I have been reading some depressing stories about the state of the Obafemi Awolowo University, formerly University of Ife, which provide an equally depressing metaphor for the state of higher education in Nigeria. Great Ife as that university is known to its staff, students and alumni, is probably Nigeria’s first model university in every respect. Its major competitors were the University of Ibadan, the University of Lagos, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.But Ife was far ahead in terms of the beauty of its environment and the facilities made available to staff and students. Built with Cocoa money (not petro-dollar!) by the Western Region Government, that university was a perfect illustration of the idea of the university and it managed to produce generations of scholars and students, known for nothing but distinction.
I studied at the University of Calabar (Malabites!), and at the time, I took time out to visit all the universities I mentioned earlier. In those days, the top universities in Nigeria were tourism destinations. Ibadan and ABU had the best bookshops anyone could think of, and the bookshop in UNILAG was also professionally run. UNN students insisted that they attended the University of Nigeria! But Ife had the most beautiful campus. It was the only university that had a special publication titled “Ife University in Pictures.” I remember receiving copies of that publication as a gift at different times from my friends: Kola Ogunleye, Akeem Adewuyi, and Kayode Ajala who served in the university as a youth corps member.
Whenever UNIFE students spoke about their
university, you would think it was a little piece of heaven that had been
converted to a university. They spoke about beauty, excellence, intellect and
great scholarship. Every lecturer on the campus was painted like an Oracle at
Delphi. So much mythology mixed with tales of absolute excitement attracted
other students to the university. Curiousity once took the better part of me
also, and I went on a visit to see the marvellous depiction of a campus in
physical reality. I was not
disappointed. Great Ife was great. I did not go to the classrooms, but my
friends took me round. The University had just opened a Bukateria at the time,
where everything was available. Driving into the campus itself was a delight;
well-manicured flowers at both ends, long, comforting, welcoming drive.
We moved from one hall of residence to the other, where the students
felt as if they were God’s special creations, lucky to be receiving education
in one of the brightest spots on planet earth. I didn’t like the arrogance of
the typical Ife student or graduate, even the girls had a special bounce to
their gait, even if less pretty than our girls in Calabar, and I always quipped
that flowers and beauty do not make a university, rather it is the intellectual
content, but even in this regard, Ife was well-regarded. It boasted of some of
the brightest guys in academia: that was in those days when Nigerian
universities were centres of excellence, knowledge, discipline and distinction.
Let’s add culture, for truly culture matters, and in educational matters,
culture is perhaps everything, and there were scholars in Ife who had grown to
become cultural icons in their respective fields.
The
visits to Ife as expected always ended up at the newly launched Bukateria. Good
food. Great ambience. And from the Bukateria
Complex, there was a place we always visited for palm wine. I think they called
it Old Bukka, close to the theatre. The halls of residence – Awolowo, Fajuyi,
Moremi, Angola, Mozambique were exciting too; the students behaved as if each
hall was a country unto itself, with each student having a permanent badge of
identity. The students had quadrangles in every Faculty, and a Sports Complex,
where my friend Akeem ended up with a black belt in Karate in addition to a degree
in Architecture. Indeed, the University of Ife that I describe could compete at
the time with any top university in the world. I have been to quite a few as a
regular or executive student, there is no doubt that the university
environment, where the gown is a special symbol, is meant to be a combination
of everything that is excellent, to impart knowledge in a friendly environment
where the student is groomed to become great citizens in society and for
knowledge to be produced for the advancement of mankind. That is the ideal!
