Deeper Life Kumuyi says Christmas is idolatrous, warns members against celebrating | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 December 2013

Deeper Life Kumuyi says Christmas is idolatrous, warns members against celebrating

The General Overseer of The Deeper Life Bible Church, Pastor W.F Kumuyi warned his church members during their annual National December Convention which held on Saturday Dec 21st, against celebrating Christmas, because according to him it is idolatrous and unscriptural.

Kumuyi said;
“We don’t celebrate Christmas. It actually came from idolatrous background. That is why you don’t hear us sing what they call Christmas carol, Never! We always say it is the December retreat. We are only gathering together because it is the holiday period and love the lord more, and rededicate ourselves more.
“When you find anybody coming in, or any leader, trying to introduce the idolatry of mystery Babylon, that they call Christmas and you want to bring all the Christmas carol saying that is the day that Jesus was born, and you don’t find that in the Acts of the Apostles or in the early church, then you don’t find that in the church either.  If you don’t know that before, now you know.
Well, let's all try to respect other people's beliefs. Meanwhile, other Christian leaders have replied Kumuyi, saying Christmas is not idolatrous but biblical. Continue..

A Catholic priest, Monsignor Gabriel Osu, said
“I don’t know what he means by saying the practice of celebrating Christmas is wrong. Is he saying that Christ wasn’t born? That he didn’t come to die for us? Does he not celebrate his own birthday? Do Kumuyi’s pastors not celebrate him? It is not everything I react to; some people just seek attention. If Kumuyi is a Christian, then he must believe in Christ.

“The celebration of Christmas didn’t just start today; it is too public an event for anyone to say that they don’t know what it is about. “If Kumuyi is condemning the commercialisation of Christmas, I can understand that. Christ came to redeem us from our lost state; this was actualised through his coming, his birth; that is why we celebrate Christmas. It is the fulfilment of God’s promise.”

"Kumuyi is just saying what he feels; he is not making any doctrinal statement.”

319 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 319 of 319

U̶̲̥̅̊ r very stupid for Ƌ̲̣̣̣̥a̶̲̥̅̊τ̲̣̣̥ remark. U̶̲̥̅̊ r d devil urself, N̶̲̥̅α̩̩̩̩ why U̶̲̥̅̊ still D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ write jamb idiot. Read ur bible fool

Pls all of u telling us abt d origin after asking google, una no dey celebrate christmas, una no buy rice,chicken 4 house?... Evn if a date wasn't written in d bible, its a day dat was picked to celebrate Christ specially. If u hv anoda celebration in ur mind, na u sabi. I see no offense in celebrating xmas oo. We celebrate our life everyday bt our birthday's re special days 4 celebration. As we don't kno d date of Jesus gongon, a date was picked to celebrate him specially and dats wat Christmas is abt.

deeper life condemn wearing of gold ear ring and ornament but in the bible when the children of GOD where leaving dats the israelites where leaving egypt they where told to take gold and jeweries frm tha egyptians and wear on their children as a sign of victory so why are they against it sumtimes may GOD 4give all this ppl manipulates us base on our personal ideology.

InkDrop said...

U see.different stories for just that day.please deeper life celebrate Xmas but through camping.I can't even imagine myself going for retreat and watching someone on a TV.bad....not biblical.turban ur women tie is from Muslim and Hinduism. Trace it.the suit u wear is fom English rich men.trace it.please if we trace many things.u won't do them.proudly catholic for ever and ever.Jehovah's witnesses and their stupid doctrine.they don't believe Jesus Christ is like his father. Keep fornicating.we brought Christianity before all these hungry looking pastors and churches started being founders after our missionaries suffered and taught Africans and Americans and converted them from traditional worship.some of our missionaries died.we brought education.now u have eyes to read and Google shit.mushroom churches for making money

Utibe said...

yes, lets not seek knowledge for ourselves..let's keep taking what our pastors and priests tell us...

or better, let's just do anything so long as that's how we came to see it...

how can proclaimed christian say it doesnt matter that it has an idolatry background... #pulldownstrongholds
#Godisnotmocked #hetrulyknows thosewhoareHis

InkDrop said...

Idiots Santa is a Latin word for saint.my nursery school was Santa maria which means saint Mary.dog face.u know the Bible abi....i too know

InkDrop said...

I will never worship Satan.it is u that worship Satan through watchtower. If they say stop eating fish u will quickly stop. Ode

U̶̲̥̅̊ r a fool, he actually married after a year. Even if he got anoda wife d nxt day, wat business has d dead wif d living. D wife Ȋ̝̊̅§ gone $ gone 4eva. Its nt biblical to honour d dead. Plz read ur bible.

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Agreed. Everyone has their own interpretations and opinions about things like this. But I gathered from his little tirade that "...we only gather during holidays to show we love the lord more...?" Soooo...we love the lord less on non-holidays? Well, brava sir!

thatfynelawyer said...

Instead of 'teaching for doctrine the commandments of men' as Jesus stated in Matt 15:9, i will exercise caution and celebrate a Risen king, Lord of Lords and His resurrection by partaking of the Lord's supper or communion...

that is the only accepted feast of which it is written..'s often as you do this, you do celebrate the Lord's death til He comes"

how more explicit do we want God to be? by not mentioning one event and celebrating another, we see a clear example of where the Mind of God is...

you do not have to accept it...but meditate and search the scriptures..

