Is the new Nigerian law promoting paedophilia? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 July 2013

Is the new Nigerian law promoting paedophilia?

Here's how it happened. The Nigerian senate on Tuesday July 16th pegged the official marriage age in Nigeria as 18 years when they amended the constitution. Then Former Zamfara Governor, now Senator, Sani Yerima, who married a 13 year old Egyptian girl in 2010, opposed the age restrictions saying it was anti-islam. For some reason the Senate agreed with him and made an about turn.

The Senate has now deleted the age specification from the new constitution, leaving marriage age for women open. They stated that 'a woman is deemed to be “full of age” once she is married irrespective of the age she did so.'

So basically, this new law allows the marriage of under aged girls. What's your thoughts on this?

238 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 238 of 238

God sees all he would work wonders very quick.we all need 2 pray#God bless Nigeria#kane

Stop ranting on the blog are u not the ones that voted 'em there?the problem in this country is that we always make noise @ the back ground no one will come out to oppose "em,for instance when the issue of subsidy came we all shouted and stop,wot exactly is subsidy provide for poor masses now?it's only the rich people that enjoy it,,,,baba fela don talk ha #Naija people suffering and smiling

Amanda Austins said...

This is absurd and appalling! (I have goose pimples on my arms right now)

I don't know what Nigeria is turning into.

They should go ahead and legalize prostitution and gay marriage.

Jeeeeez!

suhaila said...

Oya cut Muslims off now! Mtseew

What kind of evil spirit is residing in Abuja?
How does an unripe Agbalumo taste in the mouth?
May God grant our leaders the truth to know.
Meanwhile, they placed themselves on a lifetime pension.
I hope there wont be protests/riot in Heaven from the Nigerian section when we see some of them in Heaven.
‪#‎TGIF‬.

This is appalling. What about offering protection to young people who are illiterate, intimidated and lack exposure? Now girls of ten could be 'married,' violated, no questions asked. Yet those lawgivers are obsessed with punishing consenting, adult gays. It seems paedophilia is fine in our 'culture' but consensual gay love is abomination. How ignorant, how prejudiced, how obnoxious could lawmakers be?

Islam....hmmmmm

GOD DEY OOO!!!...LET THEM FLEX ON EARTH....HEAVEN DEY, HELL DEY TOO!

I cant believe that our female law makers can sit in that house and do nothing while women's rights are being trampled upon. they should sit up and vote against it, sanity should be returned to this country, women and children should be protected from men who have lost their conscience and morals

Its Criminal!!!!!!!! I weep for this country, we have a long way to go mehn!

as a muslim i was disturbed wen i hear people comment on marriage 2 girl child.i felt disturbed.THEN I GOOGLED MARY'S AGE WEN JESUS WAS CONCEIVED I WAS SHOKED TO SEE 12 !SHE WAS ALSO MARRIED TO JOSEPH THEN .Please do ur self a favour and do dis research.if God permits smthng who ar we to disapprove it.

yerima did that based on his selfish interest.young girls have vaginal issues as a result of that. nawa for them o

Y senator Yerima no go oppose mayb he don c another 2mnths old baby to settle down with again. D day dem go review d constitution on dis mata agn na d day one of d Senator or Governor go go put money 4 Yerima 1mnth old baby. Useless bunch of Agbada $ Coat miscreant we called law makers.

anonymous said...

This man is clearly a paedophile and the reason why others have agreed to this is beyond me...This is so ungodly yet Gays and thrown in jail someone please tell whats the difference..Nigeria is clearly doomed its the poor girls I feel sorry for.. What a backward, sheepish country..

No west or east family will give there 13 year old child to a grown man to marry, this is what keeps the north backwards one day we will leave them in the dust and when they come to the east to beg on our street we will put them in buses and send them back to the north

I WILL START BY SAYING THAT I WISH ALL THE PEOPLE THAT ARE COMMENTING ON THIS ISSUE WILL READ ALL THE COMMENTS.THE MAIN REASON NIGERIA HAVE NOT GROW AND DEVELOPED TILL NOW IS THAT WE CAN NOT TOLERATE ONE ANOTHER. IN A COUNTRY WHERE ARE A HETEROGENOUS I.E. MULTI-FACETED AND MULTI-DIMENSIONAL,THERE IS NEED TO LEARN HOW TO LISTEN TO OTHERS AND TOLERATE OTHERS. THIS A CLARION CALL FOR ALL NIGERIANS TO COME TOGETHER AND DECIDE HOW THEY WANT TO LIVE SO THAT WE CAN MOVE FORWARD. EQUALLY, I WANT TO TAKE EXCEPTIONS TO PEOPLE MAKING COMMENTS LIKE MUSLIMS SHOULD BE KILLED, REMOVED E.T.C., THESE COMMENTS ARENT EXPECTED IN A CIVILISED SOCIETY.

Rough Diamond said...

Smh ! Will definitely encourage My daughter to poison d man. Yes!

Rough Diamond said...

Smh ! Will definitely encourage My daughter to poison d man. Yes!

patalex said...

