Televangelist Pat Robertson says all men have a tendency to cheat | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 May 2013

Televangelist Pat Robertson says all men have a tendency to cheat

83 year old televangelist and media mogul Pat Robertson says that all men have a tendency to cheat and it's a wife’s duty is to keep her man faithful, by focusing on the positive and making sure the home is so enticing he doesn’t want to stray. Robertson said this while responding to a question from a viewer who wrote:
“I’ve been trying to forgive my husband for cheating on me. We have gone to counseling, but I just can’t seem to forgive, nor can I trust. How do you let go of the anger? How do you trust again?"
Below is Pat Robertson's reply...
“Here’s the secret. Stop talking the cheating. He cheated on you, well, he’s a man. You need to focus on the reasons you married him. Does he provide a home for you to live in? Does he provide food for you to eat? Does he provide clothes for you to wear? Is he nice to the children… Is he handsome?”
What? So if he does all this then it's OK for him to cheat? See what else he said after the cut...

“Recognize also, like it or not, males have a tendency to wander a little bit. What you want to do is make a home so wonderful that he doesn’t want to wander, or give in to the “salacious” magazine pictures and Internet filled with adult films.

191 comments:

Linda abeg if this ur father in d lord doesn't no wat to say he should go n read news paper men cheat cos d house no clean abi wetin mtchewwwwwwwww Rubbish if u like clean house with ur tongue man must still cheat

Oby Azike said...

Please, not all men cheat

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

hOTGIRL said...

bullshit!
arrant nonsense.Stop blaming women for ur atrocities. what r u gonna tell God in heaven on the last day.

Am a guy but not all men shit thou we men do cheat a lot but not all and women as well cheat so its sane thg

Not all men cheat...been married to my wife for 7yrs.I hv never strayed.

Everybody loves to have a KEY that can open every LOCK,and not a LOCK that could be opened by every KEY.

WTF! So its OK that he cheated because hes a man....seriously? This is 2013! So bcoz he does his duties, he can cheat? Abeg which church is dis o?

Rubbish talk

Thunder fire this man. Bush meat like him. Does he provide food for you the eat? Err excuse me Mr man we both work and half jobs its a 50/50 gig so none of that trifling shit please and thank you
And both people are homemakers. Hello? Seeing as we both work. DOn't be a last carrier. It's 2013. Get with the times. Hindiot. I bet he cheats on his wife. Pharisee. Oshee

mimi said...

i understand what he says and i'm a woman. he is not saying all men cheat, but it is in their nature to. and that your husband cheated shouldn't be a reason to leave the marriage, hence the other things he said. i think ladies should stop going into marriage with the mentality that once he cheats they'll leave cos that is a man's number one weakness and you should go into marriage with the mind set that you'll stay with him even if he cheats.
with exception to dogs of course.

Linda, I think what he is trying to say here is, don't focus on one bad thing ur husband did (cheating) afterall,they have gone through counseling and she still can't forgive, he wants her to focus on the other good things her husband is doing daily and forget whatever he did dat was wrong before then they should try to find out what ever happened that caused the cheating and pick things up from there.. Don't misunderstand.

"All men have a "tendency" to cheat and it's a wife’s duty is to keep her man faithful, by "focusing" on the "positive" and making sure the home is so "enticing" he doesn’t want to stray" The words in quotes carry the most important points he is trying to convey. And Linda, the caption of your post is misleading to some degree!

jennietobbie said...

decency restored!! Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For me, cheating is a choice. Period.

hOTGIRL said...

infact this oga don accept say him be big time cheat.yeye man!
what type of pastor is this and see what rubbish these so called "pastors" drag down the throats of their members,teaching them nonsense and deceiving them!

Sarah said...

Hmmmmmmmmm, it's in a man's nature to cheat, we have set so much standards and principles which constrains human's nature.so humans are trying to keep up with such standards,if you take a look at biblical history so many of them had more than one woman. Having said that, it is for peace sake that we strive to attain such standards.and Jesus encourages us as well to such standards.so whether you like do monkey style in bed, use the best ingredients to cook, it only takes the grace of God for a man to be faithful.

All of you commenting above are ignorant....so he should have told her not to forgive her husband and divorce him abi? He was just telling her to reconnect with their first love and move on.

Sarah said...

Hmmmmmmmmm, it's in a man's nature to cheat, we have set so much standards and principles which constrains human's nature.so humans are trying to keep up with such standards,if you take a look at biblical history so many of them had more than one woman. Having said that, it is for peace sake that we strive to attain such standards.and Jesus encourages us as well to such standards.so whether you like do monkey style in bed, use the best ingredients to cook, it only takes the grace of God for a man to be faithful.

Ice Princess said...

He has given the exact reply a mother would give to her daughter who comes to tell her that her husband is cheating. Not all men cheat, its a fallacy of hasty generalisation.

Majority of Naija men cheat... yes I remember my dad telling my mum one night afta a little quarrel.. I provide everything you n the kids need you lack nothing why r u fighting? my mum responded because I do not want to be replaced in this house... I'm not a house wife I work too and advice you on sensitive issues you got to respect that and stop what you are doing to me its not fair... I'm saying this because the fact that a man provides for his family doesn't give him the right to cheat. My mum is hard working, loving and beautiful and she's got her own money, she cooks very well, well culture Nigerian woman, she once threatened with a divorce my dad shouted WOMAN with his Nigerian accent that word is not allowed in this house it is forbidden. since that day omo my pele don change ooo infact errrh me self dey surprise.

veeon said...

Ive never abused a "man of God" but this guy should not let me start. Noonsense.