My dear, don't say wat u don't know.. Dis world is full of false prophesies.. Can u imagine wat u wrote..smh

In fact, Kumuyi is right. Jesus was not born on Dec 25. Jesus was probably born on April 23. The Romans fixed the Dec 25 the date to tie in with their idol worshipping. So, if u celebrate Xmas u are celebrating the birth of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Pls all of u telling us abt d origin after asking google, una no dey celebrate christmas, una no buy rice,chicken 4 house?... Evn if a date wasn't written in d bible, its a day dat was picked to celebrate Christ specially. If u hv anoda celebration in ur mind, na u sabi. I see no offense in celebrating xmas oo. We celebrate our life everyday bt our birthday's re special days 4 celebration. As we don't kno d date of Jesus gongon, a date was picked to celebrate him specially and dats wat Christmas is abt.

deeper life or no deeper life, pastor or no pastor. cant pple use their common sense and put two and two together, most especially so called Christians who just like being called one but dont understand anything about it. they prefer to be told than read it demsef from d bible. Xmas aint in d bible and Jesus Christ was not born on d 25dec and all those funny xmas songs, y is it not Jesus Christ is coming to town but rather santaclus is coming to town, by d way WHO IS SANTA? and most of u it who doubt it berra start reading ur bible correctly. Most of us wont make it to heaven cos of ignorance and cos we blif in the wrong pple called pastors and priest and the so called buildings they call churches.

Yeah Right. Later you and your children will hide and celebrate with fine cloths in London

Jesus Christ answered unto Martha, you are disturbed for many things, but Mary have chosen the better thing,and that is to learn at the Master's feet. So, his freedom of EXPRESSION should respected, while he respect others. For without BIRTH there will be no DEATH, and no RESURRECTION.

Coming from a non-deeper life and a Christian. Its hard for most people to face that which is the truth, make research my people, use ur search engines, read read read! its easy to follow the crowd, many churches fell out from catholic for many reasons(nothing against catholic)nd this is surely one of them. of course he is right Christmas is not biblical nd come to think of it, if Jesus's birth was that important to him he would have celebrated or marked it once in his life time while on earth but he never did nd non of his apostles did after his death either, all this started after the death of the last apostle, I know my bible frm front to bck he only asked us to celebrate his death wch is the most important nd reason why he came to earth in the first place,nd even that people dnt celebrate that much.Ask urself for a sec, Why the trees, who really is santa? why is he giving gifts,y do pple give gifts and why all the lights? all looks so shady what has al these has to do with Our Lord's birth? The philosophy course I took at the Uni was an eye opener then I startd making my research. Ignorance kills nd most people careless bcos of all the fun attached to xmas.Deeper life is not the only Christian religion not celebrating I know of a few as well.Here in North America, now pple say Happy Holiday, there is a reason 4dat, its really hard not to follow the crowd nd to do that which is right. God is patience nd merciful. God bless us all as we strive to do his will. Aunty Linda pls post this. thankz

jorboy said...

Christmas celebration have been around even before jesus was born the origin is purely false and sadly most christian today know this but if you are truly Christlike or a Christian is it not right to follow the Footsteps or Jesus Christ or his
early apostles who the bible never said they involve in this form of Idolatory hmm. no wonder the bible said Satan has blinded the mind of people so that they can see the light of God and one of the way he is doing this is through this pagan celebration called christmas

for those saying, afterall you celebrate your own birthday, how can you not celebrate the birthday of Christ..i have one question: did Jesus send u to?

ifhe wanted you to,dont you think he would have said so? afterall the celebration of birthdays was still happening then...

and those saying 'we chose a day?'..do u really think so? that YOU chose the day..beware of the manipulation of the devil..read about the winter solstice and the worship of the sungod

Mich said...

@tsola well said... All of you castigating the man of God should check yourself. Cos what i see is a people who are willing to commit sin no matter the stakes. For the sake of clarity, when Jesus was born he was certainly celebrated, but there was no account in the bible where it was written that our saviour celebrated his birthday. Now he said in his word that the life i lived so practice and lights. We all know that December 25th is a pagan holiday that was carved to satisfy sinful craves of man. Reading comments here and crying in my heart cos God people perish cos of lack of knowledge. Let Jesus have his way in all those who accused the man God ordained for standing up to the truth....... Watch And Pray

el pauliest said...

if christmas should is idolatrous and should nt be celebrated... Well thts cool... I believe also tht Sunday services are idolatrous too because its not in the bible... So holding Sunday services re idolatrous cos too.... Mtcheeeeww

For ur mind u got the real meaning of santa abi? Shame on ur brain, for ur info santa means saint in latin and christmas originated from rome, I'm sure u are one of the illuminati non-apologists, ijjit

THE MAN SPOKE WELL(I MEAN THE TRUTH)ISN'T ALWAYS SHY TO SAY DAT..DAT IS WHY I LOVE HIM..WE NIGERIANS XTIANS HAVE BEING BLINDFOLDED BY LAY DOWN PRINCIPLES JUST LIKE OUR FELLOW MUSLIM COLLEAGUES..JUST FOLLOWIN EVERYTHIN LIAD DOWN BY WHITES LIKE A HEADLESS CHICKEN..THINK WE SUD START DIGGIN DEEP INTO THE ROOT OF WAT DIS WHITE BROUGHT TO US..NOT A MEMBER ANYWAY..

