Naija Entertianment News + Dynamix Awards Pix | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 December 2008

Naija Entertianment News + Dynamix Awards Pix

Hi everyone. So here I bring you Naija Entertainment news like I haven't done in a bit. Plenty of it...Just to make up for my absense last week. Hope you enyoy it.

Oh by the way, the Future Awards Nomination party is today at Swe Bar, Onikan. See y'all there. I always say I'll go to events but I never show up, God please make me go for this one...it's really important. I don't know why I find it difficult to go to events but I was at Frank Osodi's Unveiling of the Face of West African Fashion Week last Sunday at the Silverbird Galleria. I'll get you pictures from that show later, for now enjoy this.

Mode Men Magazine Men of the Year Award Winners

Most Stylish Man
Eyimofe Atake
Comedian of the Year
AY

Musician of the Year
M.I
Woman of the Year
Mo Abudu

Man of the Year
Tony Elumelu

Actor of the Year
Mike Ezuronye

Luxury Brand
Polo/Wise Men Apparel (A tie)

Governor of the Year
Gov. Raji Fashola (Lagos)

Radio Personality
Yaw (Wazobia FM)

TV Personality
Kenny and D1

Sports Personality
Samson Siasia

Politician of the Year
Adams Oshimole

Business Man of the Year
Mike Adenuga

Designer of the Year
Exclamation

Young Enterpreneur
Igho Salomi (Televares)

Model of the Year
Otu-Ekong Ukpana

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Newton Jibuno (Environmentalist)
Wole Soyinka
Congrats to all the winners.

$1m raised for Majek fashek's film project - Seun Apara (Encomium)
There seems to be no going back on the shooting of the Majek Fashek film entitled 'The Rainmaker'. Charles Novia's November Productions is behind the project and out of the two million budgetted, half of it has been raised and the remaining part should be ready by the first quarter of next year. Meanwhile contrary to reports that Majek was planning to sue Charles over the said movie, we learnt it was only a mere disagreement which has since been resolved.

Segun Obe drops new single - Seun Apara
One of Nigeria's hottest vocalist Segun Obe recently released another single entitled 'No time' from his forthcoming album. The new single features raggae act Rhymzo. He will be shooting the second part of 'Plenty Celebration' the last single he released featuring 9ice. So look out for that.

Enebeli Elebuwa Attacked - Stella Dimoko Korkus
Read the very sad thing that happened to one of Nigeria's veteran actors...

According to Elebuwa, 62, “ What you are looking at (removing his dark spectacles to reveal a battered left eye), happened in the evening of Friday, November 28, 2008, at the Mobil Filling Station, Aguda, Surulere, Lagos.”Explaining further, Elebuwa, now weeping and writhing in pains said: “ We were on a moving queue when this young man came from nowhere and wanted to jump the queue with his car, but other law abiding motorists protested but the man refused. That was when I alighted from my car and was trying to plead with him to follow due process. But to my consternation, he started cursing and shouting my full name and told me to get out of his sight. When I tried again to calm him down, he started abusing me and boasted that my being an actor does not mean he cannot deal with me and nothing would happen. I later got closer and asked him, if I was not old enough to be his father. I had not finished saying this when he brought out a sharp object and stabbed me in the eye at a close range and I immediately passed out.”Elebuwa, further disclosed that when this happened, an angry mob that had already gathered descended on Dike, and were about lynching him, when some policemen came and whisked him away to Aguda Police Station, Surulere.At the station an officer who pleaded for anonymity confirmed the incident to Daily Sun and disclosed that Dike was detained for three days, before being released on bail. He referred the reporter to the Lagos police spokesman, Frank Mba who pleaded for time to get information on the incident.Elebuwa, also called on well-meaning Nigerians to immediately come to his aid, adding that his doctor had advised him to travel abroad for further treatment, but he could not afford the cost.“I’m totally helpless now and cannot even work due to my condition, and have spent so much on the eye. Well-meaning Nigerians should come to my aid, I do not want to go blind,” he pleaded.
If you have access to him, please help in any way you can.

Dora Akunyili beefs up security following brother's kidnap - Azuh Arinze (Encomium)
NAFDAC DG, Prof Dora Akunyili has taken her security more seriously following the kidnap of her younger brother, Francis Edemobi, in Enugu. The obnoxious incident happened on Monday Dec 1st, 2008 and was alledgedly carried out by four gun men and edemobi didn't regain his freedom until days later when some police men working on a tip off rescued him from the Ebeano Tunnel. The kidnappers had earlier asked for a ransome of N30million and later N50million, which they never got.

Yakubi Aiyegbeni expecting first baby - Stella Dimoko (Encomium)

Inside sources say Yakubu's new wife, Lami, is expecting the couples first child. Congrats to them.

ANNIE UNWANNA MACAULAY POPS ANOTHER BABY FOR TUFACE - Stella Dimoko Korkus

At last the good news is here!..annie was birthed of tufaces daughter in the wee hours of wednesday december 10,2008. The birth was via caesearen section in a californian hospital.
Wishing Annie and Tuface the very best.

Lola Omotayo returns home with son - Seun Apara

Lola Omotayo returned to the country recently with her son Cameron. The baby who looks like his father, Peter Okoye, was whole heartedly received by Peter and his sibblings.
Wishing Mother and son all the best.

