Missing engineer, Akanbi Oluwatoyin, found dead in Ifo, Ogun State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 February 2013

Missing engineer, Akanbi Oluwatoyin, found dead in Ifo, Ogun State

A week after oil engineer Akanbi Oluwatoyin was declared missing by his family, he has been found dead in Ifo Ogun State according to a family member.

Akanbi and his silver 2008 Highlander with plate no: SMK975AS went missing around 5:30am on Monday February 18th on his way to work. His corpse was found in Ifo yesterday by the police but his car was not found. Akanbi worked with an oil company in Lekki and had to no business in Ogun State on that fateful day, so friends believe he was driven there and killed.

The police are currently investigating his death. So sad. Rest in peace, Amen.

85 comments:

wow this is too sad
haba
young man like this
omg my prayers are with the wife and kids(if any) he left behind
this isnt good news at all
Lord have mercy on us.

How sad! Everyday you just hear strange and disheartening things in Nigeria, may God keep protecting us o! Amen! RIP Akanbi.

Eya Ayambem said...

So sAD. Rest In Peace.

RNC said...

Linda...it's Number Plate.....and not plate number.

May his soul rest in peace.
what a painful loss.

we all have 2 live our lives as if its our last day bcos 2morrow is nt guaranteed 4 any one d evil dis days is indescribable

DISCOVER THE SECRET OF LOOSING WEIGHT AND BURNING TOMMY FAT said...

Now dat he is rich and famous na death and bad people come visit.....when he was still struggling them leave am to suffer , now is a made man , Death sha......GOD PLS DNT ALLOW ME and my fellow Lib Readers TO LAbour in Vain......AMEN

So people of the world won't allow a hard working brother enjoy his hardwork? Sometimes I just don't get why you people kill, is it for the fun or it, jealousy or what? RIP brother. May your killers and their unborn generation never know peace.!!! Amen.

This is just so sad. People are so entangled with evil these days. After all your sweat and hustle in achieving your dreams and getting a good car, someone just appear and whisked your life away all in the name of quick money. R.I.P

RIP...dis world eh

I no him very well,he works in Chevron,we actually heard abt his death dis mornin in d office.R.I.P

Hrm paul ojeih said...

So sad wickedness abound in this nation if it was d car they were after why take his life they just set up the poor man and took his life from a distance God is watching us

Very very pathetic! Take heart Tosin (wife) and everybody he left behind. Can't still believe this...*crying*

God hv mercy

This is sad....RIP.

kitty said...

Oh my God may his Soul rest in peace, some one must ave a hand in dis! Just saying oh

Hmmm!so sad.R.I.P

RIP Engr Toyin, missing persons here nd there, killings here nd dere, deaths here nd dere, na Wah oh! Hmmmnn

FameLord said...

What's Really Happening This days?????

Mohammed said...

We live in a cruel world. He must have stepped on feet(s)

bitchplis said...

Very sad...may God comfort his family

So so sad,RIP

Heriot Watt University has lost one of her Brightest. RIP bro

Oga gan o

Poor guy.rip.

So sad...RIP.

May his soul rest in peace, what a painful death.

anonymous. said...

So sad! Wats happening in Naija. God rest his soul.

Friends, trust nobody but God..the heart of man is desperately wicked! People are evil except for few...but since you can't tell, just trust God only and let Him lead you.

Pls remember to catch up with my christian blog. After much gossip get some Word of God inside you to keep you going. God bless you.
www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com

It looks like he was assasinated.RIP

Rip...so sad..

Rip dear!so sad

Allah save us from black devils(meemee).

hurneymixture said...

*crying. RIP

Rest in peace brother.
Such a gentle and easy-going dude. Know him from back in OAU ife, white house.
It's a cruel world we living in.

Rest in the bossom of the Lord, brother.
A very cool and easy-going guy from our days in OAU Ife. Can still picture him in White House...
It's a cruel world we living in.
God give your family the fortitude to bear the loss......

What is sad is that The Nigerian Poilce will NEVER come up with leads as to who did this. Lacking intelligence and skill to do anything but collect 50naira from motorists and terrorize harmless citizens. If they had sense this young man would probably still be alive as they might have tracked his abductors and murderers before they strike. I pray I win that visa lottery I applied for so I can leave this country. I am soo tayad of the system. Rest in peace dear Akanbi. At least you are in a happier place: no worries where you are.