Lawl! Christians! These r ur religious leaders speaking.

old age don touch d man brain that's why he is yapping like that

I agree with him to an extent . Firstly men a polygamous by nature it's just the way they are made with their naughty bits hanging out there. A man who picks a woman and decides to make her his wife is proclaiming to the world he has chosen this one amongst the many. Again if a man provides for his family well, food , shelter, clothing, loving to wife and family dat man is a complete package . If he cheats now and then so what as long as he is safe. Sex is sex. Now a man that his wife is feeding and clothing and sheltering has no right to play away . He is just a great big liability . I understand all this female liberty campaigners but the fact of the matter is that women have their jobs cut out for them hence a uterus she does not Need to provide. A man does nt have a uterus. He has been blessed with strength to provide which he Must do. So it is up to women to choose their Men well. Don't marry a liability out of desperation. He will break your heart, leave you broke over used and old before your years and bring HIV into the matter. O

He said it all! Thats the fact.

i believe what he says, as long as you keep giving him all he will want to go outside to look for he'll never cheat and some men are just naturally faithful and committed no matter what but are most unlucky with the type of women they get.

Na na na. Senility has stated setting in for Pat Robertson. In fact his comments this days have been way off the mark, lacking the wisdom expected of a man of his standing. He may be slightly correct, but the dressing of his response made him sound like a broken record!!!

Someone made comment on this recently & I instantly unfollowed her. How dare they say its a woman's fault that a man refuses to be disciplined. We're human beings & not animals. God gave us free will & we can make good or bad choices. Don't blame your bad choices on your wives!

Church of Satan

Good, dat is d fallacy many people belief. Not all men cheat. Am happy a woman like u knows this.

I just feel like crying....this statement makes ppl like me not want to marry......oh God help me!!!!!

Even God permits divorce when cheating is involved! God forgive dis man 4 dis crap he said

Maybe d good pastor is talking from his own experience....nonsense!!

Is this not the same Rob Patterson that also dealt in Blood Diamonds in the name of sending Relief Materials to Liberia during their Civil War? And had murderers like Charles Taylor & Mobutu Sese Seko as Business Partners and advocated for the assassination of Hugo Chavez? It's fake Pastors like him that give true Men of God a bad name. He's a dubious character!

Little ugly goat, what would a muslim leader have said....let me guess,oh dear ure lucky he didn't marry more women or pls leave his house...oh,I 4got,cheating doesn't exist in d muslim dictionary as one man is entitled to @list 10 wives. Whore sit down!
Martha

All of you commenting are just plain daft. The man said all men have a Tendency to cheat. That does not mean Men hav to or must cheat.

I wonder why pple find it difficult to understand simple statements. The man didn't say all men cheat, but that all men have the tendency to cheat. That's absolutely true. It is left to d woman to device d means of keeping her man.

Relax yall, he is just being realistic, he just means that a woman should do all to keep her man, its only by the grace of God a man stays faithful to his wife. Remember the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.

Promiscuity is a gene all men possess; in most its dominant, in others recessive.
What's the gene all women possess?!!

....yet

No wonder JAMB and SSCE results gets worse by d year. Nigerians dont bother to read properly before responding. Princess.

You guys should just read what mama ijebu and prince charming said... seems like they are the only ppl that really understood what he meant. Linda must have misinterpreted.

Without sentiments, Linda's caption is absolutely wrong!!! He said "males have the TENDENCY to wander a little bit. You people just crucified the man before landing. No COUNSELLOR would recommend divorce except the marriage is life threatening. He was just trying to make the woman connect back to her hubby.

fumexy said...

Good talk mimi

Fuck you pat...

Fellow Man said...

Well, I kinda understand what he is trying to say.

For women who want their marriage to last or who wish to keep her family together should listen to his advice.

For women who want to feel they are right 'as always' or want to prove they are superior or whatever should disregard his advice, so that people like Linda Ikeji and Opera Winfrey will clap for you.

P.S. Its wrong to cheat, but most times its caused by the women. Men cheating is always different from women cheating, because there is no emotional attachment by the man.

Mr Pat Robertson,u fail that one o. Ur church members go dey use divorce letters dey tell u good morning be dat...SMH

Francis said...

If only females will accept the fact that All men possess the tendency to cheat i believe life would be alot easier for em.Females dont like the 'TRUTH' they never want to accept the truth ,I dont blame em tho simply cos they cant tell what the actual Truth is havin been lied to by different Men . There is no MAN on earth that doesnt possess the tendency to Cheat ,Any man who disagree's is simply a Pretender...

Francisruff.blogspot.com

U said it all. Finito

Aswer all dese ppl comentin r dumb ur IQ very loww he said all men have the TENDENCY, its a probability odes oshis ( ˘˘̯)

Wow!!! Who are u? Pls are u single cos I wud luv to marry u right nw, I neva cheat tho but ur maturity baffles me. Didn't knw we stil av gals with dis kinda mind set in 9ja...
Baby face

Is this not the same Rob Patterson that also dealt in Blood Diamonds in the name of sending Relief Materials to Liberia during their Civil War? And had murderers like Charles Taylor & Mobutu Sese Seko as Business Partners and advocated for the assassination of Hugo Chavez? It's fake Pastors like him that give true Men of God a bad name. He's a dubious character!

A lot of pple that comment on dis blog have very low IQ,the wise ones get the message and digest it or let it go and don't even comment,I think some of ya comments entertain us...............

