LASTMA official who slumped while controlling traffic, has died | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 July 2015

LASTMA official who slumped while controlling traffic, has died

The Lagos State Traffic Management Authority, LASTMA official who slumped while controlling traffic on Ishaga Road in the Idi-Araba, Mushin area of Lagos on Saturday July 11th has died.

Kazeem Lawal, who was seen gasping for breath before he slumped on Saturday afternoon, died on his way to to Randle Hospital, Surulere, where his colleagues rushed him to.

One of the colleagues of the deceased who spoke to Punch said;

“He was initially taken to the Lagos University Teaching Hospital, but he could not be attended to because of the ongoing strike action. He was then rushed to the Randle Hospital where he was confirmed dead. We do not have any insurance policy. We do not have any hazard allowance. It is very painful.
“His family members are in disarray at present. We work round the clock, and we are usually overwhelmed. He must have collapsed from accumulated stress. Since the government sacked some LASTMA workers last year, there has been a burden on the workforce. Work posts, where seven personnel were handling, have been reduced to one or two.”
“The whole thing happened so fast and so shocking. By the time they took him to the Randle Hospital, he had died,” another LASTMA official said.

69 comments:

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Village people at work, RIP sir

OMG RIP *sad*

Eyaaaaaa. May his soul rest in peace.

Sad
Rip

Its sickening to know that those who work the most in this country are the ones being treated like gabbage.Tedious jobs like this ought to have insuarance of some sort and welfare that will boost their enthusiasm
Too bad this man died this way.May his soul rest in peace

Calabar Gal said...

OMG!! May his soul RIP............

sad. May his soul rest in peace.

Rip...

God pls grant his family d fortitude to bear their loss. RIP to him.

EHYA...RIP..TOMJERRYSWIT

Strange...RIP

Rest in peace

Rest his soul!!! Our medical sector is such crap!!! Every f*cking day strike, which kind rubbish na!!!

You are a big foool. Stupid Idiot.

U ppl just talk anyhow, displaying your ignorance in a foolish way!

Hmmmm...RIP

What a stupid comment
There are issues to be addressed here about why lastma officials are over worked and that's all you can write

Its a pity. LS govt pls do something for him o for dieing on duty. RIP

7F098C19 said...

And u say apc change. The change has taken ur life. Many more to go on change. Engr Emy

May his soul rest in peace.

Accumulated bribe

Rip Sir. No insurance policy, no hazard allowance n u work for d govt? What is wrong wt us in Nigeria? Those who are supposed to keep things sane r being treated in such horrible ways yet we expect them to work well? God help us o!

Oh lord,wat could have caused that,RIP
*iyawo Obama

Abimbola Adebayo's Blog said...

@Mr_Soul or rubbish you called yourself. You got no sense. Why don't u just RIP the guy instead of ur careless comment. Ode

@mr Soul,Daft comment!sometimes I wonder if some of you reason before dropping comments

may his soul rest in peace. there must be traces of hypertension in his system because it kills like witch

mel20 said...

It's so unfair that most multi million dollar company and telecommunications doesn't see this kinda people to make there ambassador's then decide to make the rich ones more richer, are they daft? Do they think cos wizkid is a brand ambassador for a specific network will make me buy their airtel I mean wizkid ain't funking paying for my airtel, this people think and learn to give back, shouldn't be churches only..

Oooooooooh my...!
Just too young

May his soul rest in perfect peace. There must be some element of hypertension in his system because it kills like witch

Casey DM said...

Whoah.....this is a dutiful officer doing his work diligently. So sad to hear this. LASG should make it a priority that" workers welfare should be topmost. He dies without an insurance. RIP officer...God give ur family the fortitude to bear the loss. Don Casey.

Adetunji Saka said...

"Vanity upon vanity"

It hardly I see someone that slum that survived it..

Even though he survive,he might end up having stroke
..RIP to the departed soul..

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Olaide Davies. said...

What a pity, may his soul RIP.

mimi j said...

May he rest in peace

May his soul rest in peace it he must have died of heart failure. Linda take note!

RIP....

So sad. RIP

I dont know the cause of his death, but i am sure that a CPR would have saved his life...
Linda please encourage people to go for First Aid training, particularly CPR...

Hmmmmmmm how can one b doing such a dangerous job,under this mean sun and not have health insurance are you all kidding me right now, Nigeria when will all this rubbish end,am tired already!!

Oh death, where is thy sting?

Gabby said...

So sad. RIP to him

RIP bro

Chichi said...

Too sad

Chichi said...

Too sad

rest in peace lawal...................

Eyaah, may his soul rest in peace. Amen...

How sad! May he rest in peace......

Amy said...

Can you imagine. The system that is meant to protect them is not there to help them out. Ambode has sacked people in order to replace with his own people, people are busy doing more than one person's job there and to crown it all, under this hot sun. I am sure these people don't go for health checkups from time to time. He might have had an u derlying heart problem and would have been aggravated due to stress. What happened to health insurance for them? Monkey De work, baboons De chop for this country.

bummyla said...

What A Pity! Rest In Peace!

http://www.bummyla.com

Arsenal said...

Not a proper thing to say to the dead as family is the victim.

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face
◇◇◇◇◇◇

Arsenal said...

Rather unfortunate.

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face
◇◇◇◇◇◇

@naijadeltababe
where is thy sting ke? must u form Shakespeare....be wishing something else on ur self

Rip to the dead....too bad to learn lastma officials dnt av insurance ...re they not govt workers.
na wa o
may the good lord keep us all

Is well with the family

Esteem

You say you dont have hazard allowance, and u dont have health insurance,and you work tirelessly yet you voted for APC

how about his daily contribution?

elenu razor said...

Lmao. Dey dere dey find the sting.

Oskirin said...

impossible...y wld any1 tell me such security outfit doesn't av insurance policy? pls ambode if ds is true.u beta dip ur hand in ur contingency fund n pay d nxt of kin up to 2million naira.and henceforth, all d members shd b properly insured against such risk.na lagos n we must lead yl odas follow.

Nawa o...RIP to him

May His soul rest in peace

Human Being said...

When will all these strike stop????? .Every other day someone dies because of lack of immediate care as a result oof strike action/.

WHHEN will It END ?

Human Being No Be God

RIP 2 him o

So sad, may His soul RIP