Governor Kashim Shettima insists on Amnesty for Boko Haram | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 13 July 2015

Governor Kashim Shettima insists on Amnesty for Boko Haram

Borno State Governor, Kashim Shettima, yesterday once again asked that the federal government  grant pardon through a programme of amnesty to Boko Haram members

According to Thisday, Shettima's support for an amnesty programme for the terrorist group was re-emphasised at an interactive session organised by his Special Adviser on Communications and Strategy, Mallam Isa Gusau, with selected journalists in Abuja. 

Gusau said Shettima's call was scientific and had been vindicated by a very desperate effort of Boko Haram leaders to stop their fighters from leaving their fold when a group of 16 members renounced the sect's ideology in Borno State following which they were slaughtered by the sect's leaders.
He said: "Governor Kashim Shettima was misunderstood by many Nigerians when in his May 29 inaugural remarks revisited his stance on the need to apply a political solution to fighting the Boko Haram by way of granting a window to admit those willing to surrender their arms and renounce the Boko Haram ideology.
"Shettima has held this position from his campaign days ahead of the 2011 elections for his first term. He had always advocated a combination of three approaches, which are:  the military which is what we have in place, an economic approach which is aimed at providing jobs for people and discourage citizens that Boko Haram terrorists are recruiting."
"It is important to note that the governor has always advocated that the three approaches should be applied together not exclusively. However, the amnesty issue has been the controversial one. The governor is not really talking about dialogue as a start, what he is advocating is to create an opening for those ready to abandon the sect to be able to do so freely, so that the sect can be broken.
"He is very particular about hundreds, if not thousands of members that were conscripted or forced to join the sect and became killers against their wish. If attacks on all communities can be efficiently done, then there wouldn't be need for any debate on amnesty but we all have seen that many communities have continued to suffer from these attacks because the communities are so much, not only in Borno but round Nigeria and we don't have the right proportion of security personnel to secure all communities."
"When insurgents attack communities, they mostly target male youths, they arrest them and guard them into bushes. In most cases, even before taking them out of the towns they attacked, they preach in support of their ideology with promises of heaven for adherents and then openly ask aloud if any of the youths is willing to join them or not and whoever said he is not ready to join them, they slaughter him right there sometimes in the presence of his parents or they lay them on row and shoot all of them in matter of seconds targeting their skulls.
"We have seen many of these instances in videos recorded in Gwoza and other parts of Borno State. Now, what Governor Kashim Shettima has been saying is that hundreds of these forcefully arrested and initiated young men may want to run away and drop their arms and there should be a policy and programme to admit them so that insurgents lose members and their strategy of arresting youths and forcing them to join them which is what they apply in sustaining their membership, can be deflated and I think the governor's call on May 29 has been vindicated less than two weeks ago.
"You might have read it on most news platforms that on Friday, July 3, 2015, Boko Haram insurgents beheaded 11 of its members who renounced their ideology. According to accounts by some locals, what happened was that some members of the sect who are indigenes of some villages in Damboa Local Government Area indicated interest in abandoning the ideology but most of them were afraid of the consequences. Out of them, 16 summoned courage to renounce the ideology and they moved to Miringa village in Biu Local Government Area of Southern Borno. They wanted to join some communities like Ajigin and Talala in Damboa.
"The 16 insurgents went to Miringa on Friday, July 3 according to locals, then at night, commanders of Boko Haram sent a team to Miringa to fish out the 16 members that denounced the sect. The team went from house to house and got the 16 members intact. They didn't fire any shot in order not to attract soldiers. They took the members out of Miringa and slaughtered 11 of them and went away with five. The bodies of the 11 executed members were found the following day while the other five were not seen," he said.
Culled from Thisday

78 comments:

Anything to mk dem stop pls

I still believe their reign is timed! When it's time for them to park off.. it would be like the days of Noah. Gen 7

Gerrarahere... What do you mean?

We know them all!!! The supporters of BH

He dey craze!

hocee said...

If I hear......... .aunty Linda ...word dat guy oooo...

If d Amnesty is all abt "hundreds of these forcefully arrested and initiated young men may want to run away and drop their arms and there should be a policy and programme to admit them so that insurgents lose members"...

