Read President Buhari's tribute to late James Ocholi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 17 March 2016

Read President Buhari's tribute to late James Ocholi

The tribute written by President Buhari is entitled "James Ocholi taught us the meaning of loyalty". Read below
How do I begin to pay this tribute to a man who was the epitome of civility, the archetype of intellectualism, and the paragon of loyalty? How do I begin to mourn James Ocholi, whom you can describe as one of my right hand men in the quest to reposition our country, and fashion a land of peace and prosperity, where no man is oppressed?
A lot has been written about Ocholi since the tragic event of March 6, 2016, which took the life of our Minister of State, Labour and Employment, his wife, Blessing, and his son, Joshua. And a lot more will be written, for Ocholi was no mean man. He was a man among men, an Iroko in a forest of trees. How are the mighty fallen!
Among many other positive and pleasant things, I will always remember Ocholi for his loyalty to our beloved country Nigeria, loyalty to our party, the All Progressives Congress, and loyalty to our administration, in which he had served for just about 4 months, before death took him.
In 2011, Ocholi ran to be governor of Kogi State on the platform of our then party, Congress for Progressive Change (CPC). I believed so much in him, and in his ability to add value to the governance of his state, that I followed him round the state on campaign. We visited all the local governments, visited the paramount rulers, and urged the people to vote in a worthy man as governor. But politics is a peculiar game in Nigeria. The best often does not win.
Ocholi did not win. But he bore it gracefully.
In 2015, he threw his hat into the ring again. He sought to be governor on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC), a party he had helped midwife. He still did not win at the party primaries, an eventuality he bore gracefully again.
When the APC was being negotiated into existence among the Legacy Parties, Ocholi did a yeoman's job, contributing his quota to the legal processes. This he did under a junior lawyer, who was not a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) like him then. But what mattered to Ocholi was the birth of a strong, solid party, which could wrest power at the centre, and bring change to our country. Hierarchy is important in the legal profession, just as it is in the military.
But Ocholi subordinated pride and ego, served under his subordinate, and APC was born.
Dream became reality.
Steadily but sure-footedly, he was part of the Change Cabinet, resolved to bring our country from out of the woods, and pedestal Nigeria among the greats in the comity of nations. Then the unthinkable happened. The Grim Reaper harvested Ocholi. What a pity! Sad and tragic.
But we have this consolation: the departed has taught us fidelity, commitment and loyalty to party, to government, and to God.
He will be sorely missed.
MUHAMMADU BUHARI

48 comments:

Rip

Nice one tribute after using him for party ritual terrorist buhari u are a joker.
Tribute my fat ass.

Eayaah

Ehyaa..
Rip

Kogi state people should take heartooooooooooooo.......may he's soul rest in peace.

Na him write am? No,na person write am for him.

Ele Blessing said...

Rip

Nice...

Eeeeeeeeeeeyah! I'm moved to tears. Linda take note!

Awww so touching !!!

Damolia.DEW

It's true mr.president,may his soul and the souls of his wife and son rest in perfect peace,Amen.

R

Rip

Go and get life. Idiot.

KWEEN said...

I've wept painfully over this tragedy as if I know them personally and they are even from the same hometown as me in Kogi state. Only God knows why he let this happen. May their souls find peace. AMEN.

Nice one baba

chommy said...

No be him write am. Linda observe!

PrettyChi said...

May their souls rip

Rip to the dead.

Okbye.

emeka4rl said...

I would be more touched if buhari had written this piece himself! This is the work of a ghost writer

yle said...

Continue to rest, great one.

Gossip Business said...

so touching tumbs up linda

RIP to this dear man. Exactly my thoughts. How can the man that cannot even speak fluently scatter grammar like this? Them try

RIP to the dead, but for buhari, make e come for linder house & write dat tribute, i go walk from Lagos to sambisa, someone dat didn't go to school, pls spare me jare

Rip

A worthy man indeed!

#saynototribalismandyestoonenigeria

R.I.P

So touching, rip

Trailblazers Ng said...

May their souls rest in perfect peace in Jesus Name

JayPro said...

May he RIP

Phebe said...

Tribute wey him(Mr President) write or the wey person write for am? See all the grammar them writegive am.

RIP 2 them.very nice tribute from whoever wrote it for our incoherent president.He can NEVER as in N-E-V-E-R pen down such!he is pytin karrapshin!

Lol Mr president is good at writing tributes...

Na buhari write all dis grammer?

Rip Ocholi...
But buhari didn't write this

How Touching......

No bi him write am but na him idea and thought. He is the president so some one much help him to write as he speaks..........bad belly people

RIP MR JAMES OCHOLI........... MOST PEOPLE 'VE NICE TINS TO SAY ABOUT U.. THAT MEANS U WERE A GOOD MAN @ FREEBON OR WATEVA UR NAME IS I THINK U NEED HELP PSYCHOLOGICALLY U SOUND AWFUL... LIKE SERIOUSLY........

ochilie u will be gra8ly missed.

RIP Ocholi,only God knows...

Joy Elukpo said...

Buharis and his fULANI OR mUSLIM BROTHERS SHOULD STOPP DECEAVING THEMSELVES.Is he saying a country where no one is opressed that people are blind or stupid that they do not know that he's been oppressing people indirectly,not even indirectly,by open.May be the person that helped him do this eye service smoked weed whe he was writing the speech for the late James ocholi. Is he saying this when his fulani brothers are killing ocholi's people on a daily basis and Buhari never make any comment about or stop them? Pls people should stop doing eye service because GOD do not like it.
Perry

RIP man

Esther Dangana said...

Rest in peace gentle Soul. But if only........!