Nigerian cook survives two days under sea in shipwreck air bubble | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 12 June 2013

Nigerian cook survives two days under sea in shipwreck air bubble

After two days trapped in freezing cold water and breathing from an air bubble in an upturned tugboat under the ocean, Harrison Okene was sure he was going to die. Then a torch light pierced the darkness.

Ship's cook Okene, 29, was on board the Jascon-4 tugboat when it capsized on May 26 due to heavy Atlantic ocean swells around 30 km (20 miles) off the coast of Nigeria, while stabilizing an oil tanker filling up at a Chevron platform.

Of the 12 people on board, divers recovered 10 dead bodies while a remaining crew member has not been found. Somehow Okene survived, breathing inside a four foot high bubble of air as it shrunk in the waters slowly rising from the ceiling of the tiny toilet and adjoining bedroom where he sought refuge, until two South African divers eventually rescued him.

"I was there in the water in total darkness just thinking it's the end. I kept thinking the water was going to fill up the room but it did not," Okene said, parts of his skin peeling away after days soaking in the salt water.

"I was so hungry but mostly so, so thirsty. The salt water took the skin off my tongue," he said. Seawater got into his mouth but he had nothing to eat or drink throughout his ordeal.
At 4:50 a.m. on May 26, Okene says he was in the toilet when he realized the tugboat was beginning to turn over. As water rushed in and the Jascon-4 flipped, he forced open the metal door.
"As I was coming out of the toilet it was pitch black so we were trying to link our way out to the water tidal (exit hatch)," Okene told Reuters in his home town of Warri, a city in Nigeria's oil-producing Niger Delta.

"Three guys were in front of me and suddenly water rushed in full force. I saw the first one, the second one, the third one just washed away. I knew these guys were dead."
What he didn't know was that he would spend the next two and a half days trapped under the sea praying he would be found.

Turning away from his only exit, Okene was swept along a narrow passageway by surging water into another toilet, this time adjoining a ship's officers cabin, as the overturned boat crashed onto the ocean floor. To his amazement he was still breathing.

Fish feasted on the dead
Okene, wearing only his underpants, survived around a day in the four foot square toilet, holding onto the overturned washbasin to keep his head out of the water.
He built up the courage to open the door and swim into the officer's bedroom and began pulling off the wall paneling to use as a tiny raft to lift himself out of the freezing water.
He sensed he was not alone in the darkness.
"I was very, very cold and it was black. I couldn't see anything," says Okene, staring into the middle distance.

"But I could perceive the dead bodies of my crew were nearby. I could smell them. The fish came in and began eating the bodies. I could hear the sound. It was horror."
What Okene didn't know was a team of divers sent by Chevron and the ship's owners, West African Ventures, were searching for crew members, assumed by now to be dead.
Then in the afternoon of May 28, Okene heard them.
 "I heard a sound of a hammer hitting the vessel. Boom, boom, boom. I swam down and found a water dispenser. I pulled the water filter and I hammered the side of the vessel hoping someone would hear me. Then the diver must have heard a sound."

Divers broke into the ship and Okene saw light from a head torch of someone swimming along the passageway past the room.
"I went into the water and tapped him. I was waving my hands and he was shocked," Okene said, his relief still visible.
He thought he was at the bottom of the sea, although the company says it was 30 meters below.
The diving team fitted Okene with an oxygen mask, diver's suit and helmet and he reached the surface at 19:32, more than 60 hours after the ship sank, he says.

Okene says he spent another 60 hours in a decompression chamber where his body pressure was returned to normal. Had he just been exposed immediately to the outside air he would have died.
The cook describes his extraordinary survival story as a "miracle" but the memories of his time in the watery darkness still haunt him and he is not sure he will return to the sea.
"When I am at home sometimes it feels like the bed I am sleeping in is sinking. I think I'm still in the sea again. I jump up and I scream," Okene said, shaking his head.
"I don't know what stopped the water from filling that room. I was calling on God. He did it. It was a miracle."