@AnonymousJuly 18, 2013 at 11:29 PM. Can't you see you are an educated illiterate. So you are the only one that has remained blind to the treatment women get in Islam.

Can't you read. They allowed it because it is allowed in Islam. Even Muslims know this.

these laws are made for their selfish interest!!!

No! No!! No!!! Hell No!!!!!!

What about the Child Rights Act 2003? Section 21 to 23 prohibits 'child marriage'. I guess the northern states will not implement it. Sigh! This country confuses me 😞😞

get ready people. gays will soon be fully embraced.

Where is wole Soyinka when you need him? where is fashola? this is pathetic

so 14 years imprisonment for gay couples but a law that should protect young females in the country is not taken seriously? what a MESS. I'm in full support of state rights just like in America. Not everyone's in support of this new law and not everyone's muslim. Let the states decide..but then again, its Nigeria so...

May God help Naija ooooo.  think disintegration is †ђǝ way out cos it seems dis northerners A̶̲̥̅®ε̲̣̣̣̥ bent on infecting †ђǝ saner south with their madness!

Enough Of this ranting,we nigerian re more of words than action. we shld organise a peaceful protest to let this senators know that they are not just making laws for themselves bt for Nigeria as a whole. that we re not just dissatisfied with the law they have passed bt also disappointed in them as our representative. they did not put themselves there, we elected them thus they should make laws which are soothing,beneficial and in line with the thoughts of every right thinking citizen of this country. pls let's not wag our mouth then fold our hand and do nothing,let's come out in mass against this abnormality.

Rough Diamond said...

Smh. Will definitely give my daughter otapiapia to poison him. God punish them!

pedophiles in Nigerian senate. UNICEF help please!!!!! save the Nigerian child

I truly hope that the senate president and his colleagues would allow their 10year old daughters to get married . Maybe then, they will appreciate the import of their decision. It's so disappointing . So shameful .

this is arrant nonsense, why should we be subjected to such treatment? the non muslim senators should give their 3-4 year old daughters for marriage! if you know this is wrong, why support it @ senators

The muslins are carefully promoting what they love nd the Christians are bashing what the hate....the saying goes like dis; promote what you love instead of bashing what you hate, the Christians and haters of Underage marriage should promote their hatred for such and stop bashing out their hatred

PAEDOPHILIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!GOD PUNISH ALL OF U ONE BY ONE...

Righting d wrong......d issue relates much as to citizenship dan to marriage. A look at s.29(4b) of d constitution will reveals dis.

The contentious provision, Section 29, allows citizens who are of age to renounc Nigerian citizenship if dey choose to. For dat purpose, d constitution provides, dat a person of 18-years-old and above shall be considered to be “of age”. Further, a woman or girl who is married, shall also be considered to be of age. Now, dis section could be interpreted and indeed has bn Nigerian-wide constructed to imply that even a day old child, once married, shall be considered to be of age.

It is dis phrase " a woman or girl who is married, shall also be considered to be of age" dat d senate opted to delete, to which Sen. Ahmed Yerima and Co voted against. Now, dis provision has livd with us since d birth of 1999 constitution. It is not lik d senators moved to amend d "marriage age" in Nigeria.

In Nigeria, we somwhat have a 2-decker marriage, to wit:
1. Statutory marriage (usually called court marriage
2. Non-statutory marriage (customary marriage or islamic marriage, Church marriage.)

A clear look at d legislative lists reveals dat d constitution only allows d NASS powers to legislate on statutory marriage. Specifically, Item 61 of the Second Schedule, Part I in the Exclusive Legislative List says the Legislative Powers include “The formation, annulment and dissolution of marriages other than marriages under Islamic law and Customary law including matrimonial causes relating thereto.

Clearly dia4, d legislature cannot legislate on customary/Traditional marriage or islamic marriage, evn if dey purport to do. D customary/Islamic years of marriage remains d age a people decides dat its girl-child should marry, weda +18 or -18. So as it stands now, weda s.29(4b) is deleted or not, a parent who wishes to giv out his/her underage girl can still do it under customary/islamic marriage.

Now, my position is dat d above cited Item 61 should b amended, deleting "other than marriages under Islamic law and Customary law including matrimonial causes relating thereto". Further, dia shld b a clear specific provision of 18years marriageabl age in d constitution. Den, we'd knw we hav a clear position on marriage age in Nigeria, so dat an end could b put to all dis hullabaloo and rumours making d rounds.

Lastly, as good citizens, l think it behoves on us to have a good look at real issues in d polity b4 jumpin into conclusions. Again, our media need to show more professionalism and stop hoodwinking innocent Nigerians to uncalled-for-assumptions.

Thank U 4 reading.

THE ARE ALL END TIME SENATORS

Aries: I am not surprised at the acts of some derailed honorables. The legislation is no longer about the LGBT consenting adults, now its pro-pedophilia. But trust me, this move is completely sickening, so much that the thoughts and talks of it gives me goosebumps. God save Nigeria

These our lawbreakers sorry lawmakers are only fit for the gallows! They wll not reap the fruits of their labour. Sick bastards

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 238 of 238   Newer› Newest»