Martha I cannot begin to express my happiness about the way u shut this person up. We shouldn't even start on religion cos I dnt know another religion apart from Islam that allows grown up men to sexually abuse 15 year olds and call it marriage, I wonder when on this earth they will finnaly get around to banning that stupid practice called Islam

God bless you,I am a faithful guy but most babes I meet misuse the opportunity when many ladies out there r lukin for my kind...SMH for some gals
Baby face

Sir! Dats is very sexist. Sounds like a load of bullshit. Hw can u say such a tin. So since he 'provides' we shld let him be. U r 83yrs old n dre is a term dat comes 2 mind(senile). Just sayin...D Curious1.

this guy sef.....e no wan die

All of u ignoramus are answering dumbly like u did not go 2 school. No wonder it is said that if u want to hide sometin 4rm a black man hide it in a book. If I get married n I find out my husband is cheating isn't it better 2 see the positive side of my marriage ratheer than divorcing. Another tactic 2 apply is speaking 2 ur marriage. Every morning wake up n say "my husband is not a cheat in Jesus name. My marriage is working out great in jesus name." N have faith it will work out. Some women r so negative that's y cheating crashes their marriage. They will nag n pursue the man 4rm the house more. Make the home more inviting 4 him 2 look 4ward 2 coming back home immediately after work. Not a war zone. I've learned a lot of lesson that if I knew b4 things would have been done right. Positive attitude attracts positive outcomes. Have faith in God concerning ur marriage..

N linda please correct the title. Its so wrong. Post my comment oo. Eeehhh!

Yet some foolish gals with faithful guys end up misbehaving cos dey don't appreciate what dey have...life is funny tho
Baby face

http://mytestimonys.blogspot.com/2013/05/folorunsho-alakija-god-made-billionaire_14.html said...

HE SAID MEN HAVE A TENDENCY TO WANDER, HE IS A WISE OLD MAN FULL OF THE SPIRIT OF GOD, I WILL APPRECIATE IF YOU DONT RIDICULE MEN OF GOD ON YOUR BLOG, BE VERY CAREFUL LINDA IKEJI

B€£ said...

The wors "CHEATING" was born with men ooo.if u like be faithful more than u re men will still cheat.Linda what u post today is exactly what's going tru my mind.

Linda don''t be a fool, all men will cheat no matter what and so if you don''t want a man too cheat make sure he is 10000% happy at home chikena. By the way, cheat is not the right word it is " EXPLORING"

Cutey FaV said...

Not all Men Cheat.......My Dad is Faithful to. My Mum.I believe I'll get a Husband like that in Future.#shikena

I read some comments here and I wonder how so called graduates can read but not understand. Making it sound like he is supporting cheating. Linda u self na wa, helping some of your already daft readers to be more daft..Pls if u dont understand English, show the artice to someone to help you explain

The man said men have a tendency to wander.Not necessarily cheat.He gave good advice sha but people will still do what they wanna...

IF what you've typed is TRUE!!! Then God bless YOU...

I think most of you here are just misquoting and blaspheming this man which is wrong.. in essence what this man of God is saying is dat in a marriage of two..both parties should learn to be responsible, stop seeing faults, but instead do all possible to make sure he marriage works.. and he specifically mentioned the woman in the home because, women are naturally emotional beings ... and sometimes may want to use their emotional contingencies to deal with vital issues in the home... just make your marriage work not war.. after all before you got married you had he opportunity to refuse the marriage when it was still courtship.. but problem is that most ladies are just to emotional sometimes to see beyond the big picture.. just as you all here are just talking emotionally and being cynical and sentimental not settling down to be intellectual and cognitive in your reasoning before you just utter words... your words tell your personalities already.....

Its just he's opinion, he is entitled to one. Even if he's wrong it doesn't mean he should be insulted. ..."touch not my anointed" .. be careful guys.

PC u are d few smart people here,Tank God u saw what he meant,he said "tendency" nt mention its a most dat every man must cheat.

What this man said dose not make sense at all, That said, i have always known that men are DOGS! Women are also giving it back to them this days :) which to me is a very GOOD thing:) It is called do me i do you :)

Janelicious said...

so husbands are allowed to cheat as far as they provides all this he mentioned.please men that is not and will never be a good reason for men to cheat.so to my dear future husband
be warned you should not take his advice. okay.

I fink pple shld calm down and luk at d word'tendency'keenly,d man didn say all men cheat,he said dey hav d tendency 2 cheat and we all know dat men are polygamous in nature,sumfin dey cnt even explain.packin out of d home on d woman's part is nt d best decision.endurance and perseverance are d tools dat mak a woman 2 kip a home,I am nt sayin it is proper 4 a man 2 cheat but d woman shld hav it in mind dat men r polygamous in nature and it may or may nt happen,any woman dat finds herself in dis situation shld stay by her husband and hold her home 2geda no mata wat.however in some cases where d heat is too much 4 d woman,she shld kindly opt out.

he is not saying all men cheat. he says all men have the tendency to cheat if the wife no treat am well.
*adjust glasses*

Why is it Ƨ̷o difficult for you guys to understand a simple line. This man isnt saying all men cheat but d TENDENCY is always hanging around. Its either ur man is dicipline enough not to stray or as a woman u do own bit to keep your man on check. Read and understand b4 commenting & Lin Lin stop misleading ur readers with ur headings. Please take note

The woman asked for an advice and this man of God offered the best advice to her. I wonder why we African's particularly Nigerians have a hard time in understanding simple quotes. like what this man said. "All men have a "tendency" to cheat and it's a wife’s duty is to keep her man faithful, by "focusing" on the "positive" and making sure the home is so "enticing" he doesn’t want to stray" I don't need to go further but i think anyone with a high school certificate can understand this without further questions. after all no one is perfect and it is the job of the wife to keep his husband as mine has been doing.