This is why it is particularly tragic that the same Great Ife is now a
shadow of its former self. These days,
more than 30 years after that glorious era that I describe, students of Obafemi
Awolowo University, are now reported to be protesting over dilapidated halls of
residence and terrible facilities. That bad? There was even a picture in the
newspapers of OAU students fetching water from a stream! And I read one
columnist calling on the university’s alumni to hurry up and rescue their alma mater. Please, is it that
bad? But the story of this tragedy is the larger story of the Nigerian
education system. My generation (waoh, man don dey old oh) went to
school in this same country, and from kindergarten to doctorate, we can only
recall in comparison with emergent realities, good memories. Once upon a time, our secondary schools were
like higher institutions, but today our universities, with a few exceptions,
are no better than secondary schools, and the secondary schools are no better
than poultries. In those days, there were school principals who were more
famous than state governors, commissioners, and traditional rulers, because
they were known for their ability to manage schools and produce excellent
students. There were government schools, there were mission schools, there were
private schools, but there were standards, competition and quality.
A
whole generation of students has now passed through the Nigerian education system
without any memory of those good old days. What they know is the story of
distracted teachers who sell handouts or beg for money from parents. What they
know is the tragedy of a school system where teachers are perpetually
protesting about lack of pay, lack of facilities and the inadequacy of
everything. What they know are lecherous male teachers asking for sex in
exchange for marks. What they know are ugly campuses, with no toilet
facilities, no water, no light. When they hear about the gown, what they
imagine is a gown in tatters, now terribly disconnected from the town. In our
time, companies and government departments came to campuses or the NYSC camp to
recruit staff, the school-to-work transition was so smooth and certain that
even nurses and midwives upon graduation were sure of a decent future.
As an
undergraduate, our room was cleaned, our beds were laid, and the cafeteria fed
us well at cheap rates; we had water, we had uninterrupted electricity supply,
our teachers were smart and committed, life was good. There were students in
Nigerian universities from all parts of the world; the ones from Southern
Africa were even sponsored by the Nigerian government and they were happy to be
here, so happy some of them focused on our girls and caused problems each time
they got drunk. But today, who will send a student to Nigeria?
Everything changed the moment government went mad, and till date that
madness has not been cured. That madness started in 1984 with the removal of
education subsidy. My point is: the present administration must see the need to
properly define the role of government in the education sector, and further work
out the details about sustainable development. The rot of past decades is so
deep, the crisis so bad, as has been described, and the marks are still evident,
only sustained intervention can make the difference. And if I may say so, this
is one sector where government subsidy will be a good idea.
It
is of course clear that President Buhari in his second coming wants
to be remembered as the man who fixed Nigeria. He tried it in his first
coming but he didn’t
have a definite mandate. Now, he has the people’s mandate, plus
extra-ordinary
goodwill, and he is still determined to achieve his original objective.
He
wants to catch thieves. Fine. The only irony
is that even General Sani Abacha did exactly the same thing, but other
governments came and rewrote the narrative. Thief-catching is certainly
okay! Perfect.
It will excite the mob, extract vengeance, and may be promote justice,
but
President Buhari must begin to look to the future and build his own
concrete legacy. His record in Nigeria in the long run, will
be his legacy, but it must be that kind of legacy that cannot be
re-written by
revisionists.
So, what then, is his legacy project? I
believe he can capture the society at the younger level: by investing in the
historians of tomorrow and making their today better; by re-creating the future
of Nigeria, by atoning for the past, by using public funds to secure the future
of Nigerian children. Those young boys and girls in Nigerian public schools who
are being poorly served, sitting in badly shaped classrooms, being taught by
unpaid teachers; those undergraduates in higher institutions who graduate and
have to be re-schooled by their employers before they can be found manageable;
those graduates who learn research and science by simulation and who cannot
compete in the international arena of skills; those unhappy teachers in our
schools who are busy looking for other jobs on the side; all the children in
special schools who have been forgotten by government, all the Nigerian
children who are out of school, all those boys and kids who graduate from
university but know nothing - they all need President Buhari. And time is not
on his side. And he cannot do it
alone. Many state Governors have shown
that they take their cue from him: most of them refused to appoint
Commissioners, until he appointed Ministers. They should be part of this legacy
project.
