Cardinal Keith O'brien, UK's most senior Roman Catholic cleric steps down amid claims of 'inappropriate behaviour' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 February 2013

Cardinal Keith O'brien, UK's most senior Roman Catholic cleric steps down amid claims of 'inappropriate behaviour'

74 year old Cardinal Keith O'Brien, UK's most senior Roman Catholic cleric, resigned his position as the Archbishop of St Andrews and Edinburgh today Monday February 25th after being accused of 'inappropriate conduct' towards fellow priests.

Three priests and a former priest reported him to the Vatican over allegations of inappropriate behaviour stretching back 30 years. One of the priests alleged that the cardinal developed an inappropriate relationship with him, resulting in a need for long-term psychological counseling. Another one claimed O'Brien made an inappropriate approach after night prayers. The four demanded O'Brien's immediate resignation.

O'Brien denied the allegations and had been expected to continue in his post as archbishop until mid-March, when he was due to retire at age 75 but he resigned today.

"I have valued the opportunity of serving the people of Scotland and overseas in various ways since becoming a priest," Cardinal O'Brien said in a statement. "Looking back over my years of ministry, for any good I have been able to do, I thank God. For any failures, I apologise to all whom I have offended." 
The Vatican is to investigate the allegations.

85 comments:

But if I must ask why is the catholic church under a lot of attention now? No comment till further investigations is concluded.

awwwww! what a high sense of humility.
The standards of d holy Catholic church cannever be sacrificed on d altar of mediocrity,emotions and sympathy with d societal current trend.just as God cannever change his standards.
With all sense of humility and self appraisal he found himself unworthy to continue,and gracefully he bowedout. quite commendable.
ET NAM CERTAM CATHOLICA,ET APOSTOLICA ECCLESIAM.

Queen Bee said...

Inappropriate behaviour towards.....can't Dey just spell it out dat he wanted to defile them sexually.
I wonder y they keep deceiving themselves with this celibacy issue' when they can't do it!
God never compelled anyone to be celibate!!

These guys should be getting married for crying out laud . I don't understand this celibacy thing as it doesn't exist. Priests should go ang marry period.

Queen Bee said...

Inappropriate behaviour towards.....can't Dey just spell it out dat he wanted to defile them sexually.
I wonder y they keep deceiving themselves with this celibacy issue' when they can't do it!
God never compelled anyone to be celibate!!

What is happening to d catholic family o!

jbaby said...

Hmmmmm, na gay tins??

A very disturbing development. I hope these allegations aren't true, otherwise it would be quite shameful. How embarrassing! ~Avryl~

DISCOVER the 5 flat Belly Nigerian Foods that help weight Loss >>Click Here said...

nice.. can this ever happend in nigeria.. or africa?

Myne said...

It seems a lot of gay men used the RC priesthood for camouflage. Maybe the Anglican church got it right for allowing both marriage, and for gay men to be priests.

Romance Meets Life

Pope said...

Hmmmm. Catholic church!!! Why all this resignation & step down; Italian mafia at work

Why do these priests keep deceiving themselves...it is only a pagan religion that insists their priest shouldn't get married...now see what konji is making a priest do!!! They are now engaging in homosexuality and child abuse...may God open our eyes,because even st peter u ppl claim to draw inspiration from was married,he had a son and a wife..read Matthew 8:14!!!pagan worship has really mixed with the catholic church and I pray God opens our eyes to the truth!!!

Being a priest aint easy,chastity vow 4 life

Fearless! said...

These pple and these allegations of sexual relationships,smh!

Its not by force to be celibate oh,who are u deceiving?and the Bible did not make it compulsory!

Yeye dey smell!

Allegations or no allegations, the catholic church still stands...

Not again!!! *deep sigh* -Trudy

Seyi said...

This one worse pass buying a private jet, lmao! If u abuse me thunder fire you.

In as much as i dn't support bad things, these people are humans, no one is a saint. They could be tempted, even Jesus was tempted but He overcame it becos He is Jesus. Again why should the Priests waited till after 30 years? I hate the way oyibo people do their things at times, PHD (PULL HIM DOWN) syndrome. This is the same way they treated Micheal Jackson and host of others.

