Ex-Super Eagles star Chidi Odiah denies being a taxi driver in the US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 May 2013

Ex-Super Eagles star Chidi Odiah denies being a taxi driver in the US

Former Super Eagles defender, Chidi Odiah, 30, has released a statement denying recent reports that he now drives taxis in the US to survive after being let go by his Russian club, Cska Moscow. See his statement below... 
My attention has being drawn to the slandering news going round the online media that I was spotted driving a Taxi somewhere in the United States of America.

I am taking this rebuttal path due to the hurt that story has caused my friends and family members. With due respect to taxi drivers who means of livelihood are through that means, I state, emphatically, that I am not a taxi driver neither am I in the United States of America . I am a professional footballer who loves my profession and yet to resign from playing football.

Chidi Odiah

127 comments:

Orisirisi

Are Taxi drivers not human beings?

Last to comment. Yah!

One of those prices you pay for being a star. Funny though! Uhmmm....stay focused, bro, and purpose-driven. ....................TerrificNelo

gistmode said...

Infact, na who started this rumour self? E fit be say they saw some that resembles him o, and now brought out this... Anyway, from every nonsense at time, we have sense.

Oh ok!

Yellow rose.

Hia!! U r not in d united states of American so were r u-united states of Aba? Oga chidi abeg park well joo.r u a learner

Jbaby said...

Eiyaaaa, amebo pipo and their large mouths. Even if he drives a taxi, wharahell is their business? At least its an honest job.
Once people realise that everybody cannot be super rich and act contentedly within their given wage. What a better place d world will be. But then again reality is a worse place than fiction, that's y we got so many dumb asses going broke just because they refused to act their wage!

Lol....people can slander!!!!!

Lol, where is this one coming from again, new day new drama.people of this world talk too much, Even if he is a taxi driver in US, is nobody's business. Plz people should let him be.

Aunty Linda na hustling things oh, maybe he is flat broke. and you know Igbo problem money.

Na wa o. Dem jst wan fall ur hand bros. Mayb u did it past time but no mind dem money dey d biz. #Usd no ni. Linda post dis or ... Lolz

Comin From d horse mouth.one thing I noticed abt we nigerias is dt we like to gossip, we dont like to hear or see somebody making a gud progress of him/herself

Nigerian blogger made up the story.

Mhen whose business?? @least dey didn't say he is into some dirty business like Drugs!

Chai!!! See falling of rep#lwkmd

ugo said...

Ok we don hear!

emerald said...

Simple and polite

WTF! Driving a taxi has never been known to be a wrong source of livelihood. Nigerians and propaganda.

My attention has "being" drawn...chai...dis guy no go beta primary school...Not too late 4 adult education sha...lol...Ada

Iamboody said...

I bet this is one of the stories I av believed, I don't know where Linda gets most of her stories from, she relies too much on local unverified sources; Dbanj goes down low, Dbanj dropped by Kayne, Dbanj has to go back to D Don, Dbanj is struggling for an Album, Dbanj.....oh gosh, she will even give news on posts from unverified twitter accounts, but we won't hear verified stories like Wande Coal is been dropped as GLO Ambassador, Dbanj was seen in Rhode Island dinning with two American Senators, Don Jazzy is struggling to produce a hit track, am used to not seeing my comment being posted so will be surprise to see this. #TEAM DBANJ#

what ever are the reasons people decide to lie....even if he's a cab driver Werin concern people......

He should have told us where he now plays football. Come to think of it, if this is true; where are all d money he collected while he was playing? He'd squandered them

Shey no bi people dey drive taxi abi u fyn pass dem, why ur family n freinds dey vex no bi people dey do am, at least there's dignity in labor abeg park well jo make I pass

Bro γ̲̣̣̥o̲̣̥υ̲̣̥'ve inactive 4 some time, so ao we go believe ur well written junk. I believe d dude spotted could be ur look-alike

Chidi wannne,na dia owu carry Ʊ G̶̲̥̅o̶̲̥̅ ,taxi driver na still work nah,U̶̲̥̅̊я̲̅ ₪Ö̤̣̇τ̩̩ in us were are Ʊ playin U̶̲̥̅̊я̲̅ active football? 4 marakanna.∕̴Ɩßεg talk anoder tin boo

ANYA IKENGA said...

See him face. If them send una school una go say na waste of time. Talent u no get. As if u fit buy taxi medal for US.

ajamobe oyin monday said...

This is not fair for those of you who don't have anything to say rather than constructing subject of ridicule to human personality. Take a moment of ur life to think of Heaven! "Ajamobe Oyin"

sexy barbie said...