The President should launch an aggressive restoration programme in the
education sector that takes off from where the Jonathan administration signed
off. The rot is so age-long, so deep,
that no Nigerian President in many years to come can ever have enough time to
fix all the problems with Nigeria. But every President that comes along can
either leave a scratch, a mark, or a legacy. It is up to President Buhari to make his
choice. Salaam.

99 comments:
Ok.... #NowPlaying>> papilo: beverly...
My problem with Mr Abati is simply put:WHY DIDN'T MR ABATI WHO WAS RUMORED TO HAVE HAD THE FORMER PRESIDENTS EARS,GIVE HIM ALL THIS ADVISE?WHY DIDN'T HE WRITE ALL THESE WHEN HE WAS IN POWER?WHY DIDN'T HE ADVISE HIS PRINCIPAL AT THE TIME TO PROMOTE DR JONATHANS LEGACY?
MR ABATI YOU ARE A DISAPPOINTMENT SIR.GOD GAVE YOU THE GIFT OF THE GAP AND PEN.YOU MISUSED IT BECAUSE OF YOUR PURSE AND STOMACH
Hmm
Too long biko. Linda take note!
Great Ife! I attended Ife as OAU,and felt like we had everything other schools did not have,but even at that, my dad (also an alumnus) would just come around look around in obvious disappointment but still say with pride "Great Ife". I hear they have generators even in faculties and departments now. Jointly and severally owned by lecturers. So sad! My Great Ife. There was ALWAYS light even to my year 2000 days. You could walk around at any time of the day. Even abuse an unwarranted toaster at mid-nights. We still had quality education even though not up to standard, but at least in my Faculty of Law and every department I borrowed courses from. Awo boys made the school more colourful. Maximum shishi was just a beautiful way of dealing with a thief who would have deprived you of your possession assuming not caught. Ife is a beautiful school and I'm just pained the glory and beauty is fast erasing. May God help us. Long live my Great Ife!!! Aluta continua...
i dont even know wat to say or where to start from. mr abati wen Jonathan was dere wat kind of advice did u give him, now u re here saying blah blah, PDP culd raise 21 billion for election campaign distribute money from the office of NSA as if its d accountant generals office but culd not revamp d education sector through out its 16yrs of rule, what a joke!!!
Wow!
Dis is wht I call explicit and insightful write up dat detailed all facts frm d past down to d present.
Nice one frm d writer and I wish him all d best. Thumbs up and more power to his elbows.
Wow! this is a very constructive article.
More Respect to you, Sir Reuben Abati!
Nice piece.
Nigeria's academia is swimming in an aqua laden with cataract.
This man was probably asleep during Jonathan administration when he could have easily told his boss without the experiencing the stress of this write up.
Look at this irrelevant moron again, PLEASE WHAT DID YOUR FORMER OGA DO WHEN HE WAS PRESIDENT? Or did you forget yo know how to talk or write grammar then when you all where sharing millions? Fucking bastards. Maybe you should contribute your share of the money to Great Ife!
I can only but imagine..nice write up. It's so un4tunate dat dis kind of negativity has befallen our universities. Quite sad I must say.
Nice article Abati, if only PMB will listen
hmmmm. one tin i hv realise nigeria. d best critics r worst dan those who they criticise when they r put in d oosition of those who they criticise.
Dear Govt.... yabatech needs ur help
Not interested in what you have to say anymore sir, once beaten twice shy !!!!!!!!!!!!
And where were all dis ur brain durin ur tenure wt Jeg? U forget it at unicalaba I guess.. Oshiscoo!
Nice one.
Word
I can't believe this nonentity wrote all these ,and you failed to tell ur boss to implement all.The worst strike occurred during your tenure.
My school! I feel so bad dat little things can make a whole great ife crumble to d ground. God will surely restore her glory. Soon!
I have a boss that went to Ife. The way he talk about the school corroborate Abati's view. By the way, it seems we've found our lost Abati.
