Makoko: A Community in Lagos. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 25 January 2009

Makoko: A Community in Lagos.

I love my life.

When many would travel to the most beautiful cities in the world to take pictures around beautiful monuments, I take myself to one of the poorest slums in Lagos and photograph myself on a heap of rubbish with a smile on my face, knowing at that very moment there's no place I'd rather be.

In our mag FM&B, we have a page we call street life. Like the name indicates, it's about life on the streets of Lagos and the way of life of Lagosians. In the last edition, we did the area boys and street kids, this time we decided to go to a place called Makoko. I'd been hearing about this poor slum for a long time, but never been there until yesterday.

I'll try my best to explain this community to you guys.

Makoko is a small community in the Yaba Local Government area of Lagos State. Majority of the people who live there are the Ilajes and the Eguns, from the Western part of Nigeria. Their main occupation is fishing. It figures 'cos they live on water.

This place is probably worse than any place you've ever seen. You won't understand the depth of poverty there until you visit and see for yourself. But I'll try to make you all understand a little of the terrible living conditions of the Makoko residents. Thankfully I have a few pictures to show you guys.

This is how they live...their homes are made of wood and built on water. When it rains, well you and I can only imagine their plight...

This is how they move from one part of the community to the other...via a little boat. Walking long distances is usually not advisable, except you're a good swimmer because the planks they use to construct their bridges aren't very strong and could give way at any minute.

If you want to go from one section of the community to another and don't want to go via the boat, maybe because you're not going very far, then you can cross this 'bridge'. It's a single plank that can break at any minute.

This is their kitchen.

Behind me is their bathroom. The bathroom is also built on water and not very private. If you cared to, you could see a naked person having a bath. As for their toilet, how can I describe it? Let me try...let's just say they do it in the water.

This is their playground, on a pile of rubbish

This is their only source of drinking water.

Now if you look at this picture closely, you will see a little girl peeping on your extreme right. You see how close she is to falling into the gutter?

Here's the little girl again with another little one. See how close they are to the gutter? And there's no one around checking on them. One of the residents we spoke with said they've had cases of children falling into the gutters. Some of them survive it, some don't.

Talking to some of the residents of Makoko

Despite their living conditions, the residents of this community are friendly, helpful and very accommodating.

With some of the guys I work with. Oteri Agboro, Myself, Gbemi Mowarin and Santiago T Roberts.

When I say be grateful for the life you have, I don't say it because I want to talk, I say it because of what I've seen and experienced. Yesterday I saw a little boy pick something up from the dump and put in his mouth. The moment was not caught on camera but I saw it and watched helplessly as he chewed and swallowed whatever it was.
When you close your eyes at night and hate your life because you can't afford the latest BMW, or you can't send your children to the most expensive schools, or your job isn't paying as much, please think of the people of this community who will trade places with you in a second, and be thankful for what you have.

Despite the poverty, deprivation and suffering we witnessed yesterday, my friends and I still find reason to smile...
So yes I love my life.

Thoughts?

39 comments:

Linda u really are a deep and insightful young lady ...i indeed marvel at ur desire to rise above the status quo and shallowness of Nigerian life to discuss and address meaningful topics like this...keep up the good work.

Just when I think you've reached the height? You do something that bowls me over in awe. Let's talk soon Madam.

Thanks for showing us the other side of Lagos. U too much!

Fantastic piece.

Education is the only way out of poverty, but this message is never conveyed to such community until the children are adults. When I see images like this, it saddens my soul, and I feel compelled to assist children of that community so they in turn can uplift their families, but how do you do that?

Linda, you seem to have a calling, why dont you start an NGO for these downtrodden communities and let us who are touched and kind at heart assist these children. It really is pointless highlighting their plight and not do anything about it.

I give all the time to western based charities when I really can influence my natives. I want to sponsor one of those children badly.

John Obi

Mimi said...

Love the fact that you don't mind getting into the nitty gritty aspects of life that really count.

Ms. Catwalq said...

My design thesis is based in Makoko...i will send you something on it...

linda u r a marvel
Love this piece
Can I borrow this pictures?

Sweetnothin' said...

Linda, good work done. its nice to see someone actually set a great example

littleangel4christ said...

You are definitely doing a great job.
Lovin' d genuine smile on ur face!
It's priceless!!!