The Bible makes no mention of a birthday celebration for Jesus. In fact, his exact birth date is unknown. We can be sure, though, that he was not born on December 25 in the cold of winter in that part of the world.* For one thing, Luke recorded that when Jesus was born, “shepherds [were] living out of doors” minding their flocks. (Luke 2:8-11) If “living out of doors” had been their habit year round, that would not have been noteworthy. However, because Bethlehem is subject to cold rains and snow, flocks were wintered under cover and shepherds would not have been “living out of doors.” Additionally, Joseph and Mary went to Bethlehem because Caesar Augustus had ordered a census. (Luke 2:1-7) It is highly unlikely that Caesar would have commanded a people who were resentful of Roman rule to travel to their ancestral cities in the dead of winter.
The roots of Christmas are found, not in Scripture, but in ancient pagan festivals, such as the Roman Saturnalia, a celebration dedicated to Saturn, the god of agriculture. Likewise, according to their reckoning, devotees of the god Mithra celebrated December 25 as the “birthday of the invincible sun,” says the New Catholic Encyclopedia. “Christmas originated at a time when the cult of the sun was particularly strong at Rome,” about three centuries after the death of Christ.
During their celebrations, pagans exchanged gifts and feasted—practices that Christmas preserved. As is also true today, however, much Christmas giving was not in the spirit of 2 Corinthians 9:7, which reads: “Let each one do just as he has resolved in his heart, not grudgingly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” True Christians give out of love, their giving is not tied to a date, and they expect no gifts in return. (Luke 14:12-14; Acts 20:35) Moreover, they deeply appreciate being set free from the Christmas frenzy and relieved of the heavy yoke of financial debt that many incur at that time of year.—Matthew 11:28-30; John 8:32.
But, some may argue, did not the astrologers present birthday gifts to Jesus? No. Their gift-giving was simply a way of paying their respects to a person of note, a common custom in Bible times. (1 Kings 10:1, 2, 10, 13; Matthew 2:2, 11) In fact, they did not even come on the night that Jesus was born. Jesus was, not a babe in a manger, but many months old and living in a house when they arrived.

Why Do Some People Not Celebrate Christmas?

▪ Around the world, nearly two billion people celebrate Christmas each December 25, while at least 200 million others celebrate the birthday of Jesus Christ on January 7. However, there are also millions who choose not to celebrate Christmas at all. Why?
For one thing, they may belong to a religion that is not part of Christendom. They may be of the Jewish, Hindu, or Shinto faith, to name a few. Others, such as atheists, agnostics, freethinkers, or secular humanists, view the Christmas story as a myth.
Surprisingly, though, a sizable number of people who believe in Jesus reject the Yuletide traditions. Why? They point to at least four reasons.
First, they do not believe that Jesus was born in either December or January. The Bible does not give a specific date. It simply states: “There were also in that same country shepherds living out of doors and keeping watches in the night over their flocks. And suddenly Jehovah’s angel stood by them, and . . . the angel said to them: ‘. . . There was born to you today a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.’”—Luke 2:8-11.
Facts point to Jesus’ birth at approximately the beginning of October when shepherds with their flocks would still spend the night in the fields. The countryside around Bethlehem experiences the coldest weather during the months of December and January. Hence, to keep them warm at night, flocks are herded into protective shelters.
A second reason: The only event Jesus specifically instructed his followers to commemorate was his death, not his birth, and this was to be done as a simple communion meal. (Luke 22:19, 20) Note, too, that the Gospels of Mark and John are silent about Jesus’ birth.
A third reason: There is no historical evidence that the early Christians celebrated the birth of the Christ. But they did memorialize his death. (1 Corinthians 11:23-26) It was not until more than 300 years after Jesus’ birth that Christendom officially began to observe Christmas on December 25. Interestingly, in the mid-17th century, an act of parliament banned Christmas celebrations in England. In the United States, the Massachusetts General Court did the same. Why? The book The Battle for Christmas, says: “There is no biblical or historical reason to place the birth of Jesus on December 25.” It adds that to the Puritans, “Christmas was nothing but a pagan festival covered with a Christian veneer.”
That brings us to a fourth reason: The unsavory origin of the celebration itself. The roots of Christmas can be traced back to pagan Rome with its mixture of festivals for honoring the agricultural god Saturn and the sun god Sol Invictus, or Mithra. Anthropologists Christian Rätsch and Claudia Müller-Ebeling, coauthors of the book Pagan Christmas, write: “Like many pre-Christian customs and beliefs, the old feast commemorating the yearly return of the sun was rededicated to the birth of Christ.”
In view of the foregoing, can you see why true Christians do not celebrate Christmas?

Tobi said...

Are we aware that our Sunday worship also has an idolatrous background? It was a day dedicated to the worship of the Sun god. The Sabath day is actually a Saturday. Does this stop us from our Sunday worship? I guess not. The message is...what do you do during the celebration of his birth? Is it the date of his birth that we should be concerned about or the essence of his birth? I believe what Pastor Kumuyi is condeming is obvious...don't celebrate Christ like the pagans.

