"I have been suffering menstrual pains since age 13' - Nike Oshinowo opens up about her battle with Endometriosis | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 March 2013

"I have been suffering menstrual pains since age 13' - Nike Oshinowo opens up about her battle with Endometriosis

Endometriosis is painful disorder in which the tissue that lines the uterus grows outside of the uterus and on other organs. Endometriosis can cause pain, internal scar tissue and fertility problems and former beauty queen Nike Oshinowo has been battling with it for over 33 years. Nike explains:
"I have lived with Endometriosis since the age of 13. I went to boarding school in England  when I was 7. I went to prep school. It was during the first few days in secondary school that I began my periods. They called the ambulance and I was hospitalized for 10 days because the pain wouldn't stop. The pain was so intense I passed out. I thought I was going to die.
Living with Endometriosis is a challenge. When you see your doctor, your doctor tries to treat the symptoms and assumes the pain revolves around your menstrual circle. But this is not so. The pain affects every single aspect of your life. I have never had an examination without my period. There are so many things I have never done without my period. When I am happy, my period comes. When I'm depressed, my period is there. I learned to just cope with it. 
She explains more about the disease. See it after the cut...

Until I turned 40, Nigerians didn't know I suffered from Endometriosis. I granted an interview then and people understood why I never drank alcohol and why I was into healthy living. At last, it was understood why if I come to your party, by 8pm I had to go home to take my pain killers because when you live with Endometriosis, you live with pain. I have a library in my home about pain.

I talk about this pain now so that mothers, when their young daughters are starting their period for the first time and it is traumatic, they should go to the hospital and have it checked out.

Mine was left so late in life in spite of the fact that I grew up in England. I have had so many surgeries I have lost count. I remember when Michael Jackson died and they talked about a drug he had been taking. I exclaimed oh yes I have taken that drug. You try everything to make the pain go away, so all I know is that I don't want a child of mine to suffer Endometriosis. The only way to make sure of that is to educate as many as I can.

One ignorant doctor told me once to try to have a baby, because once you have a baby the pain would go away. I thought to myself if I had a gun, I would have shot that doctor and I would have been locked and there would have been no one to give me pain killers. The reason for that relief is that when you are pregnant, you don't have periods and a long gap of not menstruating actually abates the symptoms of Endometriosis.

Women with Endometriosis do not want to have sex because it is painful. So you do not want to have intercourse once and it is painful, you will not want to go there. It is not something you are going to look forward to. You are either bleeding or you do not want. So, on the average, my friend's period is 5 days, mine, if I'm lucky lasts 7-10 days and if I'm super duper lucky, lasts less than 7 days. If you look at a girl's circle, 26-27 days, remove the days she's been menstruating and remove the days she doesn't want, when she had premenstrual tension. When every part of you is sore, on those days you are not going to want and even on the remaining 5 or so days that you are OK, you are not going to want to have intercourse it is going to be painful. You just don't want to, so you cannot have a proper relationship with men.

Endometriosis is a disease. You are not supposed to have endometrial tissue in your abdomen. Surgery removes it. But the moment you menstruate, the pain comes back. My understanding is that I have a uterus, every woman does. Something lines it. Just like when you want to bake, you line your pan with baking paper. That baking paper or lining is the endometrial tissues. But mine isn't just confined to my uterus. It's in my fallopian tube, it's every where. Everywhere this tissue is, when you menstruate, that tissue will be doing the same thing. and you feel pain everywhere. Anywhere that tissue is, it behaves as if it is the uterus. The purpose of menstruating is to shed the lining and come out. I know someone who has endometrial tissue in her gut. Even in the brain. When you menstruate, it also menstruates and you feel pain there.

I am almost 47 and I am looking forward to menopause. People like us look forward to it because it give us a breather. I have finally learned how to cope with the pain, how to live with it and how to manage it. It takes up a huge amount of my time and life...

It's a very very long interview, but I will stop here. I'm dizzy from typing...:-)

247 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 247 of 247

This woman is a terrible attention seeker. Yes endometriosis is no joke, but she makes out like it has crippled her life to a large degree, but you and i know that she has a long track record with men, waay longer than people who dont have the issue and enjoy sex,. please pack somewhere aunty Nike and stop trying to garner sympathy.

Omg. Sounds so painful. I just researched it. Thank u for speaking out. Ure a hero to bear this. God bless u.