Source: Reuters

446 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 446   Newer›   Newest»

TO GOD BE THE GLORY.......... Dr P

Omg!

rovina dauch said...

A miracle indeed!!!God is superb!blessed be ur name Lord!I rejoice with u!

Thanks to God.

God is real, this is a divine miracle

What a story. Congratulation and thank God For the gift of life.God saved u for a. Purpose so go don on ur knee and talk to him after All not that u were a saint buh he. Decided to save u. I thank God for ur lIfe.

Wow!!!! God is Alive mehn!!! It just wasn't his time to leave the world. What a testimony!!

Princess Zoe said...

OMG!!! I'm shocked beyond words. * opens mouth*

This is a Miracle indeed!!!

Rare Diamondz said...

Thanks be to God Almighty. He is faithful,when u call on him,he answers.

This is old news Linda , it's bin long carried by newspaper tabloids.#smh

Ђα̲̅Ɣ‎​ for him

hmm...scary story; like what we see in the movies. Thank God for his life.

God said ur mission on earth is yet 2 b accomplished. And more He said He's not done wt u yet. Dont b scared again. You re alive. Just keep thanking Him.

You are worthy to be praised oh Lord!
got chills reading this

God is great!

So touching... Thank God, you will probably still need therapy to help with the trauma.. May God be with you..

God is ever faithful, praise the Lord

So touching... Thank God, you will probably still need therapy to help with the trauma.. May God be with you..

God is Great

Indeed only God can do this. God has a purpose for your life, my brother. May He grant rest to the souls of those that lost their lives.

Xclusive said...

It was indeed a great miracle n dats y u av 2 dedicate ur life into serving.he's d reason u r alive!

This is God! Is God, Oh my God i feel like crying. God is so gracious, He is so merciful.

swish said...

wt a miracle,fenk God oooooo

Onoscala said...

Indeed a miracle.....God is everywhere

Its a miracle!!! U no go die unless God don talk am.

Linda dis is stale news...

Mummy E said...

Jesus! Wow! Who says there is no God? Am shivering from this wonderful testimony! Wow! God is indeed great! Wow! That's all I can say! Brother, if there is nothing u can do just sit n give God praise! Wow!

Remarkable survival story!

God is Great.

Yes it was a miracle,its only God dat can do dis it is well wit u in jesus name. So happy u survived Hallyshally

That is the definition of a miracle!!! Meanwhile the captain of the vessel that sank the tugboat was flown abroad the next day by chevron...*smh*

An ac of God. Amazing.

beautiful ij says so said...

OH MY GOD, I just feel like crying! God u are a wonder working God,thank u for saving this young man.

miracle indeed. Titanic survival of our time. But u fucked up, why are u nt with rose and make our nollyhood a story to write. Weldone and gud job for nt takin to fate. U proved dat its nva late until u are late. 1st page tinx...........

praise d lord

Aawwwhhhh! Thank God for you, Okene. I can imagine the Trauma. Reminds me of Rose/Titanic.
Lady lite

karisgirl said...

Praise God for preserving you Okene!

I swear, its realy a Miracle, I tx God 4 u̶̲̥̅̊!

Aawwwhhhh! Thank God for you, Okene. I can imagine the Trauma. Reminds me of Rose/Titanic.
Lady lite

Abigail said...

This can only be the hand of God! Nothing more, nothing less. God be praised!

To God be d Glory

God is great....
End time
Psychobratt

AKARAPUFFPUFF said...

Haleluyah! Praise God! Sincerely!

This is a miracle. I am so happy that he believed in the awesome power of God and he was saved.

Only a Seaman would know what dis feels like man!!! Thank God for you bro!!! Soji sends his greetings, u were his best friend aboard Jascon 04!!! May d souls of the rest members of d crew rest in Perfect Peace!!! Onine!

tofunmi said...

hmmmm, this is overwhelming..its simply God, none other. thank God for your life. i hate being on water cos the thought of horrors like this scares the hell out of me.

Naija man got strenght.Tuale for the nigga..Able God has seen you through..No forget go do thanks giving..
Dee

This is something worth thanking God for. I celebrate with you Okene.