Then am in full support of it bcos it mak a lot of sense mostly his illustration of 11 dat were killed which would hav provided valuable info to govt.

Na God go punish u. Useless man. We would even give them presidential appointment. Oloriburuku somebody. A ye ko ni da. Eyin e ko ni da. Idiot oshi. Ahhhhhh. I'm fucking pissed. I could murder ds fool right now.

Why will any sane person seek amnesty for a terrorist group without any just cause of fighting, killing n bombings, kidnapping little girls, boys? Y should amnesty be granted really? How do people think sef? And he's a governor?

zicog said...

frm d way dis Shettima is sounding,
he looks to me as a bokoharam sympathizer and sponsor...

#kill dem all

U DS SHETTIMA..I BLIFF U ARE ONE OF DEM IN DSGUISE, WAIT FOR UR AMNESTY...TOMJERRYSWIT

Guy no use grammar bobo us for here joor. You and your Boss are demented fools. How on earth would propose amnesty for those motherfuckers called Boko Haram. You are sick in the brain. When wind blow fowl yansh, we go know what's up.

........Superugly said so...........

zicog said...

shut up shettima,,
u cnt grant armnesty to som who intend to renounce n think dat d strng hrted once wount get angry n com after dem..
so i think u all should denounce ISLAM completely so nigerians ll knw dat it is WAR on islam.instead of trying to protect dem with style

iga_green said...

I hope ur hands are clean Oga? Der are killing Nigerians they,they should be granted amnesty,all can't be well with you.

I don't think is a good idea.

Black Belle said...

Tf? Amnesty seriously? What are they fighting for? This is just scam!!!!!!!!

The Boko Haram himself is speaking. lol
Oya Baba Buhari grant Amnesty to una boys na. Only this man wake up one day to tell the world that 200 girls were kidnap by boko boys, na him still see them for Sambisa fores, the same man still see them for caves or tunnel whatever. Army search every where freed so many but the chibok girls were not among them, this man still know where them dey.

somebody will now tell me he has nothing to do with boko haram activities....

JUST KEEP FUELING YOUR POLITICAL AMBITION WITH PEOPLES BLOOD!!!

God IS WATCHING OOOHHHHHH!!!

zicog said...

what is d difference between bastards like shittima who supports d execution of allegged blasphemers of "Notorous mohammad" n d boko boys

dey re all killers in dia own way weda through boko haram,sharia law,religion,or ethnic hatred...
dey all dserve to DIE including GOV SHETTIMA...

BH are not humans....amnesty can be granted to humans not animals....I'm suspecting all dis northern governors..

LOL This was very obvious from the start. this governor is not clean. its has always been about the money because niger delta got amnesty,the north too wants.

Amnesty isn't an option. cos it will givr room for another armed n terrorist group to spring up n request for amnesty

Amnesty to a faceless group haba who are there fools here?

I didn't think this day will come...a clear indication y pmb was a wrong choice Omd

This governor dey craze. #richie

God will exposed u people,they say if u can't join them then u support them wit ur money to carry out d rubbish jihad,shettima God is watching u and very soon d result will come

His argument for the case of amnesty for Boko Haram members make sense, but i won't subscribe to it.
Kill every one Rat Bastard.

This is the real boko haram. Period!

The Niger Delta Militants had a face but Boko Haram does not have a face that we know except for their leader so who are we granting Amnesty to? These men should stop playing God. One day, God will reward them bountifully...

Pearls said...

Am suspecting this man seriously. What kind of stupid talk is that? How can they grant them amnesty? This man should be thoroughly interrogated and investigated.

Chizzyluv said...

Oga Shettima or whatever s**t ya called, go and rest joor.... How am i to be sure ur not one of their sponsors. AMNESTY my foot. if they all get pardon who then should be held responsible for over 10,000 ppl that av lost their lives, some families got annihilated and yet you open this ya mofo mouth to talk.. How i wish ya family was lost in this Age of BH i doubt if you would advocate for them not to talk of granting them pardon...