Wetin dey dia to drive taxi for yankee? Abegi nxt

morsi said...

Naija pple wif bad belly!!! Why wish him bad

Blackberry said...

Sorry no vex.,tis only a rumour,chill.

Even if he is a cab driver,so fricking what.Y'all dont know what life is teally like over here. You really have to work to pay the bills and survive
Also,you have families back home to take care of. You think Naija is a jungle,climb ovet to this side of the world and you will believe that; all that glitters are not gold. Bros,quit responding to their rubbish talk. It is better than dealing drugs. Olivia.

Na una sabi. Nxt pls. -st George.

B€£ said...

Driver or no driver all join. Na USA u sha still dey

Linda despite wat he said in his statement, you are still writing that he denies being a Taxi driver in the United staite. Hmm! I no dey o.

Nice statement but bros u no tell us wetin u dey do now since cska moscow don sack u ,wat r u doin 4 a livin now!

Who cares? We know that u love ur football. You're a star so u have to expect such rumours or talks...

Buewt som pple can lik 2 mak odas biznes deirs shaa. Wetin concern me if he nw b taxi driver or dead body washer #huh#

Being a cab driver is not bad at least they didn't say you are a fraudster which most Nigerian's are in d US. But I get u its not true and you are taking steps to put the correct information out.

My dear U are entitled to earn urself a living in a possible best way u can rather than leavin a false life

Haaaa people sha,dem just want o kill his football carrier bfor him resign sef,na wa o

Emmanuel Ahaneku said...

Chidi Odiah doesn't tell us what he does or where he is at the moment. That would help clear the air.

He has tym oo. Do u need to explain anytin to anybody shebi na them get their mouth.

What is wrong being a cab driver. I know a North African here that drives a cab and with his earnings, completed an M.Sc program in engineering. He also own a house and he is building a business back home in his country!

Lisa said...

Even if he is, he is not asking anyone for money nor is he into 419 like some of his fellow countrymen, so, leave him be!!

And so what if he was actually a taxi driver? In Nigeria an honest day's labour is not respected.

Mr Chidi you don't owe anyone any explanation. Cab driver?! Lmaoooo....I reject it for you jare.

Media should form habit of confirming stories before making it public because it is scandalous to make up stories of someone people know.

Makinwa Sarah said...

Friends and Family members?

chai, look at what people are doing to our once left back defender? dnt worry brother God will elevate u again, but on a second thought at wat age now???? I think u shed give up on playing football age is no longer on ur side.

My brother don't mind all this jobless nigerian bloggers doing copy and pest. They should have shown us d picture of driving the cab. Linda u get luck sey u no post that news. U self dey do copy and pest no research.

Who cares? Why disturbing yourself with what people say about you. All you should care about is you and what keep you going. People got mouth and most talk. You do not control what anybody say.

Bro,

You berra thank God for your life. In other news, dem fit talk say you be gay.

Tell dem

Yomslaw said...

We didn't hear d accusation sef

*Linda. Nothing wrog in driving a cab. If you want to stop a rumour, you need to give detailed info. The half info you give is highly suspecious. Why can't you tell us where you play soccer now.

I think u are jobless that is why u have time to reply to whatever that was said and that means u re a t axi driver

Linda! For Ur mind, dis one na story?? Abi journalism??abi, all join?

I was also shock too when I had this unfriendly news,because I know chidi

If ♈ōϋ α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ nt a taxi driver then tel us Ÿ̲Ơ̴̴̴̴͡uя football club that you play for

Sometimes I think it best to ignore the rumour mill. In responding, I am now very curious. Brings more attention to the non-issue unortunately.

First laffta of d day.
Buhahahahahhahahha
Amanda R

I wonder what the biggie is about driving taxies. These is one of the many means of livelihood for lots of people.. Taxi drivers overseas earn about $6-$8K per month...you do the math and pray to God to get such a decent paying job in Nija. Blind people with stupid mentality. That's why there is no development in Nija. Focus is on materialism. You buy a car worth millions yet you living in a flat..... Get real people.

I sabi Abuse said...

So τ̲̅ђis dude sabi Engllish ℓi̶̲̥̅ke τ̲̅ђis? Abi na help dem help u write am? #justsaying#

Mr footballer u didn't say which club u play for. Not dats any business of mine

haba! ppl are wicked sha. even if d guy never touches football again in his life, he has enuff investments to live comfortably for life. I know dat for a fact!

chikezie said...

ppl n der fake sef, nawao!

There is something in his words that seem false. He is obviously too young to quit football and he is not injury prone. Our footballers should always improve themselves in football because they might fall short of expectancy from their coach. Its not getting a club to play in but staying in top form.