The truth most be reveal, all we lack in this country is the continuity in our system of government.
16yrs and your peeps did not upgrade the universities so why are you stirring the bee hives now? The rot you people created through corruption and mismanagement...Just negodu dasukigate, abacha loot, Dezianigate vs NNPC et al and you still get mouth chook for this obodo naija.Abeegi, pipe low before SR will blow their whistle on you. oga reuben joor pens down small!!!! Sharumi
Thats deep man
Nice write one. sunnyjay
Another very topical and well written article. It is clear Fashola's ministerial portfolio of works, housing and power is not the Holy trinity of government. Education, Health and Security is. Unfortunately these sectors are where you find those that could not 'make it' according to the criteria for success in Nigeria.
Awesome Write Up
Talkative Ruben.
Always dropping it like it's hot....quite interesting!
Enter your comment...wow wow wow...what an impressive write up he really hit hammer on the nail. I wish our leaders are reading this articles right now so they can make amends..nigeria must turn a new live.God bless the writer,God bless nigeria!!!!
Reuben Abati thank you for the write up. But where were you when GEJ was president ? You didn't talk about it then , with the billions that was wasted by your pay master something feasible would have been done to the education sector. Please do not complain because you had the privilege to right the wrong but you didn't.
So on point........ He who has ears, let him hear ooooooo.
Very brilliant write up. U was so quick to advice president but why didn't u advice your boss to fix at least Lil when he was power?? Shame on u
Reuben abati...ur writeups gives me life,very entertaining and educating..you sure have ur way with pen and paper.
Hummmmmmm....quite deep.
read through the whole thing and I think he is making very good points....well said sir. our educational sytem needs a reboot..hw can we depreciate instead of appreciating
i read thru this and he makes a lot of sense. our educational system needs a reboot.... Nigeria needs to appreciate nt depreciate
Explicit.....
What did you do to help the school when in position of power. Always ready to throw blames or complain and nothing to show for it when you could have helped. Msheew
Wow!!just wow this is one of the best piece I have read in a while.
Shame to Reuben abati. He suddenly found his voice Abi his brain was suddenly corrected. How come he didn't say all this when he was working for Jonathan. His pocket has dried up and has awaken his brain.
This man is a complete idiots who think ,with his ass.Help me ask him ,if all the generations of the ones that really enjoy Nigeria education when it was very great and lovely and they have good opportunity in getting high flying jobs,could mess up the whole country badly for us the oncoming generations,and they could not do anything to address this general malaise with the little opportunity they got,why did he think it is now the issues will be address when corruption is so rife in the land.These people think they are wise and take the rest of us for a fool.Look around the world from Afghanistan to Pakistan,Libya to Syria,Somalia to Iraq,decandence took hold because of corruption,oppression and high level un-employment cause by corrupt regime,without accountability nothing will ever work in Nigeria again,because you and others who are ahead of us have enjoyed Nigeria and them messed it up for the rest of us.Keep your advice to yourself Abati.If you are this very good you should have passed that across before now,you just need relevance just like you use to do in those days that people took you serious,you are part of thr bunch man so spare us your rhethorics.
Well, Mr Abati I just hope you're paid for writing all the time
Very difficult to leave the limelight once tasted. Abati had a good opportunity to influence his former boss to do something about Great Ife, he failed. I am sure life is boring for him now that his phone is no longer ringing endlessly. Keep talking somebody may hear you soon
Very true talk, but even with all that, OAU is still the greatest!!
A very long epistle but the truth in all sense. Lets come together to mk Naija great again. Shalom
Nice piece. But come to think of it,what meaning contribution did Reuben Abati made while hobnobbing with the powers that be? You were part of the rot. Sycophant!
Beautiful piece sir,but when u had d ears of a serving president to write such a piece u never did.Ur team didn't leave a scratch,a mark nor a legacy,why then are u advising a man very very very far away now. Politicians think twice.
this clown has started with his propaganda again. why didn't he come up with this wen he was in govt.