Why I left Rhythm 93.7 for Inspiration FM - Kemistry

Inspiration FM seems to be the radio station where some of our favorite radio personalities have moved to. Kemisty, formally with Rhythm 93.7 is one of them and here's what she had to say about it...

"I was with Rhythm for four years but left in September for IFM, because Inspiration FM gave me an offer I could not refuse. My show is called 'The Afternoon Cafe' it starts from 11am to 4pm"
So check her out.

I also hear my favorite radio personality, Shola Thompson, has moved to the new radio station...thank God he's back on the Radio. You can also catch former Cool FM's Dan Foster there in the mornings.

Okey Bakassi gets baby boy - Azuh Arinze (Encomium)

Talented comedian and special assistant to Governor Ikedi Ohakim () on entertainment, Okey Bakassi is now a father of three. His wife, Ezinne, gave birth to a beautiful baby boy weeks back. Before the arrival of the tot, Okey had two daughters, Jada and Nicole.

Emeka Enyiocha's registry wedding is on Dec 20th - Azuh Arinze

Actor and producer, Emeka Enyiocha has fixed his registry wedding for Sat. Dec 20, 08, exactly fifty days after his traditional wedding in Abia State. Emeka and his wife, Stella, will have their registry at the Ikoyi Marriage Registry in Lagos and a reception at Sheraton Hotel and Towers in Ikeja.

Denrele Edun on Blast

My dear friend Denrele Edun is on the cover of the current issue of blast magazine...check it out!
New Exquisite Magazine
Beautiful Louise Priddy is on the cover of the current issue of Tewa Ogunsanya's Exquisite Magazine.
Check out some pix from the Dynamix Youths Awards (Powered by ZAIN) that took place last weekend. Will get you more pix later...
For now enjoy this...

Denrele

Sauce Kid

That's it for now.

Cholera in Zimbabwe
How many of you know what's going on in Zimbabwe currently?
Read the story below

The death toll from cholera in Zimbabwe has soared to 978, with 18,413 suspected cases reported across the southern African country, UN figures showed Monday.

The country's capital Harare is the worst-hit district, with 208 deaths and 8,454 suspected cases, the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs said.
Beitbridge, which border South Africa, was also badly affected.

Some 91 people in the border town have been killed by the disease, while 3,546 are suspected to be suffering from it.
The latest toll came even as the United States and Britain were expected to lobby the UN Security Council to turn up the heat on Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe.
But Harare has vowed to thwart western efforts to put Zimbabwe on the Security Council agenda, saying it was not a threat to international security.
Such a sad situation. God help them...

Thought of the day
Never look down on anybody unless you're trying to help them up.

I'm done.
Laters and kisses!

13 comments:

Thank God Shola Thompson is back. Inspiration Radio is the one to beat

dScR?Be said...

is dt orobo wearing baithroom slippers?

NigeriaPolitricks.com said...

Is Majek Fashek on crack?!...His face is all wrinkled and shyt. that dude needs to see a dentist, for real...it's sad to see the 'rainmaker' face all messed up for being a dopehead. well, that's just the one of the downsides for using...!!!!!

So tuface has 5 kids now....hmmmmm.

archiwiz said...

Hmmm... Didn't someone else just deliver for Tuface? The lady that birthed his first kid or so? I wonder who'll incorporate the Tuface pikin football club first.

Gosh! how many award shows are in Nigeria. all schemes to make money. Please.

sad about enebeli
louisa looks gorgeous

ababoypart2 said...

Nice update. I saw Dora Akunyili a few months ago at the Lagoon in VI and I she had a couple of poorly armed security men with her....I thought, there is one Nigerian - not scared.

what award is men of the year? what makes mike actor of the year...pleasseeeeeee!

Majek fashek needs to go to rehab, before it starts filming the "rainmaker", he looks a hot mess. I'm sure there is still more baby mamas for 2face, they need to come out. The dude with the eye problem, his story is very disturbing, which makes me wonder if naija will ever be a secure country to live in. Anywayz, I hope he gets the help he needs. Too many awards going on in naija. I'm sure some of the recipients probably don't even deserve it, but through bribery, the award will be given to them, since naija is such a corrupt country.

KAM BABY said...

Enebeli's attack happened at a petrol filling-station right? Why didn't the people there pour fuel on the crazed attacker and burn him there and then? Then the wold would be rid of yet another menance to the society. How can a human being with blood flowing in his veins (not water) stab another human in the eye......the eye for God's sakes! A man old enof to be his father for that matter. The stupid guy deserves jungle justice. But trust nigerians and nigerian police...the case will die off like that, and Poor Enebeli would have a messed up eye.

Dynamix Awards 2008, was absolute crap. UniLag students and Yahoo Yahoo boys were just misbehaving...haba!

dynamix awards is the most recognized and best coordinated youth awards as it represents the true Nigerian Youth from all aspects of life. The religious, academics,socialites,well respected, role models, entreprenuers, tv and radio personalities, comedians etc. i saw everyone present on the 13th of december last year and i think that is what an award is supposed to represent. somebody must come and inspire and others must be inspired. simple!