Linda, this is an inspiring presentation which is not only limited to Nigeria but common in various forms to most African countries yet some like like Nigeria are filthy rich in resources that can surely improve this pathetic situation. Out of interest are there any government or NGO interventions to improve this poor livelihood? How big is the population that lives in this area under these conditions? On a lighter note is the naked person in the "bathroom" taking a shower as you put it or is taking a BATH? The two in my English understanding should be different on the basis of the instruments. used. I hope as a writer and publisher you should be able to differentiate thw two...lol

Jadore-Fashion said...

this is just touching, just the pictures alone, speaks for itself. I wish a lot of Nigerians could join hands together and help communities like that--a penny, dollar, pound, naira could go a long way!!!
great post dear!!!

nice piece
nice top
you seem at home there tho,loool
jokes apart you inspire me lady

Linda well done on this piece, we need more people like you in Nigeria. This is where my heart and soul is and whilst I am trying to decide on moving home for good I am searching for the sort of organisations I can work with that will support causes like these. Please do try to feature some useful organisations on your blog, we love the fashion and everyone else trying to sell something but we also need to hear about people who are making a difference.

Thanks.

If these people live here, they can at least make the place cleaner. The trash we see in the pictures, did they get dumped by others or is this trash they created from their everyday living? I understand that they are poor, however they can still make an attempt to make their living area more appealing, they do not need to wait for the state government to clean it up for them. Like Obama said, change starts with us, let the residents start trying to improve their conditions. CLEAN UP.

Hi GF,
I am happy u took time out of your beautiful/comfortable/relatively safe house, street to see how people really exist!
This is the kind of jolt 'tush' people like us need.If more 'gbogbo bigs girls' like us do this more often, we would definitely be more knid, accomodating and willing to share.
We would not just be more hesitant to complain about d car a.c that is malfunctioning but be thankful for the advantage life has given us.
I have been to Makoko, Bariga, Eleko (not the beach but villages surrounding the beach in Ibejju lekki), Ijora-badia and believe me, the stories are all the same if not worse!
I am happy people like Mo Abudu have decided to take d bull by the horns (rather than host a ball to raise awareness about'tush' stuff!)
It is time, we pitch in,do our bit no matter how small rather than complain about criminals waiting to hijack our cars or our loved ones. Living in that kind of environment can contribute to making someone an 'animal wielding weapons' ready to pounce on others who seem to have an extra something.
Dearie, this is becoming a 'preach-preach' post (lol)but I urge you to take stock of your life and all those beautiful stuff you own. Do you really need all those pairs of shoes, jeans, gowns, skirts, etc? Please give some out today!
Lovely piece and I salute your courage.
Do take care and stay safe.

Hi GF,
I am happy u took time out of your beautiful/comfortable/relatively safe house, street to see how people really exist!
This is the kind of jolt 'tush' people like us need.If more 'gbogbo bigs girls' like us do this more often, we would definitely be more knid, accomodating and willing to share.
We would not just be more hesitant to complain about d car a.c that is malfunctioning but be thankful for the advantage life has given us.
I have been to Makoko, Bariga, Eleko (not the beach but villages surrounding the beach in Ibejju lekki), Ijora-badia and believe me, the stories are all the same if not worse!
I am happy people like Mo Abudu have decided to take d bull by the horns (rather than host a ball to raise awareness about'tush' stuff!)
It is time, we pitch in,do our bit no matter how small rather than complain about criminals waiting to hijack our cars or our loved ones. Living in that kind of environment can contribute to making someone an 'animal wielding weapons' ready to pounce on others who seem to have an extra something.
Dearie, this is becoming a 'preach-preach' post (lol)but I urge you to take stock of your life and all those beautiful stuff you own. Do you really need all those pairs of shoes, jeans, gowns, skirts, etc? Please give some out today!
Lovely piece and I salute your courage.
Do take care and stay safe.

Nne u dey try o. It is as if u are speaking to my life. I have been saying to myself that i have no reason to complain anymore. As in when i have no shoes for example, there are some pple without feet, for example. Biko, keep up the good work and God will surely multiply your blessings. And you know what - u look good...pls keep, keeping on...

Lily said...

I fee so sad this is happening in a country that is so rich in resources. Linda, I am currently researching in this area of poverty and marginalisation in Nigeria. I would like to use this area as one of my case studies.

God bless you beautiful african princess. I only pray that God helps everyone, its always nice to appreciate what we have but it be hard sometimes because of the world we live in, but when we see things like this or people that are critically ill, we just see how blessed we are. One love xxxxxxx

I visited naija this past xmas.. my first tyme in 10yrs since i've been in the states.. i saw the suffering & the hustling... im back 2 d states and i just complained this morning about the bills i have 2 pay.. reading this article put things back in perspective 4 me.. I am indeed grateful all over again..

U are truly an inspiration Lynda..

I SALUTE UR COURAGE BABY GIRL

Let me play the devils advocate here, please.

I hope that this isnt a typical western media type of journalism...creating news by opening the eyes of people to the terrible lifestyle lived by others and making them go..WOOOW, oh how SAD...but doing nothing about it...hope this adventure is not to sale your magazine....