WHO GOD HAS BLESS, LET NO MAN CURSE

WHO GOD HAS BLESS MAN, LET NO MAN CURSE

Mr Chidi,Live ur life jare.let dem talk,na dem get dre mouth.

Abeg Christian, just relax jor! Even if you are a taxi driver, what is the beef? As long as you can look after yourself and put food on the table, that's all that matters!

So wat if he's a taxi driver? @least he's doing a decent job and not involve in frauds. Abeg do taxi driver ther O jare and com back Naija com live as a king. #wiseman.

blackgold said...

Well said. Gbam!!!

With all due respect....who are u now? Chidi...where are you and what do u do now? #5th/25th#

Lmao..is he better than those that drives taxi..abeg make hin go sit 4 toilet..

I just find this ish funny......maybe somebody saw his doppelganger......anything is possible.

Whats wrong with being a taxi driver? Nigerians and rat race...

Essien said...

BAD PEOPLE. WHERE DID THEY SEE ODIAH DRIVING. AFTER PLAYING BALL, HE SUDDENLY GOT BROKE? I DON'T THINK SO.

GET POST UME PAST QUESTIONS AND ANSWER HERE
Post Ume

nna eh,people can kil wit der mouth. Wetin dem mean by my guy dey drive taxi.funy dou. Even if he retired 4rm futbol last 6yrs,i dnt tink by now he would hv finishd 1/3 of his fortune. Ppl eh

My dear your replic should have been "I am not a taxi driver and even if I am whose business is it? I do what I like and I make no excuses to no one" nonsense!

Linda! I can now categorically say that you are tired of being a blogger. You have not posted any comment since yesterday morning. Seriously, o ti re e. You better find someone to be helping you sometimes. Or you get Owa n be to attend ni? If you like don't post this but you would have read it.

Abeg live ur life d way u want joor... If u like be truck pusher... So far nobody is paying ur bills.

datsharpguy said...

Nice one 4 nt insulting taxi drivers in d process of defending himsef

Why do people like dragging others name in the mud? They need to get a life as the guy talked about obviously has one

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

LOOOOL!!! That's why education is so, so good mate! Nigerians need to go back to school so when the going gets tough there'd always be a way out! x

So whats wrong with him driving a taxi? Smh@nigerians. Some of you wear ur second hand suits everyday to work claiming big names only to go collect peanuts as salary at the end of the day. If its not that then its prostitution, drugs, yahOo yahoo or even those who do nothing but sit in their parents houses at over ripe ages n eat free food. Mshew.

Wots wrong wit driving a taxi???.....

geeluv said...

Who even startd dis rumour self...haba 9ja,$ if @all wats d crime in Drivin Taxi's @list its beta dan him pushing hard drugs!!! No mind dem bro!!!

geeluv said...

Awon so ku so oshi...u pipu shud free himooo...he is stil in active football him neva retireooo.

Nawa oooo!pple won't just mind their business.pls tell them.& what if he was a taxi driver?How does it affect them?..He looks so much like Iyanma.

Hia!! Taxi driver kwa, that's malicious.

Who knows,who can really tell...ndi asi!

Oby Azike said...

what's wrong with being a taxi driver?

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

coolbabe said...

what is bad if he was a taxi driver, it is a occupation, far beta than been a drug dealer

His rep wrote this well, but if it was me, I would proberbly ignore the rumour, taxi drivers in London own homes and live very well, something's are better left untouched.

Dr pAs said...

No mind them bro, some of them here are begging to be giving a cab to drive here, more of one aboard. #man must work !!!!

Lucasbalo said...

Who cares.

Lucasbalo said...

Who cares.

ifyboy said...

We Nigerians likes celebrating peoples down fall, had it been that mr Chidi odiah announced that he just bought a BMW x6 , trust me you won't see a single comment here....Niaja likes to hear of people's down fall and then they will laugh...yeye people

You must definitely be his account officer or investment manager. Let's learn to talk with fact. Being a high income earner does not guaranteed being able to save enough for the rainy days.

Fool!!! OMG Ur so lame,if he doesn't defend himself nw u'd stil complain

Very ugly man, eugh!

Abegi, Chidi shift, with ur gbagun..'who means of livelihood' you are right to say with due respect. So why not do just that with silence. Now, you have open your mouth, trust 9ja pple, they will go grave digging and exhume every detail, good, bad, urgly out to the open. Pwele, footballer...