This indeed is a miracle, this experience is so touching

Tears welled up in my eyes as I read up this story. Thank God for this miracle nd may He totally deliver you from the trauma!I rejoice with you!

Thank God.....this stuff is like titanic....sorry Harrison....

thank God for their lives

OMG! thank God for his life. It's such a miracle, but this is making me more scared of my job now.

WOOOW!!!GOD IS GREAT.

Aanuoluwa. said...

He is a God of miracles,if he says its not over in ones life,its definitely not over.Thank God for this great miracle n may the souls of the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace (Amen).

Ibitayo said...

This is just a miracle.... Thank you Jesus.

Thank God for him..

Another proof that there is a Merciful and Miraculous God. He will have mercy on whom he choses to have mercy on.
I pray that the mercy of God never departs from any of us in Jesus Name I pray.

Thank you jesus for this miracle. May ur name be exhaulted forever more

Wow... If its not Ūя̲̅. Time to die no matter d situation u find urself u will survive. God is faithful.

God is faithful.

Chai! It wasn't his time Oo°˚˚˚°! Thank God for him. Imagine d horror.the poor guy will be traumatized for a while. I fear water pass anyfing even water in a bath tub talkless of river... May those who lost their lives RIP amen!

He was not destined to die in d water.

Miracles definitely still happen. Thank you Jesus for this life you have just saved.

**OMA**

Chidinma said...

Oh my!!! I can imagine how horrifying d experience was;"Starring death in d face,perceiving d odour of d bodies of those he was with some mins back,hearing d sound of d fish eating their bodies"...His survival was indeed a miracle,tnk God for him,God is indeed merciful,may d souls of d odas on board rest in peace..Amen

A true life miracle. Our God is great. Welcome bck nd may God continue 2 protect u. RIP 2 d crew members.

God is great,all we need is a little faith lingering with hope.Thank you Jesus

Thank you Jesus, pls run thanksgiving in your church, God the beginning and the end

nonstoppress said...

God is indeed a miracle worker.Wt a miracle! I'm happy for u.just go n testify of his goodness,so dat those dt don't believe dere's God will know he truly exist!

God be praised!
This man will never die again till old age!
The God, who worked it out for Jonah, is still doing marvelous deeds.
God be praised for evermore

Wonderful God. May ur name be praised forever.

Psalm 23 and 91 used here....call on him and he will never abandon you

God is awesome and merciful. His goodness endures forever

Wow! What a miracle, I thank God for your life. My God is alive!

#FANESTFAN

God truly did it. 1st to comment. If this is some aproko story, all of you go don comment, Bonario esp u, u too like aproko

Phoenix said...

I bliv in miracles n happy endings....tank God fr ur life.

OMG!!!God is indeed alive...

Zoe said...

Awesome God !!!

Thank God for preserving your life.

I tank God 4 ur life,God is 1derful.

Tnk God 4 u my dear........ Wow! 1st 2 comment

God loves u so much... Its was a miracle indeed.

Thank God he saved u for a reason don't u think so?

What a miracle??? Thank God 4 u.

To God be the glory! Call on Him and He will answer you.

We bless God for your life.

Thank Jesus for ur Life.

Who says there is no God...dat person is lost

My Goodness God is awesome..full of tears as I read this testimony..

God is so marvellous...uncommon miracle +happy for U̶̲̥̅̊ mr okene

fss said...

thats a miracle..it wasnt ur time yet and God is always merciful

Thank you Jesus.

God is forever faithful.

But God! Congratulations.

God is indeed faithful....

Wow, God is indeed great

Her Excellency said...

He is a miracle working God, He is d Alpha n Omega....Miracle still happens, Ur faith actually worked for U okene. Congrats Sir

God be praised.

Oh! This is scary though, I can imagine the horror. God indeed has been faithful, he saved him. Such a great miracle....u're blessed Okene

Emakashe said...

Ekene you are a man with grace! Nobody wld av been able to do dese if not God himself. ThankGod for your life, it is well!

Omo TLips said...