All this men cheat crap is getting old. Women cheat even more and in a society like the US, they can cheat on you and still get half your stuff if not all with child support to boot. So I can understand his answer to the woman being so politically incorrect - because women do worse in America and get paid for it.

Why is it Ƨ̷o difficult for you guys to understand a simple line. This man isnt saying all men cheat but d TENDENCY is always hanging around. Its either ur man is dicipline enough not to stray or as a woman u do own bit to keep your man on check. Read and understand b4 commenting & Lin Lin stop misleading ur readers with ur headings. Please take note

You r very correct,a man must surely cheat

If it is d woman dat cheated on d man, i bet u he will not 4give her! But in d case of a man everybody will say 4give. Dats bad we are all human u know

WHY DO PEOPLE INSULT WITHOUT REASON? HE SAID "males have a tendency to wander a little bit. What you want to do is make a home so wonderful that he doesn’t want to wander, or give in to the “salacious” magazine pictures and Internet filled with adult films" AND HE IS RIGHT IF YOU DONT CREATE A GOOD ENVIRONMENT FOR YOUR PARTNER BE IT MALE OR FEMALE THEY WILL STRAY!! JUST LIKE THAT SO SHOW THEM LOVE AND CARE AND WATCH YOUR HOME STAY IN ONE PIECE!!

Yes, all men have the tendency to cheat, visually or physically, but a woman can make it so difficult for him by making the house a home, the right attitude, moral and spiritual support creates the positive ambience at home that serves as checks on his negative tendencies when he is out there on his own.

Don tee

why pple comenting in this blog are so bitter and daft? Even linda too......d pastor only told d woman to think about all other good things d man does at home and forgive him, that all men have tendency to cheat, she should do everything to keep her man.

@PRINCE CHARMING said...

God bless you ★★PRINCE CHARMING™★★ said...
"All men have a "tendency" to cheat and it's a wife’s duty is to keep her man faithful, by "focusing" on the "positive" and making sure the home is so "enticing" he doesn’t want to stray" The words in quotes carry the most important points he is trying to convey. And Linda, the caption of your post is misleading to some degree!

May 18, 2013 at 4:44 PM

Prince Charming - WELL SAID! when I read the title, the story did not match it at all, I thought i was the only one who notice it......

y is he talkin of husband providin food shelter etc? Is he tryin to tel us dat its only d men dat provides al dis in d home?what a meaninles statement.some women ain higher dan dia husbands dey stil make sure dia homes a wel kept,dey giv birth,wash napkins,cook etc and stil go to work while d men only go to work com back n notin else to do.yet dey stil cheat without pity..ah!!... Dis is not dia nature in anyway-its just dat dey hav chosen to dance to satance tune.dey alow dia self to b too cheap for satan to handle and dey are too idle-dia wifs sets evrytin @hom for dem so no plates or cloths for dem to wash dats y de av tym to cheat.bible says temptation wil cm bt he wil nt alow temptation dat we cnt ovacom so on d last day God wount say u cheated cos u a man.u did it cos u want.man cant b wiser dan God

Thank you Mimi. Now I know we still have brilliant women. Not all these aristoes/runs girls going into marriage with a prayer to divorce at any slightest quarrel/sign of cheat.

If you divorce a man becos he cheated, what would u do if the next man you find cheats? I ask because virtually 98% of men cheat in one way or the other.

Does of u dat r sayn ur husbnd dnt cheat, ur dad dnt cheat, ur bf dnt cheat i dey smile una. Do u folow him 2 wereva he is goin? Most men cheatb but der families r nt aware n dey wil neva find out til ü enter 6fit. Lol!!!

@Bonario, Ur wisdom is far beyond ur yrs. Sharp and witty retort, though, not sure it will go down well wt ladies.
We (guyz) may all carry the gene (cheating). But not all exhibit it. Remember secondary sch biology; recessive and dominant gene?

Keep it up, and share the secret with us, pls. I've tried so hard, but...

Why are u attacking the man. He said have a tendency to cheat! And Not that all men cheat. The fact that U wife as u said works does not make it a must. Don't be bitter with life and truth, and stop being very Abusive. It shows u are very angry with d world.

BS......

Tnx Mimi for paraphrasing it to these one's. It just shows thr understanding ability is so low. Cheers dear.

Ams.

U mustnt comment,if u hav notin reasonable 2 say!
I agree wif d man of God in a way truth b told buh as christians,we shudnt encourage men 2 cheat by sayin stuffs lik "it's in dia nature" cheatin is a sin n dat's wot dey preach everyday dat ppl shud flee 4rm sin. If u re a man n u call urslf a christian,u shud b disciplined enof not 2 cheat...
Anyways d woman n anyoda woman in such situation shud learn 2 forgive n focus on her marriage,find out wot went wrong n work towards buildin a better n faithful home wif ur husband. #enofsaid

Take ur time to read his response; they appear in apostrophes.
Comprehending write-ups longer than a few sentences requires patience.
Past. Pat isn't blaming women or acknowledging men's right to cheat. He's preaching forgiveness and positive action- ie, solution to a problem rather than dwelling on the problem.

Pat Nonso Nnoli said...

Yes all men have the tendency to cheat...that's a weakness but I can handle it...

Na so! Even meself I tire for all these marriage palava.

Pat Nonso Nnoli said...

Yes all men have the tendency to cheat...that's a weakness but I can handle it...

