Photos of the day: Rare sight of two Popes together | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 March 2013

Photos of the day: Rare sight of two Popes together

This is the first time in more than 600 years that two popes will be alive at the same time and in each others company. Usually one would have to die before the other takes over...but Pope Benedict XVI retired last month.

Pope Francis flew to Castel Gandolfo by helicopter today to visit Benedict who has been living at the papal villa since he officially retired on February 28. They prayed together in the chapel before sharing a private lunch.

92 comments:

MAXIMUS™ said...

Wow! The greatness in this picture is just indescribable

Zunny said...

Awesome Moment. Proud to ba a catholic

Heavenly correlation and significance!!

Mata Hari said...

What!!! No comments? If na mundane things like genevieve and omotola together in a pic, comments for don take over the blog. Mschewwwww

Well, things happen lyk dat

Awwww, this is a nice and unique sight.

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

WOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

HISTORRRRRYYYYY!!!!!!

bless! Drop by my site www.dominicibe.blogspot.com thanks

Yh,a rare sight indeed!wat a priviledge!

olivia said...

Waoh dats amazing

bless !visit my site www.dominicibe.blogspot.com

Very beautiful.:)

God Bless our Pope!!!!!!!!!

Catholic doctrines are synonymous with politics. No wonda people say they belong to illuminati

jumyk said...

‎​​Ĝ∞∂

awwww! what a sight to behold,what a pope we av in Pope Francis. he has endeared himself to so many people within dis short period of his papacy.
a sign that Christ is still with His church.
ET UNAM SANCTAM CATHOLICA ET APOSTOLICA ECLESIAM

Linda shebi u r a catholic ur blog is becoming too religious o

obianuju said...

Wow !

So what does this signify? Over to u Catholics

TWITS said...

nice sight..we pray that rare company generates peace, love, hope and goodwill within christendom and infact the world over. (Igbos still in mourning...pls say a word of prayer. thanx.)

chzyme said...

Pope Benedict is really aged, see how he looks before pope Francis, may God strenghten dem Amen one love my vicars

Chai, the sight of d 2 of dem looks so heavenly n ppl have been testifyn abt d new popes humility  selflessness (even a priest dt celebrated mass 4 M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ church last sunday told his personal experience with d new pope) Ħ̀ε̅ urged us 2 b humble. May God strengthen him as Ħ̀ε̅ continue 2 direct andd lead him I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ d right way. His holiness emeritus,pope Bendict d 16th, we love u.

Hmmmmm!!!Private lunch.Popes dey flex sha.

God is 1derful to have kept ṁ̭ε alive to witness this.

SUNSHINE said...

Habemus papam!
I get am?
Lol. Don't eat me up.
We all serve the same God.

Linda I love berry berry much, abeg there is only one pope, so abeg don't confuse ur reader. Thank u.com

Anonymous 10:12, where is this talk coming from? I have no words to describe you. But I have just one thing to say to you, don't say things that will bring you condemnation. You should just focus on making heaven, that's all.

Wow, Such a fool!

U think say evry one na catholic

Wonderful!!!!
Proudly catholic...
Zobie

Beliona said...

U r a fool n a Fool U shall die 4 dat comparism! Ayan ti Aye re ti Baje! Oloshi! Mtschewwwwwwwww

Well said! A Pope n an ex Pope. Don't get it twisted. People should equally concentrate on serving God not religion. Dis rumoured 'iluminati' group is d longest standing religious denomination established ny Christ. So just follow where u feel der is salvation and no politics n don't criticise odas. We should portray religion n not preach religion.

winnyzinteriors-Great furniture deals!!! click to check us out/visit our showroom! said...

Proud to be Roman catholic too!

winnyzinteriors-Great furniture deals!!! click to check us out/visit our showroom! said...

Hugging you bonario....on point

Heavenly Blessings! God bless His Holiness Benedict xvi n God bless our new Pope Francis first. The gate of hell shall never preveil the Holy Church of God, Catholic Church, no matter what people say. This is the promise of Christ to his Church Catholic.

I'm so blessed n very happy to see this moment. God loves his children. It is great to have this two Heavenly gift interceding for us n the church. God bless Catholic Church.

Heavenly Blessings! God bless His Holiness Benedict xvi n God bless our new Pope Francis first. The gate of hell shall never preveil the Holy Church of God, Catholic Church, no matter what people say. This is the promise of Christ to his Church Catholic.

costita said...

Awesome! What a sight to behold!

God bless our Pope!! Long live our Pope!

Why is it that nigerian press and blogs fail to cover the news of Pope benedict's conversion to islam.I know alot of people wont like it but before u comment get ur facts right.Thanks

U trying so hard to sound nice,is a gud tin actually,kip it up

Stupid talk, what is political about this now? The Catholic Church remains number one take it or leave it. Call it illuminati like all other retards do it does not change anything. God has been with her throughout the ages and he will not depart from her. Proudly Catholic, the one and only church founded by Christ himself.

