President Buhari says that the judiciary is his main headache in his ongoing fight against corruption in Nigeria. According to a statement released by the special adviser to Buhari on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, Buhari said this while speaking with
Nigerians living in Ethiopia during his visit to the country over the weekend.
"On the fight against corruption vis-à-vis the judiciary, Nigerians will be right to say that is my main headache for now. If you reflect on what I went through for twelve years when I wanted to be the President, I attempted three times and on the fourth attempt through God and the use of technology, it was possible for Nigerians to elect an APC candidate as President. In my first attempt in 2003, I ended up at the Supreme Court and for 13 months I was in court. The second attempt in 2007, I was in court close to 20 months and in 2011, my third attempt, I was also in court for nine months. All these cases went up to the Supreme Court until the fourth time in 2015, when God agreed that I will be President of Nigeria,’’ Buhari said.
He assured members of the Nigerian community that with the support of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, he will continue to do his best to improve the nation’s judicial administration system.
On urban development and infrastructure, Buhari announced that the Federal Government has ordered a review of several railway transport projects signed by the previous administration with the Chinese government.
"The Chinese government was very generous to Nigeria on the projects signed with the previous government because they agreed to pay 85 per cent of the project. But the Nigerian government was unable to meet up with its counterpart funding of 15 per cent, so the Chinese government was unable to make any impact on the project,’’ he said.
The President said he has directed the Ministers of transportation, finance, power, works and housing, to revisit the agreements and explore ways of re-approaching the Chinese government for assistance. He added that the Chinese government had indicated interest to assist Nigeria on project financing through its Export-Import Bank
Commenting on the proposed N6.077 trillion 2016 budget submitted to the National Assembly, Buhari said for the first time in Nigeria, the budget will be largely financed from non-oil revenue. He identified the collapse of the international oil market and oil theft in the Niger Delta as main reasons for projecting more revenues to fund the budget from the non-oil sector.
"The theft of the oil market by some Nigerians that happen to live there who feel that the oil belongs to them and not the country is an irritating thing for those of us who participated in the civil war for 30 months in which at least 2 million Nigerians were killed,’’ he said.
He also said that the proposed budget would focus on increasing efficiency and transparency in government operations and the blocking of leakages from revenue generating agencies. He added that the recovered assets of the country would also be used to reduce the budget deficit.
71 comments:
Deal with it baba
Lol.. Choi..
Insha Allah you will over power the enemies of progress in this country, we will support you till the end,keep the good work sir.
Story story. U have promised too end corruption,so do it,dnt give us excuses
gehrrarahere ok..... # StopBankStampDutyNow#
Don~jazzycrush
Till we start seeing effects, bt for now stop travelling and start doing somtin...
THISOK
God will help him
He spoke the truth..! The judiciary is corrupt. Imagine using corruption to fight corruption.
Hnmmmmm buh he is not taking or listening to their rulings na how then are they his headache
PEPSI ADDICT
Drink enough panadol for that
Well said but wait oh! How is it possible that the budget was largely financed from non oil revenue? Is there other means of finance in this country rather than C.O?
Buhari they are your headache because they don't allow your point an kill government to work,because they told u to respect the court order you are a fool
Buhari and corruption fighting again this man is a joke to government anti quraption my fat ass.
Buhari you are a disgrace stop deceiving ur self with this scam,sham corruption of your which u know you are a liar.
Anti corruption why mallam amechi.alhaji rocha,atiku,thienubu,babangida,obasanjo,kwankwanso,abdulsalm,,fashola and co are walking freely because the sponsor your campaign with state looted money shame with u.
Buhari keep looting an be ranting corruption rubbish.
Buhari is a scam and a sham.
Take panadol
Buhari they are your headache because they don't allow your point an kill government to work,because they told u to respect the court order you are a fool
Buhari and corruption fighting again this man is a joke to government anti quraption my fat ass.
Buhari you are a disgrace stop deceiving ur self with this scam,sham corruption of your which u know you are a liar.
Anti corruption why mallam amechi.alhaji rocha,atiku,thienubu,babangida,obasanjo,kwankwanso,abdulsalm,,fashola and co are walking freely because the sponsor your campaign with state looted money shame with u.
Buhari keep looting an be ranting corruption rubbish.
Buhari is a scam and a sham.
Akuko. Lol#Lindangwanu#
I agree with buhari....I am a lawyer and the way our seniors handle matters is discouraging.....they are just as corrupt as the politicians....I hope and pray one justice is caught red handed so he/she can be made a scapegoat.
I haf hear
But like seriously, i havnt seen anything this daura man has done since he was elected, apart from chasing clown. So this is Wat few clueless Nigerians who voted for him will be subjected to for the next 3yrs?ameachi fashola n tinubu n the rest are all roaming abt free? Funny to fight corruption thou, wen u r dinning with corrupt people.
Linda's last son
But like seriously, i havnt seen anything this daura man has done since he was elected, apart from chasing clown. So this is Wat few clueless Nigerians who voted for him will be subjected to for the next 3yrs?ameachi fashola n tinubu n the rest are all roaming abt free? Funny to fight corruption thou, wen u r dinning with corrupt people.
Linda's last son
Linda ure late on dz one,i hv cin dz since...
The arrogance and insensitivity of this man is mind blowing. People who live in the Niger-Delta where oil is mined SUFFER directly the disastrous side effect of oil activities. The whole country does not OWN the suffering with them. In fact, people from other parts of Nigeria go there, and on seeing the misery there, make fun of them and attribute it to kai kai etc. However when it comes to enjoying the benefits of crude oil, it suddenly becomes a thing for the whole of Nigeria? Imagine if only 10% of the money that has been spent in FCT since 1976, had been spent in the Niger-Delta during the same period. Imagine the difference it will have made.
