2007 Nigerian Music Award Winners | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 May 2007

2007 Nigerian Music Award Winners

The 2007 Nigerian Music Awards was held on Saturday May 19th in Abuja and here are some of the results...some of them are quite annoying...check it out...

Song of the Decade
African Queen - Tuface Idibia (This I can live with. But my song of the decade is Paul Play's Moso rire...I don't think any other song made as much impact as that song did...ok maybe African Queen did...no qualms)

Best Male Voice of the Decade
Obiwon (NMA Obiwon? Plssssssss! That should have been given to 2face, Sunny Neji or even...? Who do you think?)

Artiste of the Decade
Sunny Neji (Maybe...or better yet 2face? Femi Kuti? African China?)

Producer of the Decade
Cobhams (Totally agree. This guy is 100% blind, but pls he has the best mixes ever, Congrats to him)

Best New Female Artiste of the Decade
Wierd MC (No contest!)

Most Admired Female Artiste of the Decade
Yinka Davies (I admire her sha)

Best Video of the Decade
Olori Oko - Infinity (Hmmmmm...its a nice video, but I've seen more exciting ones)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Onyeka Onwenu (Definitely)
Chris Okotie (Huh?)

Post Humous Award
Fela Anikulapo Kuti

When I get more results I'll let y'all see it. Meanwhile which do YOU agree and do not agree with?

And what's with 'Decade'? What happened to 'Year'. Only in Nigeria sha...

15 comments:

♥♫♪nyemoni♫♪♥ said...

NONSENSE.... which kain rubbish award be this??? they use the word decade as they like... what rubbish? Best male voice of the decade.... who's obiwon? i don't even know him...all the categories are annoying.... abeg... make I start work jo!

revisiting samuel
hi, did not comment on the Du'a story cos i did not want to spoil the significance of your story. when i read it, i was sad but not sad enough to spoil my week. why? cos i saw the samuel story on tv then.
my thinking bout your post was, nigerian always quick to judge. i felt the Du'a episode was more of culture than religion but for samuel and many others in nigeria, what is it ?

New Template? nice :o)

Toni Payne said...

Whats up with decade? Are they gonna be having the award every decade ni? I thik 2face should have won artist of the decade or better yet K1 Ultimate or Sunny Ade, seeing as it is for the decade. lol

nonesense...african queen!hell no...chris okotie(the pastor) froom where to where!.Obiwon!is that not the 'onyinye' guy?.apart 4rm those 3 all d other awards were aight

IJEOMA said...

wh is obiwon? where can i listen to his music?

only one word for this award...pssssssssssssssss!

AFRICAN QUEEN SURE DESERVED SONG ON THE DECADE.LINDA DONT KNOW UR CHOICE.2FACE ROCKS!

First time in ur blog,really cool thou

I really dont get this decade thing myself.Whatever,happened to year.I could understand decade for some categories thou.

I love Obiwon n anyone who hasnt hrd his ONYINYE song really doesnt follow Nigerian Hip Hop,i'm sure they dont know he is from the Thoughbreds too. I dont think he deserves the award thou.

I think TUFACE deserves the song of the decade,artiste of the decade, definately not sunny neji. FEEMIIII KUTI,even if i'am deaf.Producer of the decade,YEAH YEAH, cobhams is tite,OJB aint bad too.

Whats new bout Wierd MC,i am 23 n i knew her growing up a longtime ago. Video of the decade, i sure ve seen better videos too..not taking anything away from OLORI OKO sha

Def Onyeka Owenu for lifetime achievement, shes my witney houston. Post Humous- NO CONTEST.

The problem now is do we have to wait another decade before we get another award ceremony?

Simon

if u guys are current,u'll now that OBIWON is tite.he deserves more than best vocalist.so haters,go jump in the lagoon

ranix1000 said...

hey u'all are razz naijas, tell them pple!!! obiwon is the man, i envisage his progress more than this current acheivement. watch & see!!!

ranix1000 said...

ey u'all are razz naijas, tell them!!! obiwon is the man, i envisage his progress more than his current acheivement. watchout and see!!!

chidi said...

life time achievement award...Chris Okotie?? Puuulzzzz!!! who paid them to give him that award?

IKEJI why naija people dey like to dey deceive themself like this.How obiwon go dey among people wey dem give award.2face self sond of the decade.can you please let them no what decade is?well,sha me just want say you dey try atleast for bring this to know for those of us wey PHCN no gree give light o watch am.Im OLA

i think Nigerian can be foolish sometimes, what do they mean by the decade . and who the fuck is obiwon , everything just look stupid please can somebody tell those organiser to use their god given head and do something write for once. meanwhile i am glad the life time achievement award went to those it went to. cheers....