Topic of the day: Should a child be allowed to have "fashion choices"? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 August 2010

Topic of the day: Should a child be allowed to have "fashion choices"?

Shiloh in boys swim trunks

Angelina Jolie says her daughter Shiloh chooses her own boyish clothes and even cried over having long hair. Shiloh, 4, likes to dress like a boy.

Angelina Jolie on Shiloh and her "fashion choices"
“It’s not my choice. I have a very strong-willed four-year-old girl, who tells me what she wants to wear and I let her be who she is. I think people think kids should be a certain way, but I feel they should wear what they feel like wearing and they should express themselves. Shiloh cried one night and said, ‘Please cut my hair off. I don’t want to have long hair.’ I’m not going to leave it long because somebody thinks I should.”
Hmmmm, I see. So if a child wants to start wearing make-up, contact lenses and high heels at 4, you let them?

Shiloh and her older sister Zahara

I'm not a mother yet, but when I become one, I don't think I would indulge my four year old daughter's 'boyish' fashion choices. She's four, how do you know the type of haircut and clothes you want? That's my duty as a mum until the child grows to a certain age...say 18 10? Or maybe the best way to raise children is to let them express themselves and parents learning to adapt to what their children want?

What do you think? Please remember, the imperative word here is CHILD!
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

25 comments:

well i think angelina might be overdoing it a bit. it's hard raising a kid in front of the media but really i doubt the child can be that opinionated at her age. anyway she's likely to outgrow it with time. i also had my own boy clothes phase when i was little.

LisaLove said...

It's quite interesting to see how they dress both sisters. Zahara is uber girlie, while Shiloh is very boyish. I think at age 4 parents should have total control of what their children wear. What if their son wanted to wear a dress? I'm pretty sure they would be against it. Although boys clothes are somewhat unisex, I still think that parents should exercise caution in giving in to their child's "needs".

She can wear clothes for girls in combination with some boyish clothing. Mix and match. But to only dress her as a boy, ALL THE TIME, even permitting her NOT to wear a bathing suit, is a bit much.

Shola Adeyemi said...

Hmmm...
I'm not a mother yet, but when I do become a mother, I'll go by my bible which says we should train up a child in the way he/she should go so that when he/she is old he will not depart from it. The way a child ends up depends majorly on how he/she was brought up.
Mothers have to be careful oh! very careful...

Shiloh would soon say she wants to start smoking, going for parties and maybe even porn like our dear Montanna Fishburne.

Myne said...

Lisa love and shola have said it all..

Uche (@UcheAnne) said...

Ladies and gentlemen, we have another one in the making.

Mscheeeeeeeeeeew!

its not about letting your child wear what he/she wants, this child obviously has a gender identity problem, we should have known the brangelina family was a freakshow circus waiting to break out! they are obviously two deluded individuals they probably shouldnt be allowed to adopt anymore only God knows what goes on! this child is heading for a real psycological breakdown, no normal young girl wants to dress like a boy, and if she doesn you have to tell her why boys and girls are different, this is what happens when you let media drain you of common sense!!

watch her...15 years on Butch lesbian in the making

Shadenonconform said...

Sorry but does Shiloh have 1 parent? What does Brad have to say about this? Or is he no longer Shiloh's dad?

Dith said...

I give up on hollywood

Nonye said...

@Anonymous 5:07am, I totally agree with u!!! Tomorrow when this child would starts having feelings for same sex,she wld say she was wired that way! She shouldnt rape her sister Zahara o! since she has such a strong will to insist on how she shld dress she cld also insist that zahara is not her biological sister after all.....

chinwe said...

Nonye, na wa for this your analogy o. it's a bit disturbing

Dats a terrible thing to say Nonye.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

this child is a tomboy and she got it form her very tomboyish mother who is somewhat toned down now.

i am a tomboy and i had my phase of wearing boys clothes. my mother, bought me both boyish and girlish clothes and make me wear them both. now i'm older, i wear only female clothes but my interpretation is somewhat boyish unless i'm wearing a dress or skirt.

the issue with Angelina is balancing. she really doesn't know where to draw the line. it is obvious that she is clueless with how to go about this. she as a parent has to understand that her daughter is a tomboy i.e a girl with a man's brain...so she (Shiloh) would want to dress as her (Shiloh) mind tells her but as a four year old...she CLEARLY doesn't know anything which means that ANGELINA needs to be in charge of her (Shiloh) dressing.

being a tomboy isn't a bad thing. its just how you go about it besides, it has being proven scientifically that its from conception.

another thing, you can't force anybody to be girly-girl because if she doesn't dress like a boy; she definitely thinks and acts like one.

ChiChiLuv said...

@Nonye - abeg, this your expose don go far o chei!

