The six-year single tenure bill | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 27 July 2011

The six-year single tenure bill

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan on yesterday evening announced that he will send a Constitution amendment Bill to the National Assembly that will provide a six-year single tenure for the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Governors of the 36 states of the Federation.

What's your thoughts on a six-year single tenure; Good or bad for us?

27 comments:

davies said...

well if only if they will abide by the rule of single six year..............not changing later

Enigma said...

Absolutely good. I'd have preferred 5 years!!!

it makes more sense rule for six years pack your bag and go....

kunle said...

It is d best!

Why is this the biggest thing for or dear president @ a time like this when there are more pressing matters in the country. Why is tenure elongation the FIRST bill to be passed if not for selfish reasons? Do pple realise Jonathan is not to be trusted because he does not keep to his word(look at how he went against his words to pdp) so definitely he WILL beniefit from it and ofcos it will not be a single tenure.
Also has anyone considered the fact that this will encourage more courruption and money laundering and those who are not 'in the know' will want to launder as much as they can in that one tenure knowing they are not coming back,you can take Akala for example.

Im not convinced this is bn done for the good of the nation rather for selfish reasons as usual. I looks good on paper but when u think of it proper and in the Nigerian political way of thinking u'll see it's not that good an idea.

BUT MORE IMPORTANT WHY IS THIS THE FIRST BILL TO BE PASSED??? IT COULD HAVE WAITED A LITTLE LONGER

14ME said...

It make sense ooo but it has its own advantage and disadvantage

Lol @ proposal. Who benefits, Jonathan. Is this bill going to pass, probably not, but GEJ comes out smelling like Roses.

dada said...

as long as goodluck is the president, it don't make any dam sense. the dude is incompetent for the nigeria we have today. we need someone with a hard hand, someone that is not just the face of the presidency. the only reason he is doin this is because he knows that you can't vote for him again after four years because he hasn't done nothing to improve the state of this nation. i would even have preferred obasanjo havin third term than one term to this jonathan. leave it as it is...campaign after four years. don't be scared, if you are that great, you will be voted in again...

dada said...

6 year term... coming from a man who said we wud have 24 hour electricity in april 2011... but is best friends with otedola the diesel magnate... wonder how that would work... rubbish.

chizzy jeremiah said...

this is surprising to me,i fell GEJ shld look more into pressing issues dan this elongation of term for president nd governors,to me ooooooooo it does not make sense at all

ehen...? na im be say power go soon reach me. so in 12 yrs, 2 pple don do go instead of 16. by my calculation, 2023 na my year be dat to be presido of naija.

tap!! tap!!. wake up boy. u dey dream.
stretch...ehh. na true o. na dream.

but seriously, 2023 is my turn. watch out.

mariamah said...

Just an excuse to stey longer, and the guy is soo incompetent.

nich.. said...

fooolish country...foolish president.....linda sorry for u people

Adebola said...

There should be a National Referendum to determine that. And not his corrupt cabinet. It is also obvious its for a very selfish reason, Jonathan knows he only has one term, and now he seeks to extend it. This are things that leads to revolution but again its Nigeria and our leaders know they can get away with anything. He has promised so much, especially with regards to electricity and months on Nothing, soon months will turn to years and its still the same story. He has done nothing so far, and given him six years am afraid wont change much. Let Nigeria decide that, not National assembly.

CLF said...

Off all the comments i've read in the dailies, i like the most;

"While a single term may seem plausible, my worry is that the beneficiaries may act with impunity and become lords unto themselves since they wouldn't need to present their report cards to the electorates for re-election."

IMO, it will lead to perpetration in power and there will be more “do or die politics” than there is now.

Reuben Abati's denial?

why can't it be just 5yrs. greedy people. mshwee!

Cannime said...

Single term is perfect! All that 8years in the hands of band leadership is enough... not like a change promises a better leader anyways.. God help naija

is that the problem in nigeria now...yea right as if they will abide by the law they create for themselves...abeg do what u can now and leave later alone....