Linda I am very very proud of you. its when I see and read articles like this, that I know I have to return to Nigeria when I am done my schooling. I just dot understand why Fashola throws so much money in the Lagos Island to make it more beautiful and what not(not like that is wrong o) when we have people living in that same Lagos under such conditions. Keep up the good work Linda, Maybe we will cross paths soon.

Thanks for highlighting the plight of these people, is there anyone doing anything to help them? how can one help?
and yes, i will remember to be more thankful to God for the things i have been blessed with instead of moaning about the things i dont have.

NigeriaPolitricks.com said...

Hello Linda,this is a great post and I think addressing this kind of issues brings the best out of you. You're always an inspiration to many, but you mean so much to me. Keep up the good work!!!

NP

Third World Profashional said...

Are these those shanty's that can be seen from the 3rd Mainland Bridge? They're even worse up close, its so cool that you,re bringing exposure to all these places. because I'm sure 90% of the people that cross the bridge every day have no idea what's really going on down there.

Yewande Atanda said...

You're doing a good work. We need to see stuffs like this to appreciate God's blessing on us. Even if we're not eating Tantalizers or driving Escalade, we need to be grateful to God.

hey linda,
thx for bringing the suffering of many to the limelight.

its not hidden its just that we all dont take out time to think deep.

going pass the third mainland bridge daily,u could see this community from afar and you wonder if there are human beings living there or just a plce put up for fishing.

what makes it more touching is the fact that children,kids,young talents are all expose to dangerous diseases, infections, OMG! poverty.

wish we all wont just seat back and do nothing.

i have kids and wont want them in such environment.

pls contact me on face book so we can discourse how to help this community.

ps:i hope u find me somehow.
sunmbo

Linda, Nice top. Who is it by & where did u get it from?

Linda Ikeji said...

Thanks you guys. your words mean so much to me.
About helping this community, sincerely i don't know how to go about it. I know its not enough to expose their plight, but that to me is a starting point. These people need help, all I can hope for at this point is that the right people see this and do something about it. I'd love to be part of those that made a difference in their lives, i'll help in anyway I can. if there's anyone with suggestions on how to go about helping, y'all know how to contact me.

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon 7:42
its one of my rukkies tops

So where is the bag from?nice

Linda i have been following your blog for quite a while now. I must say you have morphed into a true cultural writer. You have this candid way of telling your stories that is becoming a gradually fading art in these days of cultural reporting. Have you ever though of becoming a foreign correspondent representing the likes of CNN or better still hosting a TV documentary series on lifestyle and culture - you will surely do an awesome job! keep up the good stuff my vote is for you the #1 Nigerian blog!!

That was seriously so touching!!

I cannot believe places like this continue to exist in lagos but there are plans like these for implementation: http://www.punchng.com/Articl.aspx?theartic=Art200902181581084

It is rather unfortunate this piece. You standing there in your clean clothes, fresh skin, fancy blouse, designer-style bag, nice weave, & sun shades. And the background is practically a Hell on earth. Only Nigerians can help themselves. Maybe that's a bit too optimistic. Perhaps the more realistic solution will be that God will come down and do it for them.

Hmmm....Linda, once again i take off my hat to you. But here's a suggestion, how about getting help from the companies that sponsor your magazine or get some help from Funmi Iyanda & the state govt. Or you could film these places and make into a short documentary and show in the next Future Awards.

Tairebabs said...

these pictures are really heart breaking. I have to commend you for this. keep us posted on how we can make a difference.

Eva said...

Lagos is an amazing place indeed with all its different sides and faces. Although from the middle of Europe, I've been to Makoko and many other slums in Lagos last year. Have to say that poverty and neglect should not be the only perceptions of Lagos outside. Each of the places I visited is vibrant and not as hopeless as it may seem. There is a lot that needs to be done in terms of development, but this development needs to have a human face and has to engage everyone even the poorest. Idealist? Well, not everyone in the world was born rich but the daily struggle and strength to survive against all odds should be appreciated and built upon. Makoko people should not be regarded only as poor, filthy and uneducated but as active members of the society that needs to have their own voice in the city planning and developing. Just take a look at the examples from India, where slum and street residents organize and make decisions through Slum Dwellers Federations. Remember, poor does not mean powerless...

Black people are sub-humans menn. These people can not even make the place decent for themselves. Do they even expect government to construct nice looking shanty homes even if it is a ghetto ? Can't they even try to make the environment clean ? They are just animals.

the WHITE MAN be keeping the brothas in lagos down, man.

On an unrelated note, THIS IS WHAT DIVERSITY LOOKS LIKE.
This place is 100% DIVERSE and it's the best place n earth.