Christ was not born on December 25,what you are celebrating is God of Son that has its root from roman idolatry worship.
it is not Biblical, but if you think otherwise please show us in the bible.
the two birthday celebrations in the Bible is associated with violence

Seriously... This is silly, but if the pst want to argue this out, then i will say.
1) The pagan celebration was idolatry not Christmas.
2) The early christian erred in so many ways but we are all seeking oneness and praying for unity
3) Christmas in itself brings Christians from all denominations (except a few) together
4) The date can arguable be said to have wiped off the pagan rituals that may have continued if not for the interference of the early Christians

Most Importantly, We celebrate the birth of Christ everyday, just like you and your friends celebrate your life everyday. 25th December was chosen in an attempt to convert people to Christ and from what i know and can see in the world today, it has worked.
For those who look for reasons to make the celebration sound bad, you are entitled to your opinion
I'm out...

gudyyobiorah said...

I dnt care what other libers think about yhu, but you are a fool on the road to hell.. what do you mean by devilish opinon.. he has his reasons and if you dont stand with it doesnt make him or his opinion devilish.. mayb yhur d devil herself..

ebony said...

State facts nd not fables next time,nd say only reasonable stuff,ok?

Different churches - Different doctrines. Apart from xmas, we also have doctrinal differences in birthdays, easter, birthcontrol/contraception, etc........how can we know the real truth? How do we know which doctrine to follow? How can we please God totally and do according to His will? Which of His vessel can we totally confide in?!
ALL WE NEED IS THE GRACE, FAVOUR AND MERCY OF GOD.

Why so bitter about the Catholic Church? You are obviously not a better person if you can criticize another church.

Hiss..so what does his statement mean.

Shut your dusty ass up. Feel free to not celebrate the birth of Christ. From your comment, it is obvious you are a bitter/sad person anyways.

But he needed to be born to doe abi?

harnikky said...

Na him sabi! Let everybody celebrate christmas the way they understand it! Someone that came to die for us,he dint even his own life! Abeg y we •̸№ go celebrate him? Its becos of Him we are alive!

It is funny how you think you are a better Christian than Catholics because here you are passing judgment and you call yourself a Christian. Pilate the chief judge. Cast the first stone now.

What happens to those of us celebrating Christmas?.... are we all going to Hell?
Please somebody help me ask these guys...May be they are probably the only ones going to heaven..

Because xmas appears sweet and modernized with church ordinations and giftings does not reverse its origin.Pastor Kumuyi is a reverred man of God who rarely speaks unless it is instructed. Remember Jesus words looks foolish too. when they asked Jesus if He was the son of God and the savior, and He said, they said it, it looks foolish and the kings laughed in stupor at their palaces. Tsosan has analysed how we came about xmas, it is a day set aside to drink and engage in immorality, dont just brush things away and call a man of God despicable names. Remember, the mills of God grind slowly.When God sends Moses to the children of Israel, they often abuse and condemn him, in short they insulted God. Do not be in such position just because you hear a truth you are uncomfortable with.

Lmao haba d snow? R u saying idol worshippers created snow too? Only God knows those that are worshipping HIM in spirit and in truth!

it is indeed a pagan event that was christened. think of how cold it is in december... wld shepherds be watching their sheep in the cold???

Queen Ebony said...

U ppl shd stop confusing ursef,wat this man said is simple,he said dat Dec 25th isn't the date of Jesus birth so it shd not be celebrated on dat day nd moreover the date has an idolatrous origin. If u understand english well,u will know dat he didn't not say he doesn't believe in Jesus' birth like the Rev father said neither did he say celebrating Jesus is idolatry,he's only being specific abt the date and his origin addin dat its not in the bible neither was it celebrated by the early church,so get him right,
On dat note,I think everytin is said is correct.
However,everyone is entitled to his opinion,so do wat u like.
And to steve dat said she goes to Deeper life nd no dr members nd dat he's preaching to his members 'to be dirty nd wear rags',you'll av to play me a recording of dat msg b4 I agree to dat,I tried to reply ur comment but I cud not.
Linda if u like no post my comment,u've neva posted my comment.

If u are disrespectful to your parents and elderly ones mind your tongue on a man anoited by God. You can air your opinion but saying he should go and sit down is insulting, Iam not Yoruba or attend his church but I do have a great deal of respect for his person, he is entitled to his opinion about things so do you too.

@jenyking. See name, jenywot? U've always come across as a stupid bigot but I never imagined it had degenerated to dis level. D name tells it all. It's not a must to display ur arrant stupidity on blogs bcos mere looking at u has stupidity written all over it. I suggest u go back to ur stupid coven where ur stupidity will be highly appreciated

Now this the first time I'm commenting on here, what I'll just say that Christianity is a thing of the heart....and what you choose to do no matter the date is judge by the intensions of the heart. If pro to the celebration you don't acknowledge the birth of Christ then there's no need for celebrating Christmas.... Its more like celebrating yourself.

dhobiz said...

Nobody said it's in the bible besides not celebrating Christmas doesn't make you a better Christian

dhobiz said...

Gbamest

dhobiz said...

All these ones you just said is according to historians ba? my question is......where you there and how are we to confirm this? pls don't refer me to google

Must we see xmas in d bible b4 we celebrate it? Or is it that u pple are disbelieving Christ's birth? We might not be very sure of d date but 25th Dec has
been agreed generally on earth and so will it be in heaven too. If i may ask, is there anytin like deeper life in d bible? Well, if xmas is paganism, i wonder what u wil call Sallah, and other traditional festivals. My worry is that, we do not border to convert unbelievers rather we continue to contradit & confuse those dat hav been led 2 Christ already.

post my comment said...