Catholic Church shall remain ever strong and ever indefatigable.

Judgement shall definitely start from the house of God! Lips sealed

Hmmm...not surprised much,na their way be that..

God created human beings with the primal need for sex, amongst other things. Why these catholic priests take vows of chastity is simply beyond me. When God created sex, why would man imagine it possible to do without it forever. Then you go into the ministry and boom...homosexuality. This hypocrisy of the Catholic Church is beyond me. Linda I know you will not post this because you are a catholic, but I have made my point.
Even the college of bishops is not spared, there are talks of inappropriate sexual conduct with some of them and male prostitutes and it is being linked with the pope's resignation. Too much hypocrisy. It stinks to high heavens.

The hottest part of hell fire wil be reserved 4 these homo catholic priests n cardinals I pity those pple who follow that idol worshippin free masonic cult called catholic church tufiakwa

Speechless!

Diva said...

All of you saying rubbish are foolishly ignorant. These are allegations and have not yet been confirmed to be true. And just bcos one egg is bad does not mean all the eggs in the basket are bad.....after all pastors and all these so called men of God in Protestant churches do worse things. For those of u asking why d catholic church is earning so much attention..... It is the universal church....the biggest Christian denomination on earth.... That is why.

You need to examine ur brain...your ignorant and hate is embarrassing. Do u knw what they call "doctrine"? And for ur info,Catholics gat over 1b members as congregation,so u expect them all to be saints? That's how u fools will be passing judgment as if u are God!

jc yexy said...

Pls leave anglican church out of dis.Anglican ch didn't allow d 2 marriage.

Their own child abuse is the worst tufiakwa!

An Abomination!!!!! Sodomy(homosexuality) is the Sole reason God elected to destroy sodom and Gomorrah with Fire and Brimestone!!.....My dear Myne Whitman The Anglican church didn't get it right @all...of course every now and then even among Reverend fathers you find anomalies (Men wey like man nyansh)...But the church shouldn't approve of it !!! Talkless sanction it, as the CanterBury did!! Nobody holy pass ooo!! But still boudaries suppose dey!! Abegiii!!!!! ma thots....jes ma thots....aymii

My Question is this: Why wait 30 years befor speaking up? Why wait 30 years before requesting specifically that he resign? Something isn't right here. Even if he were guilty, do you think he hasn't repented and God forgiven him? Common people! This is 30 years! It means if he were guilty, these people never forgave him in 30 years. That's a long ime to harbour unforgiveness. And for those passing judgement and condemnation, beware, lest your utterances bring condemnation upon you. A man of God is still an annointed person, and the bible says "touch not my annointed".

You sef u be fool! Haven't u passed judgement before? Hhhhidiot!

Wow! U guys and ur hate for Catholic church tho. Jeeeez! Did someone just say that pope resigned due to sexual allegations? The man is 86yrs old and sick! How many of u have a father or granddad of that age that can lead a congregation of more than 1b people? U guys keep judging catholic church,some idiots called catholic demonic,some call it satanic, some said they are hypocrites,while some said they are deceiving themselves! Wow! Let me ask u idiots a question, can u people swear that ur pastors who are married are not having extra marital affairs? Some of ur pastors are ritualists,some are sleeping with their church members, some are duping people of their hard earned cash! But u hypocrites will come out to judge the catholic as if they are not humans! You Queen B,someone like u is probably good for nothing hoe! What do u knw about bible and church doctrines? U people should keep ur ignorant and hate to urselves! And hey,for ur ignorants,they didn't resign from being Priests,they resigned from the office of cardinal and pope which is not a calling but an appointment.

priest dis priest dat i knw they are far better than many so called pastors out there who chase after married women n even underaged girls.they are even dupes n always clame to operate by principles of power torsels am talking out of experience.their ways stinks

Honestly there shd be need for a wake up call over this no marriage policy.@805 gay men to lead in church,are u for real?