Why will your friends and family be hurt? Did anyone say you are a thief? Those taxi drivers are respectable pple...afterall, some of them are graduates, undergraduates or as fulltime business ; so what have you over them as a footballer

Sowi dog if na false news buh I laff(achia m ochi n'oke olu). Buh to drive taxi no be crime o

What's people biz. Is it not beta for him to be a taxi driver instead of doing crime over dere. He shouldn't have issued a statement, it shows a lack of confidence on his part. Check-out abimbolaadebayo.blogspot.com

chioma said...

Don't mind dem,enjoy ur life abeg.

Are you blind dat yu can't see 'with all due respect' ode oshi!!!!

Chidim,I still love u. I thank God u showed me what it takes to be a loved woman. I love it that u hv found success in life. Guess what? I hv a baby now n my oga is doing great. Works in an oil services blablabla. Be good as always.
U know me.

Guy u can shoot arrow God damn it!!!!!

Ur a big fool #daz all

I'm not surprised to hear that this story is false because our so called journalists these days are a show of shame due to their unprofessionalism. OK Linda is an exception because she's into gossips and I honestly don't consider her a journalist. All these useless journalists do is hear and report fake, lies and unverified stories and fill their magazines, websites and the papers with junk news causing problems here and there. If possible a body should be put in place to publicly flog and detain any reporter or journalist that reports fake news.

mschewww!

@ boody u r a fool... Infact bomb dey ur head... Odensi. If u r so gud @ linda's job y dnt u strt bloggn so ppz wd get d verified gist... Stockfish brain

Football is not big in North America, plus the recession over here is rough, people have to survive however they need to. At least he is not selling his ass to the highest bidder, drugs, or being a criminal.

I know a man who drove a van for many years, and now he owns a rental car company. Many a people would have looked down on him back then for just being a van driver. Now that he is a businessman running a successful business, the same people look up to him. Humans and their seesaw mentality.

No wahala, even if u don drive b4 ,na footballer u be,no vex but taxi driver na human like uoooooo, after all na for USA no for NIG .

Chi boy, no mind 9ja people oo...if taxi driver no fit u at least you be fine boy; u fit be Gi..lo . Business & Pleasure

BUKUNMI 'PREACHER' ADELANI said...

so what? dignity of labour pls... even if he is a taxi driver... thats honourable than a president who steals

"With due respect to taxi drivers who means of livelihood are through that means, I state, emphatically, that I am not a taxi driver neither am I in the United States of America . I am a professional footballer who loves my profession and yet to resign from playing football"

I HAVE QUOTED FORMER NIGERIAN NATIONAL TEAM PLAYER (CHIDI) HE HAS STARTED BY ACKNOWLEDGING THE FACT THAT DRIVING A TAXI IS A JOB JUST LIKE ANY OTHER JOBS. It is boring to c some numb comments from insensitive people. why jump into conclusion before reading the
story carefully?

Nawa ooooooooooooooo

Ode oshi, you can be a begger for all we care, after all you're not any better. A man who marries a girl the traditional way, impregenates her leaves her in the US till she delivers, visits his son once and abandons both wife and son. Did I leave anything out? Anu ofia. Taxi driver better pass you sef.

My friends,i am a media practitioner, almost all of u argue blindly. Someone's personality is involved in this case. U people used ur mouths to slander somebody without evidence. There are no facts to say Chidi is a taxi driver. The information still remains tentative. What u people are doing can be compared to taking medicine after death. D media is giving out false information abt dis person coz they don't have facts to prove to us specifically how the whole thin happened with justifiable facts beyond reasonable doubt., pls say what u knw and don't libel someone's individual personality coz of ur ignorance

His first statement was ( WITH DUE RESPECT TO TAXI DRIVERS WHO MEANS OF LIVELIHOOD ARE THROUGH THAT MEANS ). But some haters here who can not read carefully has just concluded after seeing the headline of the news , THAT CHIDI DENIES BEING A TAXI DRIVER IN US , and they are asking if taxi driving is not a job.

Fine boy no pimples no mind dem jare, we no you very well man wey God don bless.We know the family from which all this is coming from. That God that rescued you from them will surely see you thru. Who God don bless let no man curse. I will never forget all the love you showed me. God will continue to protect you. Amen! Remain blessed

Tonia said...

This is cool!

na wa oo.who wan give this guy bad name n badluck make god judge am ooo.all ye wanna be stars mind urself no be person head u go take shine,use ur star wisely.anyway chidi its time to wash ur head in the blood of jesus he is waiting for u

wat the wife
did by publicizing it was evil,wicked and uncalled for.as a woman i felt she should waited for his next move before acting.his wife was too proud and humility would have solved it.she is not the first to go through it