Human trafficking: Immigration rescues 22 foreigners in A’Ibom | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 9 December 2010

Human trafficking: Immigration rescues 22 foreigners in A’Ibom

click to expand image
The rescued victims

The Nigeria Immigration Service, Akwa Ibom State Command, on Wednesday intercepted and rescued 22 foreigners, who were illegally trafficked into the country. The foreigners, who were intercepted at the Young Shall Grow Motor Park, Uyo, are 21 Togolese and one Ghanaian.

The Comptroller, Mr. Emmanuel Gbuuga, told journalists that one Solomon, a Lome-based Togolese, paid their transport fares from Lagos State to Oron, Akwa Ibom State, where one Kosbe, was to pick them in transit to Gabon.

He said all the trafficked victims were promised good jobs.

Gbuuga said Kosbe, who lives in Oron, disappeared when he heard that the victims had been intercepted by the command, adding that Solomon was also at large.

Among the Togolese are nine females whose ages range from 15 to 18 years, while there are 11 males between the ages of 18 and 38 years.

Source: Punch Newspaper

3 comments:

Honestly Linda, I think you need to do something about the background colour of your blog page... this white stuff is too sharp to the eyes. It's making visiting ur blog scary...I think I prefer the previous layout. Abi guys, what do you think?

Kai! dem don spoil show for some families that are looking forward to having maids this year & next year o!

Let the truth be told here,...they leave the real thing & chase after shadows!

p.s...i know some would begin to yarn OPATA about what do i mean?...b4 u do, pls tell me where do you think all the maids found in peoples' homes even including some of these our so-called-people-in-authority, & the rich? come from biko?..Does it make it right?, some would ask?..then i would answer, DOES ANYTHING SEEMS RIGHT IN THIS GOD-FORSAKEN COUNTRY OF OURS?

Linda, since there is so much complains about this new template, pls change it.tnx.

if a 38yr old man accepts the offer of a better paying job (even if it is as a male nanny), what is the biz of the so-called authorities in that one? abeg they should leave the man alone to choose how to spend the rest of his productive years jor!!