Arguments for and against abound. However,it just isn't our priority right now.

is that the problem in nigeria now...yea right as if they will abide by the law they create for themselves...abeg do what u can now and leave later alone....

For all of you who like the idea, I'm assuming you imagine that any sitting president would automatically get a second term? If not, why would six years be better than four? And if we expect every president to be relected for a second term, it bags the question of if we really have democracy.

When a president can be reelected without accomplishing ONE thing, how do citizens vote him back in?

Personally, I don't see it as a good thing because I have seen countless politicians renege on commitments right after being elected. I'd imagine this "single" term (BTW did I miss where it explicitly states it's a six-year single term?)bill would be amended by the fourth year in office. What's there to hope for in Nigeria? SMH.

our president is looking older o

Miss B said...

I'm appalled by some of the comments supporting the 5 year bill. All civilized countries have a 4 year tenure with the ability to be voted in again based on your performance...why should Nigeria, a 3rd world country with a history of soo much corruption want to vote in 5yr tenures? If after 4 years, we are impressed with your work, we will vote you in for another 4....thats how it should be...based on merit and hardwork. Smart people learn from the mistakes of others and improve on their lives...but NO not Nigerians!

WHat has this man done? With all the chaos going on now his first priority is to elongate his tenure. Four years single term is even too much...pple dying everyday, crime increasing, while others are stealing the wealth of a nation for their families and we should vote in a 5yr bill...ARANT NONSENSE!

Wake the hell up and see that this country is gradually moving to wards a monarchy. If GEJ actually had good intentions for his country, he would have sorted out the Boko Haram situation, taken care of the people in Jos, sorted out the electricity issue...hell just do something and we would consider voting him back. The idiot is busy encouraging the sharing of oil blocks as gifts to his friends and cabinet nominees....Oil blocks for goodness sake...belongs to the country and not freaking individuals! Look at Fashola of Lagos State...he won the elections fair and square because he DID things we an see....no one is saying he is a saint but he is a real politician....deliver and win the confidence of the people.

Nigerians should understand that in order to be a leader, you have to be able to serve people....politicians ARE public servants and their job is to represent the best interest of the masses. Thus far, GEJ or his cabinet/pple have not made any decision that will benefit the pple.

GEJ is a disgrace and a nuisance and he is dull as hell...PhD or not...he does not have the brains of a business man and a disciplinarian which is what we need to move this country forward. Since he came into power, he has made soooo many mistakes and political blunders that would have been frowned on in civilized countries but we Nigerians are so used to applauding mediocrity, we r even considering elongating his tenure....do the work first!!! #UTTERFAIL

Allibee said...

all of u shouting here should realize that if and when this bill is passed, it will only be enacted in 2015, thus it will not benefit him as his tenure will have ended by then. I think a year bill will be a good thing in the long run because it solves the problem of people holding on to power for extended periods of time. especially the governors..like dat Orji Uzor Kalu who even had the nerve to name abia state house in ABJ the Orji Uzor Kalu house. like the state is his father's own!..its cos they can be in power for such long periods of time. a six year or 5 year single term might help curb this problem!

Umaru Yar'Adua said...

GEJ is Hopeless worst LEADER EVER..HE DOESNT EVEN CARE ABOUT ANYTHING.ALL HE CARES ABOUT IS LOOTING THE NATIONAL TREASURY..BIG NOSED FOOL.THERE ARE OTHER PRESSING ISSUES AND HE IS FOCUSED ON TENURE ELONGATION..WAT A FOOL.
I UMARU YARADUA JUST ROLLED OVER IN MY COFFIN..N IM SPITTING IN DISGUST

CooLKid said...

A major disadvantage I see with this bill passing is elimination of motivation to do even a little bit of good.

At the moment, most leaders waste away their tenures but for the sake of re-election, they do a few things to excite the electorate but without the possibility of a second term, what's to stop them from wasting the resources and even degrading the standards of living?