J.W said...

Confiteur unum baptisma, in remissionem pecatorum.

This is not a true photo. It has be made on Photoshop (computer) and has been circulated all around. When i saw this photo on the net, i too thought it was true. Then i saw Pope Benedict XVI with his skull cap in the photo. Pope emeritus has said that he would not use the white skull cap after his resignation. According to the Vatican press office Pope Francis have not yet meet Pope emeritus Benedict XVI. On the 23 March, Saturday, at 12:00pm, Pope Francis will departure in helicopter from the Vatican heliport. At 12:15pm he will meet and lunch with Pope emeritus Benedict XVI at Castel Gandolfo and will then return to the Vatican. -Savio Gracias

This might be one of the photo-shopped pics. Here's a post that addressed one. And when you look at the wall of the room in the one posted by Linda, there is no difference with that on this link.

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/kathyschiffer/2013/03/photoshop-ruins-everything/

Apparently Someone is striving so hard to be normal after the recent stupidity exhibition. Don't worry we know all of that and your forgiven but your stupidity is sure intact!lol

May God bless them both. Dis pic is rare. Thanks linda. May God bless the church

Prince j na u be dis?

Very awesome

may the pope be blessed!

he-ke said...

Great men who have given up so much for the Lord. No matter how much criticism d catholic church has had,it can't take away d fact that these men stood by their beliefs and stood with God. #they didn't marry#- that's grace.

Gela said...

How touching....d first pix is so heavenly. Bin a Pope is nt a small task like bin a president. May God d Grace of the Lord be upon Pope Francis in Jesus name, Amen!!!

missy said...

N wats 'too religious'abt it?u shud be thanking God 4 d grace to witness this great occurence..Stop being vain ok?

Anonymous 10.39PM,ur senseless,of all the things u can get from the story,its just d private lunch that caught ur attention. Whts d enjoyment there,am sure u go to one of theses churches where ur pastors buy private jets like pure water yet u think having lunch is enjoyment.

jahzmene said...

Tooooor...we aff hear,dey prayd 2geda,had lunch 2geda..ehen?did it bring world peace or stop all d vices in d world,so wats rare abt it?all o'ya all beta start stop all dese n stop hyping popes wey we no know wetin dey unda dia papal robes......

Beautiful sight.

Shatap dere! Na only wordly things dey interest U!

Dio vi benedica, i papa Francesco e Benedetto. Il vive.

wow!! Dis is a lovely sight,got goose pimples just looking at dis pics, dis is heavenly, God will bless n give u d strenght to carry us along....

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

You fucking twats; I'm a catholic.

Curse you for making me swear!

SUNSHINE said...

HOLY SEE – In a shocking press conference Sunday, Pope Benedict XVI revealed to the world that he will be stepping down from the Catholic Church’s highest office. “Through prayer and reflection over the past years,” the world’s holiest man began, “I’ve realized that Allah is the one true God.”
Amid clattering camera shutters and roaring reporters, Pope Benedict patiently answered questions, citing traditional Muslim folklore as well as passages from the Qur’an to explain his decision. His session was interrupted only once, when he swiveled South-East to face Mecca, stooped to the ground, and recited the Asr, one of the five daily prayers central to Muslim belief.
The startling reversal comes as a shock to many familiar with the Pope’s policieson Islam. “Show me just what Muhammad brought that was new and there you will find things only evil and inhuman, such as his command to spread by the sword the faith he preached,” the Bishop of the Vatican famously said of Islam in his 2006 lecture Faith, Reason and the University—Memories and Reflections .
When asked about the quote, Pope Benedict sighed with good-humored remorse and chuckled quietly to himself: “Yeah I’ve regretted that for some time. But I was young and naïve… I see things much clearer now. Besides, I’ve always kinda liked the thought of having a sword. The Cardinals were a real pain on that one.”
When asked whether he would be reverting to his born name, Pope Benedict enthusiastically interjected. “I’ve decided to change my name to Sajjad Sayyid Ratzinger,” His Ex-Holiness explained. “I’m keeping my surname purely for logistical reasons, so my Facebook friends and Twitter followers won’t be confused.”
His transition hasn’t been without opposition. Hours after the press conference, a special Fox and Friends segment aired on FOXNEWS, featuring a picture of the Pope photoshopped to include stereotypical Islāmic features, including: a turban in place of his mitre, darkened complexion, black hair, and Arabic letters spelling out an endorsement of Barack Hussein Obama tattooed across his chest. Beneath the picture, the panel discussed the possible involvement of Pope Benedict XVI, 85, in 9/11. The segment’s title, “The Holy Heathen,” emblazoned the lower left corner of the screen.
This morning, newspapers nationwide featured an editorial by Bill O’Reilly detailing the parallels between the Pope’s “betrayal of God-loving Christians everywhere” with the “betrayal of the American people and the Constitution by Benedict Arnold, his liberal agenda, and his radical left-wing entourage.”