D fact dat she marry a married man does nt make her a bitch nd neither does it make u any better than her,let's us watch our words b/4 pouring dem out.

If you don't know what endometriosis is and have never experienced it, please don't judge Nike. I've had laser several times and it sometimes can make it worse. I almost died getting pregnant with it and had to be on 9 months bed rest.

It's not something you wish on anyone you know so be careful not to spit better words on others. Emergency room trips and examination with pain while on your cycle is not the best.

I can only pray a cure is found someday in the near future. I'm glad someone is educating younger women so they take precaution.

Thanks for posting, Linda!

Just wish u r a lady nd go thru d pain nt havin a child,perhaps u'll undtsd bt never the less"wot goes around comes around"

It's nt normal. Go 4 a hormonal test i.e. If the milk comes out during ur ovulation. It has sometin to do wit infertility. It can be corrected

@anon 10:44, take it easy... She's not a bastard!!! I feel awful about nike's painful life... But the truth remains, how can someone who goes tru constant pain literally wreck another's home...... Yes Dr sholeye wooed her, but pls!! She knows better.. The fact pple feel bad about her cause doesn't mean others will. U've to learn to be open minded reading pple's comments and understanding points.... I jus hope nike reads all of the comments up here, and seats down and jus think about it. For instance, nike I plead with u to pls adopt a child atleast... Urs culd still come no doubt but u're close to 50, u said 47 someone here said 49. Whichever, u're almost 50... What u leave behind at the end is all that matters, exercise DVD's and red carpet pictures are NOT enough..... Pple adopt everyday! Its not a crime, except you jus don't want to be responsible. Where do you work? U can make out time for an adoption... I love u either ways tho' XO

Omg! I love u for this pj. I swear uve earned my respect!

Word!!!!!! Gbam!!! Everything!!! Gbosa!!!!

I come here to do one thing...read pj's comments...linda biko give pj an award for this cmment...ada

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Guy u no get work?

Seriously Linda, how can you put a STOP to this madness between PJ and your readers? This one he chipped in suicide in his "essay" I don't want anyone to commit suicide o. Please be careful with the kind of comnents you accept. PJ is a great reader to ur blog. I wouldnt wanna hear stories. Not everyone is hardstick like you. I can see the ngative comments about him is starting to weigh him down

God are u sure my girl-friend dont have it coz this woman's complain sound like her. And i love her to pieces, God of Heaven please let it be false, coz u are stopping me from fucking for so long, and i LOVE my bbe o, i want her to be the mother of my kids when i grow up.

Please God, abeg God. let my thinking be very very very wrong.

I'm sorry o, but I'm not doing the eyahs yet. To a woman who said yuck on moments to mo to having a male child....she's just a weird woman nd her gist is everywhere including london...

Miami said...

I used to have terrible cramps in high school. Continued all the way to my Uni days, until I lost my virginity. after which the cramps reduced. Well, I guess I was lucky....... Strange.....

I am loving u by d second. Hugs n kisses boo. Thanks 4 d word.

Why does she look like she did a facial surgery? Her cheekbones look misplaced #JustSaying.
All d same, it is well ma!

Hey dear.. Menstral pain and Endometriosis are not d same.. Guess dats y she's stil aving d pains

She had endometriosis. Yours was plain old dysmenorrhoea that most women have.
U can chop the mic since your statement is completely irrelevant.

CORRRRRECT!

You and that ignorant doc sshould shut up.
My aunt suffers from endotromesis. It's really bad n she .ca.nt have kids

Endometriosis for Some women, and unfortunately for her too, leads to constant pain and infertility. Or didn't you understand the post? I'm a gynaecologist and I've seen women with worse and they even needed hysterectomies to solve the problem

Adenine looooooooool pls instead of looking forward to menopause , start praying now that with ur remaning 3 yrs left God shud bless you with a child from a single guy ooooooo. You an African woman suck up the pain my friend and have sex. The pain that didn't kill you for 37yr shouldn't stop you from having sex intercourse
Am just sorry for the baby you go abduct , that is if you have sense to do so because you not a good role model at all

Bloglord,why r u this stupid? Menstrual pain and endometriosis are two different things.I know you are a house wife stop showing your daftness on here. It's one of the major x causes of infertility in women. Nobody cares if u got married n had kids. The pain is different. Read people's comments, you will learn that some of them have fertility issues
Please have sense.

zsa zsa said...