@Queen bee, @ Grloria Sharon & @Anonymous February 25, 2013 at 10:42
PM

3 of You have shown how stupid and foolish u are. Tell me something you too, are ur pastors saints? Even ur pastors with wives sleep with women outside! How u u be so judgmental? So because some priest are bad means the whole catholic church are bad abi? So we can also say that the whole pentecostal church are evil because reverend king was evil abi? Can't u idiot have common sense at all?

Hahaha I read one was gonna give a speech through his computer then BOOM!!!! Gay porn came up on the screen hahahahahaha oh no

Abeg, U GUYS should keep shut o. Even The pentecostal pastors that are allowed to marry, how far wt them? Dem still dey commit adultery. How messed up is that?huh

Keeeee yaslf, most this, most that, ehnn! It's also whr they have the greatest of the greatest pedophiles and gays! Iyen nko?

Shut up dumb ass.. Why you dey vex? Na Linda write the story.. Church of pedophiles and gays.. Let's say the truth, make una free una priest to fuck so they wnt stop harrassing people.. It's everywhr, even in Naija here..my frnd said the priest in her church is seriously asking her out.. Awon onishina.

Keeeee yaslf, most this, most that, ehnn! It's also whr they have the greatest of the greatest pedophiles and gays! Iyen nko?

A stinking and hypocritical institution. Allow them to marry already.

If u av no sin cast d ist stone.. It's reali gud to think b4 u talk abt other people's sin.. #proudly catholic#

Press don tell us waiting we won hear, all na lie oh. Arrangement toh badt.Since dem no report am oh. na now wey POPE resign u sef dem find something lie for una. World is ending.

Oga PC, i nvr noticed u until Linda's faithful disciple brot u to my notice. Dem get ur time no be small, drinking alabuku for som1 else's lack of head. Carry go o jare, nothing do u. U re intelligent n dats wat killing ur haters.

I now always look forward to readn ur comments on Linda's blog....... Lyna

dis is realy appauling.signs of d times.God is embarkin on a massive clean up.even dou christ came nd tore d inner room curtain,the vatican is stil doin dia best to hide plenty os secrets.God is watchin nd probably ready to start acting

Hello Mr/Miss/Mrs anonymous!u were askd to drop a comment nt insult the catholic church!!!anyway,insultng u nw will mean me leavng other readers confused about who d fool is now.just to warn u,whoever u may b,watch ur tongue.I fear 4 u bcos I knw God is a just God!so u had better filter ur comments!

U re a big fool. May thunder fire u and ur family for calling Catholic "idol worshippin free masonic church" I hope u die in misery idiot

Even Jesus's disciples had a Judah!everybody can't be a saint!

Fools. Looking for who to judge. Before u remove a speck in another person's eye, first of all go remove d plank in urs so u can be able to see clearly in removing d speck in another's eye. Are they not even better than other church pastors that re even allowed to marry and still go after both married n unmarried women. Is that not greed? U re there sitting down and talking abt catholic church. Idiots.

Its not that celibacy can't be achieved,it can, a lot of priests are trully chaste.its just dat among the tweleve dere is alway a judas,not saying that he is guilty,only saying dat d devil never rests cos he is spirit.
Even now a lot of churches are under massive attack as the end is near so let's not judge so that we too are not condemed.
I most also say dat it is the right of a bishiop especially a cardinal to resign at the age of 75yrs. As for the pope he can resign,pope benedict is not the first pope to resign he is actually now the 10th, nine others hv before him.it is permitted within the laws of the church.resignation doesn't mean he is no longer catholic or priest it only means someone else will be pope!

Ur mouth dey scratch u @queen bee. Mitchewwwwww.

Mary-Lovely said...

You r Peter and on this rock I will build my church.And the gates of the underworld can never hold out against it.I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven.
All these critics,reason ...

Everyone here is speaking based on idiosyncracy and sentiment, why don't we put our differences aside and wait for proper investigation, don't be too quick to jugde......by the way linda I love ur blog keep up with the good work

I don't know why all these protestant and warehouse churches of these days are jealous of Roman catholic church,run your own race of salvation and let us run ours.The measure which you use in judging is how God will judge you.I am a catholic for life,the one and only true denomintion.