As christains,we may have been doin sth 4 long n everyone is doin it doesn't make it rite. Even the holy books said Broad is the way that leads to destruction and many there be that go in that way,narrow is the way that lead to life,few are they that enter it. Can't we see? Can't we reason,examine the bible,and ask God,we jst think somethings are d norm. We shldn't be quick to judge,condemn,it's still God that'd judge us at the end. For those saying all sort of comments about the man of God,Kumuyi.Beloved,he's more concerned wit souls getting to heaven,that's why he'd preach it day and night,it's left 4 d church members to follow and practice wat's bn said. Even Jehovah's witness don't celebrate xmas,4 gud reasons. But wen it's Kumuyi,they all jump and talk,that's to show a lot of things Christ said.

I am confused
Are we not all christians?

which pastor chris called d catholic church the anti christ church. dont say what he disnt say

Daddy's Girl said...

So many christian teachers in d house, nice...buh I don't agree wt Kumuyi @ aLL
.# Xmas all d w*y#

I agree with u totally. Ur comment on point

Actually d catholic priest didn't make a point relating to d scriptures.... Kumuyi s rite.... Xmas s jst 1 idolisd tin we xtains do........ Dt no mean say ma xmas rice go pass me o

Thus saith the lord learn not the way of the heathens and be not dismayed at them , for the customs of the people are vain for one cutteth a tree out of the forest the work of the hands of the workman with the axe, they deck it with silver and with gold they fasten it nails and with hammers that they move not Jeremaih chap 10 v 2-4.
clearly this is xmas being described here and pastor kumiyi is right it is the way of the heathen christains of understanding open ur heart and see the truth

G said...

Yes christ was born, he died and rose to set us free from sin and death but christmas has a lot of pagan practice attached to it: Darkness cannot exist where Light is.
Below is Bible description of a Christmas tree;
Jeremiah 10: 1-6
1 Hear ye the word which the Lord speaketh unto you, O house of Israel:

2 Thus saith the Lord, Learn not the way of the heathen, and be not dismayed at the signs of heaven; for the heathen are dismayed at them.

3 For the customs of the people are vain: for one cutteth a tree out of the forest, the work of the hands of the workman, with the axe.

4 They deck it with silver and with gold; they fasten it with nails and with hammers, that it move not.

5 They are upright as the palm tree, but speak not: they must needs be borne, because they cannot go. Be not afraid of them; for they cannot do evil, neither also is it in them to do good.

6 Forasmuch as there is none like unto thee, O Lord; thou art great, and thy name is great in might.

Sidney Izulu said...

Tsola and her responder are correct in their approach. I don't believe in santa Claus. It's unscriptural. It's the idolatry the world has unconsciously come to celebrate. What I believe is that Jesus was born to save us from sin. That's the reason I'm a Christian

Sidney Izulu said...

Tsola and her responder are correct in their approach. I don't believe in santa Claus. It's unscriptural. It's the idolatry the world has unconsciously come to celebrate. What I believe is that Jesus was born to save us from sin. That's the reason I'm a Christian

Short of words

.Even if the origin of Christmas celebration is filled with a lot of wrong doing, i believe that is more than reason enough why the birth of Christ, something so glorious should replace such.the celebration of Christmas has metarmophosed from what is sinful to what is good. The message of Christmas is that with Christ in the world , all things have become new.. old things have passed away just because the people of old committed horific things on december 25th does not condemn that day as being idolatrous..Condemn the commercialization of Christmas and the heights of sin during the holiday period but do not condemn the True message it sends.. Our Salvation is here

Hmmmn, Kumuyi too! Anyways I fnk him Fᵒʳ directn dis opinion to church goers alone nt "entire world" *xmas galore s d best U̶̲̥̅̊ ever get in a church jawe* #mzh ville#

U just displayed how empty ur brain is,u better watch what u say before the spirit of God strikes you. Idiot

Always seeing the fault in the Catholics,what about your so called bible believing church? Or haven't u heard of a pastor sleeping with his church members? Think wisely!

We celebrate easter don't we? Have there ever been a specific date for easter?this year it may be april and the next it may be may,why have we not said that since it has no specific date we won't celebrate.people just come here sometimes to say things that are not reasonable. At christmas we celebrate christ and nothing can stop it.

ayberry said...

I'm a deeper lyf memba bt me no too cary tinz 4head##bt as 4 dz I tink dia z a point in wot BABA said........I read my bible a lot n I've neva kam across dat we shud celebrate xmas##......n as 4 d priest ,,hez only tryin to defend z religion##MY pastor speaks d lords mind, dnt b ignorant coz u hrd it nw,,no excuse on d judgement day niqqur..."De donot understnd cos de ar of d flesh"datz jez wotz happenin to doz wu disagree wit KUMUYI.....he isn't sayin u shud nt celeb bt to som reasonable xtent##May GOD help us all

Donno y pple think like that... We knew christianity through European missionaires... They don carry theirs past the origins. Na wa

@jennyking u must be a dullard monkey to call a man of God devilish mind nd may God nt pour his wrath on ur faded body

Wen ppl in dose weird churches wiv alarming doctrines mk comments. ..u'll jes know dem.
Come 25th....I go celebrate wella
And 1 quick question...even if its not in d bible. ..does it mk us unrighteous dat we celebrate?
Will God say, unfaithful servant, walk straight to hell u celebrated Christmas? ?
Smh...pls lets focus on more imp issues

When d foundation of something is falsehood, I see no reason why dia won't b argument in d entirerity of dat tin

