Omowunmi Akinnifesi's $150, 000 Dany Atrache diamond studded dress | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 28 November 2010

Omowunmi Akinnifesi's $150, 000 Dany Atrache diamond studded dress

This is what Ex beauty queen Omowunmi Akinnifesi wore to Nigeria's Next Super Model contest on Friday. A dress by French/Lebanese designer, Dany Atrache, valued at $150, 000. Dany Atrache was one of the designers who showcased at the modeling contest on Friday at Eko Hotel...his first visit to Africa.
The only thing more beautiful than Omowunmi's dress is Omowunmi's face.
Lovely!

I wanna sleep, this show is soo long..the French Embassy isn't making it better

26 comments:

wow!....stunning!...but whats the ruffled cape on her shoulder for?...the dress is beautiful on it's own without that.

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

how did she afford it? did he give it to her to wear for free? either way the dress is lovely and omowunmi is ever so cute (actually met her once..very nice girl..extremely cute and nice)

ugo said...

she looks beautiful, and the dress is very nice.
but i think it's sheer vanity.

she twitted $300,000

NINA said...

Ugo u are right the dress is nice...but the level of vanity being displayed not just from her...but numerous others is mind blogging..i personally think its in poor taste to discuss how much u spend on clothes and other worldly possessions..maybe its just me...i hate to think i will be like this if i was in nija..i really dont know

ogechukwu said...

fab dress but the ruffle is not working for me.am sorry!!!!!!!!!!!!

9jaLife said...

Lol @ 150k or is it 300k, heck she should even say its worth $1,000.000 if she wants.

Items are worth only what folks are willing to pay for them, and if one can get a one time original from the House of Dior, YSL, Givenchy, etc. for a fraction of the 150k, why would they drop such on a gaudy dress from a no name designer.

In other words, she needs to go on and sit somewhere with that BS...

Tims said...

err sorry to burst all y'all balloons but the way the fashion industry works is that new lines are launched by getting a celebrity who embodies their brand's identity to model their clothes/bags/shoes at a key event...so stop fretting, there was no need for her to AFFORD the dress :))

She twitted $300k and the story now is $150k. That dress is adorned with cubic zirconium and not diamonds. Whoever believes that $150K crap must be dumb. That dress is not more than $1k and even if the designers are looking for who to model a $150k dress, it wouldn't be her. Who do they expect to use her to capture in Nigeria?. Nigerians are not that rich and foolish.

Ok folks...slow your roll...breathe in, exhale...then say whooosa!

No she didn't buy the dress...not to belittle her, but her entire household, summed up put on the market does not add up to the $150K

the way the fashion industry works, designer find models to showcase their outstanding pieces....now this dude being a new name makes me doubt the dress is really worth that much. Trust me if it were, then the designer would have asked the likes of Naomi, Heidi Klum, even Agbani Darego to wear this dress ..not Omomuwni..i mean beyond the borders of Ghana, Seme and Nigeria, i don't think omowunmi has been heard of further than that...no that dress is not $150K, but lets kukuma play along as if it is jor :)

she look like an average pretty girl, nothing special!!1 whats the big fuss about then???

The dress doesn't suit her!

PennyGate said...

Well good for her, we all have our priorities and that was her's.... is it that no Nija designer can come up with such or even better outfit?

pinkielepa said...

muaah 2 u 4 kipin fashion alive.

pinkielepa said...

nice dress bu d ruffled part aint cool

did she finish Unilag? I heard she didn;t

i think they meant naira not dollars , d colur of d fabric is nice but d dress is wor wor....AS IN UUUUGGGGGLYYYYYY .....if i had $150K i can get at least 300 more breathtaking DESIGNER gowns/clothes wid dat money

May GOD HELP US FROM BEING RIPPED OFF IJN HABA

Abscloset said...

"No she didn't buy the dress...not to belittle her, but her entire household, summed up put on the market does not add up to the $150K"
What a ignorant statement. Like how much is $150k ?????
Smh instead of us to build our own ppl up we tear them down.
Omowumi looks Fab and is consistent!

doll (retired blogger) said...

looks nice on her..

Curious to know how she afforded it though

divalicious damie said...

nice question doll, biko linda ezigbo wanyi help us find out how she was able to buy a dress for N22, 5000,000. i had to do the calculation in naira..na wa o
Linda we shall be expecting the result of your investigation before the end of today o. Dalu
and really i dont see any thing breathtaking about the dress, infact linda's dress that she wore for the fashion model show was better..lol

Linda Ikeji said...

@divalicious dami darling, there's nothing to investigate...even if omowunmi had a million dollars u think she'd spend N22m on a dress? the designer gave it to her to wear for the night. it was returned after the show...it's done everywhere in the world...:-)

Domkatbali said...

But me like dis Omawunmi dress beta pass Linda own..no hatin abeg!

Hate me & Die..

its not even worth1000 naira. So i won't say she meant it in naira. it is an average dress.

WHO IS THE DESIGNER?? He is not big. I just googled him..KMT

Seun J said...

The designer must be a dreamer. $150K ko...