Hope he is not realising all this things now he is no longer in govt?just asking shaaa
Nice write up Mr Reuben but your long write ups these days smacks of someone seeking to remain relevant. Given, you are entitled to your opinions too but you should have suggested all these to GEJ when you were in government. Did you say no president have had enough time to fix Nigeria and leave a worthy legacy? Did you? What legacies have the long serving African leaders leave their countries? compare that to flourishing western democracies? Even at home the Chris Ngige, Donald Duke, Babatunde Fashola,Godswill Akpabio, Rotimi Amaechi, Peter Obi, Sullivan Chime and Nasir El Rufia as FCT minister, did they take 20 years to leave the legacies they left?
Rubens Abating has just made a perfect comparison between his group of leaders and the one before them. While the leaders during Ruben's University days gave them the best, well, Ruben the leader and his types have given the present students a raw deal. Ruben,thanks for robbing it our faces.
nice piece, I av never had issues reading his work
Abati shout ur dirty mouth cos u are d special adviser to Jonathan for good 6years wat did u ppl du?no be Nigeria money una dey share?pls get d fuck buhari doesn't need ur advice....wwbwb
I want to PUKE, VOMIT. Is there no end to lack of shame? Is this not the same Abati who was a very energetic mouthpiece for a president under whom funds meant for education and the nation was massively looted? $47 million taken away from CBN in 11 suitcases, abi Ghana Must Go? Money stolen from the Nigerian people in every which way possible? Biko, nyemu efe. Where was your concern for Ife when you were all at Aso Rock presiding over untold wealth? Whydidn't you write all this then? The rot was already glaring then. Is it now that our national resources have been depleted by looting and declining revenues that you cry wolf? All I can say to you is STFU.
Well said, may God almighty deliver Nigeria
Mr. Reuben Abati. Thank you very much for your letter. I graduated from ife in 2008. The dilapidated infrastructures did not start in 2015, it is a result of corruption and mismanagement that was the norm in the country over the past 16 years. Your letter would have made sense if you wrote it 4years ago when your brother was in power. You would have personally taken up the matter with him. You DIDN'T. I agree things are bad currently in ife, but you dont have the right, currently, to criticize any government. You should keep quiet. Thank you very much sir.
Goodness!!! Please give me your ability to write sir!!! I beg of you!!!
Not just Ife. Everything is going downhill. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw my former hostel, Zik's Flats, in the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. It was on the verge of collapsing. Not a single soul was there. It's abandoned and forgotten.
Result of terrible administrators with no vision
I am humbled by this piece. No other school could have captured the rot in our education system more than Great Ife in all its glory. Even in my time as a student at the school, I was fed tales of its excellence and grandeur, and. often wished I hadn't gone to school when schools were shadows of what they used to be .
It is indeed saddening that rather than get better, the education sector, just like every other sector in this dear country of ours gets worse. It is high time we rid our country of the locusts that have and are still eating deep into our system. I weep for our children, I weep for the future, I weep for Nigeria.
Ife F'cked up sha
Did you say that Reuben Abati vomit this? Na misyearn. What effort did he make at the time he had the ears of a sitting President? Mtchewwwwwwwwww
Very well said, as an intellect what have you given back to the same system to favoured you so greatly. To a large extent the Nigerian academia owe history so much!I was your faithful follower from Obasanjo's to Jonathan's era until you turned around and started laundering the same image that you smeared. I doubt your intents as it were. When personal gains have far more attraction to those whose hands are power to effect change! Posterity will judge.
Not only University of Ife, other universities in Nigeria are kindergartens, compared to the worse school in China, #Smh for Nigeria
eyeah not gud
Nice writeup ni.
Oh so Ruben knew all these and during their adm8nistration, they did nothing. Ok o, its always easy to crticize, but when the mantle was with u, u did nothing.
