Dora Akunyili's shock memo to FEC | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 4 February 2010

Dora Akunyili's shock memo to FEC

So yesterday, our Information Minister Dora Akunyili presented a shock five-page memo to the Federal Executive Council (FEC) asking Yar’Adua to present a letter of vacation to the Senate as required by section 145 of Nigeria’s 1999 constitution. The minister is insisting that the FEC change its earlier position that Yar’Adua was fit to continue in office and therefore does not need to hand over power to his deputy.

And now the Attorney General, Michael Aondoakaa has called on Mrs. Akuyili to resign from the cabinet.*

Resign because she told the truth? This is a very bold move on Mrs Akunyili's part..very commendable...but you think she's sincere or up to something?

23 comments:

Myne said...

I think she should resign too if the FEC and Yar Adua does not do as she asks. It will prove her good faith.

turai have tested power and have a mafia group,all the state governor including imo state governor have paid for second term in office, so they will never give power to goodluck to aviod losse, all minister will support so they can stay, but god pass all of them yaradua is a dead man already it will only take time, goodluck is the president

TKB's thoughts said...

Dont judge a book by its cover. Why has it taken Madam Do good this long to state the glaring truth. There is a silent move going on, and Madam is only strategising for the post Yáradua era. Nobody amongst our Public office Holders are doing anything in the interest of the people, it is for their own personal interest. They should stop messing with the psyche of the whole people of this country.

we need more pple like her

up to what???

She's so discredited. How can anyone take this self-serving bitch seriously? She had better watch her back,

Sadly i have to agree with Tokunbo

Abeg Dora is very self serving, her #1 interest is herself and the only reason she would make this move is because she believes it will put her in a better position id Goodluck or the next regime comes into play. Id people only knew the mago mago she did to get a ministerial position, throwing her life long friends and some family under the bus, you would know how power hungry this woman actually is.

Exactly what "truth" has she told? As minister for information, has she once informed the nation of the exact state of the President? That is her job, isn't it, to inform the nation and the world? Has she once done that job? Has she done it even now? Has she told the Nigerian people, as cabinet minister for information, when last she met with the President whom she should be in constant consultation with on at least a weekly basis? And if she feels that the Executive Council has acted dishonorably, herself exempted, isn't it the honorable thing to formally dissociate herself from the Council and its actions and resign? Isn't that what honorable ministers do in respectable democracies when they disagree with either the leader of government or the rest of the cabinet?

na wa o..person talk true and she is being insulted..weather or not it took a while for her to say the glaring truth at least she said it..can we say the same for others in power?...are you guys in her mind to know if she is doing it for her personal interest?When she was NAFDAC director and putting the morons trying to kill Nigerians with adulterated products, was she doing it for her self interest? na wa o..you are damned if you do..you are damned if you dont!!

Kemi said...

Dora is just a fool....she has lost the good image and respect people had for her and now she is trying to redeem her image......but, too late madam ....so too late!

PREYE said...

she is right. the other ppl( ministers, supporters, govt officials) are cowards and can't talk....the woman has nothing to lose. abeg go and join ur daughters in america, abi she has green card. that's how they frustated ngozi iweala and she left them, if they frustrate dora she shud leave them too. nigerians just don't like to hear the truth. me i support dora 100 percent. this is the time militants shud show these politicians shege. naija has really cooled down. if it were back in the day, ah, there wud have been a take over/coup, or riot wud have even started. we need a revolution NOW to make this country better.

Lets not conclude yet, lets jst watch wats gona hapen! Zeeno da fweshpwince says so... 10x

she said the truth, as always the people who work for the good of the country are always instigated, you have to give dora credit! i mean think of it , in your right state of mind, the country's presdient has been out of the country since november 2009, its february 2010, and we are still arguing and debating weather he should temprorary hand over??? maybe when the military brothers get out of their barracks our eyes will open, we dont seem to have learnt our lesson. Those who truly love nigeria are ready to die for nigeria. Dora is one of them!!!

Would you rather have Jonathan serve as the acting President or wait forever for Yar'Adua??????? The question of Akunyili's interest is IRRELEVANT- the point is that Nigeria needs a leader, PERIOD.which politician doesn't have a hidden agenda? Akunyili's perceived agenda shouldn't discredit the fact that this is the right thing to do. If you think Akunyili is self-serving, how about Aoondoka and the entire senate!!

gigi said...

Nigerians should learn to speak the truth and accept the truth....If Mrs AKUNYILI's stance on this issue is what will project her to political height, then SO BE IT!
Lets commend a lady who has the liver to point out realities in a country half-hijacked by a hanful of self interested persons

Debim said...

Dora Akunyili is a courageous woman whether we accept it or not.when you are surrounded by wolves and greedy old people what can you do.She has children and maybe even grandchildren,she has a right to live to eat the fruits of her labour in the lives of her children.After all,How many Nigerians speak the truth when it comes to money matters?Madam Turai turned her own husband and a whole president into a plaything for money and power.So what are we crucifying Dora for?

Olaoluwa Elisha said...

She is courageous, this is a woman that narrowly escaped death while fighting for the good of the people, she should be respected please.

Dora Akunyili or no Dora Akunyili, the fact is that an inexistent country does not even need a president. All that is happening is that people go to Abuja to share money which is another slogan for PDP = Share the money. The sharing has continued to such a point that assistants and messengers in Aso Rock have taken over the headship of the money sharing. What looks like law holding the different parts together is a mere facade drawn up, twisted and twarted at the will of the riffle. If a country would be formed in the future, the participating parts would need to come together and formulate the grounds of their association.

It's suprising how easily we forget! i have to admit i was a lil bit skeptic when she took the information ministry as opposed to health as that seemed the natural thing to do looking at her NAFDAC record. someone even called her 'bitch' here! The thing though is she is standing up, against all the odds, she stood up. pls, point a finger at a more honorable Nigerian if you think she is bad. Dora is the epitome of strenght,she took a long while coming maybe but you get to level it's too much for you and you react. that is what she has done. we should be cheering

chioma said...

Dora is so self serving!anyone that knows her will know she did that just to secure a place in jonathans cabinet. In nafdac she paid the press to praise her everymove. Ask her kinsmen and they will show you the real two faced, power drunk dora.

chioma said...

Dora is so self serving!anyone that knows her will know she did that just to secure a place in jonathans cabinet. In nafdac she paid the press to praise her everymove. Ask her kinsmen and they will show you the real two faced, power drunk dora.

http://www.wazobiareport.com/default.aspx/Dora-Akunyili-to-get-share-of-25-percent