Riddles, True or False, Did you know, Facts on Sports + Man chops off his genitals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 4 June 2007

Riddles, True or False, Did you know, Facts on Sports + Man chops off his genitals

I haven't done some of this stuff before on my blog, thought it might be kind of fun. Below are some riddles, see if you can answer any of them.
Riddles
1. John is standing behind Mary, and Mary is standing behind John. How is this possible?

2. How would you rearrange the letters in the words "New Door" to make one word?

3. What runs all around the yard without moving?

4. What is it that someone else has to take before you can get it?

5. When asked how old she was, Suzie replied, "In two years I will be twice as old as I was five years ago."How old is she now?

6. How would you rearrange the letters in the words "New Door" to make one word?

7. There is a town where a quarter of all the people living have unlisted phone numbers. If you select 100 names at random from the town's phone book, on average how many of these people would have unlisted phone numbers?

8. Where is the only place that yesterday always follow today?

9. The maker doesn't want it, the buyer doesn't use it and the user doesn't see it. What is it?

10. What do you throw out when you want to use it, but take in when you don't want to use it?

11. What is broken when you name it?

12. What is one thing that all wise men, regardless of their politics or religion, agree is between heaven and earth?

13. What is often returned but never borrowed?

14. What keys can't you put in a lock?

15. If you were to put a coin into an empty bottle and then insert a cork into the neck, how could you remove the coin without taking out the cork or breaking the bottle?

Were you able to answer any? Send your answer as a comment. I'll post the answers to the riddles in a couple of days...

...Below also are some true or false questions. See if you can do justice to any of them...goodluck...

True or False?
1. Chocolate is toxic to dogs and can kill them.
a)True
b)False

2. The worm in a bottle of Mexican tequila is an aphrodisiac or hallucinogen.
a) True
b) False

3. If you sit too close to the TV, you will ruin your eyes.
a) True
b) False

4. Eating turkey makes you sleepy.
a) True
b) False

5. The Chevy Nova did not sell well in Mexico because its name translates as "doesn't go" in Spanish.
a) True
b) False

6. Eating poppy seeds can cause you to fail a drug test.
a) True
b) False)

7. The phrase "son of a gun" originated during the Civil War when a woman was struck by a bullet that had passed through the scrotum of a soldier. The sperm on the bullet penetrated her ovaries and impregnated her.
a) True
b) False

8. Drinking alcohol — brandy, for example — will warm you up when out in cold weather.
a) True
b) False

9. A computer keyboard harbors more germs than a toilet seat.
a) True
b) False

10. The modern-day image of Santa Claus — a chubby, bearded man in a red-and-white suit — was created by the Coca-Cola Company.
a) True
b) False

Answers also coming later...

...Some interesting stories you might never have heard...

Did you know?

The origin of April Fool

It is widely proclaimed that April Fool's day originated in France in 1562, or thereabouts, when Pope Gregory replaced the Julian calender with the Gregorian calender in the Julian calender month of April. The day of introduction of the Gregorian calender was made the first day of January. Some people hadn't heard about the change in the date, so they continued to celebrate the New Year's Day, but it being 1st April. So, others called them "April fools." The fact is that Pope Gregory XIII ordered Thursday 4 October 1582 to be the last day of the Julian calendar. The next day was Friday 15 October. April Fool's Day is an April Fool's tale. The April Fool's Day tradition in France includes poisson d'avril ("April's fish"), attempting to attach a paper fish to the victim's back without being noticed.

Absolutely nothing happened between 3 and 13 September 1752
In September 1752 the Julian calendar was replaced with the Gregorian calendar in Great Britain and its American colonies. The Julian calendar was 11 days behind the Gregorian calendar, so 14 September got to follow 2 September on the day of the change. The result was that between 3 and 13 September, absolutely nothing happened!
The calendar switch also influenced the way George Washington's birthday is celebrated. He was born on 11 February 1731, but the anniversary of his birth is on 22 February because of the 11 days eliminated from the calendar switch. At the same time, New Year's Day was changed from 25 March to 1 January, thus according to the new calendar, Washington was born in 1732.

One of the seven wonders of the world still exists

The Great Pyramid of Giza is the only one of the Seven Wonders of the World that still survives.
The other six are:
1) The Hanging Gardens of Babylon, which were built on the banks of the Euphrates river by King Nebuchadnezzar II.
2) The gigantic gold statue of Zeus was built by the sculptor Pheidias at Olympia.
3) The temple of Artemis was erected in the Asia Minor city of Ephesus in honour of the Greek goddess of hunting and wild nature.
4) The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus was a huge tomb constructed for King Maussollos, Persian satrap of Caria.
5) The Colossus of Rhodes was a massive statue erected by the Greeks in honour of Helios the sun-god.
6) The Lighthouse of Alexandria was built by the Ptolemies on the island of Pharos.

The Great Pyramid of Giza was built near the ancient city of Memphis for Pharaoh Khufu in the period of the Fourth Dynasty, between 2613 and 2494BC. The Greeks refered to it as the Pyramid of Cheops. It covers a ground area of 13.1 acres (32,4 hectares), composed of some 2.3 million limestone blocks average two-and-a-half tonnes each, enough stone to build a wall of foot-square cubes two-thirds around the globe at the equator, a distance of 16,600 miles (26 500km).

Also...Facts on Sports

Fishing is the biggest participant sports in the world.

Football (soccer) is the most attended or watched sport in the world.