Can protestant churches wake up 3 O'clock midnight and begin to pray for the whole world?which is called 'Divine mercy' Can they say the 15 decades of the rosary and pray for the sins of the whole world,can they say the stations of the cross and every wednesday and friday?can they receive the sacrament of first holy communion and confirmation?can they observe everything written in the bible?can they dedicate their whole life to God and not enjoy the pleasures of this wicked world? Rather they make noise and see visions for people. Please let God be the judge.You can hate or insult me but I believe in my faith and I let God be the judge.

I have never commented on this blog before but this particular topic caught my attention cos i have seen with my own eyes. Worse things are associated with this celibacy of a thing. Priests in Nigeria even have kids. I personally know a catholic priest that is a confirmed biological father and is also using his high position to subject helpless girls trusted under his care to sexual immoralities. A close friend was a victim. God never said any man shouldnt marry. Instead f committing atrocities and deceptions pls take a wife.

TruelyTopaz said...

i dont understand these priests o..why is it now they are opening their mouth..30yrs back..why now..very suspicious to me..

Oh really? One billion doomed to go to hell if they don't come out of that cult called the catholic church? Pls my dear brothers and sisters, let's face reality..we're not gonna live forever. I know things like these also happen in protestant churches but let's face it, if the General overseer of such a Church really fears GOD, he or she will definitely do something about it. Cmy

@ Anon 10:51 thunder fire u idiot. God punish u for saying that the hottest part of hell be reserved for the catholics. Fool, do u know anything about catholic? What about pastors doing rituals and other stuffs? Catholic church still remains the holiest and has done so much to make the world a habitable place for all of u talking rubbish. Nonsence.

To all my catholic brothers and sisters, hell is real. There is nothing like purgatory. It does not exist. That is a lie from the pit of hell. Our GOD is too holy to behold one single stain of sin. Praying to mary is idolatory. I know a lot of u may kick against this but its d truth. Jesus is d only mediator between GOD the father and humanity. I pray d good LORD opens your eyes to the truth and gives you understanding. GOD bless you all.

Anon 10:51, May God have mercy on your soul when u eventually perish

Von-Tease said...

I agree with u Bonario. U know, we need 2 accept d fact that we r human n prey 2 sin. Itz difficult 2 accept blame 4 1s faults so I appreciate a man dat does. May God forgive our sins n find us worthy of his compassion, amen.

@Bona it is Et unam, sanctam, Catholicam. Et Apostolicam Eclesiam......
Gratias

@Bonario of all the things to say... what stupid sense of humilty? I am sure he was about to be exposed so he quickly stepped down. I said it there is more from that can of worms that got opened last month. You fall my hand Bonario. Lets stop all this religious rubbish these men are human beings and can FALL. What inappropriate behavior? he was having SEX with MEN PERIOD. RUBBISH.

Queen bee or slave ant u r an imp

My qus to u is have u been to Hell b4? And how do u know that purgatory isn't real? Point of correction we r not praying to Mary. We r honoring Mary, we r not woshiping her. We honor Her bcos she's d Mother of Jesus Christ.

A 34-year old man, Kehinde Paul Layode, has been arraigned before a family court in Ikeja for allegedly defiling a three-year old girl (name withheld).

Sebi the story Linda posted (see ref above had something to do with the Catholic Church). Puulleeez!!!

Allow priests marry already? I laugh. The oga who perpetuated the crime on the 3 year old was married, his wife obviously lives in the same house with him. Yet his wife and who knows who else weren't enough for him. Seriously is marriage really the answer? obviously not. If you must criticize or give advice, look for something that makes more sense abeg.

Are they worse than the fornicators, adulterers and other pervs. We just pray for all sinners and that includes me and yes you too. When u people meet a perfect human being please introduce her/him to us.