Some people are just one-track-minded....
All of you telling Nike to go and give birth...
so you had the same condition, then had kids and the pain disappeared. SO for this reason this must be the case with everybody right??

I have always had bad cramps...i had a baby and STILL have the cramps, though not as bad as before but still painful enough to pop a number of pills the first 2 days.

Be reasonable and not so judgmental and narrow minded!!

No it is not. Google it and go see a credible doctor. God be with you.

It does cease after childbirth. You are the ignorant one here.

Pele. Check out symptoms of fibroids and also get a second opinion from another hospital or doctor. Sudden change in your circle means something is changing internally.

I hope she reads this cos bloglord just confirmed what the doctor told her,maybe she shud try give birth to one na,I feel so sorry for her mehn,linda abeg get the message to her.chaiiiii jesus christ,now I respect women more!!!!!

Nike, ur Doc is right Vaginal childbirth decreases recurrence of endometriosis. In contrast, endometriosis recurrence rates have been shown to be higher in women who have not given birth vaginally such as in Cesarean section

my elder sis had Endometriosis (i think. she cry in pain when on her period. she lives in US and married with 2 kids(teens) but the pain did go away. 2 years ago when visit her gynae for solution. she was given two options 1) reduce the size of her womb with 50% chances the pain will go away or 2) remove her womb. she had her kids early in marriage but after the 2 kids, she cudnt conceive again... as a result she opted to the womb removal and the pain gone; no more menstruation. ***Floetry in Motion**

Is this article new? cos I read this exact story over 4yrs ago

She is a courageous woman. Having suffered for so long and endured spiteful comments, I now understand why her marriage ended. I hope all haters on the blog will leave her in peace now that she has clarified a few mysteries.

wow!thats why you cant judge people cos you dont know what they are going through.for the records this disease is a thousand times more painful than menstural pain

You all must be reeeeeaaaalllllyyyy slow if u can't see dis woman's intent. She's using dis pathetic lie lie story as a kick off for an ngo! It's all for the bigger picture (donations from foreign foundations and the UN) u pple are so slow!! I can't believe most of u believed this crap.

There arе а vaгietу of faсtors whу
рerѕοns рrefer this belt.

Feel frеe to suгf to my wеbpage :: www.squidoo.com/flex-belt-review-and-discount

Prince Jobless, either come out or simply shut up! Rude twat!

All you Nigerians posting this lame comments about her life and other inrrelevant things to this particular story.

Please, think and re-think before posting comments. Its really worrisome to see some of this comments

Kudos to Nike for sensitizing people about endometriosis. I was diagnosed with the same condition in my first year in Uni. Fast forward 16 years later,3 surgeries,1 failed IVF attempt, I still suffer pain every month and praying to God for Children.

I admire Nike for her strength in the face of the pain. Rather than criticize each other and player hate, us women ought to love and support one another. I don't know what I would have done without my friends through it all.

what people go through! who would have thought that behind that lovely face lies deep pain! to think that a lot of people envy this gorgeous woman

Anon March 27, 2013 at 10:43 AM; gbam. Nike is a fraud. Dodgy as hell. No more money and now she wants to use this as a scam. Someone that sold her womb. Doctors will tell you this ailment can be well managed.

Ngo... said...

Nike, nobody is judging you for not having kids... that's up to you. I'm judging you because you're a home-wrecking ho'. Das all!!

Judging from the comments, people have bought your story and they now pity you. Good for you...

As for me, I hope the linings of all your internal organs start to rot till you learn to NOT MARRY ANOTHER WOMAN'S HUSBAND!!!

JoblessSlayer said...

WoW are you really this self centered??
its not about you son!
Go away

Pple re so mean. A woman pours ha heart out n u guys bad mouth ha..... See why Nigeria will never move forward? Show empathy cos it coulda been uu by d way been nice never killed anyone

Nigerians!must you make a comment?shut up if you have nothing good to say,what would she gain from lieing?
There are different forms of menstrual pain..having Endometriosis or Adenomyosis is the worst type of menstraul pain anyone can experience.i have had this for 13years and i can comfortably say shes right in all she has said..except for the fact about the pain dissappearing after child birth which alot of doctors have assured me both in the united kingdom and Nigeria.
God help me!cant wait for this!

Somebody necessarily assist to make severely posts I would state.
That is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now?
I amazed with the research you made to make this particular put up amazing.
Magnificent task!|

my blog post - web site ()

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 247 of 247   Newer› Newest»