Tuface, D'Banj Win BET Awards | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 27 June 2011

Tuface, D'Banj Win BET Awards

2face, Terrence J and D'banj at the BET pre-party
The BET Awards took place last night at the Shrine Auditorium in LA and Nigeria's Tuface Idibia and D'Banj won Best International Act For Africa. It was a tie between them. Other nominees for the category were: Fally Ipupa (Congo DR)  D-Black (Ghana), Angelique Kidjo (Benin), and Teargas (South Africa).
Big congrats to them. But why a tie? Why not one or the other? What do you guys think of this?

Continue to see the full list of  winners at the awards...

Best Male R&B Artist - Chris Brown
Best Group - Diddy Dirty Money
Best Female Hip Hop Artist - Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip Hop Artist - Kanye West

Best Collaboration - Chris Brown ft. Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes, “Look At Me Now”
Best New Artist - Wiz Khalifa
YoungStars Award - Jaden Smith/Willow Smith – Tie
Best Gospel - Mary Mary
Centric Award - Marsha Ambrosius
Best International Act (Africa) -2Face Idibia (Nigeria), D’ Banj (Nigeria) - Tie

Best International Act (UK) - Tinie Tempah
Best Actress - Taraji P. Henson
Best Actor - Idris Elba

Best Movie - For Colored Girls
Sportswoman of the Year - Serena Williams
Sportsman of the Year - Michael Vick
Viewers Choice Award - Chris Brown – Look at Me Now
Lifetime Achievement Award - Patti LaBelle
Humanitarian Awards - Steve Harvey

20 comments:

Wale Abbey Bab's said...

I know they are going to make it, Congratulations for not bringing shame to your FANS.

Dbanj...whts with the fist? Na fight?

lol at "na fight?" hahaha.
YES, NAIJA FOR LIFE BABY! a tie between two Nigerians, it can't get any better than that.

Dbanj de vex y 2face tie am

Nigerian reali doin it big wit the whole music thingy...tinie tempah Nigerian as well, so we took all the international awards Nice!!!

Ch5335ng said...

I think they both deserved to win something. There was probably just one award for Africa so they spilt it. Not bad though..

grace said...

yay so happy! its good that it is a tie :) 2face and dbanj always making us proud!!! i am proudly nigerian! :)

hot N cold said...

This is good news. I was actually wondering who was going to win the award as both of them are real good. Not surprised it was a tie. Congratulations! Love 'em!!!
Linda, it was a tie for the Smiths as well.

I watched the BET awards yesterday and I know the international act was never mentioned. Please correct me if I am wrong. Do you think this is just properganda?

Allegra said...

Good for them. Lose the sun glasses 2face.........this is so ghetto.

Bee said...

Naija no dey carry last....Tinie Tempah good job oh as long as you remember say u be naija boy :)

NICH said...

linda ca't you people all see that something is wrong somewhere....they did not televise it...the second time in a roll....

why did they treat africans this way.....EUROPEANS MAY ACCEPT AFRICA (MOBO WARDS) BUT NOT AFRICAN AMERICAS....

THIS IS A SHAME

There's no conspiracy people...Calm down. BET didn't air the Sportsman, Sportswoman or Best International Act(UK) either. That's just how they choose to do it.

i totally love that it was a tie, dbanj does not need more puffy headedness lolz

you dey think am? said...

check out dis blog: YOU DEY THINK AM?

its cool n will like it!

Femiluv said...

Fair that it's a tie

congrats to our very own stars

Nigerian Jobs said...

Congrats to our very own Naija stars

All these stars need to get a tan myn. They too dey bleach. See as Terrence face be. Hmm na wa oo.

PRETTY K!!! said...

Linda,that is so not Terence J. Howard in the Picture.Pls correct the caption.