Boxing became a legal sport in 1901.

More than 100 million people hold hunting licences.

Jean Genevieve Garnerin was the first female parachutists, jumping from a hot air balloon in 1799.

In 1975 Junko Tabei from Japan became the first woman to reach the top of Everest.

The record for the most Olympic medals ever won is held by Soviet gymnast Larissa Latynina. Competing in three Olympics, between 1956 and 1964, she won 18 medals.

The record for the most major league baseball career innings is held by Cy Young, with 7,356 innings.

The first instance of global electronic communications took place in 1871 when news of the Derby winner was telegraphed from London to Calcutta in under 5 minutes.

In 1898, one of the first programmes to be broadcasted on radio was a yacht race that took place in British waters.

Sports command the biggest television audiences, led by the summer Olympics, World Cup Football and Formula One racing.

Gymnasiums were introduced in 900BC and Greek athletes practised in the nude to the accompaniment of music. They also performed naked at the Olympic Games.

The very first Olympic race, held in 776 BC, was won by Corubus, a chef.

The first modern Olympic Games were held in Athens, Greece in 1896. There were 311 male but no female competitors.

In his time, Michael Schumacher was the highest paid sportsman, ahead of Tiger Woods and Arnold Palmer. (Not including sponsorship endorsements.)

The high jump method of jumping head first and landing on the back is called the Fosbury Flop.

Korfball is the only sport played with mixed teams, consisting of 4 men and 4 women.

The Major League Baseball teams use about 850,000 balls per season.

About 42,000 tennis balls are used in the plus-minus 650 matches in the Wimbledon Championship.

A baseball ball has exactly 108 stitches, a cricket ball has between 65 and 70 stiches.

A soccer ball is made up of 32 leather panels, held together by 642 stitches.
Basketball and rugby balls are made from synthetic material. Earlier, pigs' bladders were used as rugby balls.

The baseball home plate is 17 inches wide.

Golf the only sport played on the moon - on 6 February 1971 Alan Shepard hit a golf ball.

The oldest continuous trophy in sports is the America's Cup. It started in 1851, with Americans winning for a straight 132 years until Australia took the Cup in 1983.

Volleyball was invented by William George Morgan of Holyoke, Massachusetts in 1895.

A badminton shuttle easily travels 180 km/h (112 mph).
Ferenc Szisz from Romania, driving a Renault, won the first Formula One Grand Prix held at Le Mans, France in 1906.

It's a bizarre world we live in. Read the story of how a man cut off his genitals...

Man cuts off his genitals

A POLISH MAN burst into a busy central London restaurant and chopped off his own penis with a knife in front of horrified diners, police have reported.The man, a 35-year-old Polish national, ran into Zizzi, in the Strand, and promptly committed the surprising act."This guy came running in then charged into the kitchen, got a massive knife and started waving it about," a diner who was eating at the restaurant with his girlfriend said. Apparently, the man was dissatisfied that since he came to England he was unable to get a Polish girlfriend, who all seem to be going with black men."Everyone was screaming and running out as he jumped on a table, dropped his trousers and popped out his penis," the diner said. "Then he cut it off. I couldn't believe it." A Scotland Yard spokesperson said that a man aged between 30 and 40 was the only person hurt in the incident, and that his injuries were selfinflicted.He was taken to hospital, where his condition was described as stable, after police had subdued him using CS gas, and recovered his severed penis, which surgeons have attempted to reattach.It was not known whether the operation has been a success.

Send in your answers..Let's see the smartest of the pack...

7 comments:

ExcitedJade said...

riddles
1. they both stood back to back
2.(will get back to u)
3. fence
4. Picture
5.8 yrs
6.same as 2
7.25pple
8.dictionary
9.coffin
10.still thinking
11. broken... funny
12.same as 10
13. same as 12
14.jam keys
15.a coin cannot enter into a bottle

♥♫♪nyemoni♫♪♥ said...

Excited jade has all the answers figured out! lemme try to answer some of the ones she didn't...

New door is -you said it! ONE WORD!!
10. Football??? Fishing net...

13. Phone call?

classybabe said...

1. backing each other

2. one word?

3. Fence

4. Pics

5. 12

6. same as 2?

7. All numbers are listed

8. dictionary

9. Coffin

10.Anchor?

11.Silence

12."And"

13. Thanks

14. Piano Keys

15. Push the cork into the bottle and shake the coin out

Dolly said...

Excitedjade and Nyemoni has answered it all

Toni Payne said...

I see u have been busy blogging. I am coming back to read after I close today. Trying my hands at self dicipline and 9 to 5ing it without being told. lol

I'm late for the first set. Let me try and answer the second set
1. False
2. No idea
3. False (If computer monitors count, my eyes should have been ruined long ago)
4. False (Never makes me)
5. NO Idea
6. No Idea
7. Whaaaat!!!
8. True
9. What type of toilet seat? If it's the types we had in school, definitely false!
10. False

April fool, I didn't know that. I read the Polish Man's story somewhere and I was shocked. Guy must be battling with some forces within.

Hey LInda, When are you going to give the answers to these questions, abeg , MY head has almost exploded and i need the brains men.
Good work oo, i read ur blog with some of my colleagues, i can't wait to log on and read a new gist or good information, I am becoming an OMowe by the day, ask any Yoruba Person the meaning of OMOWE, ask Tayo, Tayo it is still me MANIFEST.