Before u comment,u might actually want to go to a library and read up.Information from Goggle was compiled by people who have a particular mind set.Maybe,just maybe u can go and read what the church's history says about christmas.Till then,ur facts are lopsided...#pierre

Weda Christmas was a pegan tradition or it was introduced by Satan tru d catholic church doesn't realli matter,wat matters now is we as Christians hav decided 2 mark dat day as a day 2 celebrate our lord Jesus 4 bein born as a true Christian all dose hu decide 2 celebrate it by committin sin re on Deir own.pastor kumuyi shud no veri well dat bein jugdemental is also a sin even tho dats not his intention we re all Christians if u don't want 2 celebrate it dats fyn don't make it luk as if we cebrating re sinners afterall we all serve 1 God so let's try 2b united.bsides if proper investigation is carried out we'll realise dat practically everitin we celebrate 2day has a pagan origin,sometym ago news cameout dat valentines day originated 4rm a pagan tradition which was practiced people hed it nd pushed aside bcos most people had loved1s hu they wanted 2 appreciate n also b appreciated by so y can't we do dsame 4 Christmas.We were not dere wen all dese thins happened just hav d mindset dat u'r celebrating ur Lord nd 2 it.dats my own oh

.Even if the origin of christmas celebration is filled with a lot of wrong doing, i believe that is more than reason enough why the birth of christ, something so glorious should replace such.the celebration of xmas has metarmophosed from what is sinful to what is good. The message of christmas is that with Christ in the world , all things have become new.. old things have passed away just because the people of old committed horific things on december 25th does not condemn that day as being idolatrous..Condemn the commercialization of christmas and the heights of sin during the holiday period but do not condemn the True message it sends.. Our Salvation is here

Some years ago the same preacher asked his followers not to watch tv. I guess aeroplane,cars, emails,gsm, tithe in naira etc are not biblical and i guess he uses none of such.

Abeggie wat happened 2all d bangers' n knockouts? even d fireworks???8-| Today is 24th n the neighbourhood is still quiet:]Y?? Am kinda liking it, sha#no period like xmas#loving it.

what w.f kumuyi said is ryt! Buh, i stil dnt knw why he'z neva said anythng about d true day of worship 'cos av truely Searchd d scriptures and convincd that ''sunday'' is nt d ryt day of worship

We all find ourselves in the religion and faith we follow mostly through the family we were born and atimes we find some information not clear in our beliefs, but we still try as much to defend our religion and faith. Whether you celebrate Christmas or not doesn't rilly matter, what's important is having the kindest of heart during this season and always. Merry chrisymas to those who celebrate and to those who dont, peace n love..

Linda, that catholic priest should go back and Read is bible. d pastor made dat statement in his message to his people,was The priest dir Wen he said dat? it wasn't even an interview,how is he den seeking for attention? did The priest even take is time to listen to d msg Before concluding? so Who is seeking for attention now?a man Who preaches in his church Or sumone Who critize him? I don't even knw Whr he heard dat kumuyi celebrates his birthday....Nd his pastors celebrate him? ..if ur to speak against a pastor just remember ur speaking against God...and God will definitely judge you. if Christ wanted US to celebrate his birthday won't it v bin written in d bible as he did to d lord supper? wat will it profit u after celebrating Christmas every year Nd u die Nd go to tell even when d purpose of God to b crucified was to redeem you of sin? even matthew 28:18-20 says it all.I don't knw if Christ commandment was for US to celebrate Christmas Or preach d gospel? even d lord supper was commanded,Nd we are to do it in remembrance of him.I pray God opens Our eyes to see The truth.

Pastor Kumuyi is a revered minister that has been around for a long time but I think he has seriously erred in this regard by saying that the birth of Christ should not be celebrated. If we look at the new testament when Jesus was born there was celebration, singing and praise to God for that which had happened.
Luke 2:13, 14, 20
(13) And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, (14) Glory to God in the highest, and on e...arth peace, good will toward men. (20) And the shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things that they had heard and seen, as it was told unto them.

We all mark our birthdays, we celebrate it one way or the other to appreciate God for His mercies. So what is wrong if we do the same to honour our Lord and Savior.

Even if (as claimed) the original concept originated from idolic idealogies, CHRISTIANS worldwide decided to change its concept and turn it around to honour our Lord.....is this wrong?
Some would say that there is no where in the Bible that says Christ was born December 25th....but as my father would say THE DATE IS NOT REALLY THE ISSUE, WHAT IS IMPORTANT IS THAT HE WAS BORN.

And the REASON he was borne is what we celebrate.
The reason he was borne is what we mark.
Even our calender highlights this fact- BC/AD.

If the concern/grievance is the commercialization of the event. that is an understandable query but to say celebrating the birth of our Lord is Idolatrous......
Pastor W.F. Kumuyi I must say you got this one TOTALLY WRONG

Enjoy a blessed Christmas and a fulfilled new year.

I think Kumuyi is seeing the light of the word of God more clearly,most of you here agree to the fact that christmas was converted to be the birth of Christ. My questions are: did Jesus Christ instruct christians to convert any day to be his birthday? Did Jesus Christ forget to celebrate his birthday for the 33 years plus he lived on earth? Did the first century christians right from pentecost 33 CE forget to celebrate Jesus’ birthday? When we say we are christians, we follow our exemplar Jesus Christ. Someone said maybe it was not recorded that Jesus celebrated, the bible says, everything written was written for we living at the end of times. Jesus gave concise instructions on things christians should do. E.g Mat 28:19-20, Luke 22:19. Simply put, Jesus did not celebrate his birthday why do u celebrate it for him. In this world we live in today, there are soooooo many things distracting us from pleasing God, if you start by removing this by getting to know the truth, you would have tried and then can move on to improving on the other things. If u want to celebrate Jesus, live your life in accord with his principles. That is not as easy as it sounds but with genuine love for God and and appreciation of Jesus’ ransom sacrifice, we’ll keep trying. I pray God help us all but we have to be willing to let Him help us.