The man is very right and correct and he said the right things,its man's nature to cheat,its how they were made,its up to the woman to know and understand her man,a man hates a nagging woman,a dirty woman,a saucy woman without manners and a bad cook or a dead wood in bed etc,if you as the woman kws ur husband well and kw how to make a home instead of a war zone,ur man is yours,a man likes a peaceful place,somewhrer he can rest his head after a stressful day,don't ever belive that if u are notin bt a troublemaker dt ur husband will be faithful just bcus he married u,blive me,if there is another woman out there that gives him d peace he needs,he will always run dere,some men cheat BUT they don't toy with their wives,its a common thing in nigeria now na,its so rampant that the wives have accepted it as normal,so any woman dt will her husband bcus he cheated,blive me the fault is partly urs and there wil someone else ready to fill ur space sharply,so be the best wife and mother you can be and leave the rest for God

Proudly, they are. In ur religion, don't they stone to death women who have allegedly committed adultery/fornication, while the adulterous men are deemed guiltless, and may even join the stoners?
Haba hajiya, one would have expected a deafening silence from ur lot, nay, support for the pastor. Ur comment smacks of religious bigotry.

I am Totally Disappointed in the comments i see above! The Man said "Males have the Tendency to Stray" Keyword is TENDENCY.Its a likelihood, a probability. He did not say "Men MUST CHEAT" cant you spot the obvious difference? If you have the Tendency to have Cancer, Do you actually have cancer? It Simply means Women should make extra effort in Keeping their men. Please Be Wise, Do not comment like a Castrated Pig.

Zaynab, u r stupid!! Daughter of a whore!!!

Those kind of women are the most stupid women that ever existed.

Abeg make una forgive am. he 83. At that age thinking cant be straight.

Bullshit, bullshit n more bullshit!!!! Women work n bring in moneyn even if dey stay home, der contribution is eqiuvalent 2 d money d man is providing. Dey cook, clean n most importantly, ensure d kids r growing right. A man has no excuse 2 cheat. Sex isn't a mere physical act. If sex is sex like u said, women r allowed 2 cheat 2, 'sex is sex' afterall. Stay faithful 2 ur woman, u'r a man, nt a dog. Kaay.

Baby face get over ur self am sure ur a broke ass nigga and all u have is ur face abegggiii park well

hmmmmmmm i can remember one of my friend that do always cheat on the wife without the wifes notice,until oneday he saw a DEVIL INSIDE A WOMAN FLESH and that was it.He completely 4get about the wife & children and now carters everything 4 dis gal,don't know wether dis gal use juju on him.We married men will have to be very careful on these gals we go after cause some of them if them catch u,u go 4get ur family including ur self

Like what the man said or not. he is very right to an extent. Men are polygamous in nature except for some selected few. And that few are just maid not to fancy ladies. Some men knows how to play the game to the extent that, even if the wife was told about how his hubby use to sleep around, she will never belif. The wife can do a lot to reduce the rate at which her husband do cheat on her but its hard to be fully eradicated. Many of us do see all this married men in our place of work and the way at which they wish to be sleeping around with their co-workers, even those female ones that are married and u keep asking urself that, is this man not married or can't he control himself but the truth is that, if he can stop it, he would have done so long time ago. If u have a husband or fiance or boyfriend that don't cheat or that or ladies don't interest them at all, then thank ur God or keep deceiving urself. A lot of people think that it is only Muslim that marry more than one wife but sit down their ooooooo.

I think d dumbest ppl commenting here ar dose saying he never sed a man must cheat. He said plainly dere 'he cheated, well he's a man' dat simply means he's saying som'n lyk y r u complaining he cheats, lyk u dnt kno men cheat'. Check ur english up k? He's belittling d sacredness of marriage, pathetic!

All of you insultin pat are full. He said men have "tendency" he never said "they will". Now i see you ppl have hasty reply instead of thinking.

No matter how enticing a woman makes her home, a man that wants to cheat will still cheat. A dog is always a dog. It only takes the grace of God. When you marry a man that is meant for u, he can never cheat on u. Infact he'll find it hard to cheat.

Joycilicioux said...

Nyc one Mimi.

Reptyle said...

Linda all the pastor said was in response to the caller saying that she was finding it difficult to forgive her husband who cheated on her. He was basically telling her to refocus on the things that she liked about the guy or the good aspects of her husband to help her overcome the negative aspect of cheating.

Don't make it out like the man was supporting cheating or saying its ok for a man to cheat just because he is a man. Cheating might be more with men...but women also cheat in relationships

The wanna needed help about how to forgive her cheating husband and the man simply gave her the advice she needed.

Joycilicioux said...

Nyc one Mimi.

All men av a tendency to cheat linda, d earlier we all accept dat d better. A man wo dsnt cheat on d wyf is either truly God fearin or very pricipled and disciplined. Gbam

People are missing his points....He didn't say Men are cheats but have the tendency to cheat which is very true. Cheating is first convinced when the man's weakness is constantly been lashed at his face by the wife. The key focus should be what he does best for the family not his flaws. There are no better men only God is.

Thank u. I was beginning to think no one understood English here. Even if we want to go religious, let's start from genesis, these men could barely stick to one woman but that doesn't mean they r right. And yes! Its possible for a woman to be so virtuous that she'l cause a change in her man's life.

--Teeteelahyo--

Err anon 5:46 this is the internet, no one can shut anyone up, I jst usually don't reply to ppl on this blog.
why do humans like to assume?
I'm atheist by the way.

Y women can just leave men alone.

femicavan said...

MIMI is the only one who understand what Pat Robertson said in that conversation.what he means, is every man have the nature to cheat, not to say that all men will cheat.Secondly if a man do cheat ,that does not give the woman the permission to break the marriage, she must stay with the man for better or for worse, it has to be sort out.

femicavan said...

MIMI is the only one who understand what Pat Robertson said in that conversation.what he means, is every man have the nature to cheat, not to say that all men will cheat.Secondly if a man do cheat ,that does not give the woman the permission to break the marriage, she must stay with the man for better or for worse, it has to be sort out.

aysha said...