Na bible I won read .kilode
Abati na God go punish u why didnt u write this to jonathan less than a year he left govenment oau became that or during 6year in gover ...u should b in aro
Abati, no doubt u have made valid points in this article. I also appreciate that in your last paragraph, u mentioned that no Nigerian president/government can ever have enough time to completely fix our educational problems but at least shd make a scratch or mark.u are a scholar and a respectable nigerian but one thing I dont know is whether u rendered this same advice to Jonathan when u were in his cabinet as adviser on media and publicity. U see my brother, I want to believe that most of these Nigerian presidents (including Jonathan) had good intention b4 getting to the seat of power but as soon as they get there, they become blind and deaf to d yearning, needs and cry of the masses.Whats d problem with them? Is it d corrupt system that enthrone them or d flamboyance of d office? God help buhari, God help Nigeria.
Can you imergine, I thought you served under president Goodluck j so why didn't you profare this chronicle of restoration to your then boss. You are just using your PHd degree to blow big big grammer shame on u
WA sere jare . God bless you for this comment. Anonymous. 12:09
It was a nice piece
@anonymous5:43 You just spoke my mind!! Bless!
Honestly sir, we pray that we don't have people like you anymore. You are a big shame sir. You were once the mouthpiece of a president, one who was so incompetent that his incompetence still hurts the nation. You sat there mute with a paycheck at the end of every month, and with almost daily allowances. Now you cry about Ife. I cry for those who still see you as a voice. Just keep mute. You'll be more respected. Shior
Hear him? Everything changed the day government went mad and till today that madness has not been cured. Sorry o. Our Reuben had gone mad too o. Up till today the madness had not left him. Poor Reuben. Poor Jonathan. No wonder Okonjo Iweala declared economic warfare on Nigeria and the exchange rate remains incurable. In fact Reuben has told us the truth that entering government makes people mad. Lol.
God bless you! Imagine. Writing as though the education industry suddenly died today or as though he had been in a deep slumber all the while. What did you do Mr. Abati when in government????? Hypocrite!
The evidence of madness is that under President Jonathan, a former university teacher, the universities in Nigeria suffered their longest shut down ever. And Jonathan kept on walking arms behind his back with the militants like Asari Dokubo going to Benin Republic to build schools and E K Clark built a mushroom called a private university. He should now appoint GEJ as the Pro Chancellor. Do not worry about Ife. Obafemi Awolowos' bad luck has taken it over. The earlier the former name is reinstated the better. That change of name was another madness. Jonathan nearly did it to Unilag.
why won't their school rot? they pay like 4500 per semester for accommodation. long hiss. who does that in this day and age? ife be living in the past. wake up and smell the inflation.
Reinstate the glory by going back to its original name UNIFE. DO for Awo what they did for Zik. Build AWO his own new university. I am an alumnus of Great Ife but ever since that great name was reduced to an individual's nsme, I have not felt like going back there. Even my degree certificate is still there. I graduated in 1977. It was nit the certificate that took me there but the deep things that the university poured into my young brain and soul.
Well said Bro. I just prayed that your successor will get a clue from this, to make good use of their tenure and not start lamenting after leaving office with a lot of mistakes. God Bless Nig.