Some1 survived this, it's surely a miracle. God is sooooo involved in this. I thank God 4 ur life.

Your life is indeed a miracle! May God continue to shower His mercy and love upon you and your family.

God is wonderful.

Wow.... It was definitely God.

What a wonderful God! God has a purpose for his life.

God gave u another chance,but God gives us chances each day that we dnt c. Another great testimony.God is Awesome

God is always merciful

thank God for your life

This is indeed a miracle...
Me and sea? We no go agree..tufiakwa

Linda ur grammar too much o.. I had to hold ma dictionary alongside...

Max

Nekkyblues said...

Hand work of God. Your Living is a a Miracle. Pay it forward...

This man suvival was a Miracle,my sister if u watch the video,i was crying for almost 3hrs,this guy was meant to resume duty,he wasn't on duty self he only came to met his co-worker when he met his waterloo,but thank God for his life cos if u watch the video only that its confidential i could have given u

God is ever Faithful!! Best believe that!

Christabel aghorowei said...

Wow, this is reali a miracle
www.christabelaghorowei.blogspot.com

Eeyah. Thank God for your life.

Happy birthday, prince jobless. You did mention your birthay is today, didn't you?

I thank God for ur life.

Thank God for your life bruv and hope all the horrible memories erased.

May those who lost their lives rest in peace and may God grant the survivor the will to live and use the second chance he has been given well.

Divaaa said...

God works in mysterious ways.... #Amazed#

One Gud Chick said...

Wow! alhamdulilai it Allah's doing, thankful for your life and to the departed may Allah forgive their sins.

Divaaa said...

God works in mysterious ways.... #Amazed#

o Thank God for his testimony! Good to hear good news inspite of all these horror stories.

He should write a book, the book should be made into a movie... God is awesome !

This is a Miracle, supernatural miracle which can only come from God. Congratulations bro, its not yet time for ‎​Ʊ to die.

Thank God for his life. KIKIS

he is a miracle working God

Alexies said...

What a touching story, indeed a miracle, God is great

Miracle working God

God Lover said...

This is my 1st time commenting.
But I have to say this to declare the power of God.
God is Able.
God is Awesome
God is Amazing.
That indeed is a miracle

That was indeed a miracle!

It has to have been only the Most High....

God is great.

Indeed God is able.may his name alone be parised.surly he has a reaon of keeping him alive.

RUNS said...

HE is a miracle working GOD. i thank GOD for savin his soul. May HIS Holy name be glorified.

chukwuezugo said...

Horrific! *goose bumps*

SLEEKREEK said...

Its really a miracle that u survived when and where others lost dia lives.......thank God for ur survival!!!

bimsoty said...

God of miracle naa my papa ehn!!Jesus is Lord,miracle working God so happy for u Mr Okene

WOW! This is truly a miracle, thank God for his life

Lucky man,God was surely on his side.

EFIREMFON said...

WE PERMIT SO MUCH SHIT IN THIS COUNTRY! WHAT KIND OF RESCUE IS DONE OVER 2 DAYS AFTER A WRECK?! SURE THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE SURVIVORS

pretty T said...

linda, a plane just landed on lagos road. i heard from a friend who works at NAA that its at igando.its uncertain what happened exactly, technical problem or what....can you find out??? linda!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Waoh! Wot a wonderful God we serve!Thank you Jesus

datsharpguy said...

A rare miracle indeed...God be praised

ada said...

God is too faithful n kept u His name to be glorified,know Him more bro

wowh! reminds me of this film "life of Pi" really scary maine...congrats to the smart and lucky cheff

Emdos said...

Oh I really thank God for your life.

GOD spared ur life for a reason

Welcome back to life bro!

Father Lord!

hmmmmm....wat a story! God really gat ur back.

Awesome testimony. Okene, you were saved by the God who kept Jonah safe in the belly of a fish. He is still God.

This is a miracle. it calls for thanksgiving o. Mr. Okene, God truly loves you.

De Fab One said...

Truly a miracle.Thank God 4 that miracle and may his name be praised.

God is really on his side.. Thank God

N G said...