I agree dat every man has a tendency to cheat dats true but I don't agree wit d part he said it depends on d woman to keep her man see there's nothing a woman can do to stop a man from cheating no matter how faithful,patient,tolerant loving beautiful name it he will cheat

Gbam!!!!
Am a female n married,all men cheat,it takes a weak man not to.

Ode touch not my annointed and do my prophet no harm. Eternal damnation awaits uu ( ˘˘̯)

Ode touch not my annointed and do my prophet no harm .Eternal damnation awaits you ( ˘˘̯)

Prince idiot u'd know cos ur a man? NOT!!! Clear abeg let's hear men's opinions. Ezi

Baby face I guess u r d most affected here,may God hear ur cry.

He didn't say that all men cheat. He says, "all
men have a tendency to cheat". It is left fir the wife to put her man in check via doing the right things and putting the right attitude.

A lot of pple comment just bcos d feel d must do so, a lot of u dnt understand sımple correct Englıgh, ıt's terrıble!!! The pastor saıd 'Men have Tendency to Cheat' d word there ıs TENDENCY. Arrrrgh!!!!!

Best comment so far @ mimi

Mimi, why should a woman remain in a marriage when a man cheats? What happens if it is the woman who cheats? In my opinion so many women are better off single than being married to he-goats. If a man cheats, then that should signify the end of that marriage or at least hand the woman a ticket to do same if she so wishes. Its no longer a mans world in the real world

All women have the tendency to cheat too.

Dumb talk.. U belong to the sixties.. Very dull.

And why should a woman device a way of keeping the man. Who is this man n wats so special abt him. What efforts do these men put into keeping their women.if a man cheats, a woman should end it n move on. There is so much to enjoy in life without a cheating husband to spoil the fun

First of all i do not see why i should go out of my way ' to make a man happy at home so he doesnt cheat on me'. How does he make me happy? In my world he is 50-50, i understand where some of these dull comments are coming from, naija mentality. If a man cheats, end it. Life is just too beautiful n there is so much to b enjoyed. Life is not do or die n thats why women shld strive to be something in life rather than being doormats to some silly guy who thinks he is all that, n who shld actually be glad the lady got married to him in the first place

All women have the tendency to cheat too.

its d bitter truth

Not all men cheat....A cheating man is a cheating man no matter what you do he would cheat!

dressed2dnines.blogspot.com

i just dont know what to tell these women who are so naive,a man is giving you real talk about men,and you are busy attacking him,women love to hear what they want to hear and never interested in the truth,take it from a man again'Men have a tendency to stray and its true'all men are applicable,the only difference is that some men can hold body better than the others,no man can say no to a woman who fulfils his fantasy

francis you will live long,all the ladies reading this blog should read the words of wisdom from francis 5.33PM,women women women how many times did i call you,get it straight,ALL MEN CHEAT no exceptions period,tell me who that your husband or boyfriend or even father is and will show you a girls he is banging,the only differnce is if the man doesnt have the chance or the means to cheat or he is just living a double/secret life,you will think he is different,MEN WILL ALWAYS BE MEN

I don't believe all men are polygamous in nature,neither do dey hav d tendency 2 cheat,,,,,,men use dat word to defend themselves(false defensive mechanism). Do u think women don't know hw to cheat 2? bt its just discipline! .... How many women did God gave 2 Adam? One(1) of course! If really God created man wt d tendency 2 cheat,he wud hav created more than one woman 4 Adam.........plz Its called self discipline! Its only indiscipline men who cheat!!! Dat is why its Good 2 choose wisely d woman who suits u, and women choose wisely 2........Both shud b disciplined!

TWITS said...

THE TRUTH...it is always bitter, and ignites fiery responses..no surprises, none at all. Thumups, Pastor.

oh plssssss....... men who read this don't lie yes he says tendencies but its almost like giving u a get out of jail card to exploring that tendency to cheat (and that exactly is what happens in our society today)..... why do men cheat? why? ur wife is boring? u want something younger and firmer? Just a change? she isnt fun in bed anymore? I can guarantee you it is just the same with women (reasons he is old, small dick, want a change, someone who makes me want to be WILD in the sack) but women tend to be more invested in their families ( and that should be te moral taught not giving excuses for what shows nothing but poor character)...... The lesson from this man should not be the acceptance of a bloody tendency but how men should take a leaf from their wives and be more invested in the families they have and be weary of tendencies as they can lead to what is actually a sin and problems that even more annoyingly end up affecting the wife and children! Selfish......

And these fools who are on here saying women should take advice from this man and condone what is poor judgement and lack of character I will tell u this....... men will always cheat well know this as u are fucking someone out there someone is also fucking ur wife in ur absence..... the only thing is women are better at hiding this! HA!

Generally everybody belief that all men cheat and that's one of the problem most people encounter in marriage,that Obi cheats doesn't mean that frank cheat,although most men cheat but there are still the good ones around.most times what affects us is our past life cos after going out with sugar daddy when single,u don't expect to have a faithful husband when you are married,a young girl of 18 will be saying with sure that all married men cheat.what do u expect her to see when she finally got married.most times its our tongue and negative thinking that is our problem.thank God that am not among those that says all men cheat and it have being a blessing to my marriage.we have being married for almost 10yrs now and we both have being faithful to each other with the help of God

princess dee said...

i pray God gives the pple cursing this man of God understanding.What he said is straight forward.Besides,a wise woman builds her home.who are we to judge men that cheat?Play ur role as a good wife n let God be the judge.
if u insist on throwing ur own man out cos he cheated on u,then dont complain when another woman that shows him love takes him in.A word is enough for the wise!