LET ALL EYES BE ON THIS MAN OOO HE MIGHT BE ONE OF THEM SELF. SEEING THAT THEIR END IS AT HAND HIS STRATEGIZING A MEANS OF ESCAPE! BABA GOD PASS YOU. "HE
THAT KILLS BY THE SWORD SHALL DIE BY THE SWORD"...
cant beliv this coming frm a govr.
#Se oro niye

Granting amnesty to terrorist group,who have killed so many lives.wit which money will amnesty be given them,maybe money meant for borno as a state will be use after all they formed dis mess.bt on no account will d Niger delta money be use for this rubbish.

This Man is a Fool, The Northerner has ruled Nigeria for close to 30 years but all they can do is to acquire wealth for themselves instead of them to give there people Education rather they throw them into the street rear cow. Now they have turn to BH and this Gov said we should grant them Amnesty, if I may ask Amnesty for what ?

God will punish this imbecile governor called shettima...

Am nt suprise that's APC plan dats why they came out massively to vote for daddy bubu...The so call change is here

God will punish this imbecile governor called shettima

this man is sick and this are part of the people that will bring down APC

Gabby said...

Sometimes I wonder if these our leaders are really thinking when they say somethings..

A WORLD WITHOUT SEX

Boko haram will never stop terrorising naija even with the amnesty i swear....

Dis man should jst shut up pls...Wat is he saying?

The guy could be right you know...
His/our brothers are forced to join and murdered if they denounce them,
We just have to understand his point of view and one of us could ask for same.

REAL. PIKIN said...

One by one the reall Boko haram sponsors we reveal themselves God Punish every politicians Using peoples blood as a tools for the success.

Guru said...

He is CRAZY and a fool..The Amnesty That President Goodluck offered was rejected and now you want it from a Jihadist..God will punish you for the lives of the innocent you let die.

The sponsors of Boko Hram now have their foot firmly in Asi Rock so want to use political power to have a safe passage after murdering thousands of Nigerians. God will avenge the blood these evil men have shed. God punish you Shettima, ElRufai and co.

undiluted@hardtalkng said...

This shettima does not have anything upstairs. How does this analogy explain the granting of amnesty to a terrorist group. People fighting for unknown course. Killed thousands of innocent nigerians. Destroyed the economy of the north east. Used as propaganda for elections in Nigeria by people who invited this havoc on their kinsmen. Amnesty can't do any good here as it would rather be hijacked to milk nigerians lean capital by hoodlums that will be massively transformed overnight to be Boko Haram members only to give a fraudulent impression that they have renounced the sect, while nigerians will continue to suffer massive deaths orchestrated by this evil group.

nneoma said...

I don't understand y this amnesty issue should even arise at d first place for some persons who has no just course for their actions. Give anmesty to God orsaking faceless maggots on what ground. The money wey dem one pack give dem is it not d product of western education. Like seriously Linda I de vex. Are u even sure d man is not speaking under durex?

If d Amnesty is all abt "hundreds of these forcefully arrested and initiated young men may want to run away and drop their arms and there should be a policy and programme to admit them so that insurgents lose members"...

Then am in full support of it bcos it mak a lot of sense mostly his illustration of 11 dat were killed which would hav provided valuable info to govt.

There must be no amnesty for Boko Haram, and no amnesty for Boko Haram sponsors. Arewa Consultative Forum, Northern Elders and Governor Kashim Shettima wants amnesty for Boko Haram, an armed wing of the oligarchs of northern Nigeria. After northern oligarchs of Nigeria used Boko Haram to massacre thousands of Nigerians, and bully their way into power, they want to sweep their crimes under the carpet, and get away with their crimes. Hell no. Boko Haram and Boko Haram sponsors MUST be completely destroyed by the Nigerian Armed Forces.

Why is Kashim Shettima constantly insisting that Boko Haram be given amnesty? Why? Is Kashim Shettima the spokesman of Boko Haram? Boko Haram sponsors need to come out and explain themselves and publicly ask for amnesty. Governor Kashim Shettima must step aside, and stop trying to fool Nigerians. There should be no amnesty for Boko Haram. Governor Kashim Shettima must be told to shut it, and take a back seat. Its very irresponsible of him or anyone to contemplate granting amnesty to Boko Haram and Boko Haram sponsors. We insist that Boko Haram and Boko Haram sponsors must be prosecuted and jailed. Their crimes are too heinous, and they must face eternal damnation.

The downfall of APC is here.