Ok oooo
Am sure am not expected 2 read all dis
Dis dude enjoys writing long note seriously
# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
i think there is need to look this paragraph critically " Everything changed the moment government went mad, and till date that madness has not been cured. That madness started in 1984 with the removal of education subsidy. My point is: the present administration must see the need to properly define the role of government in the education sector, and further work out the details about sustainable development. The rot of past decades is so deep, the crisis so bad, as has been described, and the marks are still evident, only sustained intervention can make the difference. And if I may say so, this is one sector where government subsidy will be a good idea." i attended a seminar in school, as am a student of oau presently. This is exactly the problem with our educational system for real and it has eaten deeply into this formerly prestigious system as a whole. And i must confess to you, that wat u see in the news about my school is the "gospel truth". Is it the poor welfare conditions of students, or the dilapitated infrastructure. The most painful and annoying part of ll this is the fact that the when d school fees and acceptance fees were increased, we were promised a better living and academic conditions despite the fact we were sent home. The result for the increment, we cannot find, rather, all they did were to suspend students for engaging in protest, buying new vehicles for professors with OUR PARENTS HARD EARNED LIVING and building new car parks.Come see with ur own eyes the state of the lecture theatres and so-called-bustops they built 4 years ago and you would weep for this school. There is a need to PROBE the present VC, Bamitale Omole and his predecessors. I remember the last time our new minister, Raji Fashola when he was invited to our school to give his take on 'how possible free education was and can be'. we were really moved as students by his speech. presently, we as students of this great citadel have all been sent home because THE SCHOOL MANAGEMENT THINKS we were going to disgrace them and let the whole world see their evil atrocities. I think there is need for something drastic to be done #PROBEOMOLENOW!!!
Mr Abati wrote a self indicting piece. You sure are gifted as a writer but you've let us down when you had the opportunity to make an impact. It's more than the gift it's the selfless leadership we expected from you.I no longer look forward to reading your articles.
I got admitted into UNIFE IN 1979. It was a great school. Beautiful. I stayed in all the hostels in my sojourn there-Moremi, Mozambique, Sports Hall. Our lecturers had their own little private laboratories attached to their offices where they carried out their research work. Funny enough we used to complain then about things going bad. Those were the days when a plate of food cost 50 kobo in the central cafeteria. On Sundays you would get a plate of rice with chicken and ice-cream for 50 kobo! A whole months meal ticket was 45 Naira! Those days we never thought of going outside the country for University Education. Going abroad was for the dullards. We felt proud to be admitted into Unife. Medicine study under Professor Grillo was epic. WE were proud graduating. I felt so sad reading about Unife. My own children are in Universities outside Nigeria-A sad departure from the pride we felt studying in Nigeria in our own days...
Enter your comment...this man is truly mad,why are people only good at criticizing and complaining. is the a medal for that cos I don't get it.A man just left the throne that he would have effected all the change but he did not,collected all the monies that will last him a lifetime and came back to start writing jargons. well,sir could you stop mocking us and face other things and please if you write out of boredom, pls save us the torture, you could try our hands on writing romantic and sex related piece for the younger generation cos they might believe you as they do not know ur antecedent, what bullocks. really pissed ewwwwww.
I think the churches need to be regulated and made to invest a percentage of their proceeds also into education, agriculture and shelter. The monument building with peoples tithe and offering is becoming alarming!!!!!
Rueben please go, I have lost faith in you. You were part of the hopeless disappointment, You failed to 'tell the President'. Why didn't you make your master do all this while you were serving him? Please go!
Abati, so you slept off after collecting those mola from Jona. Now your brain and pen is awake. Go and donate your own loot to Ife please
Your comments will be visible after approval. And you criticized the Senate, when you have started the same on your blog
i knew he was gonna write a sequel, and he wasnt gonna stop at the lion's.. go on my man. carry on sir..
Oga Abati,have you read all the commeñts? Please go and hide your face, you and Fani are rubbing salt on our injuries
If you ask me, the only thing that is worrying ABATI now is the fact that Buhari is chasing after thieves! He had all these inside him and yet could not produce it when he was at the corridors of power. Does he think writing it in Linda's blog will bring better result? EWU! If he knew all these about education, would there be a problem back then when he was there if he had released this sort of nolstalgic review? At least for once if his BOSS had read it, he probably would have asked why things had gone differently in their time, aint it? Shameless man!
Great Ife is still great. This write up was exaggerated a bit, plus we don't need this pity piece! If Abati wants to help, he should just do so...#NoExcusesBiko