,yes we shud be aware of christ evryday but thn a day to celebrate hz birtd,if he doesnt celebrate christ birth then he shouldnt celebrate his death,jesus told hz that anything thy approv on ezrth ix appovd in hwvn....and i tell chistmas is recognisd in hevn...sm ask y on a pagan day nd i ask y not...re u afraid cos pagans choose d day...christ owns all d day...nd directed that 25 be choosen...of all d pagan roman dys...25th december was choosen....i c clearly d handwok of God nd hiz purpose

Truthchasers said...

I agree with the pastor about christmas not being a biblical concept. Other than the fact that Christmas does not as a phrase and practice appear in the bible, a simple google search will tell you that christmas as a concept and practice was coined by the catholic church as a means of converting pagans to christianity, a move that gave birth to one of the most "religious" people the world has ever known. It does not however detract from the truth that Christ was born and he came to give good will to all men from God. So i will be celebrating God's goodwill to me through Christ because more than ever,this year, Christ and the knowledge of him in my life has been made more eveident. Cheers everyone!

Dont be confused. JESUS DID NOT DIE!.he accended to heaven miraculously just as he was miraculously born.What do u think he's coming back 2 do.every soul shall die once.when he comes he would die on d last day just lyk every other soul.HE WASNT CRUCIFIED!

There was joy in heaven when Jesus was born as revealed to the 3 wise men and they bought very expensive gifts- gold, myrrh and frankinsence to go visit Jesus- the saviour of the world. that day will never be forgotten by us who have been saved by Jesus and the best gift to give him as we remember that glorious day is the Salvation of our souls and that of others...God bless you!

NAH MUMU DEY GO DEEPER LIFE CHURCH NAH..... SOMETIMES I DEY WONDER IF ALL THE PROBLEMS WEY DEY DIS LIFE NAH NAIJA HE DEY BCUS NAH ORISIRISI WE DEY HEAR EVERYDAY

Berraa waatch wat you're saayin...what's d meaning of "for him devilish mind" ..you're aan idiot nd a fool...stupid girl..get a life bastard nd stop insultin a man of God..not just a man of God..aa respected man of God

I wunt be surpisd wen evil strt apenin2 som ppl o,ppl dat cnt cntrl dier hands nd mouth wen men of God utter fnx...eida itz ryt or wrng,dat dosnt say u shd curse Godz anointed...if xmas celebration is stopd globally shebi u'l go nd die abi

Same way he used to say his members shld not watch TV, but dem dey air their programmes on cable channels. Abeg the hypocrisy of deeper life pple dey vex pesn.

In the 4th century CE, Christianity imported the Saturnalia festival hoping to take the pagan masses in with it. Christian leaders succeeded in converting to Christianity large numbers of pagans by promising them that they could continue to celebrate the Saturnalia as Christians.[2]

The problem was that there was nothing intrinsically Christian about Saturnalia. To remedy this, these Christian leaders named Saturnalia’s concluding day, December 25th, to be Jesus’ birthday.

Christmas is celebrated in the days of paganism to lure and convert pagans to Christianity, replacing the then idol worshiping on Dec 25th with celebration of the birth of Jesus Christ. So this is a GOOD course. Merry Christmas!!!

Most of d christians celebrations do not really have accurate dates,including easter which changes date every year

Linda u didn't post My previous comment o....u weren't even at d program Nd ur giving d people half baked news....how is kumuyi seeking attention when he didn't even say dos tins in an interview?it was During d msg he said dat...and I don't even knw y Sum pple are so quick to condemn pastor kumuyi....God will judge all of u.....besides he has his own prove which is d bible,wat prove dos d priest Have? after celebrating Christmas evry year Nd u still spend eternity in tell even after Christ has paid d price for ur redemption, wat will it profit you? Linda,I felt bad when I saw people writing nonsence abt kumuyi....bt God knows best thou...Linda pls try and get d full msg of wat he said...it doesn't end Whr u stop.....if u like don't post My comment its btwn u Nd God bcus I cnt keep quiet Nd watch pple write nonsence abt wat dey don't know.

People perish for lack of knowledge wat this man is saying is 101% right. Research dats y u all have smart phones. Der is something called GOOGLE.... Shepard's don't bring out sheep in the winter... Don't b brain washed... Emancipate urselves!! Habaaa!

MUSTY- mustapha said...

what is really happening in the world of today.so many things aint just right!!!!!even religious leaders of a particular religion dont have the same belive. how many types of christianity do we have???

Correct

Alomo,the truth is bitter;kumuyi is right
Case Closed Stamped And Sealed

Ruth aniedi said...

christ stay on dis earth he never 4 once celebrated it but he urged his disciples 2 celebrate or remember his death and he even went as far as celebrating it with them Luke 22 Vs 19, 20 and 1Corth 11 Vs. 25, 26. Humility wld make u 2 accept d true Bible teaching. Bless u

Teka said...