With this mentality, you'll certainly be looking for a man to marry at 50.

I'm just laughing at all the women who won't just accept the truth. Acting all bitter. If you like, don't marry. When it eventually hits you that you need a man in your life no matter what, you would have clocked 40 or 50 years. By then, you are rushing up and down looking for man to marry or settle as a sugar mummy.

NA GRAMMAR DEY WORRY SOME NIGERIANS. B4 U POST A COMMENT CRITICIZING ANY1 PLZ THINK IT THRU. WHAT D MAN OF GOD IS SIMPLY SAYING EH WIFE DONT FOCUS ON THE FACT THAT UR HUSSY HAS CHEATED ON U BUT 4GIVE HIM AND DONT GIVE HIM REASON 2 CHEAT ON U AGAIN. DAT MAN DAT SAYS HE HAS NOT CHEATED ON HIS WIFE 4 7 YRS,WELL TNK GOD 4 U MAYBE UR WIFE IS DOING GREATLY WIT U...BUT U R STILL A MAN AND THERE IS 2MORO. 4 NOW U R NT CHEATING ON UR WIFE WHAT ABT 2MORO?????

you guys dont even read properly before commenting...all he's saying is that men have a tendency to cheat so as a woman make to home so nice he wont consider cheating

An a man, married for 3 years. I don't cheat cos I have realized all vaginas are the same. Simple fact.

IRENE BERNARDS said...

Pls write in English. Shit indeed

Anon 10.23...Best comment so far......
Triple like button.

M.E.D said...

Lasisi u have spoken well....just took the letters outta my thumbs.

@Anon 10:13: *sarcastic* ure so right. Its the real world. Once he cheats, u've got the liberty to share yours around like birthday biscuit.... Wake up young Woman. You'll end up shattered if with this kinda mindset.

Your name says it all....'Hotgirl' the runs girl. Go settle down fast before you expire.

@Anon7:18PM, God bless you. Aunty Linda,he said she should focus on the attributes dat made her to fall in love with him not d reasons for him to cheat. Linda, am sorry but I noticed ur a feminist. Pls what ever happen in d past is in d past,move on dnt dwell there.

Its Devil's work

Chinko u evn have time to reply dis pipo... U have to understand something quite right that "evn if evryone can read, not evryone can read in between d lines"

Don't bother thanking me, see you in Shaolin *winks*

Chai!!! La vex la angry, la english is a no comprehending... #La frustrated#

not my man

Its always all abt us. Can any gur tell me dat its only 1 guy dat av f*ck her gurs are naturally Dogs take it or leave it.

Every human (man/woman) has the tendency to cheat.

My problem with this article is that the fool insinuated that it was a woman's fault when a man cheats.

Tams B said...

I dey telllllllll uuuuu #correct

Omas992 said...

Anon 5:24 PM. Your comment is simply the BEST. Thumbs up. So many people here don't understand simple English. If this was to be an English Comprehension Test, so many people here will definitely fail, including Linda Ikeji.

Bia Linda where is my comment? The problem with the statement does not lie in the content of the statement but the person that made d statement. If this were coming from some average Joe okay no wahala, but from a supposed minister of God ah, na there d problem dey. It appears he is justifying and condoning adultery. "He cheated on you, well he is a man". Really? Hmmmm oga Pat Weldone it is well with you. The God that explicitly stated thou shalt not commit adultery clearly must not know what He is about. Abi? All u people going with d flow of adultery take it easy. It is not normal and was never part of God's plan for marriage. And no person whether male or female has to put up with adultery, except by choice. It is d one reason God will allow a divorce, no questions asked. Don't let d devil deceive u. You will pay d ultimate price for adultery! No excuses. Remember there is an end to this life and we must all account for it.

In my opinion and everyone is entitled to theirs some men will cheat. Those men that cheat will do so no matter the beautiful, best cook respectful , great in bed wife he marries. It's annoying blaming all women for genetically programmed cheating husbands.

pissed off reader said...

some stupid people on this blog just use this as an avenue to insult anyone as they please.Those that insult this man either do not understand english or are incredibly foolish! ok , your husband cheated on you and has apologised. how exactly does it help matters by always throwing it in his face that he cheated. It will only drive him away. instead you should make it such that your hubby always rushes back home to you. its a wise woman that builds her home. a foolish one destroys it.
those of you who accuse the man, is it better to not forgive your man and then have a divorce and then find another man who may still cheat on u?
Gosh people!think before you write!

Village headmaster said...

I beg! Dis is not English language board examination. It's just a Blog. Anyone can comment. In whatever language dey want too. English will never be the first language of African man. Nobody is paying anyone a penny for their thoughts here its free.

He is expressing a very old fashioned view, that women should keep the home, and men will cheat

What exactly is ur problem 'Understanding simple English or Bad sight that u can't read or pronounce some words 2 the best of ur knowledge'

he said men have d tendecy to cheat, he went ahead to ask if d man provides 4 her and family, if he is handsome. In conclusion he is saying d cheat is high with rich and handsome men. Must poor men does not always cheat like d rich. Meaning they can cheat when d oppurtunity arises. If u dönt cheat as a man check if u hv more than enough moni, if ur wife is nt doing her duties and lastly what kind of environment u stay plus d friends u keep.