The Judiciary is not the headache of any sane person because they were strengthened and made independent by the past government.
But what do you have these days? Disobedience of court order by the same presidency that is complaining. Nigeria is under military rule.
Like the president is acting a script. Opens his mouth only outside the country
Good visions,nice concepts. Hope God's will be done about this and also God be with PMB,amen!
May God cure dis headache o
The Judiciary should be allowed to do their work independently without executive interference.
We are in a democratic setting, the Judiciary should not be dictated to.
Nice...I Concur
We are solidly behind you my president in this fight.
No b only headache ni'. * it's well*
Good
*Sigh*
Clueless man
This is all rulling of a country with pain and bitterness it should not be that way at all
Mr President dats democracy for you...the Judiciary works with evidence
My view not urs!!!!
These people no go kill person.
My lovely president carry on nothing do you...nuel
While Wike said the judiciary is the hope of Nigerian's, Buhari says they are his main headache. I'm waiting...
Next
Democracy.....No going back to millitary regime...
We hv heard
De judiciary has bin like dat so if u don't like it den u restructure it
Am temporary out of service
Pls try again later
Linda dont take note!
He shouldn't be caught making this kinda statements.
Always plausible and eloquent though most times decipherable. I really wish and would keep praying that Buhari's plans(the positive one of course) would begin to manifest physically by the most special grace of the Almighty God.
Wait ooo man in d audience sit first roll is he sleeping?
So true!
@MBuhari, ur problem so pls fix it....i guess thats where ur "change" comes into play...
Wait ooo man in d audience sit first roll is he sleeping?
@MBuhari, ur problem so pls fix it....i guess thats where ur "change" comes into play...
Well done baba... more advocacy required to liberate the bigot... God bless Nigeria
Always talking out of the box. Wats with his past failures?
Stop acting like Holy Malam.......
You are your own headache....
God shall strengthen you Able President. Linda take note!
Nice one but let this money be used absolutely well cos we still have grasshoppers or choppers in dis present government so any money released sud be monitored very well to avoid **I WASN'T AWARE OF THE SO CALLED MONEY RELEASED***
Milez
Mr president you are touring other nations that didn't promise to do anything for your nation,why don't u spearhead the contact with China yourself and not your ministers, go and ask China to come back and invest in those projects that u mentioned, stop putting you faith in U.S and Europe, they gat nothing for you,visit china,iran,russia and the Asian tiger nations for better connections.
WHAT SORT OF STUPID GOVERNMENT DO WE HAVE IN NIGERIA.
WHY SHOULD THEY CHARGE N50 PER EVERY RECEIVED N1,000 (THRU CASH/CHEQUE/ELECTRONIC TRANSFER).
ARE THEY GOING TO STRIPE THE COMMON MAN OF EVERY PENNY HE HAS MANAGED TO GATHER, COUPLED WITH THE UNENDING HARDSHIP IN THE COUNTRY.
WHO WILL FIGHT FOR THE COMMON MAN.
THANK YOU LINDA.
All na change.
mr ANONYMOUS....the government is charging N50 for every transaction above N1000 not per N1000... get ur facts right befor misleading people.
'Judiciary last hope of common man'
This is what to expect from a No Certificate President
The Judiciary is my main headache - Buhari
#NobodyHolyPass
Mr Bubu can never be trusted
Absolute Power Corrupt Absolutely
we need the judiciary
we want Rule Of Law
say no to dictator
If FG revenues are derived from Groundnut Pyramids, Cocoa, Rubber and other crash crops rather than oil, corruption will reduce. You can't steal sweat money like oil money.
#TrueFederalismIsTheAnswer
story, u that is above the law. Clueless man.
If u Cnt beat dem, join dem or u bribe dem, u won't first!
Buhari should get retired judges with integrity and employ them as a special tribunal to handle all corrupt cases because PDP will bribe judges.
Earlier the better stop fighting innocent people and look deep in your main aim even in your party coz charity begins at home stop seeing your party as Saint and other one as crooke
This Buhari is just a fool you didn't know about the Judiciary before starting anti corruption...He wished it was military era when you just jail people indiscriminately.
Imagine the fool who clearly did not campaign in the south for the previous elections was going to the supreme court to contest victory;
I wonder what he would've done if he were in Jonathan shoes and lost as an incumbent..your guess is as good as mine.
The idiot Buharii is saying he fought civil war for crude oil and claiming ownership to something in another mans backyard...This is why God will never allow anything in chad basin una go find oil tire....Nigerians need to ask this Govt to stop wasting money looking for crude oil in chad basin.
The Man is just clueless no plan for the economy.
The budget will be borrowed for...is that non oil sources.
abeg #leaveThrash4LAWMA
Becos PDP won finally in Rivers state , he is now complaining of the judiciary
Why wont the Judiciary do their Job. Have you ever thought of the perceived damage done by Rotimi Amechi in River State. In my own opinion, I believe his loot took you to Aso Rock
Until we start seeing the effect b4 I will say something
that Mr President just realize what average Nigerian already know over a decade ago is worrisome and indication of cluelessness, not in touch with millinium realities,
I have said it before the election and I'm still saying it that our nation Nigeria is far ahead Buhari; that Nigeria in the 8o's is different from 2000's. His continued blame game is an indication that he was never in touch with realities on ground. He was only interested in power and record and pushing northern agenda. It's a shame!
God will continue to strengthen u Saibaba
SEEn.....angelmakiz@yahoo.com