“EME is still my family”:The new Y! Mag speaks exclusively to Wizkid | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 18 March 2013

“EME is still my family”:The new Y! Mag speaks exclusively to Wizkid

The March 2013 issue of Y! magazine is out! This edition is covered by artiste and new record label owner Wizkid – in an interview by Adedoyin Jaiyesimi and photos by Kelechi Amadi-Obi. Wizkid is styled by Tiannah Styling’s Toyin Lawani.  

“As this magazine went to print, the rumours were just about confirmed in public and sources had certainly confirmed in private,” said Chude Jideonwo, its editor-in-chief. “The amazing talent powerhouse called Wizkid had aggressively parted ways with EME, the label powered by Banky W - interesting news in light of what he told us only weeks before.”

In the cover story titled ‘No kidding’, Wizkid speaks frankly about his background, the history of his music, the evolution of his sound and the people who have made him what he is now – including former manager Osagie Osarenkhoe and Empire Mates Entertainment boss Banky W.
 The shoot was anchored by the iconic Kelechi Amadi-Obi, with styling by Toyin Lawani of Tiannah Styling.

As always, Y! magazine – reputed as “high priest of the youth culture” – is a fine mishmash of the trending topics for young Nigerians; in lifestyle, pop culture, fashion and a journey through the issues.

There are interviews with Tinsel’s Linda Ejiofor, Moet Abebe, Seyi Shay, Uru Eke, Ms. Jaie and others. As well as ‘Generation to Generation’ conversation with former ministerial nominee and executive director of the Sahara Group, Tonye Cole.

In addition, the magazine presents its annual ‘New Establishment’ list, profiling the most promising young Nigerians across the world – under the age of 35.

“Wizkid is, ultimately, just one of 50 young people below 35 carefully selected by our team of curators,” Jideonwo said. “As always our New Establishment list profiles young people who aren’t red carpet fixtures or necessary celebrities, but who define the spirit of the age and are set to shine in 2013.

And don’t miss Y!’s annual Sexiest list! The 2013 list features Africa’s Sexiest Man Alive and Africa’s Sexiest Women Alive – and the editors have a blast thinking and talking through bodies, torsos and all that beauty!

Y! is available in stores and from vendors across the country. It is also available at all House of Tara Stores in Lagos, Abuja, Ilorin, Port-Harcourt, Benin, Kano, Ibadan and Kaduna and with Y! campus representatives in 19 states.

You can also pay for the magazine with your mobile phone and have it delivered to you at no extra charge.

More information is available on www.ynaija.com/magazine or via Twitter on @YNaijaMagazine.

HOW TO PAY WITH YOUR PHONE AND HAVE IT DELIVERED TO YOU AT NO EXTRA COST

1. Go to www.pocketmoni.com and download ‘Pocket Moni’.

2. Click on the ‘Send Money’ option and enter our phone number, 08173000001, and then enter the amount you want to pay us.

3. You will be prompted to enter your pin, which would have been given to you on registering for the app, and click ‘Send’. The transaction is instant; the money will be debited and we will receive an alert immediately.

4. Or you can click the ‘Bank Account’ option. Put in our bank details Ecobank 0052126539 and our phone number 08173000001.

5. We will have the magazine delivered to you in Lagos at no extra cost! (Out-of-Lagos deliveries will include postal charges)

38 comments:

Whether with EME or not, as long as WizKing still delivers dope music then it doesn't matter. Once you are blessed there ain't no stopping you! His dress sense is super fly here.

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

wizkid go international!!! More money and recognition for your caliber!

Tee B said...

Una don hear? they are not beefing o.

*drops mic*

Meet the Abuja Club where members pay N100,000 for adultery

This is confusing! Is he still in E.M.E or not?? (o.O)?!

naija music industtry doesnt gat no story again. same story everyday ...... nothing interesting mtcheeewww. sick.

Wow! Wishing him a sucessful life outside Eme.

Chief Swiss Money said...

Star Boy I C You. The Money Wen Banky Don Make for your head alone Go don Reach 200 Million Naira. So make Banky Go Look Bush....

olivia said...

Well,gud luck dude

Awww! I wish him d very best,will always be team Wizzy.

SENATOR BREEZE said...

Sounds like an interesting magazine....how far wizzy? Showapa? I lorph ur spectaku!# jelili's voice#.

Lmao. See catchy Headline wey linda use instead na Y!Mag advert she throw for us. We don hear, I'll get a copy.

Queenie said...

*on

1 TIPS FOR A FLAT BELLY CLICK HERE said...

life must go on

Wizking jux kip droping dose dope tracks n u will always b ontop...

Gbabe said...

Who cares???

Wizking jux kip droping dose dope tracks for us...

U this retarded jobless kid,who told u wizzy hasn't gone Int'l? When he signed for Akons Convict Records wot wz that?

So Linda instead of givin us d full gist...u ar advertising d Mag for us to go buy and read eekwa?..*flips weave jor

Nice one Wizzy! We are solidly behind you as long as you know what you're doing.

#Team Wizzy-Wizzy!

Anon 4.51 what's up with the paranoia... Did prince jobless mention your name? Ugh..you people and your insults just disgust me...

Funny

No be fight o. He is not paying u commission to be his defender

@ anon 4:51,what is your own with PJ?!I don't always agree with his racist remarks but this your rant was totally uncalled for.let's try to only blast him when he says something that is actualy retarded.

Linda!u sha..#phew# dis is fraud and dupery..lol :),u use whizkid take draw us in,meanwhile,na dat magazine u dey advertise,I see u,tuale mama! ;)

SOULJACHIC said...

All of you hating on this prince jobless kid should take a chill pill. Yeah, I agree that he can be totally annoying sometimes but that still doesn't warrant all the hateful and spiteful comments. Besides, his comments can be really hilarious at times. From experience, I can boldly tell you that HATERS are sad pathetic jealous people who suffer from low self esteem issues.

Wizkid, I'm impressed by your maturity. That stupid banky W tried to defame your character but you played it cool.

QUEEN CHIOMA EZENWA said...

Ur right......Gbam

=)) .•´¨)
¸.•´ ¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸¸.•´(¸.•´(¸.• =)) нεнεнεнεнε=D =)) :D. @4:51,dnt kill me with laughter abeg! I like d way u guys give it to this mumu Amobi guy(yea,yea,I know u say dats not ur name but I have decided dat name fits u).. The mumu dat says black people have black heart,ode! Like ur father is white

mtsewwww why the advert?

prince JOBLESS & prince charming...una no dey tire? O boy na wa 4 una oh!

Queenie said...

LMSAO!so u guys'll see that Linda is funny.I posted a comment,made and corrected a mistake,she decides to upload the correction and not the comment.If u so desire,dnt post this...let's see how it turns to mony for u!

I thought this was about wizkid and not some Mag Advert# sighs

Pretty Girl

missy said...

Nfcs does!lolz!!

Neni said...

Good talk, wizzy. Very diplomatic.

http://nenisnaija.blogspot.com/2013/03/bad-breath-try-this.html

As in! thot I was the one that felt you draw our attention with wizkid and EME then u cum and give us download uf hw many pages are in the magazine! Hayor

Wizking ko Wiz Khalifa ni.

Doggy

Anon 7:03!!! U really cracked me up with d Amobi joke Anyways he's a confused child? Black ppl black heart? Spoken like a true saboteur slave. Isn't ur ass blk PJ? Have u ever hurd Obama as white as he looks call himself white?

--Teeteelahyo--

God punish you prince jobless

emrmarketing said...

STARBOOOOY!!!!!!!!