Whether u av a wife or not doesn't change a person.. Cos peeps stil get married and commit adultery like dogs.. So dat some priest mess around doesn't make celibacy wrong.. And it won't make d catholic church rethink priest not getting married.. Whoever dat falls short has his/her issues to sort wit God.. So quit generalizing.. #proudly catholic#

All these peeps talking abt faith and churches.. Wat do u knw abt religion? Wat do u knw abt wat God wants? Do u even knw how he wld judge? I seriously don't like making worthless arguments cos most times these non Catholics tuk like they've Seen God and knw his ways.. Read d bible and ask 4 undastanding.. Dnt just grab all d hates some pastors av to offer 4 Catholics.. Abt getting married.. Yes some priest mess around. Dat doesn't make celibacy a bad rule 4 d priest.. And y wld u be so bothered? It's not like u wld take make of any1's punishment afta d last day... So mind ur own sinful life and try to b a better person while d priest try wit ders.. 4 d records! Priests r all human and not God dat is perfect.. Catholic till I die.. Cos I learnt to be selfless frm d church, to give without expecting, to pay tithe without waiting 4 a miracle buh doing it cos dats wat God loves...

And Linda stop posting stuffs dat would make people tuk crap dat might lead them to hell.. These comments wld bring abt any gud buh hate and judgments.. + I av been looking 4 a govt agency dat gives free hpv vaccine.. Just incase u knw..

Those supporting the priest, didn't they read he has being doing it for 30yrs? Hw long can u be working on ur weakness? Stop deceiving urself!

Oh plssss, who don't know that catholic is an idol worshipping cult? Fool urself!

You fools should mind ur utterances cos that have lead many to hell fire. What abt you so called married pastors and clergy who leave their wife and ve sex even with their church members? Ve you crucified them. You fools

Pls tell these folks...

They will just keep trying but d catholic church is still one and indiviisible God.why is it under so much attacks lately? May God help us all

Eeeeya poor u. I just pity u right now.

Uche said...

And for that Anonymous February 26, 2013 at 9:15 AM moron who is talking about Holy Mary Mother of Jesus,u worship ur pastors wife and address her as "mummy" and bow to her but think doing that to Mother of Our Lord Jesus is wrong? What a fool u are! When Christ was born,Holy mary nurtured him till adulthood,Jesus did his first miracle thru Holy Mary(it was not even his time yet),and during his suffering she was with him,when he died for our sins on the cross they brought him down and placed his lifeless body into Mary's arms...does this make any sense to u now?

Uche said...

And for that Anonymous February 26, 2013 at 9:15 AM moron who is talking about Holy Mary Mother of Jesus,u worship ur pastors wife and address her as "mummy" and bow to her and say,"mummy pls pray for me" but think doing that to Mother of Our Lord Jesus is wrong? What a fool u are! When Christ was born,Holy mary nurtured him till adulthood,Jesus did his first miracle thru Holy Mary(it was not even his time yet),and during his suffering she was with him,when he died for our sins on the cross they brought him down and placed his lifeless body into Mary's arms...does this make any sense to u now?

They will just keep trying but d catholic church is still one and indiviisible God.why is it under so much attacks lately? May God help us all

Ma dear all that Matt 8:14 states is that Jesus healed Peter's mother-in-law. Where did they mention wife and son biko

This reminds me of the story Linda posted about the last Pope.

The Catholic church is falling apart... and... the next Pope may truly be the last

#signsofendtimes

Can you compare Peter's missionary journey Vs Paul's. Its a no contest Paul was able to cover more because he was not married. Before any Priest is ordained dem no close their eye, they are fully aware that a vow of celibacy is required of them. The weakness of the flesh is the cause of all this, the Catholic Church has stood for so long and has refused to give in to the homosexuality officially hence the Satanists are out to bring it down by all means, the western world hardly practice true Christianity, Atheist are gaining ground everyday. We are all enjoined to keep our vows no matter what.

Lets learn to be objective in our comments and not carried away by emotions. The devil is there fighting and will always fight the good God has done. Marriage or Celibacy is not d issue but seeking God's grace to be committed to ur vocation. Afterall many people get married and still committed adultery or have illicit relationships.

What we all need whether priest or not is GRACE! May God give us deeper understanding. Amen

Final!!! The gates of hell be it terms of allegations or whatever shall NOT prevail. Catholic Church for LIFE!

priests should be allowed to marry