Linda, you forgot to post this. Been hearing this everywhere then i decided to google it.

Lovely sight may God strengthen pope Francis to his call. I am so proub to be catholic

God bless d papas

I so luv d sight its ecstatically extra terresterial and almost heavenly.God bless d One,Holy,Catholic and Apostolic church.may this earthly pilgrimage unite us all wit Christ in d heavenly paradiso.

Comment on point #thatsall

I have seen that some pple come to this blog to show off their insanity and blaspheming.Well,you will account for all the idle words.God may you make me humble like pope francis and use his Holiness to bring peace and harmony to the world.Amen

Right, and y'all worship Mary, right?

Emmalux said...

As much as I dnt like criticising religion or denominations, d truth has 2 be spolen sometimes. There are a lot of tins to be amended in d catholic doctrines. E.g, sprinkling of water, burning of incense, worshipping of Mary, carrying d cross wit Jesus Christ still on it even afta we all knw dat he was buried and rose againn hw is he still in d cross? Atleast the priests shud be allowed to get married to stop various sexual scandals over d country. D catholic church isn't wat it used 2 be of old.

barbie jagz said...

Acutally pj, catholcs always preach humility, ur catholic? Act catholic, dumb isn't catholic

barbie jagz said...

One word #dumbass

Wats up wit d pope iss.u catholics re so traped in d old testerments.church na church and we serve 1 God or d devil so dnt give me dat crap about cat is still d no 1.if so den u guys re d only 1s makin heaven.so pls let's hear.no 1 is holy but we try 2 b.so far u re in dis world u can commit sin either by hearin or tinkin or even cin so pls let hear.if u go hell sef u fit c bishops, pastors and even popes and u will b wondering so jst serve ur God d 1 true God wit all ur hrt and stop speakin 4 anybody.

Yh
I feel it too
***JANTA***

Hahahahahah
Prince J has been humbled o
Hahahahhahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahhahahaha
***JANTA***

People will continue to persecute the catholic church and pope but the more they do so the stronger the church gets. Persecutors pls just give up for once because God is solidly preserving his church and the gate of hell can never prevail.

Anon 12:54, pls set your facts right before you make stupid assumptions. Dunno where pple still get the impression that Catholics worship Mary. I'm definitely not going to lecture you on our doctrine cos u're not worth my precious time.
So, stfu if you don't know what to say other than going about talking trash about the Catholic church. Nonsense!!! Hypocrites!!!

Paschal O. said...

The Fisherman's Ring is only on one of them. They are not two popes, Linda. One is, the other is Pope Emeritus. However, the sight is something not seen for over 600 years...about 6 generations!!! Wow!

Jah wateva, you must be a stupid a**hole to vomit such rubbish from your mouth. Inshort, God will judge you for speaking such blasphemy.

We don't worship her,we adore her! Catholics don't critise other churchs,d way u guys critise us. U shuld b workin towards makin heaven dan condemnin ur soul,d way ur doin now! Oloshi

Hahahahaha....
People are their make up stories!
Mtcheww...
Smh.... That is absolutely impossible.

Blogs ar not 4 kids pls, anon 12:54, kindly go back 2 ur cereals drinking ok. Ur comment is so lame & myopic dat it sold u out.

Celebrity World said...

NICE ONE,GOD BE WITH THEM(AMEN)

we honour mary 4 giving birth to such a great man, we have never worshipped her.

Lols. U seeing dble Linda. Former pope Benedict ceased 2 b Pope b4 pope Francis was elected... Rember?

Amaka said...

@Tolu- if u r dis gud with google,why didn't u go to fox news website to get the link for d said news for us?? Really,being gullible is not gOod, an account like u 'researched' existed and CNN,Alj et al didn't televise it for 3 consecutive days?

Yeah, they worship mary and also forget that the pope is human like themselves!

There is alway a first time for everything...

So because its Pope,everybody is saying nice things but if its a Pastor there would be lot of issue,Hypocrite

Catholic church is 4 real n 4 ever.N mama Mary is my mother n a to every body. N I thank God 4 makin me a catholic

a bishop yrs bck wrote a book..in dat book he said a tym wil cum when a pope wil hand over d church 2 the illuminaty...the devil worshipers...I guess wat he said is cumin tru....

U're so dumb! And the pastors who get married do not have extra marital affair?!
If you have nothing to say just shut up!
Worshipping Mary, bla bla bla. Get your facts straight. Duh!!!

Soso said...

May God help us, no one knows the right or wrong church, just be 9c and do your best, be righteous so dt u won't miss heaven. Meanwhile, I'm proudly a Catholic. The pic is awesome!

Gozzy said...

lovely!!!

Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this amazing site needs a great deal more attention.
I'll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the advice!

my web site: click here