RIP akanbi... Dis is really sad, may GOD give his family and loved ones the fortitude to bear d loss..

PS__Bonnie guess u haven't been told its not nice to stand a lady up... Kept me waiting at delizio all day on saturday... Lucky for u ♍ a 3chances kinda girl.. U still v dis saturday n d upper 1 to redeem urself

Nancy

AMEN dear!bless u.May his soul RIP n may God give his family d fortitude 2bear d loss

@Baby_Confessor said...

Only Lib readers? Your family and close friends nko? Na wa o...

Moses said...

Jesus!
I was hoping this man will come home alive. But, why..... Why.... I read the Doctor wife's words on PUNCH and I felt for her. She talked about how he calls her every morning at a particular time when she's on night duty. Oops! And, now gone. But why #Sad

this isnt fair @all dis guy went to oau ife he read his books well.nw working to get a good life nd some 1 cut him short .dis is terrible

RIP, u r d only son of ur mother, she luv u so much, she cried so much d day she knew u were missing, tried to console her but it was like she knew all dt was happening in her inner mind.

this isnt fair @all dis guy went to oau ife he read his books well.nw working to get a good life nd some 1 cut him short .dis is terrible

Please let's stop killing each other for nothing. Even if the thieves wanted the car, why did they have to kill him? He is someone's husband and father...so unfair!

truely n really devasting story. his mom is my dean. may forgive him n strenghten his family

No one is safe in that country I only wish this killers go after the people killing Nigeria and not the innocent citizens. I pray God to be with the deceased family.

PS: Linda that word is NUMBER PLATE and not PLATE NUMBER.... Olodo.

Olumide Samuel said...

That's so sad. A man cut off in his prime & d tragedy of d story is dt it may be swept under d carpet... This day in history: Napoleon Bonaparte and World Trade Centre

RIP Toyin Akanbi. I just couldn't stop shedding tears when I heard the news of your death. All memories I had about you while we were room mates in school were good ones. May the Lord comfort your family.

I'm in love wiv u , can I hv ur mail addy

Its very sad. He was my husband's colleague at office. May his soul rest in peace

RIP. Scary Naija. What has he done to deserve this? Who could be behind this? A jealous colleague? A family member? Jilted lover? What a waste of human life.

Abegeee gerrahht dere!correcter must to be d worst!why can't u just say RIP nd pass d mic or berra still dnt comment at all!!mtcheewww!!

One more tym nd ill smack ur ass frm here!must u say it 3tyms??? Ure ryt sha..lol

My thots exactly!dey just took d car to make it look lyk he was robbed nd killed...na wa oo,may God Almighty protect us

Concerned citizen said...

This is so sad. I can't believe that these armed robbers still operate using the Ifo routes. I was robbed and dumped on that same Ifo road in 2008. I know the police know these robbers use this route and they are doing absolutely NOTHING!!!!
Isn't it safe to assume the police is part of this nonsense?

OMG! So sad RIP

Chevron staff again? Hmm!!!! Something fishy is going on in that company.. An uncle of mine who is a top management staff was kidnapped on February 8. His car was taken away and he was beaten and left for dead in Ikeja... He has travelled out of the country now. Something is going on..

Prof T! Prof T!! Prof T!!! Prof F will miss you so much. May the Lord grant your wife and family members the fortitude to bear the loss. Amen. I'm short of words. Its well.

NORIS Donbaikeyei said...

oh!! My good friend and boss... Met and worked with him while i was on my industrial training with chevron... Then he was working offshore... Nigerians please stop this killings... Akanbi encouraged and inspired me then... So young a man He was.. JESUS save us... RIP Akanbi Oluwatoyin... And he loved playing piano...

Dis guy is my dean's son in yabatech and he happens to b the 1st child. It ws so sad wen we heard d story cos dere was no lecture dat ysterday. Rest in peace MR AKANBI

#Amen

Don't know which worries me more, your mentality (stepping on toes) or ur olodoness (feets). RIP

bitchplis said...

