were able 2 meet up wit d military demand in changin dere uniform.

Dat stupid wuman receives ha salary in dollar n nt in naira yeye tin buh FG were able 2 meet up wit d military demand in changin dere uniform.

its shameful hw banking industy and aviation industry can be bailed out but education cannot be, it simply shows its not their piority so it can as well rot like govt sec nd pry schs

bukenzy said...

this woman na my role model but am highly disappointed with your statement. fine you have a point but start the policy from yourself, other ministers, senators and the excutive arm of govt. reduce or remove some dubious allowances, and cut cost as much as possible. the sumation of those irrelevant salaries and allowance you pay those criminals are okay to sort ASUU issues for a while not telling those that train the impt resources you need to build our economy to go and sleep...... no wonder uk wants bond to get to their country its cos of our shameless and visionless leaders.. will be so sad if they corrupt you too
education is the only virtue the govt can give the masses.. and what is the minister of education doing, i think an ASUU member should be nominated so they can derived their aim of building this sector...... OMG Naija sha

Mtscheww i hate dis woman, ΔO̶̷̩̥̊͡η't knw y

Diamond said...

Hon. Pat. I hail you ooo...... I'm quite sure you don't no the meaning of one single grammar here that you have lavished. You selected big grammars from dictionary & fixed them together as a sentence. Anyways, i believe you just want to make this blog look lively as everybody is annoyed of ASSUU strike.

Hon Patrick, when hunger strikes....hm.

I WAS STILL IN SECONDARY SCHOOL WHEN THIS ASSU STARTED ALL THIS STRUGLE AFTER ANODA 7 TO EIGHT YEARS STILL ON THE SAME ISSUE CAN YOU SEE THAT WE DONT KNOW WHERE WE ARE GOING IN NIGERIA?THE MINISTER IS NOT EVEN HELPING MATTERS THIS LECTURERES HAVE THE RYT TO EARN BIG LIKE OTHER PUBLIC SERVICE DIRECTORS LEGISLATORS AND EVEN SENATORS. THESE ARE ACADEMECIANS WHO WENT TO SCHOOL BACKED VARIOUS DEGREES AND NOTHING TO SHOW FOR IT IS QUITE PATHETHIC PLEASE THE GOVT SHOULD MEET THERE DEMAND AND STOP SAYING COCK AND BULL GIST ABOUT HOW IT WILL AFFECT THE ECONOMY WHY DIDNT THEY THINK ABOUT THE ECONOMY WHEN THEY SHARE AND STEAL BILLION AND TRILLIONS OF DOLLARS ...#MUGUOKOJON#

It high time they cut down the salaries and allowances of our leaders and increase the salaries and allowances of workers, this will go a long way in tackling the leadership problem in Nigeria because that is only when we can identify passionate leaders that are not there for money and this will also breach the big gap big gap between the rich and the poor. In a society where few are very rich and others are in poverty there will alway be a different kinds of problems on security matters.

May GOD help us in this country called nigeria

Just that? But Naija get am na. No be even trillion sef but ordinary billion. Wetin mek u dey fear? The ones wey u ursef and ur colleagues de thief no pass am? Go sit down jooor.

Fellow citizens of Mumudom! Please remember to drop your votes for the ruling party in the next elections. Long Live the Fed. Republic du Nige'riah

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 217 of 217   Newer› Newest»