I no blame the mad man

The real sponsors and members of boko haram are now governing the Nigerian state. How can you negotiate with terrorits with the Number of CITIZENS already killed you want to grant them amnesty? PLEASE!

Didn't bother to read. How do you give amnesty to a faceless group that have massacred thousands if not Millions of Nigerians and still on killing spree. Once they are caught, execution should be take its place. We won't accept negotiation with terrorists.

Governor, you can start with your state. Use your state allocation then if it works, FG can now implement.

I really think this Man know a lot about Boko Haram

Bahybee said...

All these pple talking rubbish,had it being its their families dt a being bomb everyday he wont sit in d comfort and luxury of his office and yarn rubbish. BH don't need amnesty but air strike. Linda post ma comment

U re a mad man Kashim shettima, is a BH member two, becos there is no way he can't dining it. Just stop that rubbish u re saying shettima mad man, if FG give BH amnesty they better divide Nigeria Hausa will go their own, South South will go their own. Igbo will go their own. Yoroba will go their own. So that everybody will have their own peace.

Bahybee said...

D amnesty dt should b given to any boko haram member caught with evidence should b a bullet in d head shikenna. And I think shit-man of borno should b d scape goat.

Sobwat happens toto lives and propertproperties they have destroyed

No mercy for boko haram

Chizzyluv said...

@ Bolubantin n Royal priesthood. Talking abt reasoning or seeing from this b**che's perspective, tell me, if Mr. A renounces BH and is granted Amnesty others would follow in the same vain just cus they were forced to join. Even the soul called generals and BH leaders would aslo surrender cus AMNESTY WOULD SURE BE GRANTED. They probably were also forced to become BHT by the DEVIL. LOL. So who then should bear the brunt of it all??? Na naija we dey nah... let's reason b4 spilling trash after being brainwashed.

As it is now, do we have a choice??? God help us. Linda take note!

Chizzyluv said...

@ Bolubantin n Royal priesthood. Talking abt reasoning or seeing from this b**che's perspective, tell me, if Mr. A renounces BH and is granted Amnesty others would follow in the same vain just cus they were forced to join. Even the soul called generals and BH leaders would aslo surrender cus AMNESTY WOULD SURE BE GRANTED. They probably were also forced to become BHT by the DEVIL. LOL. So who then should bear the brunt of it all??? Na naija we dey nah... let's reason b4 spilling trash after being brainwashed.

U re a mad man Kashim shettima, is a BH member two, becos there is no way he can't dining it. Just stop that rubbish u re saying shettima mad man, if FG give BH amnesty they better divide Nigeria Hausa will go their own, South South will go their own. Igbo will go their own. Yoroba will go their own. So that everybody will have their own peace.

It is greed that would kill the north, because Niger delta militants who fought for a just course we're given amnesty u now want the FG to extend such to hopeless faceless pedophile's, rapists cowards fighting a jihad, it would be lugubrious it would be sardonic and it would be feodus if the FG should. Grant amnesty to these deranged fools.

Casey DM said...

Linda, do you support amnesty for BH? Why do some individual reason like this? My people...you see Boko Haram facing an Army Division, a military barracks with thousand of soldiers and with machine gun...they battle the military and try to overrun the barrack but Boko Haram has never attempted to overrun the State Government House that has lesser security and few defense mechanism. Is the Government hous invisible? Yet they attack a market square of innocent individual. Please, who is deceiving who? The moment Buhari said through his Spokeman that he will consider negotiating with Boko Haram...I just laughed and shaked my Head. How can you sleep knowing the innocent civilians that died never got justice? The gallant military men that died never got justice? Those that died in the UN building never got justice...rather you intend to reward their killers and grant them amnesty. Then tomorrow, another group emerge...give themselves a new name and start terrorizing the Nation. My dear, it's pathetic about the way we reason in this country and obviously shows that, Shettima and Buhari knows about Boko Haram. If you negotiate with BH, then Sharia will be in Nigeria constitution and those arrested shall be set free. God, come and take over this world as the world is going gaga. Don Casey.

Is he planning to force the amnesty on them? Are they interested in the amnesty? No be only amnesty na unprejudiced everlasting pardon.