I have said it before though not here in particular and I will say it again, this is another Chastity Bono aka Chaz Bono in the making.

Angelina is being over indulgent of this child, some girls can be tom boys when growing up and like to wear GIRL pants etc BUT to have my four year old tell me call her "john", wear her boys clothes, cut her hair, NOT IN MY HOUSE Little Girl! When you don finish school, get job, pack go your own house well then you can be whatever you want...who born you? CHEI!

histreasure said...

she's definitely overdoing it..setting that girl up for a lifetime with the therapists..what's a parent's job? so she would also feed her only Mcdonald's cos she doesn't like greens,abi?

and why doesnt she ever do something abt Zahara's hair..

NONYE I AM WITH YOU ON THIS!! NA TRUE NA? TOMORROW WHEN SHE'LL START HAVING SAME SEX FEELINGS THEY'D SAY SHE WAS WIRED THAT WAY...MCHEEW!

Angelina is confused, even with all the saving the world she's trying to do, she's still very lost. I feel sorry for people who don't have a mind of their own, but follow what celebrities say or do.

I believe in allowing your child to express him/herself but there's a cut off point. We parent are put in this world to lead our children in the right direction.

Some parent are too lenient on their children nowadays, let's just say their children is their boss. What kind of strong will does a 4yr old have that can't be corrected?

The Bible ain't never lie or wrong, so I am definitely going with what it says about training your child.

Femiluv said...

Time bomb waiting to explode!!

Web hosting is a server on serving and maintaining files after in unison or more network sites.
A web hosting checking is a personification of Internet hosting repair that longing assist an singular, house, school, government plan and more consider their website on the To the max Large Web.
[url=http://www.jkahosting.com]Web hosting [/url] companies contribute rank on a server on the side of take advantage of at near their clients as grandly as the internet accessibility required to fall on the web.
Sober-sided more powerful than the computer play is a innocuous medium in the course of the files and a immovable connection to the Internet.
There are innumerable divergent types of trap hosts, rule panels, operating systems, and options.
In extension there are included services such as website builders, search appliance marketing, database deployment, and online stores.
So how do you grasp what to exploit and who to take it from?
Since they are so uncountable options this can be confusing.
The prime thing you prerequisite to settle is if you want a Windows cobweb tummler or a linux web host.
Much of the time it does not substance though if you be undergoing specific software to play such as a shopping trolley or database pertinence this will-power be important.
It is best to find out cold from your software provider the requirements of the program.
Then you will need to make up one's mind on if you need a province repute and the amount of margin and bandwidth needed.
Diverse web hosting companies actually grant away empire names to changed customers so this may assist divert your business.
In addition scads net hosts also swap a huge amount of space and bandwidth in their hosting plans hoping you desire not truly needfulness it.
So at once that you be subjected to obvious on the operating technique and how much you scarcity at once let us look at the options.
A entirely popular chance is the abhor of a unfettered website builder. This can be grave if you get no or little experience with html programming. If you receive some experience and scorn a database you inclination then have occasion for to conclude how varied databases you require. Some hosts will-power give you unlimited databases and some direct blame per database. There are also profuse other freebies nearby such as spontaneous script (software) swearing-in, shopping carts, templates, search apparatus optimization benefit, vast discipline hosting and much more. Spam taboo is also an important spot you should expect from your host.
Now that you maintain found the options you are looking owing it is point to look as regards a host.
Wow! There are so many. A elementary search in search the period of time network entertainer will cast thousands of results. So who do you choose?
A trap master should always be present in lawsuit you demand assistance. At the least they should have in the offing a help desk and faq quarter in case you contain questions. If possible a phone several is also helpful. They should also take precautions a abstention server so your website is instantly detectable and not dull to view. In uniting they should provide no or extremely little downtime. This is when your website is not clear at all. In the long run your files should be in a established environment. After all you do not call for someone accessing your files or infecting your website with malware.
To conclude they are tons trap hosting options and hosts. It is leading to do your homework to put one's finger on the pre-eminent lone with a view your website.

Udegbunam Chukwudi said...

All the ladies here stressing like they know what he fuck it takes to be a mother. Make una go born una own train am how una want am. Na una carry the girl for 9 months? What rubbish!

Abeg free Angie jo. She dey try pass all of una.

Hello.
The interesting name of a site - lindaikeji.blogspot.com, interesting this here is very good.
I spent 2 hours searching in the network, until find your forum!

[url=http://tinyurl.com/cpg2gql]minitoring pojazdów[/url]

[url=http://www.nanogen.gztjjp.net]Å‚ysienie[/url]

[url=http://www.suknie.austinkorea.com]suknie ślubne białystok[/url]

[url=http://www.fawn.com.pl]forex[/url]