God is Awesome indeed

Thank God for your life o! this is indeed an extraordinary miracle, u better just show real appreciation to God for sparing your life, serve him!

BLESS GOD! HE IS EVER PRESENT IN TIMES OF TROUBLE.

BABA GOD U TOO MUCH!!!

It was God you had a second chance,wish my parents had that.God is a miracle worker may his name be Glorified forever.

Wow! Glory be to the Almighty God, cos he alone did this! Fear alone could have killed him... Buried in saltwater several feets under,cold,no food,clothes,water or light..plus d horror of fishes feeding on people, he saw hours before the incident happnd..which he could HEAR! wow. Can only imagine..

Na wA o .God is real n he will show himself to those who bliv in his miracles n somtimes to those who do not bliv m happy for him cos he s not beta than those who died .

Naija babe said...

Chai!!!!!!! See my God in action........ He is indeed a miracle working God. Mr Okene, Henceforth, ur name is Miracle. I am so happy for u. I join u in praising God. I hope u have gone for a mighty thanksgiving in church? Dont worry about ur state of shock, it will gradually fade away. Always remember to thank God, cos u ar not better than the other crew members dat lost their lives in that ship.

Is indeed a miracle I fenk God for his life

@EDDYSYFAR said...

Wow, so touching

This is really God's doing, what a touching story.he really need to be close to God because God have a reason for saving him

In deed a miracle.... God has a plan 4 u... Jst keep thankin him

God is God

Lord you are ever faithful. Lord thank you for this man's life. You are the same, yesterday, today and tomorrow. The unchangeable God, the God of the impossible. We praise you. Thank you.

Shebaniah said...

The Lord be Praised!

This is nothing short of a miracle! God you are awesome!!!

God is ever so faithful and his mercies endures for ever...Awesome miracle. Mr Okene, serve God all your life!

Thank God!

Thank God for your life bro...you are worthy to praise o Lord.Arike

This is indeed a miracle...God will always be with his own.

Awa maridi ni ise olorun...Thank God for saving dis man's life oo...wat an experience

MissyIbom said...

Thank God for His saving grace towards you

God is d gr8est. Fank God u r alive to tell d story. May d soul of d departed RIP. Amen

HER said...

Oh my God, goose pimples all over.. God does miracles. He moves in mysterious ways. So sad how the others died but thank God for your life Okene, truly a miracle. Thank you Jesus the God of the universe!

Shebaniah said...

The Lord be Praised!

Thank Goodness for his life. God be praised!

jd said...

Its a miracle indeed.u really need to tnk God he Neva fails.Thnk God for ur life bro.

Thank God..dis is a miracle what an incredible story!

God is always there!!! Thank God for the Miracle,he is always on Point.

pressy said...

GOD is a gracious GOD, mercy kept him

Lucky u man

This is so sad! Reading his story brought back the tears again! I know someone who did not survive.

such good news.

pretty T said...

its just God's grace. thank God for his life. stories like that abound. meanwhile no offense linda,but a toilet in a ship is called "heads", the rooms are called "cabins",theres nothing like bedroom. ceiling is called "deckhead". ur welcome

This is so sad. Reading his story has brought back tears. I know someone who didn't survive.

o44 mata said...

God works in mysterious ways another episode of the titanic glad u survived it.

GlamNotchApparels said...

He is very lucky , thank God for his life . Like they say, if its not ur time to die, it's not ur time....

HE is indeed a Miracle working God!!!

Here's wishing Prince Jobless a happy birthday wiv long lyf and prosperity!!!

Cutiey-licious via bb10

herbee3 said...

HBD

Dis story gave me goose pimples. Ur life is trully a miracle

Covenant of Exemption, enjoy!!!

bless the Lord, thank God for your soul Okene. may the souls of others who dint make it RIP. amen.

Naija Vampire Blog said...

This is to GOD's Glory. thanks to GOD!!!...just reading and imagining the whole thing makes me wonder how he actually felt. loads of Thanks to The LORD GOD Almighty...

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 446   Newer› Newest»