In the fullness Of time, they will show their true colors . Shettima is a founder of BH. it just got out of hand for him but he is a founder

Don't u have brains , TF r u talking about ? So if u can't beat them, all u simply need 2 do is.....offer them amnesty ? Shame on u n the Nigerian govt . A govt that can't provide security for lives n properties is a failed govt .

Yes! These guys cannot be allowed to go scot-free ! They must pay 4 every drop of blood they've shed . Nai be say if trouble-making countries dey this west Africa all of us 4 don perish ? Dem 4 no fit protect us ? Shame on u guys , shame!

Don't u have brains , TF r u talking about ? So if u can't beat them, all u simply need 2 do is.....offer them amnesty ? Shame on u n the Nigerian govt . A govt that can't provide security for lives n properties is a failed govt .

Yes! These guys cannot be allowed to go scot-free ! They must pay 4 every drop of blood they've shed . Nai be say if trouble-making countries dey this west Africa all of us 4 don perish ? Dem 4 no fit protect us ? Shame on u guys , shame!

I don't support this amnesty thing for boko haram . Will they be able to pay for all the lives they've taken?

Is this man well so? Imagine, you peeps want to make terrorism in Nigeria a very lucrative business abi? May thunder fire all of una plans.

There is something seriously off with this fellow called Kashim Shettima. Mr. President should investigate this man and put a tight surveillance on him. How can those sons of the devil be granted amnesty? God did not grant the devil amnesty, but sent him to the bottomless pit.

Mr. President, should get his acts together with the joint force planning and strategics that is presently ongoing and destroy everything boko haram, to their wives, children, cows, rams, goats, chickens, even rats and cockroaches in their houses. Nothing belonging or connected to boko haram should be left.

I think he has a point here bt dnt kno how dt ll b achieved God leads!

Mtcheeeew..just don't know wat to say, amnesty 4 y kwanu..for killing well? Or 4 a job well done? And whose money will be used 4 the amnesty? Niger Delta oil money bah? TF..somebody should better warn this pple, are they crazy or high on monkey tail. Amnesty oshi, kill them all if they fail to repent includin tis gov since his house has bomb proof dat BH boys ar bombing everywhr xcept gvt house in borno

etinosa get a new phone. What's toto, toto ko prick ni

this man most be high on monkey tail na them de sponsor BK BOYS useless man

Juliet Iwuno,you are a fool,your village people are putting confusion on your head,making u to be talking rubbish.

Hold on guys, do you ever use your brains? I am from the south south and I can see the sense in what he is saying. Take the case of the 11 executed men he spoke about, if there was an amnesty program in place, they would have handed themselves in and provided valuable information to the security forces. In addition I am sure it is possible to verify from the various villages, which youth were taken away after an attack and forced to join Boko Haram. Most of you shouting, I am sure if you were facing the barrel of a gun and told either you join us or you are killed - I am sure you would join them. It is a natural instinct in all humans called self preservation. In fact if they said start by killing your parents and siblings right now, all of you shouting the loudest would do it to save your skin.
Like it or not, there are whole load of boys and men who were forced by circumstances to join Boko Haram hoping that the chance to leave would arise and unfortunately they have found that no such chance exists as they are closely watched (as in the case of the 11 executed men). Much as I hate what has been done, I can see the sense in providing an amnesty program for people who are willing to risk their lives to leave the cult.
Try and use your brains before you open your mouths. I get really worried about the lack of common sense or intelligence amongst us. A lot of people act like sheep/goats. Just because we have always gone in one direction does not mean we should not stop and think as individuals and come to informed, intelligent conclusions.
Tell me what alternative you are offering? You want to continue using other people's brothers, son's, husbands, in the armed forces to fight against an endless number of people, half of whom are probably fighting because if they don't they will be killed as they are known Boko Haram members? I bet if your relative was in the armed forces you would see the sense in what he is saying. Better still if your village was over ran and you hear they took your brother alive to join them in killing, you would be jumping for joy if you heard someone suggesting an amnesty program for people forced to join.
I notice they only way to get Nigerians to think rationally is to ask them what they would say if it was their person involved, so please think hard about it from that point of view before you start abusing me because I know the goats/sheep amongst you will soon start abusing me even though I am from deep deep south south Nigeria.

Anyone who requests amnesty for BH is a part of them and should be killed quickly