That man(pat) is irreponsible! Blaming women for a man's lack of self discipline. The reality is that men dont like controlling their sexual urges. They, like this their shameless mentor(pat), hide under the cloak of all men to cheat to commit all manner of crimes. Do y'all think u are d only ones battling temptataions everyday? Women do but we have d good sense to put our family before our sexual urges unlike most men who relish in thinking with their nether regions. If u men like, dont control urself. Keep excusing ur faults. Until u get into trouble for sexual harrassment, abuse, rape or incest. Coz that is where all these sexual sins eventually leads when there is no control. Nuff said!

Tammyjosh said...

Linda some of these readers just act like they are super humans we are all imperfect people, some said they've married their wives for seven years without straying,and you really want to tell me you have never said in your mind "I love my wife and kids and she does not deserve such disrespect"? why would one think this way because at one point you were vulnerable, it's this vulnerability in every human that is the "tendency" having a tendency to cheat does not make you one. The Man of God only advised she lives above the hate and pain especially when He is the Loving Husband. Readers don't rush into conclusions because even your pastor has his own weakness and so do you, that you have not cheated Does not mean you can't. "Every one has got a price it just takes a good negotiator to find your weakness and you gone".

True but he can be controlled ..

Bukola Samuel said...

Hmnn, well, This Man has Spoken like an Elderly but hey!, that's just His Opinion... What I don't seem to get, though, is that, Fine, all Men (or Most) have a tendency to wander and checkout how cute a lady's behind seems to bubble about a room... Does it mean, A woman's duty is to mk sure He's gotten enough lack of interest in that? Cus that would be meaning He's gonna gv hers a wry look too.

Hey!, that's another way to look at IT..

So, My dear Ladies... (Not fellow lol) Its a Matter of self Discipline, and in fact, Self Decision, for a Man not to cheat.

If a cheating man is a cheating man then what do you say to the men that got married to prostitute?

JSBunny said...

ROTFL!!! Kass u too much! Women we have work to do so our men don't stray. But in the end if he does, "Let me keep quiet here so if it happens no evidence against me hehehehe

JSBunny said...

Anon 4:37, who are you? Abeg give ur fellow guys the secret na

Having a tendency to do something is not dsame as doing it. peeps stop being ignorant. read well. besides even if he said all men cheat, is it a lie? abegi

It is sad to realize that understanding simple english is still a big problem in Nigeria. The key phrase here is "tendency to cheat". Anyone who denies this in the context used is delusional. Do we know the number of people that get to find out that they have a step brother or sister after their fathers have died?
I'm one. Even though i'm a guy and i hate to admit this short coming, its reality. I don't know the above televangelist but he is spot on. A woman has a vital role to play and that's to domesticate her man and make him feel with her is the only place. Anything short of that, a man can and will probably cheat. Period!

@ Mr Fellow Man,you obviously have Self Esteem Issues,that is why you are talking about the wife feeling superior and feeling right always.What has that got to do with the issue on ground?

Is it by Cheating in your marriage that you can proof your manhood?

Anyone that wants to cheat can continue and be making excuses for it,but be rest assured that Karma is a Bitch you can"t escape and when she is ready,she will wack you senseless with her long koboko.

No one can excuse Infidelity by saying some women cause it.Take responsibility for your Indiscipline and lack of self control.If you have any issue with your wife and you genuinely love her like God professes ,you will work with her on the relationship ,demonstrate love and affection, till you achieve your desired Plateau.

And who says it is only women that have roles to play.Are you playing your own roles thoroughly in your marriage?If only some men can dedicate half the time and attention they dedicate to those dirty whores they cheat with,they will bring out the best in their patners.

No one can eat his cake and have it.People continue to blatantly cheat on their patners and still expect the best from them.Even if they pretend they do not know,they do and naturally,it gets at them occassionally,if not always.No one enters marriage with the believe that the Patner is ever going to be a serial Cheat.

Whatever little thing you do,ask yourself a simple question:If it were to be my patner doing this to me,how will i feel?
To every one,let your conscience judge you.

Yes,Linda and Oprah will continue to clap for women who are Self Confident and can stand firmly on their feet,trying their best to hold their own and maintain their sanity in this crazy world of ours.

He is not supporting that men should cheat. He highlighted that it's in their nature and is giving her tips on how to curb the situation. Sometimes women help drive men to cheat, and vice versa. He's only telling her how to keep her man!

Words of Wisdom. All the ladies can rant as much as they want to. A good woman builds her home, a foolish one pulls it down. We have ladies that cheat on their men too. All that is needed is love, understanding and forgiveness focussing on the purpose of the Union. The decision is yours.

Minaj! said...

@Prince Charming, i totally agree with you.

Almost everyone is supporting or justifying the advice of this "man of God" but i can bet u that God's standards do not change because of man's preceived weakness. Maybe he gave the woman some consolation which i doubt greatly, but should we now say that Christ was just yabbing when He said "any man looks at a woman lustfully commits adultery with her in his mind" What the hell are we excusing here.
Our weaknesses both men and women should be worked on for the general good of the good of the family. If the table is turned,what advice will he give the man....vivien

Some men are just trying to console themselves, because they feel the televangelist is on their side. So pathetic, hope he will argue your case before God on the last day.

women also hav d tendency 2 cheat cuz scientifically dry can hardly b satisfied by 1 man but dey still control themselves ...now men think its their right 2 cheat.thus man should b preaching against cheating by saying its a sin..not trying 2 justify it abeg

Almost everyone is supporting or justifying the advice of this "man of God" but i can bet u that God's standards do not change because of man's preceived weakness. Maybe he gave the woman some consolation which i doubt greatly, but should we now say that Christ was just yabbing when He said "any man looks at a woman lustfully commits adultery with her in his mind" What the hell are we excusing here.
Our weaknesses both men and women should be worked on for the general good of the good of the family. If the table is turned,what advice will he give the man....vivien