People please don't forget that he did not address the press, media, general public or at any other ceremony, he was addressing his church members at their December retreat. So please if u hv any issue with wat he sed, ignore it as he wasn't addressing u, nd u are not a member of his church.

Let God judge, you should only be withness to His doings.

Kumuyi is right.Christ asked his followers to go into the world and preach the good news to all men, that they can be saved due to his ressurection. He never asked anyone to celebrate his birthday. Christmas was initiated by the Romans to merge christianity with paganism, as so many other rituals performed in christianity today. But if you love christ so much, you would focus on what the bible says. Please read your bible and get the truth about christ, not everything you see on google.

you can't be celebrating the birthday of someone who is not your friend or someone who you do not know personally

Just me said...

The word "Christian" simply means Christlike. Followers of Christ, if Jesus did not celebrate his birth for 33 and a half years he lived on earth, then why shld we his followers celebrate it? Even the first century century Christians, the apostle Paul and others did not celebrate it, then why are we celebrating it? Are we more Christians than they are? If we really love God, as we say we do, we will do wat he tells us to do and not d other way round.
True Christians don't follow after the crowd, take a moment, forget about wat ur pastor says and wat d whole world is doing, read ur bible carefully, make research to find out d truth for urself. Just becos a celebration is attached to Jesus Christ, doesn't make it "RIGHT".

Just me said...

The word "Christian" simply means Christlike. Followers of Christ, if Jesus did not celebrate his birth for 33 and a half years he lived on earth, then why shld we his followers celebrate it? Even the first century century Christians, the apostle Paul and others did not celebrate it, then why are we celebrating it? Are we more Christians than they are? If we really love God, as we say we do, we will do wat he tells us to do and not d other way round.
True Christians don't follow after the crowd, take a moment, forget about wat ur pastor says and wat d whole world is doing, read ur bible carefully, make research to find out d truth for urself. Just becos a celebration is attached to Jesus Christ, doesn't make it "RIGHT".

I never expect this from pastor Kumuyi. Actually, we all knew that the date of birth of Jesus Christ wasn't recorded in the bible but a son is given and all government shall be upon his shoulder.is it not worth to be celebrated? basically, a particular day must be appointed to celebrate his existence on earth. i think is messages should not be a public address,i think some Christians mind has now been divided and troubled. my believe is that the principle of Christ should be clearly celebrated in Christmas.

celebration of chrismas is not biblical,there is no where in the bible that said we should celebrate chrismas or the bith of christ,jesus christ told his disciples everything but he never told them to celebrate xmas,when he was given the disciples holi communion,he said do this in remembrance of me,this is my body and this is my blood,he did not tel them to remember xmas or his birth,and i believe it was originated by the jew and christian are not to follow the jews but to follow christ,cos christianity christ like and not jews like.

December 25 was chosen by the church as a way of evangelizing the pagan world who worshipped the Sun god. That Jesus Christ, the Son of God is the true Sun that never sets and that He alone deserves our worship. Is Kumuyi,s December retreat in the bible? The answer is capital no. But it is a good practice or tool for evangelization. So also is Christmas. Kumuyi needs to be deep in history.

Cos Jesus shares his birthdate with a sun God. Does DAT mean he shudnt b celebrated? U kumiyi shares ur birthdate with a rapist. Does it mean wen I say hbd kumiyi " I m also referring 2 d rapist? Deeper lifers r sadistic..

Luke 16:15
And he said unto them, Ye are they which justify yourselves before men; but God knoweth your hearts: for that which is highly esteemed among men is abomination in the sight of God.

Mathew 7:13-14
Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat:
Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.

Be wise beloved, God is not a man His ways are not our ways and His thoughts definitely not our thoughts. Be blessed

Well, that was his own personal opinion. December 25 was chosen partly because no one knows the exact date of Christ birth, also because after 25th the world experience longer days, i.e ... the light(CHRIST) entering into the world (jn 1:4-5), partly also to convert the The Roman sun worshipers whom believe that the sun god is the light of the world & usually had their festive on 25th dec. And i know that heaven rejoice over their repentance (Lk 15:7) and it worth celebrating just like the return of prodigal son(LK 15:31-32). In my own case i celebrate christmass because i believe that Christ Jesus is the light of the world (jn 8:12 & jn 9 :5). God made me in his own image image (gen 1:27), in his image am like a light to the world (mat 5:14-16) therefore its my duty to make peace, visit the imprisoned, help the poor, made Christ manifest in whatever i do. I also belive in the sunday sabbath(the first day of the week) because its the day Christ resurrect, penticost, light was made(gen 1:3) and the apostles observe it as its in Acts 20:7 and 1cor 16:2. I hav no business with the son god am in CHRIST JESUS

You can reply but you don't need to be insultive. You're still speaking about a man of God

Cages? Seriously? How daft can you get?

Lol... Honey, you are the height of stupidity... Such a pity, baby. If you dare take to me, I will curse you out... Stupid bitch!!!

I'm sorry ooo... But how is this even slightly relevant?

These*

Dummy!

OMG! You're such a horrible animal! Lol... So isotope marrying serially is ok, yes? F*cking hypocrite! Bastard!

Your comments are usually sound and enlightening... I guess everybody isn't perfect. This is a ridiculously ignorant one...

Dummy!

Weldn wit dat quote! Who d hell wana argue? I dey hold for Costain jaweee!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 319 of 319   Newer› Newest»