@RNC mr teacher,she's correct...plate nbr is d alphanumeric character on d plate while number plate is d plate u screw on d vehicle...

bitchplis said...

Nancy,don't u get?Bona doesn't do girls,neither does he do guys...he uses vaseline...stop wasting ur time,try prince charming or prince jobless...but u av to b careful wit PJ cos he's a psycho...

O my God,I still can't believe dis...my classmate husband is dead?jst like dat?leaving tosin(wife) and a little daughter behind..dis world esp Nigeria is wicked...pls linda u really have to use ur blog and talk about dis issue cos its not fare for we professionals to go to sch,spend atleast 5years in sch,come out,go for masters for anoda 2yrs,come back to our country Nigeria,only to be killed wen we find a good job...its terrible...we have all paid our price by working hard in life and so sld benefit frm our sweat.Rada dan living in fear...haba...its too bad.our parents nd family memebers spent a lot for our education,only to short live der joy nd fruit of der labour?Godforbid...pls linda kindly use ur blog for dis awareness..cos dis is jst wickedness...

What a wicked world we live in...Toyin, was a family, a great pianist, God fearing, Easy going,and then to crown it all,an excellent individual;who left oau with a first class honours.I pray that God gives his family the fortitute to bear the loss...Rest In Peace Brother!

We live in a cruel world,whoever did this should not die again...1st and only Son of Akanbi's family...left behind his wife and beautiful daughter...As we are looking for what 2 eat, may we not find what will eat us...#my prayer

Hahahaaha,u na no go kill me for this blog o...lmao @"becareful with Prince Jobless cause he's a psycho"..hahahaha.#okbye

U sef dey work for chevron?? Abeg I dey find job o..

God am yet to recover from the shock of Toyin's death. Grant his family the grace to go through this period. Its so saddening. RIP Oluwatoyin

I woke up this morning shedding tears, not able to come to terms that Toyin is gone.When I heard the news of your disappearance, I thought it was the usual ransome demand kind of kidnap. I prayed for your return. To hear that you were found dead was shocking,heart breaking and devastating. A first class student from OAU called Prof because of his intelligence, brilliance and smartness. You were a gentle man and you touched everyone positively with your kindness.You were a mentor to a lot of people. If I feel this sad about your demise, I can not imagine what your wife, siblings and parents are going through. It is such an unimagineable feeling. Those that took your life have no idea of the damage and pain they have caused. We leave them to God to judge. Toyin, though you lived a short life, you had an exemplary life. It is unfortunate that your dreams and aspirations were cut short by men . May God grant you an eternal peace, may he console and comfort your wife and little daughter. May he strengthen your family at this difficult time. You will be in our hearts forever. Goodbye OLUWATOYIN AKANBI.

PJ looks jobless for realz! Aint nobody gat time for that! Bonario rply asap!

Nancy

Rest in peace.....adieu

Naija sha. Rubbish country. The robbers and ritualists. kill ppl who are working hard. The police is stupid and the govt is looting.
Life is nothing in that country, nothing. Country my foot. Could have been anyone. I dread coming to live in that hell hole. I'm upset because Toyin went to Uni with my hubby in Edinburgh, he was married with child and he played our piano. He was the last person who touched it, and I asked him to teach me but he was going back to Nigeria.

Shame on the scums who call themselves humans, bloody animals masquerading as humans. What is the use killing for a life you can't replace. May Giod punish them, your citizens come back to help the economy and you slaughter them like cows. I can't believe that a country that is so religious is also hiding a lot of evil tendencies. May they never find forgiveness, May God not forgive the people who did this atrocity
A young man loved and cherished by all because of his integrity broken down and killed. Tufiakwa. I will never live in that country again. I will rather be treated well in a strange land than live in my own land where I am just a number and no one knows my worth. I will not die by the hands on evil men/women, not by accident only when God wants it to be. No idiot shall kill me, rather they will die because it isn't my destiny. Bloody animals

I hope that your family will find closure as to what happened. Rest in peace Toyin.

So sad,,,RIP

This is an aunt of mine's husband. The news is soo disheartening. Short of words. May his soul rest in perfect peace

Linda well done. I will haunt u till u post my comment